Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday December 21, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2006, 10:03 AM   #1
pistoffjstr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29283
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Bangor PA
Vehicle:
2003 Subaru Forester
Red

Question Wiring Hella 500's question

Im fairly good with wiring stuff but i think im just missing something here.
I want to wire my hella 500's to come on with my high beams but when i put a test light on the wires connected to the headlight switch i cant find any change in wires when i turn on the high beams (if that makes any sense)
Has anyone done this before? I have the relay and everything ready to hook up and mount the lights this is my only hold up. Any advice?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
pistoffjstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 08:51 AM   #2
pistoffjstr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29283
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Bangor PA
Vehicle:
2003 Subaru Forester
Red

Default

Any one?
pistoffjstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 10:13 AM   #3
12Voltking
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 108906
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Duluth WI
Vehicle:
99 OB
white over gray

Default

pistoffjstr. FIrst off, throw away the test light and buy a DMM this will aloow you to search for a negatively switched wire. When you have found this wire that to pin86 and give pin 85 a Positive feed. This will run the lights for you
12Voltking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 10:17 AM   #4
pistoffjstr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29283
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Bangor PA
Vehicle:
2003 Subaru Forester
Red

Default

Ok test light out
I do have a DMM (3 year electronics course in high school) Truthfully i never though of using it for this lol
Im hoping to find a wire under the dash some place so i can keep the relay in the car out of the weather

Thanks for the help ill give it a shot this weekend
pistoffjstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 10:20 AM   #5
twagoon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 80551
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Woodland, WA
Vehicle:
1999 Outback
Green

Default

Have you tried taking it off of the headlight itself. I would think it would be easier to find out which one is the high beam there. Plus it is closer to where the lights will be mounted. You would end up with less wire running all around. If you are dead set on running the wire from the switch you may get lucky and have the wire be the same color all the way from the headlight to the switch.
Just a thought, you may have already gone through this but no one else said anything. And since Bueller is obviously not here I figured we should move on to the next name on class roster.
Good luck.

Damn slow typing skills, you both beet me.
twagoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 10:37 AM   #6
12Voltking
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 108906
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Duluth WI
Vehicle:
99 OB
white over gray

Default

twagoon you cuol,d do that but then you have to run two wires into the cabin. By locating the wire inside you only need to run one wire outside to the relay.

pistoffjstr, by mounting the relay under the dash and not in the engine bay....you are defeating one of it's major purposes.
12Voltking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 10:42 AM   #7
pistoffjstr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29283
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Bangor PA
Vehicle:
2003 Subaru Forester
Red

Default

twagoon: I though about tapping the headlight wire but when i test for a hot wire there is 2 of them
12voltking: I never thought of that if i put the relay out in the engine bay i eliminate wires in the dash good idea
pistoffjstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 10:44 PM   #8
12Voltking
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 108906
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Duluth WI
Vehicle:
99 OB
white over gray

Default

Also pistofjstr...by putting the relayts in the dash you have to run your power wire inside the car and then back out...well, the purpose of a relay is take power form anotheer source and switch it but ALSO to make your power runs as short as possible.
12Voltking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2006, 10:47 PM   #9
fantomas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 87500
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: ctsubaru.com
Vehicle:
2012 Outback 2.5i P
Graphite Gray

Default

keep the relay in the engine bay, just mount it so the terminals face down and you won't have any problems
fantomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2006, 09:24 AM   #10
pistoffjstr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29283
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Bangor PA
Vehicle:
2003 Subaru Forester
Red

Default

i think i will keep the relay in the engine bay that is a good idea
Now i just have to find the wire to tap so these things will come on with the high beams
pistoffjstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2006, 01:40 PM   #11
pistoffjstr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29283
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Bangor PA
Vehicle:
2003 Subaru Forester
Red

Default

Well i decided to be lazy and just use a switch i did put the relay under the hood though much less wires to run through the firewall
pics are here
pistoffjstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help wiring Hella 500's mike_b49431 Electrical & Lighting 2 09-22-2006 11:00 PM
Wiring Hella 500's? ubshtoopid Electrical & Lighting 13 08-30-2004 01:33 PM
hella 500's question piker28 Electrical & Lighting 7 12-27-2003 11:52 PM
Help wiring Hella 500's skyliner33v General Forum Archive 2 01-14-2001 07:47 PM
HELP! Wiring Hella 500's STORER Interior & Exterior Modification 5 11-12-2000 11:40 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.