Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday September 1, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Service & Maintenance

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2006, 06:14 PM   #1
vica153
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 76586
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
1994 GF6

Default Electrical/Blower problem, ......ok maybe it is the resistor.

My blower stopped working a while back and I am just now getting around to looking at it.

I tested the blower motor and it works fine.

The blower resistor seems fine.

The problem is power, there isn't any getting to the blower. (Well .13Volts is..)

There isn't any getting to the resistor. (.2 volts....)

The ony place I can find power is if I unplug connector the back of the speed selector. Then I can get power between the far left and far right wires.

I have no wiring diagram. Should there be power at other parts of the connector?

Any ideas?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by vica153; 05-10-2006 at 02:51 PM.
vica153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2006, 06:55 PM   #2
munkis
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1847
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: brokenmotorsports.com
Vehicle:
Team Broken: V6 GF
rallyarmor.com

Default

you did check all the fuses right?
munkis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2006, 07:09 PM   #3
vica153
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 76586
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
1994 GF6

Default

......

Last edited by vica153; 05-09-2006 at 09:19 PM.
vica153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2006, 07:32 PM   #4
vica153
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 76586
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
1994 GF6

Default

Does 0 resistance for any combination of 2 of the 4 leads mean the resistor is broken?

I kinda figure it does...?
vica153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2006, 07:49 PM   #5
matt7102
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 12051
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Mchenry, MD
Vehicle:
1999 Impreza
That Silver color

Default Resistor Repair

It has been a few years since a leaking windshield fried step 4 on my resistor- this is how I fixed it-The resistor has a protective 'screen' around it. Carefully pry it open to allow access to the solder contact- the solder melts away as a fail-safe. I resoldered mine, all is well.
HTH,

Matt7102
matt7102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 09:18 PM   #6
vica153
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 76586
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
1994 GF6

Default

With the resistor in, only .13 volts is getting to blower if the switch is on 1,2,3,or4.

With the resistor out there is no power getting to the blower unless the switch is on 4, then there is .13 volts again.

So it seems to me that power is the issue not the resistor.

What else could have crapped out? Or is it really just the resistor and it will magicly power the blower if i replace it?
vica153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 09:43 PM   #7
vica153
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 76586
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
1994 GF6

Default

Crap. Now my running lights will not shut off. Its like there is a mouse going thru my wiring harness wire by wire.
vica153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 10:47 PM   #8
avk
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17252
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
'06 WX8
59E

Default

If there's no power at any setting, it could be the relay. You're testing it with ignition on, right? The lights are on 'cause you flipped the little switch atop the steering column while fussing around.
avk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 10:31 AM   #9
vica153
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 76586
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
1994 GF6

Default

DOH! I remembered the switch right after I posted. hahahah

Anyway, back to the blower. Yes I'm testing it with the ignition on.......I guess after the stupid running light question you have to ask things like that.

Where is the relay?
vica153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 01:10 PM   #10
HndaTch627
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6551
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Vehicle:
'01 GC8 Dinged STM
'09 Concours 14 ABS Black

Default

uh, if you unplug the resistor there will be NO power at the blower motor regardless of what switch setting. The .13v you are seeing is not power, it's EM Field interference. You need to check for power @ the resistor connector.
HndaTch627 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 01:30 PM   #11
vica153
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 76586
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
1994 GF6

Default

At the resistor there are 4 wires. There is about .2 volts at a wire, which wire it is varies with where the speed selector position. So i seems the selector switch is working fine too.

So somewhere in between the switch and the blower the voltage is being lost......

Relay maybe? Where is this relay?

Any Ideas?
vica153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 01:33 PM   #12
HndaTch627
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6551
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Vehicle:
'01 GC8 Dinged STM
'09 Concours 14 ABS Black

Default

sounds like a relay or fuse issue to me, but i don't have a wiring diagram for that car, sorry
HndaTch627 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 01:46 PM   #13
vica153
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 76586
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
1994 GF6

Default

I was looking at the diagrams of the hvac system and I was wondering about the "Thermo Amp", i think it sits just above the resistor. Anyone know what it does?
vica153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 02:04 PM   #14
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

That is probably the control module for the AC temperature sensor. The sensor is located in the evaporator, it connects to the module which determines when to cycle the compressor when the AC is running.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2006, 02:52 PM   #15
vica153
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 76586
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
1994 GF6

Default

Wooo for air conditioning! It was the relay. Its just above the fuse box. Removing the fuse box and plastic peice below steering wheel allows you to get at it pretty easily.

<<<<<<<<<<Slightly less noobish now.

Last edited by vica153; 05-10-2006 at 07:00 PM.
vica153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dash Cluster LIghts not working. Haynes Wiring Diagram Isn't helping! dimwittedmoose Electrical & Lighting 0 11-27-2009 06:06 PM
Need wiring diagrams please! parker_is_neat Subaru Conversions 0 07-08-2007 01:41 PM
EJ20H wiring diagrams. please help snowman4us Subaru Conversions 2 01-17-2006 12:45 AM
Wiring diagram please subbyspeed Normally Aspirated Powertrain 1 08-07-2005 09:02 AM
is the jdm wiring diagram different from the usdm one? D Spec Dc2 Subaru Conversions 4 06-11-2003 10:58 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.