Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday September 21, 2018
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2008, 07:32 PM   #176
Schell
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 127976
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Bay Area
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Wagon 6 spd
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Norrberrt View Post
How did u reprogram to get correct mileage?.. i called Tacoma Speedometer.. and they said they cannot set it to what you want.. I want to set mines to Zero.. im installing a new Block.. im going with an 06 STi Block.. so i want my mileage to start off at Zero..

Installation of my 05 STi Cluster USDM in my 03 WRX..
Resetting the mileage to zero is a felony. although your block may be brand new, the rest of your car is not.

I used Tacoma Speedometer to have the mileage on my 06 STI cluster to the actual mileage on my car, which they did.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Schell is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 09-25-2008, 07:41 PM   #177
Schell
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 127976
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Bay Area
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Wagon 6 spd
White

Default

I installed an 06 STI cluster into my 06 WRX, everything came out fine. No diff light, outside temp works fine, etc. However I am having problems with my fuel gauge returning all the way to full. Upon refueling it goes up to about 3/4. The gauge is very low biased. The reading drops rapidly to about 1/2 in 75 miles and then slows down dramatically.

Has anyone else seen this? Is there a way to adjust this or should I look into replacing the sending unit to an STI sending unit? Any advice would be appreciated.
Schell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 07:44 PM   #178
mars636
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 74547
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Sherwood Park, Alberta
Vehicle:
2005 WRX
WR Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schell View Post
I installed an 06 STI cluster into my 06 WRX, everything came out fine. No diff light, outside temp works fine, etc. However I am having problems with my fuel gauge returning all the way to full. Upon refueling it goes up to about 3/4. The gauge is very low biased. The reading drops rapidly to about 1/2 in 75 miles and then slows down dramatically.


Has anyone else seen this? Is there a way to adjust this or should I look into replacing the sending unit to an STI sending unit? Any advice would be appreciated.
I have the same problem 06sti cluster in 05wrx the fuel gauge never went to full always just under. the fuel light would come on and i would have close to 20liters still in the tank. After about 5k the gauge finally went above full when i filled it up that was the first time it went above full, the fuel light is still a bit optomistic though.
mars636 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 09:15 PM   #179
Schell
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 127976
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Bay Area
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Wagon 6 spd
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mars636 View Post
I have the same problem 06sti cluster in 05wrx the fuel gauge never went to full always just under. the fuel light would come on and i would have close to 20liters still in the tank. After about 5k the gauge finally went above full when i filled it up that was the first time it went above full, the fuel light is still a bit optomistic though.

Thanks, but I have put 5k on the odo since installing it and it is still unpredictable. Mine went to full exactly twice. There has to be some actual solution to this problem.
Schell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 09:36 PM   #180
mars636
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 74547
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Sherwood Park, Alberta
Vehicle:
2005 WRX
WR Blue

Default

Ithink it might have to do with a ground on the STI cluster that is not hooked up with the wrx harness. I will try to find the wiring diagrams and see if i can find anything
mars636 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 09:46 PM   #181
Norrberrt
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 110021
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Socal
Vehicle:
2003 WRXSTi
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schell View Post
Resetting the mileage to zero is a felony. although your block may be brand new, the rest of your car is not.

I used Tacoma Speedometer to have the mileage on my 06 STI cluster to the actual mileage on my car, which they did.

Yeah i heard.. i spoke with Tacoma and they i buy a new cluster from subaru..
they have to give me some kind of stamp to put on the door.. and i can just send Tacoma my Cluster with a Digital Picture of the Stamp or Sticker.. im going to call Subaru and ask..
Norrberrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 12:05 AM   #182
OKR S06
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 116105
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas,TX
Vehicle:
2001 Civic/2006 WRX
Blue/Steel Grey Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schell View Post
Resetting the mileage to zero is a felony. although your block may be brand new, the rest of your car is not.

I used Tacoma Speedometer to have the mileage on my 06 STI cluster to the actual mileage on my car, which they did.

Ok guys....

Lets get one thing straight here. You can tamper with your odometer all you want. There is no law against you tampering with it. It's your car, you can do with what you want. Now, if you roll back the miles and try to sell the car without notifying the buyer...now it's a felony.
OKR S06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 06:58 PM   #183
Schell
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 127976
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Bay Area
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Wagon 6 spd
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OKR S06 View Post
Ok guys....

Lets get one thing straight here. You can tamper with your odometer all you want. There is no law against you tampering with it. It's your car, you can do with what you want. Now, if you roll back the miles and try to sell the car without notifying the buyer...now it's a felony.
Sorry, Yes, you are correct. Only when it comes time to sell it is it a problem. You may run into issues with trying to register the car with unverifiable mileage. I apologize for any confusion.

Having said that, you have to appreciate Tacoma Speedometer not wanting any culpability in resetting an odometer to zero, which is why they will only adjust mileage if you have valid VIN numbers from both vehicles and either the old speedo in hand or a picture of the odo of the recipient vehicle.

It's just CYA = Cover Your Ass.
Schell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 03:00 PM   #184
Kentrik
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 125937
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: 4894' above sea level.
Vehicle:
03 WRX I do not
like your tweed, chap.

Default

Someone in here earlier said that THEY did it THEMSELVES....
....does anybody have any idea on how to do this?
Kentrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 03:48 PM   #185
mattius
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 178752
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Atlanta
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
JBP

Default

OAT sensor on an 04...anyone???
mattius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 08:03 PM   #186
badbrad692
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 193267
Join Date: Nov 2008
Default 05 sti cluster in an 03 wrx

does anyone know if a 05 sti cluster will work in a 03 wrx?
badbrad692 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 02:52 AM   #187
Micky
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 89757
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Chiba, Japan
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza STI
Black & dirty

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kentrik View Post
Someone in here earlier said that THEY did it THEMSELVES....
....does anybody have any idea on how to do this?
It's possible. You need to reprogram the EPROM chip on the back of the cluster, I believe it's 93c56 (at least it is for my 2004).
You need PC, EPROM writer, software to calculate the code for the new mileage. Available on fleabay if you know what to look for

BTW, cluster needs to be removed, and EPROM chip removed from cluster.
Micky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 05:55 PM   #188
Lynk
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 47047
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Lancaster, CA
Vehicle:
2004 wrx

Default

so does anyone know what kinda relay specifically is needed to reverse the voltage for the ABS light? i got an 05 sti cluster in my 04 and the ABS light just stays on.. it also buzzes which i am going to cut that wire but why is everyone saying to resolder it? ill prob cut that 28 wire so i dont blow fuses on my radio as well... i just put tape on the backside of the rear diff light i might do the same for the DCCD
Lynk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 12:34 AM   #189
flutyr525
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 159264
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Clifton Park, New York
Default

subscribed!
flutyr525 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 11:13 PM   #190
Lynk
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 47047
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Lancaster, CA
Vehicle:
2004 wrx

Default

this is in another thread and i didnt read it in here but 05sti cluster in an 04 wrx also has my BRAKE light lit up at all times... does not disengage at all and can not find out what it is. i do have a turbo timer and i tried disconnecting the wire that runs to the ebrake cable(for the safety feature) and that didnt work..
Lynk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 06:29 AM   #191
Micky
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 89757
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Chiba, Japan
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza STI
Black & dirty

Default

OK, mileage correction tutorial as I understand it. Try this at your own risk, I haven't done it myself..... yet. Also this may be illegal where you are, watch your back.
There are 2 basic ways:
1. Buy an expensive unit designed for this purpose, some cars can be corrected via the OBD11 socket, Subaru can not. This is what some professionals do.
2. Rewrite the EEPROM chip using your PC as shown below.

You will need:
PC (you have already)
EEPROM writing tool with related software. Several are available on fleabay, look something like this....



Mileage calculator software. This will tell you the necessary HEX code for the required mileage. Can get this at www.tachosoft.com and maybe others.


So you have the required tools, what to do.
Remove cluster, look on the rear circuit board for this chip
(93c56 is my 2004 STI, others may differ)



This will need to be removed


With your EEPROM writer connected to the PC, insert the EEPROM chip into the designated slot. Fire up the EEPROM software, at this point it would be wise to save a copy, in case you f'up.

Next with the tachosoft software, input the necessary information. The software will generate the required HEX code, and tell you where to edit.



Save the edited code to the EEPROM, refit chip to cluster, check your shiny new mileage.
Even simpler, if both clusters have the same chip, I have been told that swapping them MAY work.

Thats it, tell your friends, rinse and repeat....
Micky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 01:51 PM   #192
vision.dynamix
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 139955
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
2015 Subaru STI
17Forester / 18Crosstrek

Default

Okay, Im sorry if its been discussed. What year USDM STi cluster would be easiest to swap into my 02 WRX?
vision.dynamix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 06:39 PM   #193
SpeedR
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 95401
Join Date: Sep 2005
Vehicle:
MKIV STI
S4 951

Default

Can you put a 08 STI cluster in 08 WRX? Will the mileage be off with the new 08 ECU?
SpeedR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 02:50 PM   #194
rdy4flt
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 86882
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SoCal (Downey)/ SLO County
Vehicle:
2005 92x Aero-stg2
Arctic Silver

Default

Just bought an 04 USDM Sti Cluster for my 2005 Saabaru 92x...aka 05 WRX Wagon. My car came stock with the Auto HVAC and OAT so hopefully the swap is easy enough. I read through this entire thread and it seems like I need a relay or something to correct the reverse polarity for the ABS light to function normal. I would also ground the DCCD and Rear Diff light so that they do not illuminate. In the 04' Sti cluster would I get that buzzin? Do I have to pull the buzzer out?


Now I have to see if I can get an EPROM writer so I can change the mileage myself.

Thanks in advance.

Rudi
rdy4flt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 02:35 PM   #195
White Knight
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2864
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Shelton, CT 06484
Vehicle:
'05 Legacy GT Wagon
Limited Red

Default

I'm going to try to put an 04 USDM STi cluster into my 04 FXT/sti.
White Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 01:40 PM   #196
sleepyS14
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 171688
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: SiuLam, NY
Vehicle:
2006 Saabaru 9-2x
Aero Wagon Midnight Black

Default

got an '07 STi cluster going into an '06 WRX

will i have any problems ? ...should i have gotten an '05 STi cluster??
sleepyS14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 10:23 AM   #197
Kentrik
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 125937
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: 4894' above sea level.
Vehicle:
03 WRX I do not
like your tweed, chap.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Micky View Post
It's possible. You need to reprogram the EPROM chip on the back of the cluster, I believe it's 93c56 (at least it is for my 2004).
You need PC, EPROM writer, software to calculate the code for the new mileage. Available on fleabay if you know what to look for

BTW, cluster needs to be removed, and EPROM chip removed from cluster.
Well, I found the software to which you were referring online (I'm assuming it's the same), but there was one particular problem...I don't wanna pay $200 for it. I mean, I guess I chould charge people locally to have me do it, but still...
Kentrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 10:35 AM   #198
Jncominco2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 170212
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: West Haven, Utah
Default

i doubt you would get that much business doing it locally...what you could do i guess is have people send theirs in, and charge less then tacoma
we could start a mini business! lol
Jncominco2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 12:32 AM   #199
Micky
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 89757
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Chiba, Japan
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza STI
Black & dirty

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kentrik View Post
Well, I found the software to which you were referring online (I'm assuming it's the same), but there was one particular problem...I don't wanna pay $200 for it. I mean, I guess I chould charge people locally to have me do it, but still...
If you mean the software for calculating the code, I have it and didn't pay anything

edit: check this forum, this is more common than you think. http://www.digital-forums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=160

As mentioned by others, "correcting" the recorded mileage is legal unless done to deceive for the purpose of selling a car.
However somehow I don't think every post you see on that site is completely legitimate

Last edited by Micky; 12-05-2008 at 01:04 AM. Reason: info added
Micky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 03:20 AM   #200
Buggn' Out
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 173971
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: TN
Vehicle:
02 /05 WRX
Aspen White, facelifted

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattius View Post
OAT sensor on an 04...anyone???

+1 anyone gotten the OAT sensor running on a '04 STI cluster swap??
Buggn' Out is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can we get some mods to start deleting duplicate threads? [27] Political Playground 2 11-05-2008 02:01 AM
STi hare emblem? where can i get one... evoeater8 Interior & Exterior Modification 13 07-12-2006 08:53 PM
can we get something started in RDU???(nc) imprezivSTi04 Mid Atlantic Impreza Club -- MAIC 3 04-04-2006 06:47 PM
02 sti hood scoop?? where can i get one? slaterdrew Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 2 02-06-2004 11:37 AM
lighted keyhole ring, can we get one? makanouchi Interior & Exterior Modification 12 11-22-2002 08:38 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.