Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday November 17, 2018
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2006, 02:44 PM   #1
t3hWIT
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 58779
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Phillyish
Vehicle:
95 STi RA (rhd)
98 Tacoma (300k Club)

Question Wiring the knock sensor directly to the SAFC, can it be done?

As suggested, I am posting this here instead of EMT because you guys probably dealed with this before.

I have a '95 Impreza, OBD1, with a '97 2.2L engine swapped. I installed an SAFC, as well as a pyrometer to give me an idea of what's going on as I make changes until I can afford an Innovate wideband.

The 2.2L has a knock sensor, but the OBD1 harness didn't consider it, so its currently just chilling there. I am uneducated as far as knock sensors go, but is there a way for me to get the sensor working so that I can monitor knock with the SAFC? How hard would this be, and what steps would be involved?

As I stated, I'm very uneducated with the sensor, and one of the sample numbers the SAFC manual gives for the sensor reading is 23. What does that mean, how do I read it?

I appologize for my n00bishness, but I appreciate any feedback you guys could give me.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
t3hWIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 09-21-2006, 06:18 PM   #2
suby53
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 59648
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: W.V.C.
Vehicle:
97' Legacy Outback

Default

Yes you can! I had almost the same setup on my 95' L. I had a 2.2 with rex turbo and safc-2 for tuning. I just went and got the knock sensor out of the junkyard and wired it directly to the knock signal wire on the ecu. The only difficult part is knowing what the numbers mean. When I was at idle it sat around 8-14 and sometimes when I was on it at higher rpms it would bounce up to 260+. So unless you find out what the limit is its not very accurate but it gives you an idea.
suby53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 08:37 PM   #3
t3hWIT
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 58779
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Phillyish
Vehicle:
95 STi RA (rhd)
98 Tacoma (300k Club)

Default

How does the wire get any signal, considering that the sensor has no power going to it? As far as reading, what do the numbers mean?
t3hWIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 11:00 AM   #4
pregunta
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 101577
Join Date: Nov 2005
Default

You have to initially setup the SAFC to read knock correctly for your car. There is a acclimation(sp) process you have to do.
pregunta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 08:18 PM   #5
t3hWIT
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 58779
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Phillyish
Vehicle:
95 STi RA (rhd)
98 Tacoma (300k Club)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pregunta View Post
You have to initially setup the SAFC to read knock correctly for your car. There is a acclimation(sp) process you have to do.
Ok. Do you know offhand if I can just go back now and do it? I didn't set it up the first time, a friend did it for me.
t3hWIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2006, 02:36 PM   #6
suby53
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 59648
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: W.V.C.
Vehicle:
97' Legacy Outback

Default

Ya you can do it anytime. If I remember right its in the setup menu. I'm don't really remember where. But the sensor is just a little electric diode that sends its own signal and the stock ecu or safc interperet it into an electrical signal.
suby53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 12:10 AM   #7
t3hWIT
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 58779
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Phillyish
Vehicle:
95 STi RA (rhd)
98 Tacoma (300k Club)

Default

Ok, that works. I'll just have to dig out the wire, extend it, and plug it into the sensor. Thanks for all the info.
t3hWIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AT to MT swap can it be done??? viperrf16 Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 9 09-20-2006 11:08 PM
how to fix crab grass and wheat like weeds in the lawn? can it be done this late enozto Off-Topic 6 05-16-2006 11:02 AM
Dealer Bench testing o2 sensor? Can it be done? ShawnRS Normally Aspirated Powertrain 1 11-21-2004 07:13 PM
Crazy Idea for UK lights. Can it be done? has it been done? TeamASR Interior & Exterior Modification 13 10-25-2002 09:52 AM
2.2 to 2.5 engine swap, can it be done? Caron Normally Aspirated Powertrain 1 11-20-2001 12:15 AM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.