Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday December 12, 2017
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2010, 04:57 AM   #1
locosmotion
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 228153
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default Lets get Vag-Com flashing 2002-2003's *Fresh info inside

I've played with this cable quite a bit lately and I think we can make this work for the 2002/2003's. Lets pool knowledge in here and figure this out.

My Setup Info:

-2002 WRX USDM (Tried the combo on a 04 wrx and it worked first time)

-Ebay Vag-Com, Blue, alpha-bid(ebay seller name) style

-Flash block installed with +12VDC straight from the battery. Green connectors connected.

-Using every combination of driver(FTDI/Tactrix) and flash software I've found:

-Logging - works fine.

-Ecuexplorer - says "Preamble 1 no response" then shuts down the read.

-EcuFlash 1.29a - says "There was an error check the log"

-Nothing new with the above errors. It seems anyone attempting to flash an 02-03 with the vag-com cable gets the same results. I have tried about every combo of driver and flash software possible with no luck.

The odd thing I noticed about this cable is that it never puts the car in flash mode. When the key is turned to the on position the car enters test mode (fans/relays cycling) but never gives the check engine light flash and waits for a connection as proper cable does(no fans cycling).

*New Info i've learned:
I took the Vag-Com cable apart and started drawing out a circuit schematic.

-The Vag-Com interface is most like an open port 1.2 cable and uses LM339M Comparators to electically isolate the car from the rs232.

Open Port 1.2 Schematic: http://forums.openecu.org/download/file.php?id=129

-The Vag-Com interface lacks a connection to the VPP line (Pin 11) on the J1962 OBDII connector. This line is said to be Subaru specific and needs to be brought high during flashing. I'm not sure why the 04's flash without this. In the Open Port 1.2 schematic this line is connected to the battery voltage through a regulator chip and modulated by the RTS# serial line. I have modified my adapter to run the battery voltage directly to pin 11 bringing it high all the time(Maybe a bad idea but it hasn't fried anything yet). This didn't fix anything.

-The Vag-Com cable's ground pin's 4 & 5 appear to be the same as the open port 1.2 schematic.

-The Vag-Com is missing a connection from pin 7 to pin 3(L line) and from pin 15 to pin 9(K line) as shown in the open port 1.2 schematic. I modified my Vag-Com to have these connections. This didn't fix anything.

-I downloaded a programmer for the FTDI chip it'self called MProg 3.5. It turns out the FTDI has internal EEPROM memory for holding cable serial numbers as well as other interface parameters. I found someone on openecu who had offloaded a 1.3U cable configuration. I uploaded that cable configuration to mine and tried it. After uploading the configuration the car now goes into proper flash mode!!! The CEL flashes once and the fans don't cycle for 5-6 seconds waiting for a connection. After this change I still wasn't able to successfully read the ecu however, ecu explorer now says "Preamble 1 error" rather than "preamble 1 no response"

MPROG 3.5
http://www.ftdichip.com/Resources/Ut...s/MProg3.5.zip

1.3U Cable Configuration
http://forums.openecu.org/download/file.php?id=1742

I noticed the configuration file seems to have the TXD and DTR# lines inverted. If you look at the 1.2 schematic there are inversion bubbles on the transmit side of the TXD and DTR# comparators.

What we need is for somone to read their settings from an open port 1.2 and upload them.

Hopefully we are getting close. It was nice to see the car go into what I believe is flash mode.

I appreciate any help.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
locosmotion is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 01-26-2010, 10:08 AM   #2
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

People already have been making this work............
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 11:17 AM   #3
locosmotion
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 228153
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default

Yeah it works for 04-05 wrx (anything that uses the 04STI write method) but not for 02-03. Correct me if I'm wrong.
locosmotion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 01:01 PM   #4
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

It works for the 02-03 as well. Problem is when you buy a VAGCOM cable are they all exactly the same? Is it really always the cable? 80% of the time it is user error or computer set up issues. To many variables just to flat out blame the cable.
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 01:28 PM   #5
locosmotion
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 228153
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default

I agree with all of that. My best guess is it's the cable. In my case I tried the cable with an 04 it read correctly. Came straight home plugged into my 02 and wouldn't read.

Do you have a Vag-Com working with your 02? If so can you read off the EEPROM data using MPROG(linked above)?

Also I have been poking around the ECUExplorer code since its the only code we have access to. It looks like those of you with 2002-2003 need to keep the windows com port settings to 9600 baud as the cable sets this to 9600 to enter bootloader mode 04 just uses 4800 This may be a key difference between the 02 and 04 methods. I'm going to modify the code to initialize the bootloader at 4800 only and see if that works.

Code Snippet:
Code:
switch(model)
{
case wrx2002:
switch(_state)
{
case normal:
default:
return 4800;
case bootloader:
case bootloader_auth:
return 9600;
case oecukernel:
return 39473;
}
break;
case wrx2004:
case sti2004:
case fxt2004:
default:
switch(_state)
{
case normal:
case bootloader_auth:
default:
return 4800;
case bootloader:
return 15625;
case oecukernel:
return 39473;
}
break;
}
locosmotion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 07:14 PM   #6
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

I bought a cable from here for shats and giggles ( I already had a 1.3 Tactrix). It works with Ecuflash 1.29

http://www.obdtoolstore.com/shop/pro...products_id=40
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 09:09 PM   #7
MAtwal
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 125053
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, BC
Vehicle:
2004 Wrx Sedan
WRB

Default

it worked for me first time on my usdm 04 wrx
just had to change baud rate to 4800
MAtwal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 04:43 AM   #8
thorne
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 130063
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ohio
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
Silb

Default

I've done it before.
thorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 11:36 AM   #9
MAtwal
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 125053
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, BC
Vehicle:
2004 Wrx Sedan
WRB

Default

WonDering if anyone knows a fix for the vag-com regarding it cutting out when logging. I have an 04 usdm wrx and jumper block installed when logging. I noticed romraider disconnected for a moment during my logging.

Would changing the baud rate to any other rate help?
MAtwal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 04:11 PM   #10
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

Thats just how Romraider acts sometimes. Don't think it has anything to do with the cable as Tactrix users have the same problem.
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 01:44 AM   #11
KyleH
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 203780
Join Date: Feb 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Default

For the people who claim they have flashed and datalogged with an 02 and VAG-COM cable why not post where you bought the cable, and what version of Rom Raider, ECUFlash, their definitions, Windows, etc. that you are using as well as if you had to make any changes to any settings to get it to work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thorne View Post
I've done it before.
On your 02?

Quote:
Originally Posted by quazimoto View Post
I bought a cable from here for shats and giggles ( I already had a 1.3 Tactrix). It works with Ecuflash 1.29

http://www.obdtoolstore.com/shop/pro...products_id=40

On Your 03?


EDIT:
Take a look at this, it gets interesting around post #13.
http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...php?p=28725229

Linked from that thread: http://forums.openecu.org/viewtopic.php?p=18326#p18326

Could the problem be that your version of ECUFlash is too new? Not sure why itd work with 04s though.

Last edited by KyleH; 03-18-2010 at 02:17 AM.
KyleH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 02:48 AM   #12
KyleH
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 203780
Join Date: Feb 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Default

Sorry to double post but it appears that some people got it working with a particular driver on the 02. Remember if you're gonna test this you need to uninstall all/whatever drivers you were using especially if you are using a modern version of ecuflash like 1.41.

A person named 02 WRX on page 3 said he got it working, thats assuming he has an 02 wrx.
http://legacygt.com/forums/showthrea....html?t=110768

EDIT: Someone on page 3 with an 03 WRX got it working with those steps, though they only mentioned using RomRaider.

Last edited by KyleH; 03-18-2010 at 03:00 AM.
KyleH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 10:10 AM   #13
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

You have to use Ecuflash 1.29 as it does not have the digital signed drivers for the Tactrix.
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 10:16 AM   #14
KyleH
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 203780
Join Date: Feb 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quazimoto View Post
You have to use Ecuflash 1.29 as it does not have the digital signed drivers for the Tactrix.
The OP does but it doesnt seem to work still.
KyleH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 02:26 PM   #15
KyleH
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 203780
Join Date: Feb 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quazimoto View Post
You have to use Ecuflash 1.29 as it does not have the digital signed drivers for the Tactrix.
Define how well it "worked"?
KyleH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 04:52 PM   #16
MAtwal
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 125053
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, BC
Vehicle:
2004 Wrx Sedan
WRB

Default

1.29a worked for me to reflash my 04 wrx. I had to run a jumper wire from the battery+ to the jumper block.
MAtwal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 01:25 AM   #17
KyleH
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 203780
Join Date: Feb 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAtwal View Post
1.29a worked for me to reflash my 04 wrx. I had to run a jumper wire from the battery+ to the jumper block.
*sigh* We know
KyleH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 10:50 AM   #18
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KyleH View Post
Define how well it "worked"?
Flashing a car is flashing a car. I did it on my 02. It worked just like a Tactrix. It was a while back but I don't remember having to change anything. Like I said. There are at least 4-5 different types of "VAG-COM" cables not to mention a ton of different people making them.

http://www.obdtoolstore.com/shop/ind...b33028d28a8696
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 04:13 PM   #19
907Bum
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 183634
Join Date: Jul 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: At the "B"
Vehicle:
02 wrx/ 92 ss
Booze fueled :)

Default

Seems like you are really close, with the chip re-programed and the jumper to the block the ecu/software would think that it's in fact a 1.3 cable from tactrix and not a generic one. As long as the software/hardware are the same and the car thinks they are the same i'm confused on why it wouldn't work.


My question is have you tried to flash without the jumper on the block and the chip in the cable "reflashed"?


Subscribed for sure, i may need to spend 20 bucks and see if i can get this thing to work.
907Bum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 04:53 PM   #20
KyleH
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 203780
Join Date: Feb 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quazimoto View Post
Flashing a car is flashing a car. I did it on my 02. It worked just like a Tactrix. It was a while back but I don't remember having to change anything. Like I said. There are at least 4-5 different types of "VAG-COM" cables not to mention a ton of different people making them.

http://www.obdtoolstore.com/shop/ind...b33028d28a8696
Right, which one did you use so we can see if someone can duplicate your results on their car? Imagine this is 5th grade science class and we're trying to replicate results from your experiment. What information would we need to know to replicate your experiment?
KyleH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 05:33 PM   #21
WRteXan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 223894
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Sugaru Land
Default

FWIW, I have an 02 WRX and an EVOScan cable. Works every time with ECUFlash 1.29

I had trouble in the beginning, and it turns out there is a connector in the foot well, just like the green one under the dash. The trim piece that goes from the back of the door sill to the front, and then part way up under the dash conceals it. I can't remember if it was the driver's or passenger's side that made it work though. There's a jumper on both sides. I'm too tired to make this simpler to read.

edit: This is apparently not the issue you're having as you can get it into test mode. When mine was disconnected it wouldn't even go into test mode.
WRteXan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 07:37 PM   #22
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KyleH View Post
Right, which one did you use so we can see if someone can duplicate your results on their car? Imagine this is 5th grade science class and we're trying to replicate results from your experiment. What information would we need to know to replicate your experiment?
Only posted a link to the exact cable back in January. Read the posts and look at the links people....

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...20&postcount=6
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 03:41 PM   #23
photodude
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 236907
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Leander, TX
Vehicle:
05 Impreza WRX STI
Silver

Default

I bought this one... Will post results..
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...E:L:OU:US:1123
photodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 01:20 PM   #24
photodude
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 236907
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Leander, TX
Vehicle:
05 Impreza WRX STI
Silver

Default

Cable just came in... (Hong Kong) Stay tuned for results.
photodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 04:37 PM   #25
photodude
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 236907
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Leander, TX
Vehicle:
05 Impreza WRX STI
Silver

Default

ok.. I'm running windows 7 64bit..
I installed the vag-com and installed Romraider.
I made sure the usb>serial was set to the correct com port.
Romraider seen the ecu fine and I began to pull some logs.
Romraider also let me reset the ecu (I was throwing a code).
I have not tried pulling my rom yet or updating the rom for that matter. That will come today.
photodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lets get me to the PHL Autoshow!!! Vote inside 06njsti Tri-State Area Forum 30 02-01-2010 02:39 AM
Lets get my STI to the PHL Autoshow! Vote Inside 06njsti Off-Topic 93 01-26-2010 09:19 PM
WTB Service: Get my Vag Com cable to work el dude MAIC Private Classifieds 3 10-04-2009 09:25 PM
Cant get Vag-com cable to flash my 04 FXT andy87t2 Open Source Reflashes 6 06-13-2009 01:35 AM
Can't connect with ECU Flash. Detailed info inside. turboL Open Source Reflashes 17 04-04-2009 11:24 AM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.