Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday April 26, 2018
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2002, 12:07 AM   #1
bigbuyer2477
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 6604
Join Date: May 2001
Vehicle:
2006 Impreza WRX STi
Black/Pearl Black

Default Having trouble running the UTEC

Just installed my stage 2 tonight, but it doesn't seem like it's running correctly.

The boost is lagging, and it takes considerable longer to reach even 14 psi. I had the map selector on "0" like they said it was suppose to be, but I could be wrong. No check engine light and the car runs, so I assume the UTEC was connected properly.

Does anyone know what the selector # should be when running stage 2? Also, the grounding wire, where is it suppose to be pluged in? Am I suppose to connect the wire INTO the grounding plug, or am i suppose to just have one end of it be attached to any part of the UTEC and the other end connected to the chasis?

Please help.

Thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
bigbuyer2477 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 11-08-2002, 01:17 AM   #2
smskier
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 20061
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Evergreen, CO
Vehicle:
02 Subaru WRX
Black

Default

stage 0 is stock. log into the utec and see if they have some other maps in there. if you told them to load a stage 2 map on there i think they prolly threw it in under map 1 which means you need to select (1) on the red selector.

also when you change to other maps, and you put your key in the ON position your CEL light will blink the map number before it goes solid.

for the grounding wire, you plug the ushaped into the back of the utec where theres a little hole to screw it down. then run it under your carpet and threw the center console and unscrew your front left bolt on your passenger seat track, and screw it in there.
smskier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2002, 01:46 AM   #3
bigbuyer2477
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 6604
Join Date: May 2001
Vehicle:
2006 Impreza WRX STi
Black/Pearl Black

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by smskier
stage 0 is stock. log into the utec and see if they have some other maps in there. if you told them to load a stage 2 map on there i think they prolly threw it in under map 1 which means you need to select (1) on the red selector.

also when you change to other maps, and you put your key in the ON position your CEL light will blink the map number before it goes solid.

for the grounding wire, you plug the ushaped into the back of the utec where theres a little hole to screw it down. then run it under your carpet and threw the center console and unscrew your front left bolt on your passenger seat track, and screw it in there.
I'll try to change it this weekend, but what does running in "0" do? Does it just run on the stock ECU's maps instead? I hope that explains why the car doesn't run so well. The Unichip had more umph than the UTEC and turboback exhaust. Also, I had the u shaped tip screwed onto a part of the UTEC and had the other end of the wire grounded to a chasis ground under the carpet. You think that might have something to do with it?
bigbuyer2477 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2002, 02:01 AM   #4
ScoobieSnaX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10844
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: location, location...
Vehicle:
2004 Acura TL Navi
Pearl

Default

You're on the wrong selector. Don't use "0". Switch it to #1. Step 18 of the manual states that "0" is used for the remote switch and shift light. Its also "stock mode" as stated in step 2 of the Operation (first start up) section.

Dude, take the time to read that manual FRONT to BACK....its worth it. You don't want to mess up your car!!
ScoobieSnaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2002, 10:34 AM   #5
bigbuyer2477
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 6604
Join Date: May 2001
Vehicle:
2006 Impreza WRX STi
Black/Pearl Black

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ScoobieSnaX
You're on the wrong selector. Don't use "0". Switch it to #1. Step 18 of the manual states that "0" is used for the remote switch and shift light. Its also "stock mode" as stated in step 2 of the Operation (first start up) section.

Dude, take the time to read that manual FRONT to BACK....its worth it. You don't want to mess up your car!!
I did, but the fact that it said "stock" implied that's what the UTEC's default setting should be. And since it has like 5 selectors I didn't know which number they loaded the map into, and I didn't want to assume it was going to be #1.

Well, at least #0 is running the stock ECU map, and since I only have the turboback exhaust on the car it will be OK until I change it this weekend.

Thanks for the help.
bigbuyer2477 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2002, 12:02 PM   #6
dwx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8343
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Atlanta, GA
Vehicle:
2005 2012 Jeep
2013 DGM BRZ

Default

Do you have a laptop or any computer for that matter? If you plug into the serial port on the utec you can see where the stage 2 map is located. On my car it was in the 2nd position. As
dwx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2002, 06:04 PM   #7
jjunior887
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16738
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Charles Town, WV
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Limited
CWP

Default

You guys should take it easy on this guy he's learning just like the rest of us. I know enough to get by but it's still confusing at times so lighten up a bit. Any way the 0 selection is syock as in it uses all the ECU's parameters for everything your stage 2 map should be on "1". Like everyone else said log in with your laptop to make sure. BTW you might want to check out www.wrxhackers.com if you havn't already people are a little bit more understanding for what seem like simple or stupid questions to someone else. Good Luck and happy tuning-James
jjunior887 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2002, 07:28 PM   #8
z&cobb
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12344
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Mountains of Maryland
Vehicle:
2002 2JC
blue

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jjunior887
You guys should take it easy on this guy he's learning just like the rest of us. I know enough to get by but it's still confusing at times so lighten up a bit. Any way the 0 selection is syock as in it uses all the ECU's parameters for everything your stage 2 map should be on "1". Like everyone else said log in with your laptop to make sure. BTW you might want to check out www.wrxhackers.com if you havn't already people are a little bit more understanding for what seem like simple or stupid questions to someone else. Good Luck and happy tuning-James
Well, it was a tad confusing. I just left it on with position 1 which was how I received the UTEC, along with the written note "stg 2".

I noticed that as before, The "ABC is not necessary..." For me it is necessary.

So what do you set the ABC for when you switch back to map 0?
0.09 mPa, or do you leave it as is for your "hot" MAP. Since I don't have the uppipe but do have the efficient TXS TMIC should I stick with 0.115 mPA for stg 2 or set it lower or higher? It is currently set at 0.115 mPa for UTEC stg 2 + TMIC which is where I set if for the Unichip Stage 2 + TMIC.
z&cobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2002, 07:54 PM   #9
jjunior887
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16738
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Charles Town, WV
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Limited
CWP

Default

If your really concerned you could close the ABC completely and it should run off the stock FBC or you could pull it off all together which might be easier. .115 mPa is right around 16.7 psi which shouldn't be a problem unless you were really pickythen you could turn down the ABC a little less than a 1/4 turn. -James
jjunior887 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2002, 08:40 PM   #10
bigbuyer2477
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 6604
Join Date: May 2001
Vehicle:
2006 Impreza WRX STi
Black/Pearl Black

Default

Thanks people.

I am going to hook up my lap top to the UTEC to find out for sure. It came with the map selector on "0" so I thought it was ready to go, but I guess I was wrong. The boost curve of the stock ECU is SO LOUSY!!!!!!

Thanks for the help.
bigbuyer2477 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2002, 11:13 PM   #11
z&cobb
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12344
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Mountains of Maryland
Vehicle:
2002 2JC
blue

Default

Anyone done the grounding mode on the UTEC? The ground wire looks like some kind of joke. Just kidding.
z&cobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2002, 11:53 AM   #12
denverwrz
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 22710
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: denver, co
Vehicle:
02 wrx
sadona red pearl

Default grounding

I called mark at turboxs on the very issue of grounding. He said there is something like 9 grounds running through the wires of the utec. He says to put the ground onto the screw that is below the only hole in the top case of the utec, but it is not super critical. I have mine grounded into a screw in the case and it works just great.
denverwrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2002, 12:20 PM   #13
bigbuyer2477
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 6604
Join Date: May 2001
Vehicle:
2006 Impreza WRX STi
Black/Pearl Black

Default

The Stage 2 lives!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

It turned out that my map was stored in #1, and everything is running great now. For some reason they gave me the 93 octane map and I live in California I had to drive down to my nearest 100 octane supplier for a quick fill up, and next week I am taking her in for a custom tuning for 91 CA water petro.

I scared myself last night because it accelerated so much faster, and it was raining like mad. I loved it.
bigbuyer2477 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2002, 01:21 PM   #14
jjunior887
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16738
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Charles Town, WV
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Limited
CWP

Default

i think TurboXS only has a Map for 93 at the moment but i believe i read somewhere that you need to take timing down 2-3 degrees accross the board and that should fix it. here's a link to the thread http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...hreadid=264889 -James
jjunior887 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2002, 04:11 PM   #15
crazyhorse
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 19502
Join Date: Jun 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Charlotte, NC
Vehicle:
2010 Impreza with no
scoop. =(

Default

For the 91 octane the reduction of timing should be enough... If you notice any detonation you may need to add a bit more fuel into the map as well. I'm keeping a close eye on my logs now that it's getting a lil cold here in NC. We'll see what happens.

-Tim
www.wrxhackers.com
crazyhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Have a four port BCS, having trouble finding the right fittings and tubing GRRRR thumpetto007 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 2 03-06-2008 03:01 PM
Having trouble with the search engine... SnakesoWnZj00 Newbies & FAQs 3 10-07-2003 04:38 PM
Anybody have trouble running 18's on a GC8 RS? STi-Nane Tire & Wheel 20 05-11-2003 09:34 PM
I'm having trouble controlling the boost IMPBOY Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 12 08-24-2001 07:33 PM
Anyone else having trouble searching the General Forum? 8Complex General Forum Archive 3 06-19-2000 07:47 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.