Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday November 16, 2018
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2018, 06:01 PM   #1576
Meoshe
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 441977
Join Date: Mar 2016
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: 92563
Vehicle:
2016 WRX Limited
CWP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shook187 View Post
I got mine on Amazon

Nice! I was wondering how those looked.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Meoshe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 08-18-2018, 07:27 PM   #1577
brettjson
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 490337
Join Date: Aug 2018
Default HK Confusion

New to the forum as I have had my 2016 WRX Limited (HK+Nav) for just a week now. I am looking for a carplay aftermarket HU. I keep seeing different things about whether the HK amp has to be bypassed. My plan is to install a Alpine ILX 107 with the Maestro RR. Crutchfield says I need to run speaker wire to bypass the factory HK amp. But others say you can get the factory amp running? Am I missing something? I appreciate the help.
brettjson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2018, 02:10 PM   #1578
calledman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 436552
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Istanbul
Vehicle:
2015 Levorg
Ice blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brettjson View Post
New to the forum as I have had my 2016 WRX Limited (HK+Nav) for just a week now. I am looking for a carplay aftermarket HU. I keep seeing different things about whether the HK amp has to be bypassed. My plan is to install a Alpine ILX 107 with the Maestro RR. Crutchfield says I need to run speaker wire to bypass the factory HK amp. But others say you can get the factory amp running? Am I missing something? I appreciate the help.
That was the case up until Idatalink came up with the following harness.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...1CK05Z2S&psc=1

you should be able to replace the HU without bypassing the H/K amp now.
calledman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2018, 03:01 PM   #1579
calledman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 436552
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Istanbul
Vehicle:
2015 Levorg
Ice blue

Default Has anyone heard from Svxdc lately?

Hi all,

I just wondered if anyone heard from David Carter lately. He has not been online for over 3 months and hasn't replied my emails.

I would appreciate if you let me know . He is as you know one of the pillars of Subaru community worldwide.

Thanks
calledman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2018, 03:29 PM   #1580
Midnite8
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 430858
Join Date: Sep 2015
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Mountain View, CA
Vehicle:
2016 WRX Premium
World Rally Blue

Default

Just wondering what everyone has done to minimize the plastic rattling after putting in a Scoche dash kit. I have a 4200NEX and if I go on un-even roads and such my whole headunit just buzzes and rattles like everywhere. I've tried to stuff a bunch of foam inside where all the spiderwebs of harnesses and cables are as well. I've tessa taped together most of the harnesses.
Midnite8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 09:06 AM   #1581
phd12v
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 432497
Join Date: Oct 2015
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pitt
Vehicle:
18 Sti
ISM

Default

try some small strips of felt on certain edges. Also i mounted the brackets to the front of the kit as well, it seems to be more solid with the 6 screws to the front plate
phd12v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 12:46 AM   #1582
Midnite8
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 430858
Join Date: Sep 2015
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Mountain View, CA
Vehicle:
2016 WRX Premium
World Rally Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phd12v View Post
try some small strips of felt on certain edges. Also i mounted the brackets to the front of the kit as well, it seems to be more solid with the 6 screws to the front plate
Ok, I'll try to put in 2 more screws on the bottom of the front bracket. I have 2 screws on each side and the two bolts on top pretty tight. It seems as though it may not even bee the HU rattling but the vents and Scosche dash kit in general rattling.
Midnite8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 10:53 PM   #1583
tway22
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 437069
Join Date: Dec 2015
Default

I installed the avic 8400 on my 2017 sti with the HK package and everything works great with the maestro rr and su2 but I am having issues with weak radio signals. I know the blue wire on the antenna adapter is not use so donít know where to go from here. I read you have to tap one of the wire from the stock harness but Iím kinda lost. Not sure what to tap into. Any help is much appreciated. Thanks
tway22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2018, 11:24 AM   #1584
phd12v
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 432497
Join Date: Oct 2015
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pitt
Vehicle:
18 Sti
ISM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tway22 View Post
I installed the avic 8400 on my 2017 sti with the HK package and everything works great with the maestro rr and su2 but I am having issues with weak radio signals. I know the blue wire on the antenna adapter is not use so donít know where to go from here. I read you have to tap one of the wire from the stock harness but Iím kinda lost. Not sure what to tap into. Any help is much appreciated. Thanks
check pin number 8 in the 10 pin plug, make sure it is powering up as well.With radio on.

phd12v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2018, 12:59 PM   #1585
findinforester
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 493339
Join Date: Oct 2018
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by calledman View Post
That was the case up until Idatalink came up with the following harness.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...1CK05Z2S&psc=1

you should be able to replace the HU without bypassing the H/K amp now.
Hi - I replaced the head unit (4400nex) on a 2016 Forester with 7" + HK yesterday with the harnesses above and everything seems to work except for ALL of the speakers. I get normal audio from the speakers in the rear (ones right behind the front seats at window level) but a muffled bass sound from all of the front speakers (using equalizer to test)

There was 1 unused factory harness after I installed everything + the small unit under the old 7" (with Continental tire logo on it that I'm not sure what it does). Leaning towards that harness + the unused cables on the Pioneer harness but I have no idea.

I don't want to add a new amp so I'm hoping there's a way to get audio to the front if that makes sense to anyone I'd be extremely grateful

*Edit - Stumbled on a thread here with the same issue and it looks like "the box that I don't know what it does" is actually doing all the front audio and I need to find a way to cram it back in the dash.
http://www.12voltdata.com/forum/view...?f=428&t=18147

Last edited by findinforester; 10-29-2018 at 02:11 PM.
findinforester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2018, 02:24 PM   #1586
phd12v
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 432497
Join Date: Oct 2015
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pitt
Vehicle:
18 Sti
ISM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by findinforester View Post
Hi - I replaced the head unit (4400nex) on a 2016 Forester with 7" + HK yesterday with the harnesses above and everything seems to work except for ALL of the speakers. I get normal audio from the speakers in the rear (ones right behind the front seats at window level) but a muffled bass sound from all of the front speakers (using equalizer to test)

There was 1 unused factory harness after I installed everything + the small unit under the old 7" (with Continental tire logo on it that I'm not sure what it does). Leaning towards that harness + the unused cables on the Pioneer harness but I have no idea.

I don't want to add a new amp so I'm hoping there's a way to get audio to the front if that makes sense to anyone I'd be extremely grateful

*Edit - Stumbled on a thread here with the same issue and it looks like "the box that I don't know what it does" is actually doing all the front audio and I need to find a way to cram it back in the dash.
http://www.12voltdata.com/forum/view...?f=428&t=18147
that would be the starlink module, and your front speaker leads run through it, it can be wired around, however is depends of how much work you want to do or are comfortable with
phd12v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2018, 03:04 PM   #1587
findinforester
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 493339
Join Date: Oct 2018
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phd12v View Post
that would be the starlink module, and your front speaker leads run through it, it can be wired around, however is depends of how much work you want to do or are comfortable with
It shall be crammed back in.

What about the brown Starlink cable on the SU2 & the oem pink cable I connected? Is that a different function?
findinforester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2018, 01:07 AM   #1588
tway22
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 437069
Join Date: Dec 2015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by findinforester View Post
It shall be crammed back in.

What about the brown Starlink cable on the SU2 & the oem pink cable I connected? Is that a different function?
I had the same issue with my front speakers. I ended up cramming the STARLINK module in and all is working except weak radio. I think the maestro rr and su2 uses the 8th pin on the 10 pin harness. I think itís doing what itís suppose to but some stations are just weaker than others
tway22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 09:03 AM   #1589
rrobe53
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 454075
Join Date: Sep 2016
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phd12v View Post
that would be the starlink module, and your front speaker leads run through it, it can be wired around, however is depends of how much work you want to do or are comfortable with
@phd12v If I don't pay for the Starlink service, is there any reason to keep that module. It's easily the biggest pain to get stuffed in. I know it does the speakers but I don't know what else I lose by bypassing it, and I don't know what wires I'd have to splice together. I've got a 2017 STI 7" non HK.
rrobe53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 10:25 AM   #1590
phd12v
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 432497
Join Date: Oct 2015
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pitt
Vehicle:
18 Sti
ISM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrobe53 View Post
@phd12v If I don't pay for the Starlink service, is there any reason to keep that module. It's easily the biggest pain to get stuffed in. I know it does the speakers but I don't know what else I lose by bypassing it, and I don't know what wires I'd have to splice together. I've got a 2017 STI 7" non HK.
no it can be removed.... thats totally your call. However you will need to jump the front speaker wires (positive and negative) INs to the OUTs

Im pretty sure the document is floating around here to do it, I will check to see if i have the exact pin out for you
phd12v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 10:32 AM   #1591
rrobe53
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 454075
Join Date: Sep 2016
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phd12v View Post
no it can be removed.... thats totally your call. However you will need to jump the front speaker wires (positive and negative) INs to the OUTs

Im pretty sure the document is floating around here to do it, I will check to see if i have the exact pin out for you
I think I might do that then, if it's not necessary, it'd certainly make it much easier to get everything in the dash. I'm trying to dig up the wiring too but it seems like the wiring has changed between the years and even between the different stock headunit.
rrobe53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 10:56 AM   #1592
phd12v
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 432497
Join Date: Oct 2015
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pitt
Vehicle:
18 Sti
ISM

Default

16 pin connector on starlink unit.
-------------------------------------------------------
Pin 1 WHITE/BLUE jumps over to Pin 2 WHITE/BLACK

Pin 3 RED jumps over to Pin 4 GREEN

Pin 9 BLACK/BLUE jumps to Pin 10 BLUE/ORANGE

Pin 11 BROWN/WHITE jumps to Pin 12 BROWN/YELLOW


That SHOULD be the right jumps to do... ill search for more in depth diagram
phd12v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 11:09 AM   #1593
phd12v
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 432497
Join Date: Oct 2015
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pitt
Vehicle:
18 Sti
ISM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrobe53 View Post
I think I might do that then, if it's not necessary, it'd certainly make it much easier to get everything in the dash. I'm trying to dig up the wiring too but it seems like the wiring has changed between the years and even between the different stock headunit.
you can slip it vertical into the dash if need be, thats how mine is.....

With the RR that one wire that goes to the starlink plug ...it tells the starlink that the factory radio is there, and keeps the light on green in the SOS button pad
phd12v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 11:17 AM   #1594
rrobe53
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 454075
Join Date: Sep 2016
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phd12v View Post
you can slip it vertical into the dash if need be, thats how mine is.....

With the RR that one wire that goes to the starlink plug ...it tells the starlink that the factory radio is there, and keeps the light on green in the SOS button pad
Did you bend or cut anything to get it back in there? I couldn't get it vertical behind in there, but maybe I'm doing something wrong. When I'm trying to stuff it back in, it seems like these tabs get in the way. https://i.imgur.com/7aJbhYO.png

I was trying to stuff it behind the climate controls but I haven't seen if that fits yet. https://i.imgur.com/IpjtVJB.png Maybe if I clip some of the ties I could get it deeper in there, but then not sure if it'll interfere with stuffing the harnesses back in.

I'm also wondering if I can take a dremel to it and remove some of the footprint. It's pretty big, but it seems like a lot of it is just useless plastic. https://i.imgur.com/92uZCSz.png

I cut this Pink wire and linked it into the Starlink from the RR already: https://i.imgur.com/mhFJMSR.png
rrobe53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 02:55 PM   #1595
tway22
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 437069
Join Date: Dec 2015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phd12v View Post
check pin number 8 in the 10 pin plug, make sure it is powering up as well.With radio on.

Pin 8 on the harness included with the SU2 is not connected to anything. I tried connecting it to the Pioneer Avic8400 harness that is labeled remote amp turn on but that didn't work. I then connected that cable to a 12v and it shorted and blew the fuse on the SU2. I'll have to pull the head unit again but I'm positive that was pin 8 which is the blue wire on the SU2 harness.
tway22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 05:06 PM   #1596
phd12v
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 432497
Join Date: Oct 2015
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pitt
Vehicle:
18 Sti
ISM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tway22 View Post
Pin 8 on the harness included with the SU2 is not connected to anything. I tried connecting it to the Pioneer Avic8400 harness that is labeled remote amp turn on but that didn't work. I then connected that cable to a 12v and it shorted and blew the fuse on the SU2. I'll have to pull the head unit again but I'm positive that was pin 8 which is the blue wire on the SU2 harness.
if you look at the harness metra number 70-1761 10 pin plug.... it is the blue one on there.
phd12v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 05:57 PM   #1597
tway22
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 437069
Join Date: Dec 2015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phd12v View Post
if you look at the harness metra number 70-1761 10 pin plug.... it is the blue one on there.
It looks like it's tapped into the 12v wire as well. Thanks, I'll check that out.
tway22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2018, 09:37 PM   #1598
rrobe53
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 454075
Join Date: Sep 2016
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shook187 View Post
I got mine on Amazon
I'm thinking about doing this. I got all the parts to do it and might do it this weekend. How as the room behind there, any lessons learned I should know ahead of time? I'm going into a 2017 STI.
rrobe53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 12:45 PM   #1599
ajent
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 404279
Join Date: Oct 2014
Default

Anyone know where to purchase this feeder cable? I damaged mine, and SVXdc isn't replying to emails.

Thanks

ajent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 09:55 AM   #1600
phd12v
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 432497
Join Date: Oct 2015
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pitt
Vehicle:
18 Sti
ISM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajent View Post
Anyone know where to purchase this feeder cable? I damaged mine, and SVXdc isn't replying to emails.

Thanks


what are you trying to do?? is this for a factory radio swap?? or are you running aftermarket headunit??
phd12v is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.