Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday October 19, 2018
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Mid West Subaru Owners Club
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2004, 10:39 AM   #1
Akirasoft
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2973
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Inverness, IL
Vehicle:
2018 Camaro ZL1 1LE
Red

Default I need old RAM

If anyone has any PC133 low density memory (128mb should have chips on both sides for 16 total chips) and/or some ECC PC100 memory....

If anyone has any laying around let me know, i'll paypal some cash or something
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Akirasoft is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 11-18-2004, 10:44 AM   #2
EA82TRally
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73270
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Edwards AFB, CA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
Midnight Black Pearl

Default

What size are you looking for(128mb, 64mb, 32mb,etc)?
EA82TRally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 10:47 AM   #3
Akirasoft
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2973
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Inverness, IL
Vehicle:
2018 Camaro ZL1 1LE
Red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EA82TRally
What size are you looking for(128mb, 64mb, 32mb,etc)?
prolly would have helped if I mentioned that...

I'm looking for 128 in both speeds. the ECC is for an old kayak xu workstation im using as a server, and the 133 is to get some other older machines up and running. PC133 can be had as cheaply as 18 bucks for 128mb on newegg, the problem is these are high density chips which wont work on older motherboards.
Akirasoft is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 12:06 PM   #4
bunot
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21641
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: International
Vehicle:
4EAT [email protected]
Now a 6MT! beyatch!

Default

damn mike, you're 1 week late. i just sold some old 128 mb RAM on ebay. i let it go for a measly $10.
bunot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 12:21 PM   #5
blue-sun
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 15934
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Yorkville, IL
Vehicle:
2017 Jetta GLI
Tornado Red

Default

I know a few months ago, Obyone had some RAM he was looking to get rid of. . .

David
blue-sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 12:22 PM   #6
8Complex

Moderator
 
Member#: 922
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Vehicle:
16 WRX (white)
04 FXT (red)

Default

Try looking on the FS forums of www.hardforum.com
8Complex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 12:24 PM   #7
Nutter
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7185
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: LITH, IL
Vehicle:
2014 CLA 45 AMG
White

Default

I may have some, got to run to lunch, pm me a number to call you.
Nutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 12:26 PM   #8
Akirasoft
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2973
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Inverness, IL
Vehicle:
2018 Camaro ZL1 1LE
Red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nutter
I may have some, got to run to lunch, pm me a number to call you.
pm sent
Akirasoft is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 12:27 PM   #9
fliz
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 30342
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: #blp
Default

I've got an old 128Mb ram chip out of an IBM laptop.

I think it's 128, may be 256. I don't know any details or specs. I know it was pretty expensive when my company bought it for me in 2000.
fliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 12:47 PM   #10
front
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11664
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chicago Ill
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza Wrx
Blue

Default

ive got a few simm chips...
front is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 12:53 PM   #11
Akirasoft
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2973
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Inverness, IL
Vehicle:
2018 Camaro ZL1 1LE
Red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fliz
I've got an old 128Mb ram chip out of an IBM laptop.

I think it's 128, may be 256. I don't know any details or specs. I know it was pretty expensive when my company bought it for me in 2000.
laptop memory is a bit different fliz. I am looking for laptop memory as well, but for a MUCH older laptop.... pentium 233.
Akirasoft is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 02:22 PM   #12
fliz
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 30342
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: #blp
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akirasoft
laptop memory is a bit different fliz. I am looking for laptop memory as well, but for a MUCH older laptop.... pentium 233.
Yeah, it all seems to be proprietary, and even differs between models. I don't imagine I'll ever find anybody that can use the chip, but I feel bad throwing it out.

They had laptops when Pentium 233 chips were made?
fliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 02:29 PM   #13
Akirasoft
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2973
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Inverness, IL
Vehicle:
2018 Camaro ZL1 1LE
Red

Default

hehe. well honestly, laptops are kinda shady. I'm not real up to speed on how everything is done, but most laptops use SODIMMS, which are like a miniature version of a desktop chip. Manufacturers like kingston and vendors like cdw would like you to believe that ram is system specific even for desktops, but its really not. You basicaly just need to watch out for the memory density. That 128mb chip of yours might work in my laptop, what you want for it?
Akirasoft is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 02:34 PM   #14
fliz
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 30342
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: #blp
Default

case of beer?

I don't know. I'd have to find it first. I think it's in a drawer in my desk. I'm out of town this week, but remind me on Monday and I'll take a look at it.
fliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading RAM, keeping old RAM...is this possible? DrDRum Off-Topic 39 01-29-2007 09:59 AM
IT guys, need desktop RAM help cwb124 Off-Topic 13 01-01-2006 02:05 PM
ot, need some ram Matt K New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 14 02-10-2005 09:05 AM
Need more RAM where to buy? [email protected] Off-Topic 9 11-25-2004 06:55 PM
i needs cheap ram Projekt Off-Topic 3 04-12-2004 02:25 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.