Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday January 16, 2021
Home Forums Images WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Proven Power Bragging

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2003, 05:18 PM   #1
ezatnova
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10877
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: West Chester, PA
Vehicle:
2007 BMW 335 Coupe
Space Gray with Coral Red

Default Please post Auterra / Nology Palm dyno results here

I'd like to start this thread to post the numbers people were able to obtain using the dyno software with the Auterra/Nology Palm software.
I have not yet confirmed if it is wheel of crank power readings.

After inputting all of the variables into the program, I was able to get these numbers in 3rd gear. I have a TXS S2

Peak Power - 258 @ 5500 rpm

Peak Torque - 243 @ 5300 rpm

My graphs show a big dip in torque at around 4600 rpm, from 225 down to 210, then back up to the peak. Horsepower curve is much more linear, but it does slow a bit in the above mentioned area.

No chance to do the acceleration tests yet.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
ezatnova is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 07-18-2003, 06:06 PM   #2
krillz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29874
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: new york
Vehicle:
2002 wrx
mblackp

Default

i just got one today, and was trying to get a third gear run out of it... but its giving me 5659 horspower and 5085 lb/ft of torque....

somethings gotta be wrong....
heres my setup:

weight: 3150
gear ratio: 1.366 (third gear)
tire dia: 25.1
temp: 77
humidity: 71%
pressure: 29.99
drag: .34
frontal area: 15?????

are any of these grossly off enough to throw off the whole dyno???

all the sensors etc etc seem to work fine
krillz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2003, 07:35 PM   #3
ezatnova
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10877
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: West Chester, PA
Vehicle:
2007 BMW 335 Coupe
Space Gray with Coral Red

Default

Well, if you run 2's in the 1/4 mile, that COULD be right!

Anyway, there's NO WAY your third gear ratio is in the 1's!! If it were, in third gear, you would not MOVE. You measured it wrong or something. My 3'rd gear ratio is 5.42.
Your frontal area is also way low, but that isn't your main problem. Try 21-23 for that.
Cd is fine. Weight is fine, tires are fine, although I got 26 inches (but I am using 215/45)

But yeah, the main problem is your ratio.
ezatnova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2003, 07:50 PM   #4
krillz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29874
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: new york
Vehicle:
2002 wrx
mblackp

Default

thank you, i dont know much about gear ratios

anyway, davearm told me that i needed to multply the gear i was using (1.366 for third) by the final gear ratio which puts me at.... 5.3274,

i was also using 1000 ft as my elevation, but i found that my actual elevation was alot closer to 15 ft so that will prob make a huge difference.

i want to get the variables 100% so as to have the most accurate numbers possible, even if they are slightly off (no more than the difference between different chassis dyno manufaturers) they will give me relative numbers to compare with what ive run before

the frontal area was an estimate, but i fouind that the actual height and width, multplied is about 26.9, i dont know if that accounts for the mirrors sticking ouyt or not so i dont know how close that is,....

if it does account for the mirrors, then my estimation puts a 'block around them making the car number-wise look bigger when in reality only the mirrors are styicking out that far...

maybe ill just use 22 or 23 like you guys


maybe i shouldve read the manual!
but then again i hate pdfs
krillz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2003, 11:24 PM   #5
ezatnova
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10877
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: West Chester, PA
Vehicle:
2007 BMW 335 Coupe
Space Gray with Coral Red

Default

I doubt 1000 feet will make THAT much difference ... I'm sure there's math out there to figure it out, but if I had to guess, since out car's are turbo, I'd say maybe a 5 - 10 hp loss.
Anyway, post your results when you get them. I'm curious if you can get good 1/4 mile data. Each time I tried it said "N/A" for data, after I finished beating the hell out of the car.
ezatnova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2003, 01:30 PM   #6
krillz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29874
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: new york
Vehicle:
2002 wrx
mblackp

Default

its such a bitch to do quarter miles by me, theres no really open roads that go unpatrolled, and i have to get almost up to 100mph

what i will do when i do the quarter miles is run my hks type one us spec tt quarter mile feature at the same time to see the diff

i will tell you that the hks was off by about .4 or even more at the track.... it recorded times much faster than they actually are, seems like it doesnt start to record until im done with my 60 ft, but i can get relative times compared to what ive run before
krillz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 01:23 PM   #7
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

My software should be here today and my hotsync cable should be here tomorrow. Then I'll do a dyno run on my L immediately before tearing her apart for the swap.

-Jon
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 01:32 PM   #8
krillz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29874
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: new york
Vehicle:
2002 wrx
mblackp

Default

anyone have any idea on wether or not the front o2 sensor bank one sensor one is the sensor in the uppipe, ive gotten conflicing information, it seems to be the 5 volt....

does anyone have a conversion chart from voltages to a/f or egt???
krillz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 01:54 PM   #9
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

There is no A/F sensor in the up-pipe. There is one in the exhaust manifold and the catpipe. The front O2 sensor is a wideband, proprietary 5v sensor while the rear is a standard 1v sensor. There is no standard conversion from 5v to standard A/F readings.

-Jon
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 02:39 PM   #10
krillz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29874
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: new york
Vehicle:
2002 wrx
mblackp

Default

ok, in the auterra software, there is a sensor labeled

"Bank one Sensor one" and it logs up to 5 volts, this is the sensor in the uppipe correct?

How can i log through the auterra software and get something usefull? There are no conversions?
krillz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 01:46 AM   #11
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

I tried maybe ten different runs tonight and almost every decent run ended with an error saying that the sampling was insufficient. I'm not quite sure that the deal is.

-Jon
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 09:01 AM   #12
ezatnova
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10877
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: West Chester, PA
Vehicle:
2007 BMW 335 Coupe
Space Gray with Coral Red

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by stimpy
I tried maybe ten different runs tonight and almost every decent run ended with an error saying that the sampling was insufficient. I'm not quite sure that the deal is.

-Jon
Doing 1/4 mile, not dyno, right? This is a pain. Did you try fooling with the sampling rate?
ezatnova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 11:30 AM   #13
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

I was doing dyno actually. I was under the impression that fast sampling had to be enabled to do dyno? Maybe that was for monitoring sensors... I could get partial dyno results in 1st and 2nd gear, but not an entire 3rd gear run.

-Jon
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 12:29 PM   #14
ezatnova
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10877
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: West Chester, PA
Vehicle:
2007 BMW 335 Coupe
Space Gray with Coral Red

Default

Hmm, that's strange. I've only had problems with the 1/4 mile. Have you tried that? I had no problems with dyno plotting. It didn't even mind 2nd gear, but I trust 3rd gear more (full boost, longer sampling time, etc) I did have fast sampling enabled. Make sure you are holding it at a constant rolling speed at around 2000 rpm until that thing beeps to tell you to go. If you don't stay steady, it may not like it.
ezatnova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 01:03 PM   #15
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

Do you wait until its done beeping before stomping it or do you hit it right as the beep goes off? I'll be sure to play with it again later. I just decided to stop because I started seeing deer and that is simply no good when doing 80mph.

-Jon
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 01:43 PM   #16
ezatnova
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10877
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: West Chester, PA
Vehicle:
2007 BMW 335 Coupe
Space Gray with Coral Red

Default

I think I wait until it's done beeping (it doesn't beep that long does it?).
Good call though. Deer and 80 do not mix.
ezatnova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 09:41 PM   #17
cronic
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9749
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Vehicle:
-

Default

I was thinking of getting one of these for logging because palms are cheap and i dont need to burn anymore money on a laptop for DD.. HOw good is the logging that can be done compared to DD? Does it log as many different parameters as the DD?

Thanks
Dave
cronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2003, 08:20 PM   #18
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

This is for a 1996 EJ22 with 135hp and 140lb/ft.

Power/Torque
run1:
101HP @ 5300RPM, 128lb/ft @ 2700RPM
run2:
106HP @ 5400RPM, 133lb/ft @ 4500RPM
run3:
104HP @ 5500RPM, 130lb/ft @ 2800RPM
run4:
103HP @ 5400 RPM, 131lb/ft @ 5000RPM
*Note: run1&run3 and run2&run4 were done in the same directions; road is kind of crappy which would be why the torque peak is slightly off.

Acceleration
run1:
0-60MPH: 15.3s
1/8 MPH: 54.6MPH
1/8 time: 13.4s
1/4 MPH: 70.0MPH
1/4 time: 20.5s
run2:
0-60MPH: 15.3s
1/8 MPH: 54.3MPH
1/8 time: 13.4s
1/4 MPH: 70.6MPH
1/4 time: 20.5s
run3:
0-60MPH: 15.5s
1/8 MPH: 55.4MPH
1/8 time: 13.8s
1/4 MPH: 72.2MPH
1/4 time: 20.8s

For some reason, my system will not properly read the sensors with fast sampling enabled. I'm going to try and reinstall the software and see if it changes anything. I was originally getting an error about inefficient number of samples being taken, but that was because I was getting intermittent connection. If I went into List and viewed engine RPM, it would hang often and wouldn't be updated. Disabling fast sampling resolved this issue and allowed the dyno functions to work. I'm not sure what kind of accuracy I am losing by doing so, but atleast its working.

-Jon
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can i post a pdf of dyno graph here? bluemicamatt Newbies & FAQs 7 09-24-2009 03:18 AM
Post your Cobb Tuning dyno results! 06-wrx-tr Rocky Mountains Impreza Club Forum -- RMIC 129 05-15-2009 06:23 PM
Please post stage 2 UTEC dyno AllAWD Proven Power Bragging 13 09-10-2007 12:45 PM
post stage 4 vf22 dyno results please rjrutzky Proven Power Bragging 25 12-11-2003 09:37 PM
Post your dyno results here! Darryl Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 0 11-10-2001 06:40 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.