Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday December 11, 2017
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2011, 02:04 AM   #651
Mike Costin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 131787
Join Date: Nov 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Sandy Hook
Vehicle:
06 STI,OB,OME XJs
Merkur Junkyard

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baconsnake View Post
Backstory:
12 months ago, bought a pair of supertones + relay. Installed and working fine
A couple months ago, my supertones stopped working, but the regular horn was fine.
This past week, during the rain - the supertones would go off for no reason, AND NOT STOP! I took the keys out of the ignition, WOULD NOT STOP! So I pulled the fuse, and it finally stopped even though it was really painful to get under the hood.

Fast forward to today, where I am checking out my connections, and what do I see?
Yes, always a good idea to use dielectric grease. Yes, it's a good idea to hang relays with the contacts/openings down.

But that is an abnormal amount of corrosion. I've seen less corrosion on relays used in a marine application for a decade.

Was the relay located near an aging battery or the coolant overflow? Was it exposed excessively to road salt? Was it submerged in water?

Did the relay fit the harness tightly when first installed? Did the contacts in the harness look like regular 'ole copper?

The corrosion seems to be concentrated around pin 86 which shouldn't see voltage unless the horn button is depressed.

Can you take the relay apart by pulling the mounting hole (case) section away from the terminals (bottom) and snap a picture? I think it's going to look like the Statue of Liberty in there
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Mike Costin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 09-04-2011, 10:39 AM   #652
Baconsnake
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214880
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore, MD
Vehicle:
2009 Outback Sport
Obsidian Black

Default

Was the relay located near an aging battery or the coolant overflow? Was it exposed excessively to road salt? Was it submerged in water?
Located behind the front bumper, ahead of the radiator. VERY easily exposed to salt

Did the relay fit the harness tightly when first installed? Did the contacts in the harness look like regular 'ole copper?
It did fit very tightly originally. And the harness looked fine when originally installed.

Can you take the relay apart by pulling the mounting hole (case) section away from the terminals (bottom) and snap a picture? I think it's going to look like the Statue of Liberty in there
Sorry I already tossed it, but I would bet you are right. That pin was pitted and almost ready to snap. In fact the connector that was attached to it had corroded and separated as well. Oh, one thing to add is the pin that was most corroded was the one at the bottom based on how it was mounted.
Baconsnake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 12:51 PM   #653
Baconsnake
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214880
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore, MD
Vehicle:
2009 Outback Sport
Obsidian Black

Default

So I got everything installed and working correctly using a new relay and connector. It's packed with grease on the connections, and sealed with hot melt glue both where the wires enter the connector and the seam between the relay. I figure that should keep it water tight.

It's odd, but the yellow wire (not sure what pin that's on) was burnt about 6 inches up the wire. I kept snipping it back until I got to clean wire. A sign of overloading perhaps?

If this ends up failing, I'll definitely be creating my own harness. One that will be long enough to mount inside the engine bay anyway.
Baconsnake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 04:47 PM   #654
Rippen Griffen
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 91708
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Chesterfield, VA
Vehicle:
AD Motorsports FTW
06 OBP - Cobb AP Stg 2

Default

Pre-made Harnesses are available, if you know where to look.
Rippen Griffen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 08:43 PM   #655
aerosaaber
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 33850
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Pittsfield, MA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Wagon
WRC Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baconsnake View Post
It's odd, but the yellow wire (not sure what pin that's on) was burnt about 6 inches up the wire. I kept snipping it back until I got to clean wire. A sign of overloading perhaps?
Once it starts corroding, it'll just keep on travelling. I'm sure the corrosion causes increased resistance and thus heat.
aerosaaber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 11:49 PM   #656
cbrkneedrggr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 293230
Join Date: Sep 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Cortland, NY
Vehicle:
2006 WRX STi
WRB

Default

Very nice, i love the look and sound of the supertones! This will defiantly help me out in a few months.
cbrkneedrggr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 09:26 PM   #657
dickiescoob
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 259508
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Smokey Point, WA
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Limited
WRB

Default

I've had some hellas on my car for a little over a month now, and all I did was disconnect both stock horns, ground the hellas, then just hook up the hellas to the stock wiring and they were working fine. At least, they worked fine up until about a week ago. I used my hellas in some traffic when someone cut me off, then after that, they no longer worked. I found out it was just the fuse that was blown, so replaced and they worked again. I honked the hellas several times, and they worked for a few days, then blew the fuse again. I was under the impression we didnt need a relay, and could just use the stock wiring on the newer cars (2011). anyone have any suggestions?
dickiescoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 12:54 PM   #658
olazy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 263322
Join Date: Nov 2010
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston MA
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Limited
WRBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkeel0 View Post
I've had some hellas on my car for a little over a month now, and all I did was disconnect both stock horns, ground the hellas, then just hook up the hellas to the stock wiring and they were working fine. At least, they worked fine up until about a week ago. I used my hellas in some traffic when someone cut me off, then after that, they no longer worked. I found out it was just the fuse that was blown, so replaced and they worked again. I honked the hellas several times, and they worked for a few days, then blew the fuse again. I was under the impression we didnt need a relay, and could just use the stock wiring on the newer cars (2011). anyone have any suggestions?
it appears you got the wrong impression. looks like you'll be needing that relay.
olazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 01:01 PM   #659
dickiescoob
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 259508
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Smokey Point, WA
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Limited
WRB

Default

Some generic relay from like auto zone should work tho right?
dickiescoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 02:00 PM   #660
olazy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 263322
Join Date: Nov 2010
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston MA
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Limited
WRBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkeel0 View Post
Some generic relay from like auto zone should work tho right?
did your horns not come with one?

and yes i believe they are generic 4 prong automotive relays, you will also need a new harness to wire everything together.
olazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 02:06 PM   #661
dickiescoob
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 259508
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Smokey Point, WA
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Limited
WRB

Default

No they did not come with anything. Bought them used, just the horns. Didn't plan on using them on the car, but found out they worked, so I did. Why would I need a harness?
dickiescoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 02:11 PM   #662
Safe Drives
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 75146
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Vehicle:
1998 Impreza Wagon

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkeel0 View Post
I've had some hellas on my car for a little over a month now, and all I did was disconnect both stock horns, ground the hellas, then just hook up the hellas to the stock wiring and they were working fine. At least, they worked fine up until about a week ago. I used my hellas in some traffic when someone cut me off, then after that, they no longer worked. I found out it was just the fuse that was blown, so replaced and they worked again. I honked the hellas several times, and they worked for a few days, then blew the fuse again. I was under the impression we didnt need a relay, and could just use the stock wiring on the newer cars (2011). anyone have any suggestions?
First check for corrosion like the above poster. This could increase resistance and end up blowing fuses. If no corrosion is found, put a 5 Amp bigger fuse in and report back in one week. You really should not need the relay, in my opinion.
Safe Drives is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 02:15 PM   #663
Safe Drives
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 75146
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Vehicle:
1998 Impreza Wagon

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkeel0 View Post
No they did not come with anything. Bought them used, just the horns. Didn't plan on using them on the car, but found out they worked, so I did. Why would I need a harness?
Dude is trying to sell you something you don't need....
Safe Drives is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 02:25 PM   #664
dickiescoob
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 259508
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Smokey Point, WA
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Limited
WRB

Default

A new harness didn't make sense at all.. To me at least. I know its not corrosion because it is less than a year old, and I cleaned it. So I will try a 20amp today, and report back.
dickiescoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 02:34 PM   #665
Safe Drives
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 75146
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Vehicle:
1998 Impreza Wagon

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkeel0 View Post
A new harness didn't make sense at all.. To me at least. I know its not corrosion because it is less than a year old, and I cleaned it. So I will try a 20amp today, and report back.
Well, keep in mind the you are likely rerouting the wires. You may have a wire pointing upwards where the stock wire was pointing downwards, or something like that. It just sounds suspicious of this since it worked fine for a while and then started crapping out on you. Don't be afraid to slather some grease on there. But first thing, check the wires very well. Make sure there is ZERO corrosion.
Safe Drives is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 02:49 PM   #666
dickiescoob
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 259508
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Smokey Point, WA
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Limited
WRB

Default

I know that I made sure the connectors were pointing down, since all I did was splice into the stock wiring, run new wire to horns and ground. But ill check that today after work, easy enough to get to. Im hoping that just a bigger fuse dues it.
dickiescoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 01:39 AM   #667
dibblejr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94070
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Dirty South
Vehicle:
05 LGT
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkeel0 View Post
I know that I made sure the connectors were pointing down, since all I did was splice into the stock wiring, run new wire to horns and ground. But ill check that today after work, easy enough to get to. Im hoping that just a bigger fuse dues it.
My expert advice- use a relay. I have installed dozens of Supertones and always use the relays supplied or go buy one from an auto parts store. The relay is there for a reason, I have had no problems whatsoever with any horns blowing fuses.

By simply using the oem horn wires and replacing the fuse with a larger amp you run the risk of an electrical fire that can cause you a lot more headaches than a $10 relay.

Best of luck

Jay-R
dibblejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 01:55 AM   #668
Mike Costin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 131787
Join Date: Nov 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Sandy Hook
Vehicle:
06 STI,OB,OME XJs
Merkur Junkyard

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dibblejr View Post
My expert advice- use a relay. I have installed dozens of Supertones and always use the relays supplied or go buy one from an auto parts store. The relay is there for a reason, I have had no problems whatsoever with any horns blowing fuses.

By simply using the oem horn wires and replacing the fuse with a larger amp you run the risk of an electrical fire that can cause you a lot more headaches than a $10 relay.

Best of luck

Jay-R
From my own experience I haven't seen any Supertones kits that come with relays. I do use one on my setup.

I measured a while ago and the Supertones were pulling around 6 or 12 amps (separate or together, I forget) at 13-14V. So this person definitely has a wiring issue that he should sort out regardless of whether he uses a relay or not. There's a significant voltage drop en route to cause the Supertones to pull 15A together.
Mike Costin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 12:09 PM   #669
dibblejr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94070
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Dirty South
Vehicle:
05 LGT
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Costin View Post
From my own experience I haven't seen any Supertones kits that come with relays. I do use one on my setup.

I measured a while ago and the Supertones were pulling around 6 or 12 amps (separate or together, I forget) at 13-14V. So this person definitely has a wiring issue that he should sort out regardless of whether he uses a relay or not. There's a significant voltage drop en route to cause the Supertones to pull 15A together.
Mike

Every Hella Supertone Kit comes with a relay. As you know I have installed hundreds of these and I have a kit right now. As you can see by the pics the relay is normally tucked under the horns also the box indicates the relay "is included".

Since the kit does not come with wires most people are confused by how to wire the relay and disregard the instructions that are also included in and on the box (as shown by my pictures).

Now if members out there are buying knockoffs or used Hella Supertones then yes they may not be including a relay. You can buy relays at almost any parts store.

Front of box

Inside box (in bottom upper right corner you can see relay)


Directions- show relay

Box showing Relay Included Inside

Last edited by dibblejr; 09-15-2011 at 12:15 PM.
dibblejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 01:27 AM   #670
Mike Costin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 131787
Join Date: Nov 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Sandy Hook
Vehicle:
06 STI,OB,OME XJs
Merkur Junkyard

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dibblejr View Post
Mike
Every Hella Supertone Kit comes with a relay. As you know I have installed hundreds of these and I have a kit right now. As you can see by the pics the relay is normally tucked under the horns also the box indicates the relay "is included".
Dang, you're right

I'm going to go dig through my parts boxes because I suspect there are some Hella-stamped relays floating around
Mike Costin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 08:43 PM   #671
SnowMan23
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 135238
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, OR
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Black

Default

I agree! I wish I had seem this post when I was installing mine! Although my setup wasn't working at all because I had a bad ground wire. Apparently it's a common problem for the 02 WRX.
SnowMan23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 10:50 AM   #672
LostAndFound
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 253380
Join Date: Jul 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ / NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX

Default

Has anyone purchased a knock off set from ebay? I did and regret it already. Not only am I an electrical retard, the terminals don't have any numbers, and even if it did I have no idea how to read wiring diagrams. Nor did the ebay kit come with anything aside from the horns (but it seems like I certainly have to buy the relay along with additional wiring.

Lesson learned, buy the real deal from one of our vendor.
LostAndFound is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 12:11 PM   #673
dibblejr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94070
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Dirty South
Vehicle:
05 LGT
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LostAndFound View Post
Has anyone purchased a knock off set from ebay? I did and regret it already. Not only am I an electrical retard, the terminals don't have any numbers, and even if it did I have no idea how to read wiring diagrams. Nor did the ebay kit come with anything aside from the horns (but it seems like I certainly have to buy the relay along with additional wiring.

Lesson learned, buy the real deal from one of our vendor.
Even on the "Real" Hellas you still have to look at wire diagram. Only the relay is marked. A lot of people get confused.

If you look at the picture I posted above it has the wiring diagram. Study it and it will make sense. PM me if you need additional help.

Read, read and read again PRIOR to installing. I precut all of my wires and always keep them on hand so when a friend needs an install it is ready.

Takes me about 30 min for a complete install, but I have been doing them for a long time on probably over 100 cars.

Most of mine I purchased from rallylights.
dibblejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 11:43 PM   #674
mrjcotten
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 241953
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: CVILLE, VA
Vehicle:
02 hybrid/6speed
01 2.5 RS sedan

Default

WTF is the hype about these horns? I have only seen them on subarus and I seems like almost everyone has them. I had never even heard of them until I bought my wrx. Just curious if there is a reason why its so common in the Subaru crowd.... They are loud though lol
mrjcotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 12:44 AM   #675
dibblejr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94070
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Dirty South
Vehicle:
05 LGT
PSM

Default

Loud, affordable, looks and fairly painless to install.

Loud being the main reason. Will help keep you from getting hit or when you want or feel the need to road rage.
dibblejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to: Install Alpine HU-Currently Have Sony gtwagon941 Car Audio, Video & Security 13 02-15-2006 02:35 AM
How to: install Megan coilovers? spooledwrx Interior & Exterior Modification 12 01-20-2006 01:14 AM
How to: Install a new clutch no_rex_yet Off-Topic 11 11-12-2004 03:45 PM
How To: Install WRX Turbo/IC on a 2.2L Pepo Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 12 10-08-2004 12:18 PM
how to: install rear trailing arm bushings Scott F. Williams Brakes, Steering & Suspension 4 11-06-2002 12:37 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.