Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday December 11, 2017
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Subaru Models > Impreza Forum

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2001, 11:25 AM   #1
Greg Sharpe
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 741
Join Date: Jan 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: 'ol Jersey Bastard
Vehicle:
04 EVO SSL
Asphalt Black

Post Tach wiring question

Where can the tach signal wire be connected on a 1.8L? I don't have the factory owners manual or service manuals, so I'm lacking info sources here. Thanks to anyone who can help me on this one!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Greg Sharpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 05-02-2001, 05:31 PM   #2
Greg Sharpe
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 741
Join Date: Jan 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: 'ol Jersey Bastard
Vehicle:
04 EVO SSL
Asphalt Black

Post

You are the man!
Greg Sharpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2001, 07:48 PM   #3
RedBrighton96
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1246
Join Date: Apr 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Columbus, OH
Vehicle:
2011 WRX

Post

Thank you, i just put that in like two weeks ago so it was pretty fresh in my mind. Glad i could help out.

Rob
RedBrighton96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2001, 10:04 PM   #4
Nesta722
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 5297
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: East Hartford, CT
Vehicle:
1994 Impreza
Brighton - Glacier White

Question

RedBrighton, did you put a factory tach into a Brighton that didn't have a tach?!

Matty
Nesta722 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2001, 10:36 PM   #5
RedBrighton96
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1246
Join Date: Apr 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Columbus, OH
Vehicle:
2011 WRX

Post

Yeah, i got an instrument cluster from a 92 legacy off of e-bay, and took the tach out of it and put it in mine. It took a little modification with the wiring and i had to do a little trimming of the face plate of the tach because it was a little too big, but it fit fine and works great, the only problem is the needle is a different color and style, but i don't care. One of these days i'll get around to painting it.

I hated having a standard and no tach. And i figured getting one off of e-bay would be a lot cheaper than buying a new factory tach. I only paid $35 shipped for it. And it's pretty easy to wire.

Rob
RedBrighton96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2001, 11:26 PM   #6
Greg Sharpe
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 741
Join Date: Jan 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: 'ol Jersey Bastard
Vehicle:
04 EVO SSL
Asphalt Black

Post

Here's another question for you, what belongs in the five accessory spaces along side the steering wheel? My car is the base (stressing the base word) model and has nothing along the way of options.

It's so insulting when the factory puts a dummy dash spacer in place where a switch should be, and even runs the wires for that option into the back of the dummy spacer.
Greg Sharpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2001, 11:32 PM   #7
Greg Sharpe
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 741
Join Date: Jan 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: 'ol Jersey Bastard
Vehicle:
04 EVO SSL
Asphalt Black

Post

BTW, I got my aftermarket tach installed today with your tip and without any problems. Thanks again!
Greg Sharpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2001, 01:11 AM   #8
RedBrighton96
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1246
Join Date: Apr 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Columbus, OH
Vehicle:
2011 WRX

Post

The wiring should be run already up to the instrument cluster. I just put a tach in my car and all i had to do was solder a wire from the back of the instrument cluster to the tach because the screw holes didnt line up. The power and tach signals for the tach are transferred through screws which go through the back of the instrument cluster into the screw terminals of the tach. There are three holes. One is ground, one is +12V and the other is the Tach signal. And the screws go through and make contact with the very thin circuit board that is on the back of the instrument cluster. And there are three holes where the tach goes, one is lables +12V, one is GND, and the other shoudl say Tach. And if your scre holes don't line up, all you need to do is connect the proper terminals together and you're set. The reason the tach i put in didn't match up was because it was from a 92 legacy and i have a 96 impreza, but it was pretty simple to do. If there is anything else i can do to help, feel free to contact me.

Rob
RedBrighton96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2001, 08:01 AM   #9
RedBrighton96
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1246
Join Date: Apr 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Columbus, OH
Vehicle:
2011 WRX

Post

I don't know what that wiring harness is to the back of the dummy switch. Each time i pull my dash apart i wondered what it is for. In one of the spacers i have my driving light switch, but that's the only one. I don't know what they are for. I guess it's another one of those Brighton model wonders.

I figure one of them is probably for a rear wiper and a washer for the back if you are in a country where they have that option. I think They also put the water spray switch thter for the intercoolers and all of that stuff. I don't know abotu it all, but from pictures i have seen those buttons there in other models in other countries.

Glad you got your tach in and i could help. I loved getting mine in. It's just fun to watch. I hate the 6k redline though, but hey, it still runs like a beast. I can usually impress guys in RS's whenever we have meets and we get to do some spirited driving on back roads.

If you have any other questions about you car that i might be able to help you with, feel free to contact me.

Rob
RedBrighton96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tach wire and speed wire alternative brunetmj Electrical & Lighting 21 05-10-2009 04:56 PM
Remote Start Tach Wiring Question (i'm all searched out) i102spd Car Audio, Video & Security 8 10-18-2005 10:52 AM
Need Location of Tach Wire for WRX Autostart hman Car Audio, Video & Security 6 05-11-2001 10:35 AM
Urgent!!! Need Tach wire for WRX ECU... blkwag Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 3 04-15-2001 11:32 PM
Tach Wire Mayhew33 Technical Forum Archive 0 06-30-2000 11:38 AM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.