Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday May 14, 2021
Home Forums Images WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2020, 11:25 AM   #12501
NutBucket
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90804
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SFV
Vehicle:
2021 Ascent
2012 Accord

Default

The question is do you want to power your HVAC? That's going to require a "big" generator.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
NutBucket is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 08-05-2020, 11:33 AM   #12502
Salvation27
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 292403
Join Date: Aug 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: In Van Down By Rockaway River
Vehicle:
2012 Legacy
Graphite

Default

I think the only time I'd like to do that is for the winter/ baseboard heat.
I can most likely survive in summer/ heat
Salvation27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 11:53 AM   #12503
lag
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 34631
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Momma Didn't Love Me
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thechickencow View Post
For the toilet leak Iíd try the wax ring, it is possible to leak there. Just caulking around may hold the moisture in but itíll still be wet under - I believe you are actually not supposed to caulk 100% of the way around a toilet so itís visible when it does leak.

The only other spots Iíd know of are the valve/line to toilet and on a two piece where the upper and lower meet there is a gasket. They would both be clean water though.

Is it possible your nasty toilet-area carpet was just pee stained and itís creating a false pee smell of the leak?
My guess too.

If you have an old smart phone that works or have one at all that you don't always have to have on you maybe setting up a time-lapse recording of the area will show you what's leaking?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mla163 View Post
I am going to re-seat the toilet and check all the connections.

If that is ok, I am going to pull my hair out some more.

I've had the hardware holding the toilet to the base rust out and snap in two. This didn't cause a bad leak but it was inconsistent. Pop the covers off the hardware at the base of the toilet and check for tightness there. New wax ring kits should have new hardware if needed.
lag is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 12:08 PM   #12504
NutBucket
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90804
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SFV
Vehicle:
2021 Ascent
2012 Accord

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Salvation27 View Post
I think the only time I'd like to do that is for the winter/ baseboard heat.
I can most likely survive in summer/ heat
Assuming your heat is gas/oil fired?


Sounds like a 3kw generator should be plenty. Note that a 3kw unit won't have 220V if that matters. I don't think it will unless there's a circulator pump or something running off 220.

Last edited by NutBucket; 08-05-2020 at 12:26 PM.
NutBucket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 12:17 PM   #12505
Salvation27
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 292403
Join Date: Aug 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: In Van Down By Rockaway River
Vehicle:
2012 Legacy
Graphite

Default

Correct- oil.
And 3kw-5kw was what I was thinking
Salvation27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 12:30 PM   #12506
NutBucket
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90804
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SFV
Vehicle:
2021 Ascent
2012 Accord

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Salvation27 View Post
Correct- oil.
And 3kw-5kw was what I was thinking
IMHO depends totally on the 220V bit. 3KW should easily run lights, fridge, microwave, etc. Is your stove electric?


https://www.yamahamotorsports.com/ge...els/ef3000iseb


https://www.yamahamotorsports.com/ge...els/ef6300isde


https://powerequipment.honda.com/gen...odels/eu7000is


Yeah, not cheap!
NutBucket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 01:34 PM   #12507
legacy_etu
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 35985
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Default

I 'm pretty sure we have a dedicated home generator thread here somewhere. I remember all this being covered in detail before.
legacy_etu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 01:37 PM   #12508
Salvation27
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 292403
Join Date: Aug 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: In Van Down By Rockaway River
Vehicle:
2012 Legacy
Graphite

Default

Thanks, I'll look for it. Just posted where a thread was more active. Not many users frequent anymore
Salvation27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 01:48 PM   #12509
NutBucket
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90804
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SFV
Vehicle:
2021 Ascent
2012 Accord

Default

start posting there and it'll get busy. We follow like gnats.
NutBucket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 02:49 PM   #12510
legacy_etu
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 35985
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NutBucket View Post
start posting there and it'll get busy. We follow like gnats.

so true.

On a side note: my power just came back therefore my AC!! When I sized my whole house generator I said, "I don't need to power the AC, I can save a bunch of dough and get a smaller system". While I don't regret it, man I missed my AC. Got to 83 in the house today.
legacy_etu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 02:52 PM   #12511
NutBucket
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90804
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SFV
Vehicle:
2021 Ascent
2012 Accord

Default

83? Man you guys are wusses. I've seen my thermostat close to 90.
NutBucket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 03:03 PM   #12512
thechickencow
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16840
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: CO
Vehicle:
17 4Runner

Default

My wife hates AC and complains ďitís freezingĒ all damn day if itís set below 80 degrees.
thechickencow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 03:09 PM   #12513
lag
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 34631
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Momma Didn't Love Me
Default

Under 50? Keep her.
lag is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 03:17 PM   #12514
legacy_etu
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 35985
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Default

Reminds me of a story about my neighbors wife. She keeps the ac on like 69 he said. One day the condensor outside (i think) froze up into a solid block of ice. He called the repairman and he says you can't keep the AC that low or else this will happen. I've never heard this before , but jeebus, 69 in the house is damn cold!!

He spent hours with a hair dryer I think he said thawing it out.

Yes, 83 inside is hot for me, guilty as charged. 90 inside your house? Eff that. You must be down South.
legacy_etu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 03:51 PM   #12515
NutBucket
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90804
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SFV
Vehicle:
2021 Ascent
2012 Accord

Default

evaporators freeze (inside unit). Outside unit would freeze only if you had a heat pump and it was too cold outside.
NutBucket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 04:05 PM   #12516
mla163
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 104922
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NoVA
Vehicle:
2016 WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by legacy_etu View Post
Reminds me of a story about my neighbors wife. She keeps the ac on like 69 he said. One day the condensor outside (i think) froze up into a solid block of ice. He called the repairman and he says you can't keep the AC that low or else this will happen. I've never heard this before , but jeebus, 69 in the house is damn cold!!

He spent hours with a hair dryer I think he said thawing it out.

Yes, 83 inside is hot for me, guilty as charged. 90 inside your house? Eff that. You must be down South.
My wife sets the AC at 68 at night (in VA summer) with two fans on. She has one of the cooling / heating pad things for the bed. She likes it COLD and sleeping with a big comforter. Fortunately, I have a separate AC unit for the bedrooms. It's a lost argument. I don't hate it.

She will sometimes open the windows in winter.
mla163 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 04:19 PM   #12517
trevoroni
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 155188
Join Date: Jul 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NutBucket View Post
IMHO depends totally on the 220V bit. 3KW should easily run lights, fridge, microwave, etc. Is your stove electric?
I went with the cheaper Champion and it runs everything that we need in an emergency... except for our well pump which happens to be 220v.
We don't have any neighbors for miles so the extra noise over a Honda/Yamaha doesn't bother anyone.
I've also read that some newer high efficiency furnaces/AC units might not like the dirty power put out by the non-inverter generators.
I've heard good things about Champions customer support but I haven't had to use it yet.
trevoroni is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 04:32 PM   #12518
banman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12408
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Lotusland
Vehicle:
2020 Model 3 SR+
Gray

Default

Just moved into a new place that's a significant upgrade from our old place.

My only 2 gripes at this point:
1) The irrigation system, which apparently hasn't worked in years. There are breaks in the pipes everywhere, and a lot of mystery sprinkler heads that apparently aren't connected to anything. I think I've now fixed all of the breaks, but I'm gonna have to unearth a lot more pipe to figure out where those mystery sprinkler heads are connected.
2) Mystery light switches. There's a couple in the house, plus at least two switches in the garage that should work, but don't.

Is there any easy way to figure out a) what a light switch is connected to, and b) why the switch doesn't work, short of ripping out or tracing all the wiring?
banman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 04:35 PM   #12519
torquemada
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 128484
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Germany
Vehicle:
2006 EDM WRX STI
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by banman View Post

Is there any easy way to figure out a) what a light switch is connected to, and b) why the switch doesn't work, short of ripping out or tracing all the wiring?
torquemada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 04:58 PM   #12520
Indocti Discant
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 138000
Join Date: Jan 2007
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: et ament meminisse periti
Vehicle:
Buy Nate's coffee
west coast roasting

Default

Man - so is it bad that I have the thermostat set to 68?

keep in mind that's to heat the place.

Indocti Discant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 05:26 PM   #12521
NutBucket
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90804
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SFV
Vehicle:
2021 Ascent
2012 Accord

Default

I hate having a "hot" house in the winter. Just so long as I'm not freezing while wearing a sweatshirt.
NutBucket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 05:29 PM   #12522
oct1285
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 64665
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: WA
Vehicle:
1997 Toyota
Blurple

Default

Anyone have input on smart thermostats. Can get a Nest for $100 off using an Amex offer on dell.com. Wondering if its worth the money at $149?
oct1285 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 05:32 PM   #12523
rogue
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7977
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Sterling, VA
Vehicle:
100% Abuse

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by banman View Post
Just moved into a new place that's a significant upgrade from our old place.

My only 2 gripes at this point:
1) The irrigation system, which apparently hasn't worked in years. There are breaks in the pipes everywhere, and a lot of mystery sprinkler heads that apparently aren't connected to anything. I think I've now fixed all of the breaks, but I'm gonna have to unearth a lot more pipe to figure out where those mystery sprinkler heads are connected.
2) Mystery light switches. There's a couple in the house, plus at least two switches in the garage that should work, but don't.

Is there any easy way to figure out a) what a light switch is connected to, and b) why the switch doesn't work, short of ripping out or tracing all the wiring?
HA.

I had a light switch in my old townhouse that I swear I never figured out where it went. I had a multimeter, I know it was hooked up to power, I know that power went SOMEWHERE out of the box... but never sorted it out. It still haunts me.
rogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 05:48 PM   #12524
trevoroni
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 155188
Join Date: Jul 2007
Default

I've got 2 mystery switches in my house too. One in the bedroom and one in the living room.
Worse yet I am the first owner of the house.
Best guess is they go to a plug in for a lamp and they didn't break the little tab on the outlet so both plugs are energized all the time. I haven't bothered to pull all the plugs in the room to see which one it is though.
I think electricians leave one or two to **** with the home owners.
trevoroni is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 05:50 PM   #12525
fliz
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 30342
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: #blp
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by banman View Post
Just moved into a new place that's a significant upgrade from our old place.

My only 2 gripes at this point:
1) The irrigation system, which apparently hasn't worked in years. There are breaks in the pipes everywhere, and a lot of mystery sprinkler heads that apparently aren't connected to anything. I think I've now fixed all of the breaks, but I'm gonna have to unearth a lot more pipe to figure out where those mystery sprinkler heads are connected.
2) Mystery light switches. There's a couple in the house, plus at least two switches in the garage that should work, but don't.

Is there any easy way to figure out a) what a light switch is connected to, and b) why the switch doesn't work, short of ripping out or tracing all the wiring?
Wire tracers are cheap on Amazon. I bought one to find a break in my dog fence, worked great. Of course, you have to figure out which breaker the switch is on and cut power first.

Have you tested all the outlets? We have a few switches that switch half an outlet box.

We have a switch in our closet that took me years to figure out what it did. It's for a light in the attic.

Also, if you've been digging up sprinkler line, try to lay a wire with the line, so you can trace it after you forget where it's buried.
fliz is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.