Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday May 12, 2021
Home Forums Images WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2004, 12:52 PM   #1
Reciprocity
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1165
Join Date: Mar 2000
Default Schedule a Word doc to open at specific time?

I'm trying to set up my computer to automatically open Microsoft Word docs at specific times and dates...a different file for each day of the week, at a specific time.

I've tried using XP's "scheduled tasks" but for whatever reason it isn't working. I've tried searching through the Microsoft database but am struggling with that as well.

Anyone know of a way to do this, or of a program that can do this for me?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reciprocity is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 10-25-2004, 01:12 PM   #2
ydant
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 43447
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Herndon, VA
Vehicle:
2009 STI
The Good Grey

Default

Trying to fool the boss into thinking you're actually working?

The scheduled tasks should do it - what do you mean by "isn't working"?
ydant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:14 PM   #3
Kaiser
The Fellas fella
 
Member#: 7170
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
Aut Kaiser,
aut nullus.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ydant
Trying to fool the boss into thinking you're actually working?
Yeah, at least tell us why in God's name you'd wanna do this, dcrawford.
Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:17 PM   #4
Keith
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 191
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: seattle
Vehicle:
2012 J train
Brown

Default

why isn't scheduled tasks working? Are u getting an error message or is it just not opening? if so, tell us what ur typing in.
Don't be a stupid user
Keith
Keith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:17 PM   #5
Retsyn
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1910
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

If you're going to use sheduled tasks, you need to have a password specified for your account. I have no idea why it doesn't work without one, But I ran into this problem when I was setting up automatic backups of my computer.
Retsyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:17 PM   #6
DoinkMobb
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3787
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: G-ville
Vehicle:
2008 Gay
Car

Default

Maybe create a batch file that opens said Word doc and then have the scheduled tasks run that batch file? I dunno if that'll work, but I'd give it a try.
DoinkMobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:18 PM   #7
Cabal
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 31159
Join Date: Dec 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2006 WRX, 2008 2.5i
San Remo Red

Default

I've used Macro Scheduler (http://www.mjtnet.com/) in the past for a quick n' dirty solution. It works surprisingly well, I don't know why the Windows scheduler doesn't already have all the same functionality.
Cabal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:19 PM   #8
Kaiser
The Fellas fella
 
Member#: 7170
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
Aut Kaiser,
aut nullus.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith
why isn't scheduled tasks working?
Because it only works with executables. He could open Word any time he wants, but not a specific Word document.
Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:20 PM   #9
KC
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 442
Join Date: Oct 1999
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI/SE Mass
Vehicle:
17 Imp Spurt
00 S2k

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaiser
Yeah, at least tell us why in God's name you'd wanna do this, dcrawford.
TPS Reports.
KC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:21 PM   #10
Reciprocity
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1165
Join Date: Mar 2000
Default

Turns out it is a Microsoft security issue. They "closed" the functionality of Sched Tasks with SP2 (or 1) because there was a security threat of someone getting into your computer and causing some program to run when you didn't want it to. As a result, I can't even do it myself! Argh! This is my first REAL issue with Microsoft and their annoyances...bah!

I've contacted 'em and they are supposed to be sending me info on how to get that function back.

What I wanted to do is have a word doc open daily, with a reminder list of things to do that day...because I am old and my mind isn't as good as it used to be...and since I've got this fancy ass computer I may as well use it for something...useful!
Reciprocity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:22 PM   #11
gongzero
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 25040
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Montreal, Canuckistan
Vehicle:
Up with skirts,
down with pants!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaiser
Because it only works with executables. He could open Word any time he wants, but not a specific Word document.
Could you add like a command line switch to the executable that opens a specific file?


-A
gongzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:23 PM   #12
Gundoo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34112
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Austin!
Vehicle:
i only like ot
as a friend

Default

hmmm, so computers arent just for OT and porn!??!?!?
Gundoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:23 PM   #13
Retsyn
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1910
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoinkMobb
Maybe create a batch file that opens said Word doc and then have the scheduled tasks run that batch file? I dunno if that'll work, but I'd give it a try.
No there's no need, I just set up and tested the exact behavior in scheduled tasks. Worked fine. I bet he doesn't have a PWD on his account...
Retsyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:23 PM   #14
Retsyn
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1910
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaiser
Because it only works with executables. He could open Word any time he wants, but not a specific Word document.
Not true, I just did it.
Retsyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:25 PM   #15
Kaiser
The Fellas fella
 
Member#: 7170
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
Aut Kaiser,
aut nullus.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retsyn
Not true, I just did it.
Then I don't get it:

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcrawford
They "closed" the functionality of Sched Tasks with SP2 (or 1) because there was a security threat of someone getting into your computer and causing some program to run when you didn't want it to.
He's saying SP2 killed scheduled tasks all together, you're saying you can schedule .doc's and .exe's, and I'm only seeing options for .exe's.
Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:25 PM   #16
Reciprocity
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1165
Join Date: Mar 2000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retsyn
No there's no need, I just set up and tested the exact behavior in scheduled tasks. Worked fine. I bet he doesn't have a PWD on his account...
I don't have a password on my account....I'm the only one that uses this machine. My roommate is scared of computers

OK...I'm going to let you people banter about this a bit then come back in several hours and attempt more fixes. I've got to get to work...doh.
Reciprocity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:26 PM   #17
paulb
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 50822
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MA
Vehicle:
2011 Infiniti G37x
Moonlight White

Default

You could download rainlender. It's a small calender that you can place anywhere on your desktop and enter appointments and other things for a certain time. A small popup appears on your screen at the desired time. It also works with Outlook.

paulb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:26 PM   #18
bigdweeb
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 31035
Join Date: Dec 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
13 Ford Explorer
14 ISM STi

Default

http://support.microsoft.com/default...roduct=wrd2003

create a .bat file with something like:
"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\Winword.exe" c:\imold.doc

in it and run that from the task scheduler. Then just update the .doc file daily
bigdweeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:27 PM   #19
Retsyn
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1910
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaiser
Then I don't get it:



He's saying SP2 killed scheduled tasks all together, you're saying you can schedule .doc's and .exe's, and I'm only seeing options for .exe's.
Yeah, you just select the doc file anyway. So the RUN: entry looks like "C:\documents and settings\chris\my documents\BLAHBLAH.doc"
Retsyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:27 PM   #20
Reciprocity
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1165
Join Date: Mar 2000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaiser
Then I don't get it:



He's saying SP2 killed scheduled tasks all together, you're saying you can schedule .doc's and .exe's, and I'm only seeing options for .exe's.
I get an error when I try to sched anything...no matter what the program. I looked up the error and Microsoft told me it that the Sched Tasks was disabled due to SP2. Ugh.

Must...go...to...work!
Reciprocity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:28 PM   #21
Retsyn
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1910
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcrawford
I don't have a password on my account....I'm the only one that uses this machine. My roommate is scared of computers

OK...I'm going to let you people banter about this a bit then come back in several hours and attempt more fixes. I've got to get to work...doh.
Seriously, just specify a password for your account and supply it when you set up the task. That simple.
Retsyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:28 PM   #22
Charge
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3313
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cincinnati
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcrawford
What I wanted to do is have a word doc open daily, with a reminder list of things to do that day...because I am old and my mind isn't as good as it used to be...and since I've got this fancy ass computer I may as well use it for something...useful!
So you'd want a different list for every day, right? As it'd change as things got done. You want to bother with typing up a document for every day? Why don't you just use Outlook's calendar app? You can type out all your daily chores for each day, set some to repeat in a set pattern, etc... Just open Outlook and set it to default to the calendar view.

Then you don't have to bother with Word.
Charge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:28 PM   #23
Kaiser
The Fellas fella
 
Member#: 7170
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
Aut Kaiser,
aut nullus.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retsyn
Yeah, you just select the doc file anyway. So the RUN: entry looks like "C:\documents and settings\chris\my documents\BLAHBLAH.doc"
Gotcha. I just went back and simply drag and dropped a doc into the Scheduled Tasks window, and it worked. (Just didn't work when I used the wizard.) Cool.

dcrawford, sounds like you're all set.
Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:29 PM   #24
Retsyn
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1910
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

I dunno. I'm running SP2 and it works fine. The only wierdness was the password. As soon as I created one the scheduled tasks worked fine.
Retsyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 01:33 PM   #25
Kaiser
The Fellas fella
 
Member#: 7170
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
Aut Kaiser,
aut nullus.

Default

No, I see what you mean about going back and changing the run: line. Just thought I'd let him know about the drag and drop method since it's so easy. (And I get what you mean about the password; prompts me for one, too.)
Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aston Martin engineering centre to open at N***971;rburgring eurospek Non-Subaru News & Rumors 3 02-14-2008 01:16 PM
Wierd new work schedule, do I need to adjust my workout times? The Tree Off-Topic 6 06-07-2005 12:44 PM
Subaru Of New England Makes Sure Right Parts Get To Dealers At Right Time username News & Rumors 0 05-29-2003 11:34 AM
Vendors, One GB open at the time! Leonardo Vendor 'Group Buy' Classifieds 0 09-08-2002 12:38 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.