Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday January 23, 2019
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2018, 12:45 PM   #26
SirBrass
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 207263
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Northern PA
Vehicle:
2019 WRX Limited
World Rally Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arempee26 View Post
So, does the Maestro RR will work with the HK package? Iíve been looking around if how to replace the factory HU to an after market HU and retain all the factory features on my 2017 WRX Limited including the HK package...
Yes. It will work with the HK system. You just have to follow the installation instructions for the Maestro RR for a WRX with HK, instead of for the ones for a WRX w/o HK.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
SirBrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 09-12-2018, 03:59 PM   #27
arempee26
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 491364
Join Date: Sep 2018
Default 2018 WRX Radio replacement/idatalink Maestro Rr

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirBrass View Post
Yes. It will work with the HK system. You just have to follow the installation instructions for the Maestro RR for a WRX with HK, instead of for the ones for a WRX w/o HK.


Thanks! Finally someone confirmed that itís possible! Iíve been watching/commenting and asking from YouTube videos but there weren't any good answers. I even emailed company that makes the harness for the WRX but they told me that itís not possible. The only options that they told me is to replace the factory amp, which is, I donít want to go that route...

Last edited by arempee26; 09-14-2018 at 02:54 PM.
arempee26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 05:28 PM   #28
SirBrass
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 207263
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Northern PA
Vehicle:
2019 WRX Limited
World Rally Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arempee26 View Post
Thanks! Finally someone confirmed that itís possible! Iíve been watching/commenting and asking from YouTube videos but there wasnít any good answers. I even emailed company that makes the harness for the WRX but they told me that itís not possible. The only options that they told me is to replace the factory amp, which is, I donít want to go that route...
idatalink has a downloadable (as pdf) installation guide. Use the vehicle specific harness iDL sells along with the Maestro RR, and follow the instructions they give.

Go to here: http://maestro.idatalink.com/product...product_id/102

Click on "install guide" and fill out the vehicle information for your car. It'll return a list with 2 guides on it: ADS-RR(SR)-SUB02A-DS-IG, and ADS-RR(SR)-SUB02B-DS-IG.

You want ADS-RR(SR)-SUB02B-DS-IG. The instructions you're looking for is "Subaru WRX with 7 inch screen and Harmon Kardon 2016-2018". It's page 157.

The harness you'll need from iDL is SU2 T-harness. Follow the steps on pages 159 and 160 and you'll be good.
SirBrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 05:46 PM   #29
arempee26
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 491364
Join Date: Sep 2018
Default 2018 WRX Radio replacement/idatalink Maestro Rr

Right on! Thanks!
Will this work also with Android HU's or just for the big brand names HU's?
arempee26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 10:27 PM   #30
SirBrass
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 207263
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Northern PA
Vehicle:
2019 WRX Limited
World Rally Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arempee26 View Post
Right on! Thanks!
Will this work also with Android HU's or just for the big brand names HU's?
No. The head unit has to have an idatalink serial port. Idatalink has a list of headunits that are compatible.

Not all big name HUs are supported.
SirBrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 10:35 PM   #31
arempee26
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 491364
Join Date: Sep 2018
Default

Yeah I asked about the android huís its bc when you go to maestro website, itíll ask you what kind or brand of HU you installing and I donít see Android HU on the list.
arempee26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 07:59 PM   #32
arempee26
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 491364
Join Date: Sep 2018
Default 2018 WRX Radio replacement/idatalink Maestro Rr

One more question, what about the starlink, do I have to remove that or tuck it in behind the dash?

Last edited by arempee26; 09-13-2018 at 11:44 PM.
arempee26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 10:07 AM   #33
SirBrass
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 207263
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Northern PA
Vehicle:
2019 WRX Limited
World Rally Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arempee26 View Post
One more question, what about the starlink, do I have to remove that or tuck it in behind the dash?
For the Maestro, it integrates starlink as well.
SirBrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 02:42 PM   #34
arempee26
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 491364
Join Date: Sep 2018
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirBrass View Post
For the Maestro, it integrates starlink as well.


Ok, thanks!
arempee26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 08:21 PM   #35
509eagle
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 493359
Join Date: Oct 2018
Default

I have a 17 sti with HK, the Maestro RR with SU2 harness looks promising. Has anyone used this to install a Seicane unit on a 17 sti with HK.

If so, were you able to reatain the HK amp and other functions...
509eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 08:52 PM   #36
SirBrass
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 207263
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Northern PA
Vehicle:
2019 WRX Limited
World Rally Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 509eagle View Post
I have a 17 sti with HK, the Maestro RR with SU2 harness looks promising. Has anyone used this to install a Seicane unit on a 17 sti with HK.

If so, were you able to reatain the HK amp and other functions...
No, it won't work because the seicane unit isn't supported and doesn't have an idatalink serial port.
SirBrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 07:59 PM   #37
arempee26
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 491364
Join Date: Sep 2018
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 509eagle View Post
I have a 17 sti with HK, the Maestro RR with SU2 harness looks promising. Has anyone used this to install a Seicane unit on a 17 sti with HK.

If so, were you able to reatain the HK amp and other functions...


This guy said everything is PNP with the HK audio with this HU. Want to pull the plug first?
arempee26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2018, 09:21 AM   #38
phd12v
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 432497
Join Date: Oct 2015
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pitt
Vehicle:
18 Sti
ISM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arempee26 View Post
This guy said everything is PNP with the HK audio with this HU. Want to pull the plug first?
https://youtu.be/18qPi3rN5iQ
i dont know how much i believe that video.... working on these the past couple years i see a whole lot of differences in the wiring and options
phd12v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2018, 01:24 PM   #39
arempee26
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 491364
Join Date: Sep 2018
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phd12v View Post
i dont know how much i believe that video.... working on these the past couple years i see a whole lot of differences in the wiring and options


I totally agree with you. You'll never hear this guy saying negative with these Android HU's. He's getting paid doing these videos so I don't blame him.
arempee26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 06:57 PM   #40
gturner
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 478028
Join Date: Nov 2017
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2018 WRX
WRB

Default

Anybody know what changed in the "ADS-RR(SR)-SUB2-DS (512) (1.2)" firmware?

I have 1.1 installed, it was a severe pain to dirty up a friends laptop to get the ActiveX crud to work. Don't look forward to trying to flash the RR again...

However I just got myself a Cobb Access Port. At first the RR + Pioneer AVIC-8200NEX appeared to disable OBD2 gracefully (gauges automatically disabled on HU when AP is plugged in), however after driving, HU is now loudly complaining that it can't sense speed (brick of text over the nav screen, can't exit), sure enough the Maestro Connection Status screen in the HU shows 0 Speed Pulse. Ugh... speed pulse is a separate wire, not OBD2. Are all these signals truly disabled by the ECU when the AP is plugged in?

Maybe, just maybe, v1.2 solves this calamity?
gturner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 01:46 PM   #41
Jewbaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1994
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: South Somewhere
Vehicle:
2018 STI
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gturner View Post
Anybody know what changed in the "ADS-RR(SR)-SUB2-DS (512) (1.2)" firmware?

I have 1.1 installed, it was a severe pain to dirty up a friends laptop to get the ActiveX crud to work. Don't look forward to trying to flash the RR again...

However I just got myself a Cobb Access Port. At first the RR + Pioneer AVIC-8200NEX appeared to disable OBD2 gracefully (gauges automatically disabled on HU when AP is plugged in), however after driving, HU is now loudly complaining that it can't sense speed (brick of text over the nav screen, can't exit), sure enough the Maestro Connection Status screen in the HU shows 0 Speed Pulse. Ugh... speed pulse is a separate wire, not OBD2. Are all these signals truly disabled by the ECU when the AP is plugged in?

Maybe, just maybe, v1.2 solves this calamity?
Hmm... My car doesn't complain (Kenwood, and since I have an '18, it's tapped into the CAN lines on the telemetrics unit), but some of the gauges do not work in the stereo. I haven't really spent much time trying to figure it out, but I wonder if it's related. I have seen that the Accessport doesn't play nicely when it comes to sharing access to the OBDII port.
Jewbaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2019 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.