Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday October 16, 2018
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2018, 02:03 PM   #26
snow_bound26
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 395793
Join Date: Jul 2014
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
2005 92x Aero
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kopele View Post
Have you tried disabling antivirus if it has one? If you go to device manager and click properties on the cable does it say "device is working normally" or something link that?
I will try this Monday when Iím back to my car.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
snow_bound26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 06-11-2018, 12:40 PM   #27
86Dreams
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 385256
Join Date: Mar 2014
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Harriman NY
Vehicle:
V7 S204

Default

Can you just open ECU Flash and take a screenshot of it. can you open any rom with ecu flash? you shouldnt need the tactrix connected for this. you can just grab any rom from the RR forums. http://www.romraider.com/forum/viewt...hp?f=35&t=7591

Have you tried connecting a code reader to your obd2 port to see if maybe the port is messed up?

Under windows hardware can you find the tactrix?
86Dreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 02:58 PM   #28
snow_bound26
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 395793
Join Date: Jul 2014
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
2005 92x Aero
Blue

Default

The OBD port is fine. I've had no problems connecting a code reader or an AP.

I'm going to a local tuner later this week. He is going to get me up and running and check my cable so I can either rule it out or get a new one. I suppose it is possible that it till hasn't installed properly on my device. But quite honestly if it take this many tries (lost track after 10th time) then it may be beyond my scope and I'd need to sit down with someone proficient who can show me the ins and outs of it all.

In the long run I'm not looking to learn self tuning. I will leave that to the pros. But I have invested money into a JDM engine, I do plan on tracking the car, so I want to be able to monitor its health and work with a tuner remotely as I travel a lot and split my time between the East and The Rockies.

I'll find out on Thursday if it's the cable. From there I can move onto the next step. I do want to thank everyone for trying to help me figure this out. I'll let you know how it turns out and what comes next.
snow_bound26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 03:08 PM   #29
PVNRT
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 483821
Join Date: Mar 2018
Vehicle:
2004 WRX 2.0 18g

Default

Doesn't the newest version of ecuflash block the older cables? I think they did this because of all the fake tactrix cables.

You may need to upgrade to the newest version cable, clear housing with the disco lights.

My ecu bricked because OBD port was loose, if I pulled up on it while flashing everything worked, it seems the OBD port is a wear item on these cars 😀😀😀😀
PVNRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 07:27 AM   #30
snow_bound26
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 395793
Join Date: Jul 2014
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
2005 92x Aero
Blue

Default

I’ve been talking with someone at Tactrix and they haven’t said anything about not being able to use older cables.
I did get it tuned yesterday at a relatively local tuner and he figured out it’s the OBD port. He actually used his bugeye to flash and then would put the ecu back into my car for the dyno run. He said this is normal on almost every GD chassis he has worked on. So I’m going to get the stuff to rep in it and see what happens. He mentioned that it’s typically the power wire going into the port that causes the biggest issue which is why the signal cuts out and bricks the ecu. Hence why he used his car for part of the process.
snow_bound26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2018, 02:33 PM   #31
TickerPyro
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 488141
Join Date: Jul 2018
Default

So he dropped your ecu into his car and programmed it? Or he just ran his ECU on your car to see how the new engine worked?
TickerPyro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 02:34 PM   #32
snow_bound26
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 395793
Join Date: Jul 2014
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
2005 92x Aero
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TickerPyro View Post
So he dropped your ecu into his car and programmed it? Or he just ran his ECU on your car to see how the new engine worked?


Took the ecu out of my car hooked up to his car to flash so he didn't increase the chance of bricking it. Put it back into my car to log. Took several tries with holding pressure on the wires in different ways to be able to log. Once we had it log without cutting power we zip tied the cables in that position to help.
snow_bound26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 02:41 PM   #33
snow_bound26
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 395793
Join Date: Jul 2014
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
2005 92x Aero
Blue

Default

So because of this problem I bought a new OBD connector with pig tails from iWire. Got it in and soldered properly and still getting the same "no vehicle interface" message. I have an email out to Tactrix and the shop that tuned my car about it.

In my research I found that MY 01-04 has a different pin layout then 05-09. Pins read as follows

Tactrix cable: 1, 4, 5, 7, 9, 11, 15, 16

OBD port: 4, 5, 7, 9, 11, 12, 13, 16

Some of the pins overlap in the correct spots. Some don't. Wondering if this is my problem. Maybe this is a first generation cable from before Subaru changed the pins locations?
snow_bound26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2018, 10:14 PM   #34
Glentwenty
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 491714
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: New Zealand
Vehicle:
2003 Legacy GTB
Blue

Default

I'm also having weird issues with mine.. I dont think my.test connectors work
Glentwenty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.