Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday December 12, 2018
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Click here to visit TireRack
Tire & Wheel Forum sponsored by The Tire Rack

Losing traction? Need new tires?
Click here to visit the NASIOC Upgrade Garage...
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Tire & Wheel

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2018, 04:38 PM   #1
Professor WRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 426430
Join Date: Jul 2015
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Birmingham, AL
Vehicle:
2016 WRX
Ice Silver Metallic

Default tpms sensors

i just bought a set of wheels and tires from discount tire direct that came with tpms sensors already installed. I went by costco and the guy was going to reprogram them for free but it wouldn't read the sensors. He mentioned that they may need to put it on the rack to read them through the tires? Also, the light had not come on yet as I had driven only 4 miles if that matters. does any of that sound right? or do I need to just go to the dealer. they quoted me 135 and costco quoted me 0...

thanks!!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Professor WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 12-10-2018, 04:42 PM   #2
hoang5659
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 416298
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Houston, TX
Vehicle:
2015 STI Limited
Galaxy/Lapis Blue

Default

i just got a new set of wheels with tpms also. i went to my local Discount Tire and they did it for free. they scanned each sensor and then plugged into the OBD II port and it was done. i hope this helps...
hoang5659 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 04:45 PM   #3
Professor WRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 426430
Join Date: Jul 2015
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Birmingham, AL
Vehicle:
2016 WRX
Ice Silver Metallic

Default

he scanned the sensors and it didn't pick them up
Professor WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 04:46 PM   #4
Professor WRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 426430
Join Date: Jul 2015
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Birmingham, AL
Vehicle:
2016 WRX
Ice Silver Metallic

Default

there is no discount tire near me. my other choices are pep boys and the subaru dealer$hip
Professor WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 04:59 PM   #5
2015Sapper
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 440929
Join Date: Feb 2016
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: NE
Vehicle:
2016 WRX Premium
ISM

Default

I believe some sensors need to be "woken up" from a power saving sleep mode. I would find out exactly what sensors you have and do a little research to see if there's a specific process.
2015Sapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 05:14 PM   #6
Professor WRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 426430
Join Date: Jul 2015
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Birmingham, AL
Vehicle:
2016 WRX
Ice Silver Metallic

Default

looks like vdo redi sensor. it came from dtd. uvs3030. checked the webpage and it should be ready to go out of the box. do you have to drive the car for a bit to wake them up?
Professor WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 05:26 PM   #7
Professor WRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 426430
Join Date: Jul 2015
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Birmingham, AL
Vehicle:
2016 WRX
Ice Silver Metallic

Default

maybe its a huf uvs 3030? looks like it should be real simple. not sure why the guy at costco couldn't get it to read the sensor
Professor WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:36 AM   #8
Chas2
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 486914
Join Date: Jun 2018
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Virginia
Vehicle:
2019 WRX Limited
CWP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2015Sapper View Post
I believe some sensors need to be "woken up" from a power saving sleep mode. I would find out exactly what sensors you have and do a little research to see if there's a specific process.
This! Some sensors do need a wake up call. Check out the ATEQ site for all the nauseating details

OT-What year and model do you have? My 2019 throws an error immediately!

Regardless my experience is making me go with ATEQ Quickset

Use it to download the current codes in your car ECU through OBD port

Get the seller to give you the four TPMS IDs and upload to Quickset

Then use Quickset to overwrite ECU with new codes

When the time comes to swap tires hook up Quickset and reload your original codes
Chas2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.