Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday January 16, 2022
Home Forums Images WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Newbies & FAQs

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2021, 12:07 AM   #1
WagonGang02
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 527611
Join Date: Nov 2021
Default Aem wideband question

I have a 2002 wrx wagon. I did a jdm motor swap, went all catless, cobb big sf Cia, cobb 3 port boost controller and a turbo smart 50/50 bov. I am on the cobb stage 2 ots and been running it a couple months no issues. Now all of a sudden I'm running in the 14s under boost. I have an AEM wideband but I don't know where to put it. My etuner has deleted my emissions. Can it be installed on the uppipe in an existing 02 sensor whole or does hit have to be on the dp. Also can I cut my downpipe short to like 2 ft? Thanks in advance
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
WagonGang02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 11-23-2021, 09:00 AM   #2
Unabomber
👏 Big Ron 👏
Moderator
 
Member#: 18062
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: I can save you a ton of cash
Vehicle:
on car parts so PM
me b4 j00 buy

Default

Why do you have an AEM wideband and why do you think you need it and to install it? I have had my car since April of 2003 and have never had a wideband as there's no need. Your question is not one for the internet but one for the manufacturer's documentation. The internet is nice but it does not trump the horse's mouth....download and read the AEM wideband manual.

Can you cut your downpipe short? Yes. But that would make your car loud as hell and likely require a retune.

Before you do either idea, you need to spend lots of time and money on https://forums.nasioc.com/forums/sho....php?t=2740715 as your car is old as the hills and there are more important items to that will provide worth like a new MAF, BCS and great once over of the car.
Unabomber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2021, 09:15 AM   #3
snow_bound26
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 395793
Join Date: Jul 2014
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: SLC and Lake Placid
Vehicle:
2005 92x Aero
Beige

Default Aem wideband question

You got an e-tune without having the wide band installed? I find that odd. Every e-tuner I've looked at requires one since you're not there in person for them to monitor AFR while strapped to the dyno. If you don't have one installed, how do you know your AFR is in the 14s under load?

If you have an aftermarket down pipe there should be a bung for the sensor somewhere. Without knowing which dp you have I can't tell you where it is, so get under your car and start looking around.
snow_bound26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2021, 10:46 AM   #4
K3rm1tth3fr0g
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 508105
Join Date: Nov 2019
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Vehicle:
2002 WRX - Link ECU
being installed :)

Default

Please don't listen to Unaboomer. Listen to your tuner, and get a wideband. You'll need a bung in your downpipe. Which one so you have?

Funny, you literally mentioned you replaced the boost controller in your post, and he's still telling you to replace the BCS. SMDH

Last edited by K3rm1tth3fr0g; 11-23-2021 at 12:21 PM.
K3rm1tth3fr0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2021, 11:23 AM   #5
pigboat_2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 247823
Join Date: May 2010
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Denver/ Eglin AFB
Vehicle:
2007 STi limited
SWP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snow_bound26 View Post
You got an e-tune without having the wide band installed? I find that odd. Every e-tuner I've looked at requires one since you're not there in person for them to monitor AFR while strapped to the dyno. If you don't have one installed, how do you know your AFR is in the 14s under load?

If you have an aftermarket down pipe there should be a bung for the sensor somewhere. Without knowing which dp you have I can't tell you where it is, so get under your car and start looking around.
Depending on your tuner, some are familiar enough with stock injectors to create a safe AFR without having the wideband. In my experience this only applies to basically stage 1-2 modified cars though.

I do find it odd that OP said he is on a Cobb OTS map, but also mentioned an etuner turning off emissions codes? Mods like the big intake and EBCS don't fall under the requirements for an OTS map. A lot going on here.

I would put the wideband in place of the rear o2 sensor and get the car properly tuned.
pigboat_2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2021, 07:40 PM   #6
Unabomber
👏 Big Ron 👏
Moderator
 
Member#: 18062
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: I can save you a ton of cash
Vehicle:
on car parts so PM
me b4 j00 buy

Default

If you Cobb BCS is new, you don't need a new one. Sometimes I don't read so well. And frogs think they "got me" by that. I appreciate the gotcha, but OP is in need of help, let's concentrate on that as he's making some grave mistakes.
Unabomber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2021, 09:38 AM   #7
rallymarty
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 17418
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Littleton, CO
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
1968 Camaro SS/RS

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pigboat_2 View Post
I would put the wideband in place of the rear o2 sensor and get the car properly tuned.
The rear O2 is after the cat. AFR data for wideband could be skewed. Best wideband placement would be on the downpipe, post turbo, before the cat.
rallymarty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2021, 10:13 AM   #8
K3rm1tth3fr0g
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 508105
Join Date: Nov 2019
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Vehicle:
2002 WRX - Link ECU
being installed :)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rallymarty View Post
The rear O2 is after the cat. AFR data for wideband could be skewed. Best wideband placement would be on the downpipe, post turbo, before the cat.
Quote:
Originally Posted by WagonGang02 View Post
I have a 2002 wrx wagon. I did a jdm motor swap, went all catless
Man it's like no one reads anymore...

Its on the first line of his post - no cats.
K3rm1tth3fr0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2021, 11:36 AM   #9
pigboat_2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 247823
Join Date: May 2010
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Denver/ Eglin AFB
Vehicle:
2007 STi limited
SWP

Default

Besides being catless, it makes no difference. When you get your car dyno tuned, are they ensuring that their AFR sensor is being read pre-cat, 12" from the turbo, 80* from horizontal, etc etc? No, they stick a probe in the tailpipe and tune the car. My front o2 is in my downpipe, next to my wideband. It doesn't matter.
pigboat_2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2022 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.