Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday January 28, 2021
Home Forums Images WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo)

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-13-2014, 03:37 PM   #1
Bad Noodle
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 174442
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NNJ
Vehicle:
2007 SuperWagon
I don't spell well

Default Is there a replacement for this thing - oem barometric pressure sensor i think



Would be nice to replace this thing with an aftermarket piece. Anything out there?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Bad Noodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 04-13-2014, 07:12 PM   #2
Blackfin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 361325
Join Date: Jul 2013
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Ontario
Vehicle:
2010 STi
Dark Gray Metallic

Default

Looks like a secondary air combination valve.

What's wrong with the one you have? Is it malfunctioning or do you just not like it looking ugly?
Blackfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 07:52 PM   #3
HinshawWRX
Medium Frank
Moderator
 
Member#: 140114
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Common Sense, VA
Vehicle:
2013 Audi
A6 3.0T

Default

Not a map sensor. It's part of the SECONDARY AIR INJECTION system. If it's ugly, delete it. No one is going to make an aftermarket "option" for something people delete.
HinshawWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 08:16 PM   #4
Blackfin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 361325
Join Date: Jul 2013
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Ontario
Vehicle:
2010 STi
Dark Gray Metallic

Default

Don't delete it: Keep your car intact and looking cool at the same time.

Soda blast the metal, prime it and then give it a coat of VHT high-temp black or red wrinkle paint.



Edit: Never mind...
Blackfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 08:16 PM   #5
Bad Noodle
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 174442
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NNJ
Vehicle:
2007 SuperWagon
I don't spell well

Default

Yes it's a secondary air injection valve but the value has a barometric sensor built into it. So I was wondering if there is some smaller sensor I can buy to replace it. The rest of the system is gone.
Bad Noodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 08:35 PM   #6
dstroy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 283711
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Newport
Vehicle:
2012 STI sedan
Black with scratches

Default

Cut the top off dude. Cut around the square part with a razor or dremel, straight down. It pops right off.
dstroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 09:03 PM   #7
Bad Noodle
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 174442
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NNJ
Vehicle:
2007 SuperWagon
I don't spell well

Default

You mean the black plastic square at the top ?
Bad Noodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 10:26 PM   #8
dstroy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 283711
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Newport
Vehicle:
2012 STI sedan
Black with scratches

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Noodle View Post
You mean the black plastic square at the top ?
Yes, just run a dremel around the raised circle or use a razor. Cut straight down. You won't be able to get the part under the connector, but the plastic is only about 1/16th" thick and you can snap it right off.
dstroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 10:27 PM   #9
Andrewxxcarlson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 316415
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackfin View Post
Don't delete it: Keep your car intact and looking cool at the same time. Soda blast the metal, prime it and then give it a coat of VHT high-temp black or red wrinkle paint. Edit: Never mind...
Hahahaha
Andrewxxcarlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 11:14 PM   #10
Bad Noodle
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 174442
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NNJ
Vehicle:
2007 SuperWagon
I don't spell well

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dstroy View Post
Yes, just run a dremel around the raised circle or use a razor. Cut straight down. You won't be able to get the part under the connector, but the plastic is only about 1/16th" thick and you can snap it right off.
Sweet, thanks I'll give it a try
Bad Noodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 10:34 PM   #11
Bad Noodle
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 174442
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NNJ
Vehicle:
2007 SuperWagon
I don't spell well

Default

I took a hack saw at this thing for like 20 min. It's tough to get through. I could have gotten unlucky but there was a washer in there that made it harder to cut though. I might not have been a washer, I might have gone too low and cut off the top of the metal center. I felt it strange when cutting, like something was turning in inside. Anyway, here's the result:

Bad Noodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 10:59 PM   #12
JarHarms
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 138994
Join Date: Jan 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: DeKalb-ish, IL
Vehicle:
2006 WRX, 6MT, 5x114
TMIC, FP blue, ELH

Default

Looks good, smooth out the edges, and re install to the original harness connector. I also taped the sensor to the harness to keep it from flopping around.
JarHarms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2014, 12:58 AM   #13
Andrewxxcarlson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 316415
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
WRB

Default

That thumbnail bro.. Lolol
Andrewxxcarlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 09:16 AM   #14
Bad Noodle
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 174442
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NNJ
Vehicle:
2007 SuperWagon
I don't spell well

Default

Update:

Finally got the car running and the pressure sensor works without issue. It's good to know that you don't have to be ultra gentile with it. I would guess that as long as it's cut below the bump, it should be all good.

Also found it a new home:

Bad Noodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 01:14 PM   #15
Razgeiz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 358782
Join Date: Jun 2013
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Springfield, Illinois
Vehicle:
2013 STi
DGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Noodle View Post
Update:

Finally got the car running and the pressure sensor works without issue. It's good to know that you don't have to be ultra gentile with it. I would guess that as long as it's cut below the bump, it should be all good.

Also found it a new home:

I'm glad you posted this up I will do the same this winter once I pull the stock block. I'm tired of looking at the secondary air injection system in the engine bay
Razgeiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2017, 02:41 AM   #16
Jackalou
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 445931
Join Date: May 2016
Default

I have an 09 wrx. wondering if there really is a replacement baro sensor or another sensor I can use in place of it. The previous owner for some reason threw it out with the secondary air pump when he did the delete. No idea why. I can't find it anywhere online unless I buy an entirely new secondary air pump and just cut the sensor off. Which is $300 something from Subaru Please help.
Jackalou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2017, 08:04 AM   #17
EvasionOfTruth
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 13282
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Richmond, VA
Vehicle:
2007 FXT
WRB SPB Edition

Default

Been trying to locate one too. My sensor is stuck at 6.96 reading yet I'm only 150ft above sea level not 19,000ft.
EvasionOfTruth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2017, 03:14 AM   #18
chenchar
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 424938
Join Date: Jul 2015
Default

this has been causing me issues with my 07 sti. if i cut the black piece out and plug it in, will i be good to go? its in fail safe mode whenever the codes come up for the airpump, also when it's "working" and there arent any codes, I OVERBOOST!! help would be greatly appreciated. block off plates installed, and the valve is plugged in with the ports open. (no plumbing going to the valve whatsoever.
chenchar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2018, 06:53 PM   #19
Scargod
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 260314
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: S central CT, New England
Vehicle:
2007 STI
silver gray metallic

Default

I successfully cut two apart. One has been on my race car for years. They are necessary for the ECU to know the correct barometric pressure so it can adjust to changes.
Used, these things are worth around $100 on Ebay!
So, the OP never got an answer.
I wonder if this cheap GM part would do the job? With an adapter pigtail it costs all of $19 from Amazon.
But will it do the job?
https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/...DOWP300U&psc=1

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/...NB3NEHFM&psc=1

Last edited by Scargod; 11-07-2018 at 06:56 AM.
Scargod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2019, 10:06 AM   #20
redrexmeister
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 111692
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Jersey burbs
Default

Anyone tried the GM pressure sensor in the above link from Amazon? Any tuning needed given it might be calibrated differently vs. OEM?
redrexmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 03:58 AM   #21
chrisroug
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 443156
Join Date: Mar 2016
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Central Coast CA
Vehicle:
2015 STI
Pearl White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redrexmeister View Post
Anyone tried the GM pressure sensor in the above link from Amazon? Any tuning needed given it might be calibrated differently vs. OEM?
I'd like to know also. Anyone?
chrisroug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 01:34 AM   #22
FPV
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 505239
Join Date: Aug 2019
Default

MY baro pressure sensor has also been thrown away by the previous owner and my accessport is reading 21.76 constant lol. I really don't feel like buying a new or old pump, there must be an available sensor to buy...
FPV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2019, 06:18 PM   #23
Ajzride
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 507776
Join Date: Oct 2019
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, TX
Vehicle:
2006 818 with EJ25T
Primer

Default

I did try the GM 3Bar MAP sensor, and while the pin-outs are the same, the scale is different. The GM sensor reads 11.5 PSI at sea level, which is obviously low. It looks like a 4-bar map sensor would read 15.1 psi at sea level, which should be close enough to not cause any issues. Much more difficult to find a cheap 4 bar unit though. I'm just going to try and hard-code mine to 14.7 using RomRaider. If that fails I'll go find a 4-bar unit.
Ajzride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2020, 06:49 PM   #24
05WRX_Mark
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 514969
Join Date: May 2020
Vehicle:
2005 WRX
Aspen White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajzride View Post
I did try the GM 3Bar MAP sensor, and while the pin-outs are the same, the scale is different. The GM sensor reads 11.5 PSI at sea level, which is obviously low. It looks like a 4-bar map sensor would read 15.1 psi at sea level, which should be close enough to not cause any issues. Much more difficult to find a cheap 4 bar unit though. I'm just going to try and hard-code mine to 14.7 using RomRaider. If that fails I'll go find a 4-bar unit.
So did you either program the 3 bar sensor or find a 4 bar that works? I'm in a similar situation and I'm pretty sure the BARO sensor is causing my ECU to think I'm over boosting. I'm getting fuel cuts and code P0244 but the solenoid is working fine. I also am not getting P0234 which would be actual over boosting.
05WRX_Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2020, 10:46 AM   #25
colelemert
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 515465
Join Date: Jun 2020
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bad Noodle View Post
I took a hack saw at this thing for like 20 min. It's tough to get through. I could have gotten unlucky but there was a washer in there that made it harder to cut though. I might not have been a washer, I might have gone too low and cut off the top of the metal center. I felt it strange when cutting, like something was turning in inside. Anyway, here's the result:

I did the same with mine - was worried about the pins that are between the main circular portion of the sensor and the harness itself - they shaved clean off in this picture but I was able to "lift" mine off, exposing what looked to be critical pins - turns out they aren't critical for sensor operation!
colelemert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.