Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday November 22, 2019
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2019, 06:08 PM   #1
Alex.Ter
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 494915
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Seattle
Vehicle:
2008 Wrx
Black

Default V3 not connecting

Ok I really need some input on this issue I have, I'm very sorry if I posted this somehow wrong, I'm new here. So I bought a ap from Ebay, installed it and installed tunes on it, and it worked perfectly fine, then this year at around January in Spokane it was very cold freezing temps at night, and then in the morning I go to my car and my ap isnt connecting, It gets power, but when I press on gauges it just stays on the verify ignition is in the on position, and yes I did verify. And i can't change any tunes right now, and cant get a protune. So I contacted cobb, sent them my ecu, ap, and cord, they said buy a new cord, I did still same issue, then they said to check out the obd2 port pins, I had a new obd2 port wired In, still same issue, at this point I'm very annoyed of this, so I tried with a multi meter checking the pins from obd2 port to the pins that go to the ecu, the grounds, and all the other pins checked out perfectly fine, and yet the ap doesnt connect, I tried connecting a code scanner also and it works! Wtf!?!? And this is why I'm really confused, because a scanner works but the ap doesnt, I have absolutely no clue what I can try or do now to try and fix this issue, so I decided to turn to you guys if you guys have any ideas of what I could check. I also checked the ignition switch with a multimeter and works fine, I'm thinking its something with the ignition switch wires if only I could figure out what pin the ap uses to verify that the ignition switch is on, but cobb wouldn't tell me that. Really any help would be amazing!
Alex.Ter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2019, 08:49 PM   #2
subaru_gc8
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29292
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Orange County CA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX wagon
silver

Default

was it new? if so talk to Cobb
subaru_gc8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 03:16 AM   #3
Alex.Ter
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 494915
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Seattle
Vehicle:
2008 Wrx
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by subaru_gc8 View Post
was it new? if so talk to Cobb
No I bought the accessport from ebay, and I have sent the ecu, the ap, and the cord to cobb and they checked it all out and said that the problem is with my car
Alex.Ter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 01:51 PM   #4
subaru_gc8
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29292
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Orange County CA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX wagon
silver

Default

maybe try to unmarry it and remarry it and see what happens
subaru_gc8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 04:37 PM   #5
Alex.Ter
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 494915
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Seattle
Vehicle:
2008 Wrx
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by subaru_gc8 View Post
maybe try to unmarry it and remarry it and see what happens
I cant connect the ap to my ECU so I cant unmarry it, it gets power but when i click gauges or try to read codes, it goes to the verify your ignition is in the one position and that's it.
Alex.Ter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 07:16 PM   #6
ifearnoevo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 475635
Join Date: Oct 2017
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: New Bern NC
Vehicle:
2016 WRX STI
Wrb

Default

Have you tried a different cable from the obd port to the accessport? Maybe it has a short in it?
ifearnoevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 07:18 PM   #7
ifearnoevo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 475635
Join Date: Oct 2017
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: New Bern NC
Vehicle:
2016 WRX STI
Wrb

Default

[quote=ifearnoevo;46113794] maybe there is a short in the ignition wiring? Enough for the obd2 port to not read the correct voltage maybe
ifearnoevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 03:13 PM   #8
Alex.Ter
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 494915
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Seattle
Vehicle:
2008 Wrx
Black

Default

[quote=ifearnoevo;46113796]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ifearnoevo View Post
maybe there is a short in the ignition wiring? Enough for the obd2 port to not read the correct voltage maybe
How would I check that? And I have my dash off currently and theres a bunch of wires that come from the ignition Idk which one to check, also would that result in my car not starting?
Alex.Ter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 11:58 PM   #9
ifearnoevo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 475635
Join Date: Oct 2017
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: New Bern NC
Vehicle:
2016 WRX STI
Wrb

Default

[quote=Alex.Ter;46114260]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ifearnoevo View Post

How would I check that? And I have my dash off currently and theres a bunch of wires that come from the ignition Idk which one to check, also would that result in my car not starting?
Maybe. Is it cranking but not starting? Or is it not even trying?
ifearnoevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 02:38 PM   #10
Alex.Ter
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 494915
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Seattle
Vehicle:
2008 Wrx
Black

Default

[quote=ifearnoevo;46114534]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex.Ter View Post
Maybe. Is it cranking but not starting? Or is it not even trying?
The car starts and drives perfectly fine. That's why I doubt it's something with the ignition cables
Alex.Ter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 03:14 PM   #11
Alex.Ter
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 494915
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Seattle
Vehicle:
2008 Wrx
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ifearnoevo View Post
Have you tried a different cable from the obd port to the accessport? Maybe it has a short in it?
I sent my cord with my ap and my ECU to cobb, they checked everything and it's all fine.
Alex.Ter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2019, 02:04 AM   #12
Alex.Ter
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 494915
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Seattle
Vehicle:
2008 Wrx
Black

Default

So I think I might have figured it out, couple months ago my car started dying after it got up to temp, I replaced a bunch of stuff, and then also put in a new battery because I realized that my battery was very old and almost dead. And after that I never tried to connect my accessport again. I'm thinking my accessport wasnt connecting because of a bad battery, and that might explain why it stopped connecting after a very cold night. So I'm putting my car back together, hopefully tomorrow I will try to get it running and try to connect the ap. I'm really really hoping that, that's the issue!
Alex.Ter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2019, 05:45 AM   #13
wiggleharris
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 505974
Join Date: Sep 2019
Default

Did you try a different cable from the Obd port?
wiggleharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2019, 11:15 AM   #14
Alex.Ter
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 494915
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Seattle
Vehicle:
2008 Wrx
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wiggleharris View Post
Did you try a different cable from the Obd port?
Yes, the first time I sent my cobb accessport to cobb they sent me a new cable, that still didnt work, and when I sent my accesport to cobb again with my ecu, they said the cable is working fine, so is the ecu and accessport.
Alex.Ter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2019 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.