Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday November 21, 2019
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2015, 05:04 AM   #101
fabio.fxt
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 408422
Join Date: Dec 2014
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Uberaba/Brazil
Vehicle:
2010 Forester XT
Gray

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkopinga View Post
Try again using an extra GND connection from P413 to the 2nd CAPACITOR from the bottom left corner in your picture to see if that solves your problems. Make sure you have the correct ROM for your car and make sure you disconnect the SHBoot recovery board before attempting to start the car. Trying to start the car with the SHBoot board still attached will not work.

Regards,

Jasper.
Hi Jasper,

I used the GND connection on the capacitor and reflash the ROM, but the car won't start. I reflash using both software (Renesas and OpenECU). Do you know if I can make extra GND connection in the other capacitors to try again?

Thank you!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
fabio.fxt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 01-10-2015, 05:10 AM   #102
fabio.fxt
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 408422
Join Date: Dec 2014
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Uberaba/Brazil
Vehicle:
2010 Forester XT
Gray

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nhawks View Post
so everyone that as successfully reflashed using this method, did you use the stock rom or were you able to get it to reflash with anything else?
Hi nhawks,

I use the stock rom. But if sucess, I will change the ROM for the power.
fabio.fxt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2015, 09:53 PM   #103
fabio.fxt
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 408422
Join Date: Dec 2014
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Uberaba/Brazil
Vehicle:
2010 Forester XT
Gray

Default

Hi Guys,

Good news, the Forester now works with the unbricked ECU. :-))

After I write the ROM, I disconnect the SHBoot board but the car won't works. I saw the extra GND connection from P413 to the capacitor and thought if it was disturbing the ECU, I cut the wire from P413 to the capacitor and the ECU works finally.

I write the ROM to the ECU using the Renesas and EcuFlash software, but only the EcuFlash works properly.



fabio.fxt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 10:05 PM   #104
Paidfor
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 267815
Join Date: Dec 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: LSx allll done..need headers
Vehicle:
Be in awe
dont hate .)

Default

Geez man im still tryin to figure how to change the battery in my key fob lol. You guys got mega time!!!
Paidfor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 02:39 AM   #105
pie-r
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 212358
Join Date: May 2009
Default

I just successfully un-bricked a 2014 STI using this guide.

I could not find the FTDI chip as referenced in the tactrix schematic, so I used one made by DLP from Mouser.com instead.

The 2014 ECU's VCC/GND/TX/RX/WDT solder blobs are in different locations than the pictures here, but are all labeled with the # and everything seemed to work properly.

I had issues with the WDT signal as the reset pin is not tied to anything in the diagrams from tactrix, I had to tie the reset pin on the timer to VCC as mentioned earlier in this thread.

Even with full Subaru diagrams for the ECU pins, I could not get the ECU to power up on the bench, and resorted to using the vehicle harness for power.

I accidentally ripped the TX trace off the ECU board, and luckily was able to solder the TX wire to the edge of the resistor that the trace went to (whew!)

After that, I used Hot-Glue to secure the tiny wires to the edge of the ECU so they can't break free from the tiny amount of solder holding them on when you are moving the ECU around.

The renasys program would not work on the 2014 ECU, and would just give errors even with 7058 mode.

Using Tactrix, the first two times I tried re-flashing, the process took forever (2.5 hours) and was unsuccessful.

Next, I switched to the latest ECUflash 1.44.4361 (no recovery mode option in menu, instead has a different red arrow flash button for recovery) and tied the ground from an on-ECU capacitor to ground on P413.
The blocks wrote MUCH faster, with the flash completing in just over 15 min. I did not clip the new ground after flashing and thought that I was unsuccessful when the veh would not start, reinforcing this failure was also seeing that many of the "write" blocks in the log show "skipped" (This is OK to see Skipped)

Tried again with the same image that I had captured from the ECU before the brick. After the (4th try) flash finished, I cut the ground from the capacitor on ECU to P413, and disconnected battery to allow the ECU to reset.

IT WORKED! Car started right up, thank God, I have been working at this for 3 days. Thank you OP
pie-r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 01:45 AM   #106
sean09legacy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 415467
Join Date: Mar 2015
Default Help me please

First time poster here. HI guys and gals.

alright, i bricked my ecu and do not have the time to build the bench hardware. Anyone willing to sell me theirs or even build one for me?? If so please PM with ur price. Also if you are in the orlando fl area i can either have u unbrick it for me and pay u or buy your set up. Thanks in advance

Never mind got the car taken care of at the stealership.

Last edited by sean09legacy; 03-11-2015 at 09:39 AM.
sean09legacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 03:22 PM   #107
antonigt
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 351824
Join Date: Mar 2013
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Sorocaba - SP - Brazil
Vehicle:
2008 FXT
gray

Default

Hi guys, I'm a fabio.fxt friend and I used his tool to unmake a ECUTEK flashed ECU with success, first of all I used all information found here, doing all connection to ECU like fabio.fxt, on first time I didn't see that the ground wire to the second capacitor was unplugged and the flash was too long (about 2 hours) and didn't work, after that I connected that wire and start the flash again, everything are ok and in just 15 minutes of flashing time. Now the ECU is like a new one and capable to be flashed using tactrix openport.

I did all things at bench and now I will put in the car to finish.

I just like to put some news information to this post because I think will be useful, regarding pins to power and ground to do a bench flash.

Basicaly is the pins that jkopinga posted but deleting some wires

12V Power Feed:

B135 pin# 19 Ignition Switch
B135 pin# 5 Backup Power Supply
B135 pin# 2 Control Power Supply
B135 pin# 12 Main Switch

GND:

B134 pin# 5
B137 pin# 1
B137 pin# 3

And if you like to put a obd2 port to see if ECU can be flashed by tactrix after SHboot flash, you need this:

B136 #27 to OBD2 #6 can+
B136 #35 to OBD2 #14 can-

In pictures yellow wires are 12v and black wires are ground. White wire is can+ and gray wire is can-

I used a PC power supply unit and the watch dog frequency was around 120Hz










Regards
antonigt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 12:35 AM   #108
wchafe
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 361580
Join Date: Jul 2013
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Vehicle:
2014 STi 5dr
WRB

Default

I have a question about reprogramming an ECU through boot mode. I have been playing around with a 2013 STI ECU that I picked up cheap. Using ECUFlash I have successfully written 2013 and 2014 ROM images to it. I'm wondering if the 2014 image would actually work in the 2013 ECU? Does anyone know?

BTW here's a shot of my setup.

Last edited by wchafe; 04-06-2015 at 09:29 PM.
wchafe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2015, 03:55 PM   #109
mikeyPSF
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 236475
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: San Francisco
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Black

Default

That's not the most attractive coffee cup I've ever seen, but the rest of your setup is tight

As far as ECU cross year compatibility, that's not an easy question to answer. You'd want to start out by looking at the factory wiring diagrams to see if all connections are identical. If they are, and you can see that the circuit board part numbers are the same, and the board components are the same (ie even two boards with same part number (112231-6810 for instance) might have different components populated), then they probably could be swapped (along with immobilizer components) if needed. That doesn't mean that they might not have used different sensors in the cars, which would then require different calibrations in the ECU data tables. So it's really better to stick with the same year/market ECU if needed.

What are you hoping to achieve? The ROM image doesn't give you an immobilizer backup so you wouldn't be able to just swap the ECU out as a backup even if the board worked to accept the ROM. You'd still need the immobilizer module and matching programmed keys.

-Mike
Tactrix
mikeyPSF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2015, 11:27 AM   #110
wchafe
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 361580
Join Date: Jul 2013
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Vehicle:
2014 STi 5dr
WRB

Default

Hey Mike, I just drink out of whatever my wife puts in front of me

Thanks for the reply. I hadn't thought about sensor differences from year to year. I can see now that there are lots of potential problems swapping years. I wasn't really trying to achieve anything other than learning how to flash a bricked ECU. I had a chance to get a 2013 ECU really cheap so I got that to practice on. I was just curious about whether they could be swapped.

If you ever needed to replace the ECU could you get the new ECU to work with the original immobilizer by bringing it to the dealer to program? Is it possible to do this yourself? Again I'm just curious.

Wade
wchafe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 04:40 PM   #111
mikeyPSF
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 236475
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: San Francisco
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wchafe View Post
If you ever needed to replace the ECU could you get the new ECU to work with the original immobilizer by bringing it to the dealer to program? Is it possible to do this yourself? Again I'm just curious.
Unfortunately it's not something we support with our software and I'm not aware of any other software out there that lets you do that, but I'm not always current on what other software makers are doing. If you need to program an ECU to pair it with an existing immobilizer, the dealership needs to do that for you and they'll only do it with a blank/new ECU.
mikeyPSF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 01:51 PM   #112
golf_bht
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 279343
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default

T-T I bricked my 2009 WRX ECU. It seem that most of the above ECUS are different from mine. My car was 2.5 Australian version. Can I go with same pin as above even though it look a bit different?

If possible I would like to have a photo of how to link the ECU of AUS model to the usb programer? My ECU have a code on it. 22611AM830

Can anyone sell me the FDT communication board please?
golf_bht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 02:25 PM   #113
mikeyPSF
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 236475
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: San Francisco
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Black

Default

The attachments you make to the circuit board itself (P405,P407,etc.) will not change across markets. What pins you use to power up the ECU, which is separate from the recovery circuit, could change. I can check my notes at work to see if I have the info for an AUS ECU. If you open the ECU case, there will be a series of numbers in white characters on the printed circuit board. Those are the number that would be helpful to have if you'd like to me to see if I have info for your ECU. Alternately, a factory wiring diagram for your ECU would also be helpful.

-Mike
Tactrix
mikeyPSF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 12:27 PM   #114
GNDEJ205
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 408652
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Grenada
Vehicle:
2003 CrossSport
Gunmetal Grey

Talking

I just picked up an AG572 ECU, its for the JDM 03 Subaru CrossSport SG5 with DBW throttle, and was wondering if I can use this method to download new ROMS to this ECU. It has the SH7055 in it.
GNDEJ205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 12:35 PM   #115
mikeyPSF
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 236475
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: San Francisco
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Black

Default

For the 7055, you have to use the Renesas toolkit rather than the recovery mode in EcuFlash, but you only want to use that method if you had an interrupted reflash where the ECU is no longer responsive. If the ECU isn't corrupted, then just use EcuFlash normally, don't turn the ignition 'OFF' if you ever have a problem, instead restart the failed reflash, and you shouldn't ever need to do a bench recovery.
mikeyPSF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 03:24 PM   #116
sureshot007
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 142405
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: TeamHazardRally.com
Vehicle:
#716 Group5 S10

Default

I'm sorry if this is a little off topic, but it looks like you guys might know the answer to what I'm looking for. I'd like to bench flash a non-bricked ecu via an OBD2 port, so I have a 2002 WRX ecu, pigtails for it, and an unpinned OBD2 socket.

My guess is for the ECU harness:
https://www.xcceleration.com/pinouts...CU.Pinouts.pdf
Power - D2, D3, D10, B9
Ground - C17, A22, A7, A15
SSM - A21 (goes to OBD2 connector pin 10)

Then wire the OBD2 connector:
http://legacygt.com/forums/attachmen...3&d=1099973620
Pin 10 -> A21 from ECU
Pin 12,13 -> Ground
Pin 1 -> Power

Am I on the right track?
sureshot007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 03:38 PM   #117
mikeyPSF
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 236475
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: San Francisco
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Black

Default

Unfortunately no. The 2002 WRX ECU does not have a 7058 processor, so this method won't work for you. It's a totally different ECU which doesn't have a similar method for recovery. The good news is that since those early 16 bit ECUs aren't tied to an immobilizer, you just need to find a replacement to swap out. You can often find them for as low as $50. Check this forum for people parting out whole cars or look on car-part.com for a 2002 or 2003 WRX ECU.

-Mike
Tactrix
mikeyPSF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 03:41 PM   #118
sureshot007
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 142405
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: TeamHazardRally.com
Vehicle:
#716 Group5 S10

Default

There's nothing wrong with the ecu, I just want to flash it with a Tactrix cable, but without a car.
sureshot007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 09:00 AM   #119
coronamoto
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 105850
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Holland
Vehicle:
2004 STi
Blue

Default Boost control solenoid

Any one running the SH 7.00036.02.0 boost control solenoid?
coronamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 12:52 PM   #120
mikeyPSF
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 236475
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: San Francisco
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Black

Default

It's pretty clear that this thread isn't about boost control solenoids. It's about ECU restoration. You've posted this same question in a lot of threads within a short period this morning. You should limit boost control solenoid questions to threads that are at least vaguely related to boost control solenoids. Neither this nor the 'engine management FAQ' thread you posted in are appropriate places for this question. The five boost control solenoid threads you posted in would be appropriate but give people a chance to reply before posting in five different threads. You're wasting people's time asking the same question in so many places.

-Mike
Tactrix
mikeyPSF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 02:22 PM   #121
coronamoto
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 105850
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Holland
Vehicle:
2004 STi
Blue

Default

Not trying to wast peoples' time, just trying to cover all the areas where people would be using boost control solenoids as this is an intergral part of engine management. I will take your response as a no to my eariler question. Thanks for your appropriate and informative input
coronamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 01:11 AM   #122
pooja
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 420871
Join Date: May 2015
Default ECU Tuning and performance Electronics

Daer Sir,

I am not able to make the wiring of Bread board to attach with DLP-USB232M
how to do that pls specify..
PLEASE GIVE ME UR Contact email id or any other communication link so we can discuss how to fix this wiring..
actually i am stuck in this subaru car.and i bought this DLP-USB232M from mouser.com,but how to fix the bread board wiring,its difficult to get its idea from looking into picture.

pls help..

waiting for ur reply..
pooja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 10:11 PM   #123
Marvin54
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 317521
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: FL
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
Blue

Default

What car you have? I make board and work for me, I have sti 09 SADM
Marvin54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 03:56 AM   #124
pooja
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 420871
Join Date: May 2015
Default

i have subaru car sir.
ecu is not communicating ..

pls reply
pooja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 08:23 AM   #125
pooja
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 420871
Join Date: May 2015
Default

hello franko..
i love ur idea..
i also want to unbrick my ECU issue..
Please elaborate how to do this step by step..
i have bought DLP-USB232M
but how to built this watchdog timer pcb..
i am confused....
please help asap..
pooja is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Make an STI Look Like a Sleeper? FostersAFB General Community 92 10-12-2017 10:24 PM
How to remove an ecu Quackyboy Newbies & FAQs 9 04-22-2010 10:26 AM
How bad is it on the tranny to treat an auto like a manual? thrillho Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 8 06-07-2004 09:23 AM
Want to learn how to tune an ECU...and actually do it on a real dyno? 2000vfr800 Engine Management & Tuning 9 03-19-2003 03:20 PM
How long for an ECU to reset w/ no flash? Keith99RS New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 0 08-22-2002 04:28 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2019 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.