Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday May 21, 2018
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2007, 01:47 AM   #1
ab0z
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 126473
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Vehicle:
1978 Datsun 280z

Default WinXP Pro and the case of the missing Microphone input

Here's the deal:
I had XP home on my computer, and I needed the remote desktop feature, so I popped in XP Pro and ran through the upgrade.
After the upgrade was complete, I used autopatcher to install the 70+ updates that came out since SP2, then Windows update to install the most recent 20 or so.
Upon reboot, my sound did not work, and there was no volume control icon in the system tray. I checked in
device manager, and the sound card was disabled due to a "conflict". I enabled it, and windows prompted me to update the drivers to resolve the issue. I let it automatically resolve the issue, and my sound appeared to be working. I fired up CS:S and tried to use the voice chat, but according to the other players the sound that was translated was an echo of my own WAV output rather than the mic input.
I exited the game and opened the volume control, and saw this:


No problem I though, I'll just add the other inputs to the view and select the microphone.
Nope, try again.


I have checked in every section, utility, propery sheet and orifice that windows has for sound related stuff, I can't find anything to explain why the other options do not appear.

I uninstalled the sound card, and rebooted. I downloaded the latest driver package from Creative labs, and installed it, but there is no change. I still have no access to the other input options that should be present.

For good measure here is a screenshot of the device manager as it stands now:


HALP!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
ab0z is offline  
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 11-12-2007, 01:52 AM   #2
skywaffles
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82470
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
You are now
breathing manually

Default

skywaffles is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 01:54 AM   #3
Qcanfixit
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 135762
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: alternate reality
Vehicle:
2059 Venturi Skimobi
transparent aluminium

Default

upgrading windows rarely goes well. reformat and try again.
Qcanfixit is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 01:54 AM   #4
ab0z
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 126473
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Vehicle:
1978 Datsun 280z

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skywatchersti View Post
I am going to kill you. Quite literally, I am going to shoot you with a gun.
ab0z is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 01:56 AM   #5
ab0z
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 126473
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Vehicle:
1978 Datsun 280z

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qcanfixit View Post
upgrading windows rarely goes well. reformat and try again.
I'm fully aware of how to make a clean install work, but since everything but the sound is fully functional I'd like to just fix this issue and get back to my life. I just need to hear ideas on what would make some input options disappear from the windows volume control.
ab0z is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 02:01 AM   #6
skywaffles
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82470
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
You are now
breathing manually

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ab0z View Post
I'm fully aware of how to make a clean install work, but since everything but the sound is fully functional I'd like to just fix this issue and get back to my life. I just need to hear ideas on what would make some input options disappear from the windows volume control.
WWW.APPLE.COM
skywaffles is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 02:05 AM   #7
ab0z
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 126473
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Vehicle:
1978 Datsun 280z

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skywatchersti View Post
WWW.APPLE.COM
You know what? You're right. I'm switching to apple this very ****ing second. You seem like a nice guy that can show me how these clearly superior machines work. PM me your address and I'll bring some coors over.

Just kidding. I know what macs are good for. I use one every day. I also happen to have a PC, so I can run a few of the millions of programs that are not mac compatible.
Now, DIE IN A FIRE.
ab0z is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 02:07 AM   #8
skywaffles
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82470
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
You are now
breathing manually

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ab0z View Post
You know what? You're right. I'm switching to apple this very ****ing second. You seem like a nice guy that can show me how these clearly superior machines work. PM me your address and I'll bring some coors over.

Just kidding. I know what macs are good for. I use one every day. I also happen to have a PC, so I can run a few of the millions of programs that are not mac compatible.
Now, DIE IN A FIRE.
boot camp
skywaffles is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 02:12 AM   #9
ab0z
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 126473
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Vehicle:
1978 Datsun 280z

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skywatchersti View Post
boot camp
You stupid mother****er. If I was running winxp on a mac I would still have this issue.
Anyways the mac I have is PowerPC based, so that's not an option to me.
And to head off your next juvenile piece of "advice" at the pass, I'm not in a position to spend $1100 on a brand new ****ing notebook that will get used for the same thing my current one does.

Seriously what the **** is wrong with you?
I post one of the most coherent threads this forum has seen all day, I even include helpful screenshots, and all you can do is waste my time with this bull****?
GTFO!
ab0z is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 02:14 AM   #10
blackfuryWRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 88193
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
JBP

Default

oh no he di'nt.
blackfuryWRX is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 02:15 AM   #11
ab0z
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 126473
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Vehicle:
1978 Datsun 280z

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackfuryWRX View Post
oh no he di'nt.
You are also a waste of DNA.
ab0z is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 02:16 AM   #12
rabbitnutz
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 51940
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Ma
Vehicle:
2001
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skywatchersti View Post
rofl. i was hoping the first reply would be that.
rabbitnutz is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 02:18 AM   #13
ab0z
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 126473
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Vehicle:
1978 Datsun 280z

Default

Well the incredibly low quality replies to this thread are a blessing in disguise. I'm building up a fantastic ignore list from this thread.
ab0z is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 03:13 AM   #14
skywaffles
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82470
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
You are now
breathing manually

Default

hahaha now you're all butthurt that you don't get to play your little game
and you probably wouldn't have this problem with a mac, as they have drivers that *gasp* work
skywaffles is offline  
Old 11-12-2007, 03:29 AM   #15
rabbitnutz
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 51940
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Ma
Vehicle:
2001
White

Default

well a few questions... i'm a mac user and i typically don't have problems...at all.


is the mic input part of your fancy sound card, or is it on the motherboard or something...if it's on the soundcard, can you search the manufacturers website for FAQ's about mic drivers?

can you search the computer for "microphone driver" and see if you can update it?

if you go back to the old versions of the sound software and drivers, does the mic work?


oh, and PS: dear OP: stop being a whiny bitch, you can't expect a serious answer all the time from OT. besides, most everything skywatchersti has typed in response is true.
rabbitnutz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Ed Hardy Boyz: The Case of the Missing Sick Belt Buckle 24 Off-Topic 4 10-07-2009 04:29 PM
READ THIS: The Case of the Missing Bees poison Off-Topic 24 04-18-2007 11:11 PM
Wow, this how Ms. Spears looks after a long night and with the case of the munchies! chris619 Off-Topic 35 04-26-2004 11:26 PM
the case of the missing lug nuts Willman67 Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC 15 10-30-2002 03:16 PM
Help! the case of the missing bass! sjt Car Audio, Video & Security 4 11-02-2001 06:33 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.