Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday August 20, 2019
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2006, 11:57 PM   #1
roboace
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 67762
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Nashville
Vehicle:
2000 GC8 JDM STi
Silverton

Default How to tell if your ECU is blown

I was wondering if there is a way to tell if your ECU is blown. I have been having problems with my swap and can't seen to get it to start, I can get it to turn over thought, but the fule pump doesn't come on. I need to know if the car would even turn over if the ECU whas blown, or if my problems is else where. Also my fuel pump does not turn on when hooked up throught the harness, could that be my problem?

Please HELP

ACE
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
roboace is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 07-17-2006, 02:27 AM   #2
MonsterRallySport
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 104148
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Shingletown CA
Vehicle:
MRT Spur cut with
Rocket center Diff.

Default

No... The engine won't turn over... It will crank..
Back probe...
MonsterRallySport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 03:14 AM   #3
sith
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 66362
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Nova Scotia
Vehicle:
2001 GM6 V7 STi
Black with rust

Default

do u get a CEL?



.sith.
sith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 03:42 AM   #4
MonsterRallySport
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 104148
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Shingletown CA
Vehicle:
MRT Spur cut with
Rocket center Diff.

Default

If the ECU is working properly then you will. If not, you may not..
MonsterRallySport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 04:14 AM   #5
moss
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10197
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Gtown, MD
Default

If the engine will crank, and the fuel pump wont come on, I think its wiring... not your ECU.

What swap are you doing?
moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 02:48 AM   #6
sith
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 66362
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Nova Scotia
Vehicle:
2001 GM6 V7 STi
Black with rust

Default

did u ground out pin 3 of the fuel pump relay to pin 1(black) of the ingition relay?

.sith.
sith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 09:45 PM   #7
2.5rsTurbo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 99741
Join Date: Nov 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: raleigh, nc
Vehicle:
2005 Wrx Sti
CGM

Default

argh, that is exactly my problem too guys, i have an ej20k and the motor turns over but the fuel pump doesnt come on, only the pump comes on when the key is in the start position...but as i said before it turns off as u turn the motor over...id like to know the answer to this as well, also...does anyone know where to buy jdm wiring harnesses for an ej20k?
2.5rsTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 10:11 PM   #8
sith
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 66362
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Nova Scotia
Vehicle:
2001 GM6 V7 STi
Black with rust

Default

well thats a pickle.. as there should be no change in the relays between the "on" position and when cranking.. are you running an FPC?

.sith.
sith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2006, 03:05 AM   #9
2.5rsTurbo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 99741
Join Date: Nov 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: raleigh, nc
Vehicle:
2005 Wrx Sti
CGM

Default

sorry, whats an fpc? fuel pressure controller?
2.5rsTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2006, 02:34 AM   #10
sith
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 66362
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Nova Scotia
Vehicle:
2001 GM6 V7 STi
Black with rust

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2.5rsTurbo
sorry, whats an fpc? fuel pressure controller?

ooooooohh... so close... fuel pump controller

.sith.
sith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2006, 06:27 PM   #11
roboace
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 67762
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Nashville
Vehicle:
2000 GC8 JDM STi
Silverton

Default

I did screw up the wiring, but now i have figured it out. but i am blowing the inginton fuse when i put it in the on position. i am trying to trace it out, but still working on it. does anyone have an idea if i could of blown my ecu or would it still be good if i just messed but the bottom part of the 3 connectors into the ECU. they were totaly flipped, how could i be so stupid.

Thanks

ACE
roboace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 12:41 AM   #12
1wrex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 501221
Join Date: May 2019
Default What was the problem??

[quote=roboace;14605085]I did screw up the wiring, but now i have figured it out. but i am blowing the inginton fuse when i put it in the on position. i am trying to trace it out, but still working on it. does anyone have an idea if i could of blown my ecu or would it still be good if i just messed but the bottom part of the 3 connectors into the ECU. they were totaly flipped, how could i be so stupid.

Thanks

ACE
Was it the ECU did you figure out the problem I'm having the same issues
1wrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 08:46 AM   #13
Turpid Porpoise
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 476573
Join Date: Oct 2017
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Lovettsville, Virginia
Vehicle:
2008 Impreza WRX STi
Silver

Default

[quote=1wrex;46047446]
Quote:
Originally Posted by roboace View Post
I did screw up the wiring, but now i have figured it out. but i am blowing the inginton fuse when i put it in the on position. i am trying to trace it out, but still working on it. does anyone have an idea if i could of blown my ecu or would it still be good if i just messed but the bottom part of the 3 connectors into the ECU. they were totaly flipped, how could i be so stupid.

Thanks

ACE
Was it the ECU did you figure out the problem I'm having the same issues
Since this post is from 2006 I doubt he will be replying. You’re better off listing as much detail about your car as possible so we can help you trace your issue.
Turpid Porpoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to tell if your uppipe is stock? Marlons101 Newbies & FAQs 1 01-20-2008 10:07 PM
how to tell if your boyfriend is the antichrist scaryfastskier Off-Topic 8 12-18-2007 07:38 PM
How to tell if an ecu is usdm or jdm? 2slofouru Subaru Conversions 4 08-11-2006 11:49 AM
How to tell if your nose is broken? Stickee Off-Topic 11 01-26-2006 03:41 PM
How to tell if your uppipe is leaking? 02wrx999 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 9 12-16-2002 08:34 AM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2019 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.