Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday December 18, 2018
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2016, 12:09 AM   #26
02nismokiller
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 322963
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: upstate NY
Vehicle:
04 wrx
psm

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grafton View Post
Just did this in my 07 STi, worked like a charm I don't have the new fancy version of ATR so I just log the AFsensor 3 voltage and convert it in excel.

Was able to start open loop maf scaling today, once that's dialed in I'll pull a little fuel out of the cobb map

But it doesn't appear on the AP, correct? Or you had to use excel just to get the AFR?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
02nismokiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 11-02-2016, 12:28 AM   #27
peekeesh
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 316476
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Vehicle:
12 WRX
WRB

Default

^^ i did this as well. It appears on the AP.
peekeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2016, 05:39 PM   #28
02nismokiller
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 322963
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: upstate NY
Vehicle:
04 wrx
psm

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peekeesh View Post
^^ i did this as well. It appears on the AP.

You have a GD?
02nismokiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2016, 11:51 PM   #29
peekeesh
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 316476
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Vehicle:
12 WRX
WRB

Default

No i have a GR. You have to have atr or have your tuner update your map.

peekeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2016, 04:44 PM   #30
tintran
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 175032
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Riverton UT
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Red

Default

Has anyone used the TGV harness? I was told it’s the “TGV sensor +” wire however not sure how to tell which one that would be. Does anyone have an idea? Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am planning to do it on my 04 WRX.
tintran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2016, 10:05 PM   #31
chchchino
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 303355
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tintran View Post
Has anyone used the TGV harness? I was told it’s the “TGV sensor +” wire however not sure how to tell which one that would be. Does anyone have an idea? Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am planning to do it on my 04 WRX.
check out the FSM for your model year, should have everything you need.
chchchino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 11:59 PM   #32
amac64
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 387127
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default

hey bro could you explain how you used the plug that you bought?

thanks
amac64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 12:11 AM   #33
SurfGuruJeff
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 148974
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2010 4x4 Silverado
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amac64 View Post
hey bro could you explain how you used the plug that you bought?

thanks
I didn't buy a plug. Go back and read thoroughly.
SurfGuruJeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 03:40 PM   #34
mulagain
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 319912
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2012 STi Hatchback
Plasma Blue Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by my9999 View Post
does this affect to way the rear O2 functions? If hooking up to TGV wire i take it they have to be deleted?
I'm thinking you would be able to log wideband with btSsm.

I didn't see an answer for these and I'm considering which route to go between the two.

- Rear O2 method: Are there any ill effects at the ECU from replacing the white wire at the harness plug with the signal from the UEGO 0-5v? E.g. does the ECU not need to see the original wire that communicates voltage changes in the rear O2 sensor - or does the 0-5v from the UEGO fill that gap?

- TGV method: is the TGV delete mod needed before you could use the TGV harness?

Last edited by mulagain; 01-31-2017 at 04:16 PM.
mulagain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 04:29 PM   #35
SurfGuruJeff
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 148974
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2010 4x4 Silverado
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mulagain View Post
I didn't see an answer for these and I'm considering which route to go between the two.

- Rear O2 method: Are there any ill effects at the ECU from replacing the white wire at the harness plug with the signal from the UEGO 0-5v? E.g. does the ECU not need to see the original wire that communicates voltage changes in the rear O2 sensor - or does the 0-5v from the UEGO fill that gap?

- TGV method: is the TGV delete mod needed before you could use the TGV harness?
You don't have to delete the TGV's to use this. You can basically duplicate the signal from what I understand, go to this link from Cobb

"Please see "TGV Duplication Mode" section of the Subaru Custom Sensor Logging document if planning to utilize TGV input option(s) while retaining TGV hardware."

The UEGO fills the gap, but you have to tune/adjust the voltage scale and log "Sensor Input Monitor Only (Rear O2)" or "Sens Only Rear O2" on your AP
SurfGuruJeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 05:20 PM   #36
my9999
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 319314
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Australia
Vehicle:
2011 WRX
OBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mulagain View Post
I didn't see an answer for these and I'm considering which route to go between the two.

- Rear O2 method: Are there any ill effects at the ECU from replacing the white wire at the harness plug with the signal from the UEGO 0-5v? E.g. does the ECU not need to see the original wire that communicates voltage changes in the rear O2 sensor - or does the 0-5v from the UEGO fill that gap?

- TGV method: is the TGV delete mod needed before you could use the TGV harness?

I had this done for a while now. Your better off removing the Rear O2 Sensor which a couple of things in your map needs to be zeroed out so it doesn't affect your fuel trims.
"AF3 Correction limits" and "AF 3 CL Target Compensation Limits" if its defined in ecuflash. Then delete the rear O2 cell codes. and your good. Reading wideband though btssm
my9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 05:24 PM   #37
mulagain
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 319912
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2012 STi Hatchback
Plasma Blue Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SurfGuruJeff View Post
You don't have to delete the TGV's to use this. You can basically duplicate the signal from what I understand, go to this link from Cobb

"Please see "TGV Duplication Mode" section of the Subaru Custom Sensor Logging document if planning to utilize TGV input option(s) while retaining TGV hardware."

The UEGO fills the gap, but you have to tune/adjust the voltage scale and log "Sensor Input Monitor Only (Rear O2)" or "Sens Only Rear O2" on your AP
Thanks Jeff - the TGV delete option looks promising since I don't plan on doing the TGV delete any time soon. I'm on a Torqued Performance e-tune using RomRaider, so I'll need to look into the RomRaider equivalent.

Do you still have to tune/adjust the voltage scale for the TGV method as well (since they're both voltage readings)?
mulagain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2017, 09:51 PM   #38
CSF707
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 400497
Join Date: Sep 2014
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Kent, WA
Vehicle:
2015 STi Limited
Galaxy Blue Pearl

Default

If logging the TGV, are you pulling up "TGV Voltage Right" on the AP/to datalog that?

Currently, I have the added wire unplugged and this is the normal readout for that sensor.


edit: Looks like I was looking at the wrong monitor, found that "Sns Only TGV R (RAW)" is where the wideband shows. Just need to use the formula to convert volts to lambda


Last edited by CSF707; 02-14-2017 at 10:46 PM.
CSF707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2017, 08:16 AM   #39
romanboy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 356242
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Default

I recently did this on my 2011 wrx and hooked it up to the solid white wire coming out of the male connection.

After everything is said and done the AEM shows the correct afr, however my engine threw code P0138 for "P0138 EGO Sensor Circuit High Voltage (Bank 1 Sensor 2)".


Anyone else get this or have any idea what it's related to? Before the install I didn't have this problem at all
romanboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2017, 09:31 AM   #40
my9999
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 319314
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Australia
Vehicle:
2011 WRX
OBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by romanboy View Post
I recently did this on my 2011 wrx and hooked it up to the solid white wire coming out of the male connection.

After everything is said and done the AEM shows the correct afr, however my engine threw code P0138 for "P0138 EGO Sensor Circuit High Voltage (Bank 1 Sensor 2)".


Anyone else get this or have any idea what it's related to? Before the install I didn't have this problem at all

Quote:
Originally Posted by my9999 View Post
I had this done for a while now. Your better off removing the Rear O2 Sensor which a couple of things in your map needs to be zeroed out so it doesn't affect your fuel trims.
"AF3 Correction limits" and "AF 3 CL Target Compensation Limits" if its defined in ecuflash. Then disable the rear O2 cell codes. and your good. Reading wideband though btssm
.....
my9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2017, 01:42 PM   #41
romanboy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 356242
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Default

my9999:

I disabled the P0138 code but it came back anyway (from what I read the code will still come back until you zero the below tables out). I will leave the sensor in and zero out the compensation and correction limits next and see what it does. From my understanding this will effectively eliminate the ecu from looking at learned AF3 corrections to adjust trims in effect not affecting closed loop fueling as well.


Now please help me with the concept of this, because I hooked up the wideband into the harness, wouldn't the ecu see the values that the wideband is outputting and use those to substitute what the narrowband would be outputting so theoretically everything would act as normal?


Also, zeroing out those tables essentially eliminates any corrections from the rear O2 readings. Since (I'm catless) at this moment there are no cats in the car, the trimming that the ecu does (AF 1 corrections/learning/compensation) from the front O2 sensor is sufficient enough in giving the closed loop system a true and accurate reading of what trims and corrections should be done to reach whatever values the AFR should be at cruise and idle.
romanboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2017, 03:46 PM   #42
romanboy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 356242
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Default

With the help of gsrcrxsi from another thread I believe I understand the middle paragraph from my above post now:

The reason the (high voltage) code came was because the rear O2 outputs 0-1V whereas the wideband outputs 1-5V.

What's funny is some of my fuel trim corrections were really high which I will assume will drop once I fix this issue due to the ecu thinking that the car is running leaner than it should with the high voltage output from the wideband. (apparently the rear O2 corrections can influence AF1 corrections up to +- 7.35 %)
romanboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2017, 07:52 PM   #43
my9999
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 319314
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Australia
Vehicle:
2011 WRX
OBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by romanboy View Post
my9999:

I disabled the P0138 code but it came back anyway (from what I read the code will still come back until you zero the below tables out). I will leave the sensor in and zero out the compensation and correction limits next and see what it does. From my understanding this will effectively eliminate the ecu from looking at learned AF3 corrections to adjust trims in effect not affecting closed loop fueling as well.

Yep pretty much. I disabled all the rear 02 codes P0037,P0038,P0140.


Quote:
Originally Posted by romanboy View Post
my9999:
Now please help me with the concept of this, because I hooked up the wideband into the harness, wouldn't the ecu see the values that the wideband is outputting and use those to substitute what the narrowband would be outputting so theoretically everything would act as normal?
Correct

Quote:
Originally Posted by romanboy View Post
my9999:
Also, zeroing out those tables essentially eliminates any corrections from the rear O2 readings. Since (I'm catless) at this moment there are no cats in the car, the trimming that the ecu does (AF 1 corrections/learning/compensation) from the front O2 sensor is sufficient enough in giving the closed loop system a true and accurate reading of what trims and corrections should be done to reach whatever values the AFR should be at cruise and idle.
Indeed. otherwise if those table aren't zero'd you will run 1pt richer the normal eg 13.7 instead of 14.7
my9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2017, 07:54 PM   #44
my9999
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 319314
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Australia
Vehicle:
2011 WRX
OBP

Default

I think its the AF 3 CL Target Compensation Limits that isn't defined in your rom i might be able help you with that

Last edited by my9999; 04-26-2017 at 08:00 PM.
my9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2017, 08:11 PM   #45
romanboy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 356242
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Default

Looking at my tables now I see that the following have already been zeroed out:

A/F correction and A/F learning #3 limits (min/max)

Any other Rear O2 related tables are zeroed out except for:

Closed loop fueling target compensation (load and Rear O2) Force Open loop (rich limit) Primary = 13.24

Closed loop fueling target compensation (load and Rear O2) Force Open loop (rich limit) Secondary = 14.7
romanboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 11:51 PM   #46
kris142b
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 450777
Join Date: Jul 2016
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Sedona Red Pearl

Default

I'm in the process of installing the "new" AEM 30-0300 x-series UEGO WB O2. I was hoping to use this method with the help of my tuner to start logging my wideband AFR on my AP, however I notice these instructions only include a 0-5v [+] wire, while I have a ground (0-5v [-]) as well. I'm assuming this will need to be grounded out somewhere. Can I tap into my dash clock 12v ground for this, use the rear o2 or just fasten it with a screw to chasis?
Thanks.

Last edited by kris142b; 05-21-2017 at 12:05 AM.
kris142b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2017, 11:59 PM   #47
peekeesh
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 316476
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Vehicle:
12 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kris142b View Post
I'm in the process of installing the "new" AEM 30-0300 x-series UEGO WB O2. I was hoping to use this method with the help of my tuner to start logging my wideband AFR on my AP, however I notice these instructions only include a 0-5v [+] wire, while I have a ground (0-5v [-]) as well. I'm assuming this will need to be grounded out somewhere. Can I tap into my dash clock 12v ground for this, use the rear o2 or just fasten it with a screw to a body panel/metal somewhere?
Thanks.
Yes. Read the 1st post, the OP posted a note regarding the X Series.
peekeesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 12:07 AM   #48
kris142b
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 450777
Join Date: Jul 2016
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Sedona Red Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peekeesh View Post
Yes. Read the 1st post, the OP posted a note regarding the X Series.
Yes but will the 12v ground or chassis work or do I need to run a second wire from the rear o2 through the firewall?
kris142b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2017, 09:10 AM   #49
unseen
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 411988
Join Date: Jan 2015
Default

i think i got my head around the physical wiring and routing of said wire. as far as calibration zero compensation, will this work for a v2 sub 003, or do i need a v3?

thanks.
unseen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2017, 12:03 AM   #50
PDXREALTOR
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 468393
Join Date: May 2017
Location: PDX OREGON
Vehicle:
2017 STI

Default

Thanks for this post OP. I just wired mine up to my rear O2 sensor per the instructions.

My AP is reading volts when I select the rear o2 sensor so, I'm assuming it's the setting via ATR that needs to be changed?

And... I have the high voltage p0138 as well. Sounds like I need to let my tuner sort this out in the ATR software.

Last edited by PDXREALTOR; 07-25-2017 at 12:48 AM.
PDXREALTOR is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.