Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday May 13, 2021
Home Forums Images WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2003, 09:51 PM   #1
T33
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 30050
Join Date: Nov 2002
Vehicle:
2009 STI

Default V1 hardwire power source location

I'm trying to hardwire my V1 radar detector and can't find a place to hook up the +. The kit that comes with the V1 for hardwiring comes with a pretty nice plug, where's it supposed to go though?
Where do people get power from for detectors (other than the cig. lighter)?
Help.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
T33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 03-30-2003, 10:02 PM   #2
TheShadowWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11654
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: DE, Happy Valley
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sedan
WR Blue

Default

TheShadowWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 10:12 PM   #3
T33
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 30050
Join Date: Nov 2002
Vehicle:
2009 STI

Default

Mike,
Thanks for the links. Are there any that show the hardwiring to the fuse box (or that general vicinity) and not the dome light location?
Thanks ahead of time.
T.
T33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 10:13 PM   #4
TheShadowWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11654
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: DE, Happy Valley
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sedan
WR Blue

Default

The last link shows you how to wire it all up.

Mike
TheShadowWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 10:18 PM   #5
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 RAV4 MT
15 WRX/11 CRZ

Default

There is a yellow/red wire that is accessible at the front of the underdash fuse box. This is a good source of accessory power to use, it is the circuit that powers the compass/mirror. The small power adapter for the V1 can attach to the fuse box right next to it.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 10:23 PM   #6
T33
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 30050
Join Date: Nov 2002
Vehicle:
2009 STI

Default

Mulder,
Is the wire yellow or red? Is it plainly visible when you open up the "ashtray" accessing the fuse panel- and where would it be - left/right of fuse panel? Sorry if this is confusing, as I'm just trying to wire this puppy up correctly and find the wire you guys are talking about.
Thanx
T33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 10:35 PM   #7
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 RAV4 MT
15 WRX/11 CRZ

Default

It's yellow and red. IIRC it's yellow with a red stripe. You might be able to see it just by opening the door to the fuse box but to do the wiring you'll have to remove the underdash panel. Once you do you'll see there are a couple of connectors at the front of the fuse box, above where the fuses are, and the wire you want is going into one of those connectors. For the negative wire on the power adapter you can attach the terminal underneath one of the bolts that hold the metal frame for the fuse box in place.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2003, 10:38 PM   #8
T33
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 30050
Join Date: Nov 2002
Vehicle:
2009 STI

Default

Thanks - I'll go check now
thanks!!!!!!!
T33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2003, 12:24 AM   #9
chill105
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 19485
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Vehicle:
2002 Outback Sport
Midnight Black Pearl

Default DRL's

I disconnected my Daytime Running Lights a while back, so I just hooked into that. One of the wires from that harness is hot whenever the car is on, regardless of headlight switch position. It's a pain to get to- you have to remove the glove box area. I forget which wire it is on the little harness. I just used a multimeter to figure it out, and tapped it with a vampire clip. If you search, you can find pictures of the harness and it's location.

It worked out as a really good spot to wire it...there's a couple nice grounding points around there, and all the wiring stays hidden behind the glove box area. I have my V1 up above my rear view mirror, and the remote display right in my dash (speed/odometer area).

Here's some pics of my remote display...





Sorry, but I don't have a picture of the wiring.
chill105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2003, 12:52 AM   #10
mikkyo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25399
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Silly Valley, CA
Vehicle:
2003 Impreza WRX
Black

Default

I used that wire behind the fuse block as well.
I don't have pictures of that either.
I have some of the install though.

http://homepage.mac.com/mikky0/Radar...rHardwire.html
mikkyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
looking for Switched power source in engine bay location please AbACUZ Electrical & Lighting 14 11-05-2009 02:34 AM
Help - V1 hardwire no OEM parts. will667 Car Audio, Video & Security 8 01-15-2007 04:21 AM
Does anyone have a DIY for a V1 hardwire into a 99 Legacy GT? bee0818 Legacy Forum 6 10-30-2004 04:40 AM
V1 Hardwire Aquavir Electrical & Lighting 4 06-10-2003 07:27 AM
V1 hardwire install w/ picts 02_Forester Forester Forum 5 03-14-2002 08:10 AM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.