Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday December 13, 2019
Home Forums Images WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Reviews > Vendor Reviews

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2019, 12:32 AM   #1
Face_Plant
Scooby Newbie
Member Sales Rating: (0)
 
Member#: 506329
Join Date: Sep 2019
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: MD
Vehicle:
2015 Subaru WRX
World Rally Blue

Default Very Disappointed in IAG...

Last week I dropped off my 2015 WRX at IAG Performance to have the intake ports walnut blasted. At first everything seemed fine, but about two days later there was a strong odor of gasoline coming from the front left of the car after parking at the gym. The fuel lines weren't leaking and when I walked up to the car after my workout the smell was gone, so I wrote it off as one of the cars parked next to me earlier. On my drive home the check engine light came on and I had two codes:
P0441 - EVAP incorrect purge flow
P0455 - EVAP leak detected (large leak)

These showed up after stopping to get gas during the drive home, so I suspected that maybe I hadn't tightened the gas cap all the way. I cleared the codes, double checked the gas cap, and the car was fine. Two days later the same codes popped up again, so I sent IAG an email asking if they offered any form of warranty on their work and informed them of the EVAP codes I was getting. They offered to take a look ASAP, so I planned to stop by the next day. After sending this email I went out to the garage into install my Crawford AOS that had just arrived. This is where things went downhill...

When I went to remove the passenger side radiator fan to access the turbo inlet I found that the electrical connector for the fan was not plugged in and there was a greasy rag stuffed under the turbo. While installing the extended gas tank vent hose provided by Crawford I found that the hose under the intake manifold that goes to the EVAP purge solenoid was not attached to the double L thingy (don't know its proper name). This was obviously the cause of my EVAP codes and the gas I smelled at the gym a few days prior. My final discovery was the coolant level was about half an inch below the "low" line on the overflow tank (it was originally about halfway between the full/low lines).

Luckily the rag didn't catch on fire from being stuffed up against the hot turbo. If it had, things could've been pretty ugly with the open vent to the gas tank. I'm also lucky the car didn't overheat from the unplugged radiator fan. I'm very glad I discovered these things before it was too late...

I realize that removing the intake manifold is a big job with a **** ton of hoses and electrical connectors that are hard to keep track of (I've done it twice myself), but this is not what I would have expected from a very highly rated shop that supposedly specializes in Subarus. I sent them another email informing them of my findings and haven't received a response. I'm not expecting a refund or free IAG gear, but I think a simple apology is justified. These "surprises" that IAG left me are why I insist on doing any work that I can myself...
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by Face_Plant; 10-30-2019 at 12:42 AM.
Face_Plant is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 10-30-2019, 02:33 PM   #2
Drac9
Scooby Specialist
Member Sales Rating: (8)
 
Member#: 9861
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Vehicle:
1999 2.35 RS-T w/NOS
Hybrid Rally Blue Pearl

Default

Hello,

I'm the Sales and Service manager for IAG. Thanks for bringing this to our attention. I apologize for the negative experience. I'll be giving you a call in a few minutes to help address your concerns. You are right to be concerned with the level of service provided, and I will be addressing these concerns with the technician. I would like to get the car back in ASAP to recheck the work and make sure that you receive the quality of work you paid for. Please let me know if you have any more questions in the meantime.

Adam Kennedy
410-840-3555
Drac9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2019, 11:38 AM   #3
BlueSTI4Me
Scooby Specialist
Member Sales Rating: (8)
 
Member#: 34361
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: MI
Vehicle:
04.7 STI
WRB IG @got2boostit2

Default

I would have digitally documented what I found and notified IAG prior to a public posting, but that is me. Things happen and the response I see above from IAG is they are interested in satisfying you and making corrections by provided direct feedback to the technician.
BlueSTI4Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2019, 08:03 PM   #4
Face_Plant
Scooby Newbie
Member Sales Rating: (0)
 
Member#: 506329
Join Date: Sep 2019
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: MD
Vehicle:
2015 Subaru WRX
World Rally Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueSTI4Me View Post
I would have digitally documented what I found and notified IAG prior to a public posting, but that is me. Things happen and the response I see above from IAG is they are interested in satisfying you and making corrections by provided direct feedback to the technician.
I did take photos of the disconnected EVAP hose and rag. Unfortunately I did not get photos of the unplugged fan or low coolant level. As stated in my review, I emailed IAG prior to posting this and included the pictures I did take in my email. I have always received a response within 24 hours or less. This time around I did not receive a response until after posting this review. I realize **** happens and I probably could have waited a little longer before posting my review, but the rag stuffed up against the turbo very disconcerting, especially with the disconnected gas tank breather hose.

To update the situation, IAG called me yesterday afternoon to apologize and offered to look over the car. I do appreciate their apology and willingness to make things right. I'm confident that I've already found and corrected everything that was wrong, but will be taking them up on their offer anyways and plan to stop by when I'm back in town the week after next.
Face_Plant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2019, 08:08 PM   #5
BlueSTI4Me
Scooby Specialist
Member Sales Rating: (8)
 
Member#: 34361
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: MI
Vehicle:
04.7 STI
WRB IG @got2boostit2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Face_Plant View Post
I did take photos of the disconnected EVAP hose and rag. Unfortunately I did not get photos of the unplugged fan or low coolant level. As stated in my review, I emailed IAG prior to posting this and included the pictures I did take in my email. I have always received a response within 24 hours or less. This time around I did not receive a response until after posting this review. I realize **** happens and I probably could have waited a little longer before posting my review, but the rag stuffed up against the turbo very disconcerting, especially with the disconnected gas tank breather hose.

To update the situation, IAG called me yesterday afternoon to apologize and offered to look over the car. I do appreciate their apology and willingness to make things right. I'm confident that I've already found and corrected everything that was wrong, but will be taking them up on their offer anyways and plan to stop by when I'm back in town the week after next.
Good deal and I may have glanced over portions of your original post.
BlueSTI4Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2019, 08:47 PM   #6
2slofouru
NASIOC Supporter
Member Sales Rating: (17)
 
Member#: 90539
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Lake Charles
Vehicle:
My BOV goes
COVFEFE!

Default

Woah, glad they got back to you. I'd lose my **** if there were that many errors, especially considering the shop. Would never think it could leave IAG in that condition. I know people who do that kind of work and wouldn't trust them with my mower.
2slofouru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2019, 01:35 PM   #7
Jedi03
Scooby Newbie
Member Sales Rating: (0)
 
Member#: 491095
Join Date: Sep 2018
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: New Mexico
Vehicle:
2009 STi Blue
Blue

Default

I am also one to say things do happen, but when several things happen there is definitely a good time to have a good discussion with the technician...I do remember a customer of mine with whom I replaced both front axles and lower control arms (2001 Sentra) so removed knuckles, control arms etc an installed new parts then reinstalled and torqued all items down...customer got car aligned elsewhere and ~2 months later came back saying had weird noise...I drove it down the block, nothing weird, checked lug nuts, all loose, tiorqued them...took the car to work had weird suspension activity in corners. took it home, found everything that was possible to be loose was loose and passenger wheel bearing separating...I corrected and torqued down all items again and went to the shop where it was aligned and inquired what happened...response was we don't touch any of those components while doing alignment...discussed with individual how needs to be verified before performing alignment or risk incorrect procedure. he stuck by his statement that nothing else was touched...needless to say that shop will not receive business from me, and I could see myself missing one maybe two things but similarly not that many...that's straight oversight on some level if not negligence...but iag has always been good...haven't been able to get ahold of them after their posted hours but that's my fault not theirs lol!

Last edited by Jedi03; 11-01-2019 at 01:37 PM. Reason: correction to statement
Jedi03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2019 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.