Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday December 3, 2021
Home Forums Images WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2014, 09:40 PM   #1
ebwrx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 394505
Join Date: Jun 2014
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Premium
Dark Metallic Gray

Question Adding Alpine KTU-445U to base Clarion on 2015 WRX

Can anyone advise are there any quirks, special adapters needed, serious obstacles etc.
involved in installing http://www.amazon.com/Alpine-KTP-445U-4-channel-Power-Amplifier/dp/B003VVYL46 as a power pack for base Clarion HU on WRX 2015?

I certainly do not want to run the separate wire off the battery.

P.S. I am explicitly asking about this option, not an advice to get different HU, amp, etc. I researched all the other options, and now I am focusing on this one.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
ebwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 07-18-2014, 11:04 PM   #2
2015WRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 389290
Join Date: Apr 2014
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Lake in the hills, IL
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STi
Black

Default Alpine 445u with stock HU

I have one on order now thru amazon. I installed 4 alpine 610 speakers with the base head unit and it sounds real bad. No bass due to low output from the head unit. I'm hoping this alpine 445u can help the sound out a bit. I assume I'm going to have to cut some wires and just splice were needed in order to make this work unless there is a plug and play adapter that can save me some time and hassle. The reviews on this sound really good!! I'm looking forward to hearing what feedback you get on this one.
2015WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 01:21 PM   #3
lmtlss
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 384164
Join Date: Mar 2014
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Vehicle:
2014 WRX
WRB

Default

Check http://ae64.com and perhaps contact him about the 2015, but I ordered a breakout harness from him which allowed me to plug-n-play an Alpine power pack in my 2014. I wanted to retain factory revert-ability so no cutting, splicing, etc into factory parts.

With the addition of sound deadening and speakers, I'm very very happy with this setup. Here's a pic of the cable made for plug-n-play action.

lmtlss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 01:28 PM   #4
millertime359
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 393302
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Holland, MI
Vehicle:
2014 Impreza Sport

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2015WRX View Post
I have one on order now thru amazon. I installed 4 alpine 610 speakers with the base head unit and it sounds real bad. No bass due to low output from the head unit. I'm hoping this alpine 445u can help the sound out a bit. I assume I'm going to have to cut some wires and just splice were needed in order to make this work unless there is a plug and play adapter that can save me some time and hassle. The reviews on this sound really good!! I'm looking forward to hearing what feedback you get on this one.
If your desire is bass, then adding an amp to your door speakers is not going to solve that issue. You need to get a sub. Door speakers are not designed to deliver bass.

There are a couple of options for a sub, and an underseat sub may be a good option for you.
millertime359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 01:48 PM   #5
Cefaln452
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 255736
Join Date: Aug 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cincinnati
Vehicle:
2004 STi
JavaBlackPearl

Default

Not quite sure why you are using RCA's as they are designed for low-level... when the stock radio is making high-level out. You should of went with high-level speaker in and out with high-level as well.... The only time you should be using the low-level would be if the radio had RCA outputs on it, which in your case does not. I understand it will work this way though. Just make sure you flip the switch on the KTP to HIGHLEVEL

Also I have a KTP-455U for sale, and extra one I ordered for my car I sold. BNIB let me know if anyone wants it... makes a HUGE upgrade from radio power.
Cefaln452 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 02:38 PM   #6
ebwrx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 394505
Join Date: Jun 2014
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Premium
Dark Metallic Gray

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lmtlss View Post
Check http://ae64.com and perhaps contact him about the 2015, but I ordered a breakout harness from him which allowed me to plug-n-play an Alpine power pack in my 2014. I wanted to retain factory revert-ability so no cutting, splicing, etc into factory parts.
Excellent. Did you need any extra other parts/wires in addition to the breakout?

Where did you fit the unit?

Thanks a lot.
ebwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 03:40 PM   #7
lmtlss
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 384164
Join Date: Mar 2014
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Vehicle:
2014 WRX
WRB

Default

You don't necessarily need anything other than the breakout harness and whats provided with the Alpine KTP. I wanted to keep the RCA connections intact on the Alpine incase I wanted to sell it in the future, so I soldered some RCA adapters to the breakout harness. I was able to fit the unit under the head unit above the lower pocket. I'm not sure what a 2015 will have for space behind the dash though.
lmtlss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2015, 08:55 PM   #8
saiyen
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 432791
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
Crystal White Pearl

Default

bump, did you get this done? I going to do this same setup to my '15 wrx. Where did you find space to put the power pack? And how was it installed? screws? velcro? double sided tape?
saiyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2015, 01:07 AM   #9
corlon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 352266
Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

theres room in the dash behind the factory radio to put the power pak. you can double stick it somewhere or tie strap it. Velcro too.
corlon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2015, 02:45 PM   #10
Nemx735
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 293636
Join Date: Sep 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Vernon CT
Vehicle:
2016 STI
WRB

Default

Just wanted to +1 to adding this amp on the stock head unit. i put one in my 16 sti with the 6.2" starlink and now my stereo is no longer horrible. sounds like the way it should have come from subaru. next thing is adding a small sub.
Nemx735 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2015, 03:21 PM   #11
dsn112
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 332561
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Southern NJ/Philly
Vehicle:
2015 GTI Autobahn
White

Default

mine is under my seat, but there are a ton of spots under the dash along the route to the glove box for it.
dsn112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2015, 09:23 AM   #12
rixcross
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 424260
Join Date: Jun 2015
Default

I put mine on top of the glove box. If you cut the breakout harness in the right spots, you can leave the maximum distance to put this up to a foot away from the radio. I've got the 2015 base Starlink radio which didn't allow much room behind the radio.
rixcross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2015, 12:49 PM   #13
mcc3
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 436239
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2016 WRX Limited CVT
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nemx735 View Post
Just wanted to +1 to adding this amp on the stock head unit. i put one in my 16 sti with the 6.2" starlink and now my stereo is no longer horrible. sounds like the way it should have come from subaru. next thing is adding a small sub.

Was the install difficult? I have a 2016 with the 6.2" starlink. Also have the kicker speaker package. It sounds decent but it's pretty obvious that the head unit lacks the power for the speakers.
mcc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2015, 01:51 PM   #14
16Rex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 435405
Join Date: Dec 2015
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Pasadena, CA
Vehicle:
2016 WRX Limited
WRB

Default

I ordered the Clarion XC2510. Basically the same as the Alpine with a 5th channel for the sub. I have already received the breakout harness and ran the sub wires to the trunk when I replaced my shifter cover with the JDM cover. It seems as though it will be a fairly easy install (once it gets here.) Not sure if I will have to run a separate power wire to the battery or not (advise or input on how I will know if this is necessary is welcome.)
Getting to the back of the HU seems the toughest part but, there are some good write-ups here on how that is done.
16Rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2015, 04:14 PM   #15
dsn112
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 332561
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Southern NJ/Philly
Vehicle:
2015 GTI Autobahn
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcc3 View Post
Was the install difficult? I have a 2016 with the 6.2" starlink. Also have the kicker speaker package. It sounds decent but it's pretty obvious that the head unit lacks the power for the speakers.
Difficulty is purely based on your level of experience. I have done a few hundred stereo upgrades as an installer in college so for me it was simple. If you never have done it, it can be hard? I always tell people to draw a diagram ahead of the install with everything you want to do and how you plan on doing it. Planning is key for a smooth install.
dsn112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2015, 09:01 PM   #16
mcc3
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 436239
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2016 WRX Limited CVT
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsn112 View Post
Difficulty is purely based on your level of experience. I have done a few hundred stereo upgrades as an installer in college so for me it was simple. If you never have done it, it can be hard? I always tell people to draw a diagram ahead of the install with everything you want to do and how you plan on doing it. Planning is key for a smooth install.
Did you get the breakout harness from ae64? Where did you end up mounting the alpine? Just want to get some ideas on how I will do this install. I may also end up just taking it to a car audio place and have them install it as well.
mcc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 09:11 AM   #17
rixcross
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 424260
Join Date: Jun 2015
Default

If you have a plastic pulling kit (Don't use screwdrivers on dash parts!) and a small socket set with an extension, you should be good. I think wally world even sells the dash pull kit but I got mine at Harbor Freight for $7. There's a thread on here about updating the 2015/16 head unit that shows where the screws are that hold this style radio in.
http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=2731582
I used electrical tape on the socket end to hold those screws from the lower part of the radio dropping into the abyss behind it. I also have one of those head band lights that keeps my hands free while contorted on the car floor upside down pulling the a/c cables off. I've pulled my dash apart 3 times now. First for adding this amp, second for changing from the '15 Crosstrek 6.2 radio to the '16 WRX 6.2 radio, and third to add an aftermarket XM antenna to the WRK radio.
rixcross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 11:38 AM   #18
dsn112
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 332561
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Southern NJ/Philly
Vehicle:
2015 GTI Autobahn
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcc3 View Post
Did you get the breakout harness from ae64? Where did you end up mounting the alpine? Just want to get some ideas on how I will do this install. I may also end up just taking it to a car audio place and have them install it as well.
I did use the breakout harness from AE64 purely to save myself time. Its inexpensive, and works, and lets me sit at my counter and do all the wiring. I mounted the alpine under the passenger seat. I like to be able to access it easily incase I want to change the crossover or gains. anywhere behind the dash you can ziptie it to will work.
dsn112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 06:22 PM   #19
mcc3
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 436239
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2016 WRX Limited CVT
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsn112 View Post
I did use the breakout harness from AE64 purely to save myself time. Its inexpensive, and works, and lets me sit at my counter and do all the wiring. I mounted the alpine under the passenger seat. I like to be able to access it easily incase I want to change the crossover or gains. anywhere behind the dash you can ziptie it to will work.
Thanks for the advice. I'll reach out to ae64 about the harness. I've done plenty of installs on cars before, ranging from brake pads, rotors, exhaust, short shifters, etc. But where I don't have much experience on is car audio. Hopefully I don't screw it up lol
mcc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2016, 11:03 AM   #20
16Rex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 435405
Join Date: Dec 2015
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Pasadena, CA
Vehicle:
2016 WRX Limited
WRB

Default

Does anyone know how to determine when you need a separate power supply from the battery? This Alpine seems to not need it but, the OEM Audio+ amp does need it.
Is it a power draw issue? Amp operating range? Wire length from the source?
When I look at specs and instructions, many say "this unit may need a......." but it
never says how to determine.
16Rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2016, 03:35 PM   #21
mitch808
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10228
Join Date: Sep 2001
Vehicle:
2002 Subaru WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 16Rex View Post
Does anyone know how to determine when you need a separate power supply from the battery? This Alpine seems to not need it but, the OEM Audio+ amp does need it.
Is it a power draw issue? Amp operating range? Wire length from the source?
When I look at specs and instructions, many say "this unit may need a......." but it
never says how to determine.
Current draw issue. Sometimes it's just a blanket statement to prevent any issues, or sometimes it's that with a mix of not wanting to be liable.

It's not hard to run even a 10ga wire which would be sufficient for something like the Alpine, or 8ga for other higher current drawing devices.

Think of perhaps an older car, like some circa 80's or 90's civic with a crap electrical system. Running a power wire would be required. Where as with today's cars and all the gizmo's in a car, often you can use an existing wire.
mitch808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2016, 10:00 PM   #22
16Rex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 435405
Join Date: Dec 2015
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Pasadena, CA
Vehicle:
2016 WRX Limited
WRB

Default

Thanks mitch, I ended up running an 8ga power line from the battery. It's actually not hard at all since I found the correct way to get it in the cabin.
Unfortunately my Clarion amp is larger than expected and I will have to mount it under the seat (not sure how big that Alpine unit is but, there ain't much room anywhere up front.)
I'll be building two 8 wire harnesses now......oh well.
16Rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2016, 12:48 AM   #23
Spider96
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156059
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
Crystal White Pearl

Default

Any specifics that anyone can provide as to which harnesses were used, wiring diagrams, etc. would be really beneficial to this thread!
Spider96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2016, 12:08 PM   #24
16Rex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 435405
Join Date: Dec 2015
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Pasadena, CA
Vehicle:
2016 WRX Limited
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lmtlss View Post
Check http://ae64.com and perhaps contact him about the 2015, but I ordered a breakout harness from him which allowed me to plug-n-play an Alpine power pack in my 2014. I wanted to retain factory revert-ability so no cutting, splicing, etc into factory parts.
.............
16Rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2016, 12:14 PM   #25
Jawsofire
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 384316
Join Date: Mar 2014
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Premium
Galaxy Blue Pearl

Default

I used a breakout harness. Wiring is pretty simple. Just match the colors on the amp harness with the breakout harness. It wires coming out of the harness goes on the RCA side. The blue wire on RCA side of the amp goes to the red on the breakout. Color match the other side. Leave the blue wire on that side of amp alone.

On the side note. Installed mine over the weekend along with Polk Audio DXi coaxial speakers all around. Still need to decide what tweeters to get. Anyone else getting a buzzing noise? It doesn't increase with volume. Increases and decreases when I change the gain. Could it be a bad amp, wiring, or noise from the stock head unit.
Jawsofire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.