Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday April 15, 2024
Home Forums Images WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Interior & Exterior Modification

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2005, 10:09 PM   #1
Alan l.
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90085
Join Date: Jun 2005
Vehicle:
2009

Question Does the red STi gauge cluster fit in a WRX wagon?

Sorry for the newbie questions but had no luck using the search feature.

I have a brand new 05 Saabaru 9-2x and the gauge cluster looks pretty wack. Green?

What exactly is involved if i wanted to swap in a STi cluster that lights up red? Bolts right on? Trip to the dealer needed to match the odometer reading? Is there any other option to change out the nasty green color on the cluster?

Thanks!

Alan
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Alan l. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 07-06-2005, 10:31 PM   #2
kcook
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 78074
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NoVA
Vehicle:
2005 STi
Aspen White

Default

uhh mines green too buddy.. u dont see my crying, why would u buy an sti cluster for a saab? why
kcook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 10:44 PM   #3
Xymox
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 410
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere in PA
Default

Xymox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 10:53 PM   #4
Alan l.
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90085
Join Date: Jun 2005
Vehicle:
2009

Default

Well when your coming from a car that actually has nice interior lumination, the saab's green is pretty fugly. Looks like something from the 80's.

Thanks for the link on changing the lights. I might go that route if the STi cluster isn't plug and play.
Alan l. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 11:20 PM   #5
Call_me_Tom
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 60972
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Default

It should work but you'll need to go to a specialty shop to get the mileage changed. I think that the only thing that won't work is the outside temp gauge but I could be wrong. You'll need to do a search on the shop to go to, to turn back the mileage as I no longer remember but I did read it on this forum.
Call_me_Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2005, 12:03 AM   #6
waktasz
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 86356
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
2018 Aprilia
Tuono v4 1100

Default

scoobymods + red bulb covers + couple hours of time = red Saab cluster.
waktasz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2005, 12:06 AM   #7
Call_me_Tom
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 60972
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Default

<---- feels it's pointless to spend money on items that don't make your car perform any better then it already does.
Call_me_Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2005, 12:08 AM   #8
Xymox
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 410
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere in PA
Default

Who cares what you think? This guy had a question. Answer it or click the back button. God this site is worse than Honda-Tech.
Xymox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2005, 12:20 AM   #9
Call_me_Tom
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 60972
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xymox
Who cares what you think? This guy had a question. Answer it or click the back button. God this site is worse than Honda-Tech.
I did answer it dumb ass...read the whole thread...here is a clue look at and READ post #5!
Call_me_Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2005, 02:01 AM   #10
Moods
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 71961
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Marietta, GA
Vehicle:
2015 WRX STI
MBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyK1371
I did answer it dumb ass...read the whole thread...here is a clue look at and READ post #5!
So then why didn't you just edit your post and put in your added comment there? I mean, you gave a good post, then you followed it with a seemingly worthless addition.

Is it expensive to get the odometer changed to a different mileage if you were to buy the new one? I guess i didn't realize they could do it... the last post i had read about it you had to get a peice of paper or sticker or something like that that told the 'real' mileage.
Moods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2005, 08:05 AM   #11
BryanH
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 993
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: nova
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moods
Is it expensive to get the odometer changed to a different mileage if you were to buy the new one? I guess i didn't realize they could do it... the last post i had read about it you had to get a peice of paper or sticker or something like that that told the 'real' mileage.
Dunno if its expensive but its a pain in the butt as many shops wont touch it. Getting bulb covers would be a better way to go and likely much cheaper.
BryanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2005, 10:15 AM   #12
Call_me_Tom
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 60972
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moods
So then why didn't you just edit your post and put in your added comment there? I mean, you gave a good post, then you followed it with a seemingly worthless addition.

Is it expensive to get the odometer changed to a different mileage if you were to buy the new one? I guess i didn't realize they could do it... the last post i had read about it you had to get a peice of paper or sticker or something like that that told the 'real' mileage.
Why should I edit my post to conform to someones feelings? Besides Xymox is a nerd.

Yes you'll need a paper to verify the real mileage on your car before anyone will dial back the mileage for you. You should be able to get the paper from the DMV. But like I said before you'll need to do a search as to the company who can dial the mileage back for you. IIRC it was around $100 but I can't be sure.
Call_me_Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2005, 09:48 AM   #13
Alan l.
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90085
Join Date: Jun 2005
Vehicle:
2009

Default

So lets say i buy a brand new Sti cluster, it would be plug and play right in to a wagon with only the odometer now indication "0" ? What about if the wagon is an auto?
Alan l. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2005, 10:15 AM   #14
Call_me_Tom
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 60972
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan l.
So lets say i buy a brand new Sti cluster, it would be plug and play right in to a wagon with only the odometer now indication "0" ? What about if the wagon is an auto?
No the odo will read the miles of the car that the cluster came off of. If the STI that the cluster came off of had 35k miles and your car only has 15k miles when you do the switch your car will now read 35k miles on the odo.
Call_me_Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2005, 10:41 AM   #15
Alan l.
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90085
Join Date: Jun 2005
Vehicle:
2009

Default

Thanks for the info

Besides the odometer being off, is there anything else to doing this swap on a 2005 auto wrx wagon (saab92x)? I would assume the shift indicator thats normally on an auto cluster wouldn't exist but that doesn't matter to me.
Alan l. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2005, 11:02 AM   #16
smdandb2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 70656
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Trampoline Land
Vehicle:
Old Mazda3 Hatch
Shelby Lancer #623

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyK1371
No the odo will read the miles of the car that the cluster came off of. If the STI that the cluster came off of had 35k miles and your car only has 15k miles when you do the switch your car will now read 35k miles on the odo.
He asked if the mileage would read 0 (zero) if he bought a brand new cluster.

Answer is YES it would.

It will work on an auto, and there have been rumors that the DCCD lights will become your new shift indicator. No facts though...

Before you go off and buy a cluster though, I would recommend you pull yours out and take some pictures of the plugs on the back. It looks like the STi cluster has changed the plugs for the late 05 model year, so you might want someone on here to take a look at your stock cluster and see what plugs it has.
smdandb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2005, 11:09 AM   #17
Alan l.
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90085
Join Date: Jun 2005
Vehicle:
2009

Default

awesome. Thanks guys
Alan l. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2005, 12:57 PM   #18
Call_me_Tom
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 60972
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smdandb2
He asked if the mileage would read 0 (zero) if he bought a brand new cluster.

Answer is YES it would.

It will work on an auto, and there have been rumors that the DCCD lights will become your new shift indicator. No facts though...

Before you go off and buy a cluster though, I would recommend you pull yours out and take some pictures of the plugs on the back. It looks like the STi cluster has changed the plugs for the late 05 model year, so you might want someone on here to take a look at your stock cluster and see what plugs it has.
Maybe if it was brand spanken new from Subaru but I've yet to see a write up on a brand new one because they are so expensive.

If he went with a used one then you would be wrong. The used cluster would keep the milage from the old car on the odo.
Call_me_Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2005, 05:57 PM   #19
smdandb2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 70656
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Trampoline Land
Vehicle:
Old Mazda3 Hatch
Shelby Lancer #623

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyK1371
Maybe if it was brand spanken new from Subaru but I've yet to see a write up on a brand new one because they are so expensive.

If he went with a used one then you would be wrong. The used cluster would keep the milage from the old car on the odo.
No ****, but that is not what he asked. He was very specific in asking about a brand new cluster. You can buy a new cluster with zero miles for around $500. I bought a used one for $350.

I wish Subaru would store the mileage information in the ecu though.
smdandb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2005, 06:18 PM   #20
Moods
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 71961
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Marietta, GA
Vehicle:
2015 WRX STI
MBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyK1371
Why should I edit my post to conform to someones feelings? Besides Xymox is a nerd.
I just meant edit post #5 to include your helpful information... and then also include the statement about thinking it worthless to add something that doesn't help performance in that same post...

so then people can't jump to conclusions about you not helping out
Moods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2005, 06:25 PM   #21
Call_me_Tom
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 60972
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smdandb2
No ****, but that is not what he asked. He was very specific in asking about a brand new cluster. You can buy a new cluster with zero miles for around $500. I bought a used one for $350.

I wish Subaru would store the mileage information in the ecu though.
No ass...he asked about putting a STI cluster in his brand new 9-2x. Get it right before you start running your mouth.
Call_me_Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2005, 06:26 PM   #22
Call_me_Tom
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 60972
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moods
I just meant edit post #5 to include your helpful information... and then also include the statement about thinking it worthless to add something that doesn't help performance in that same post...

so then people can't jump to conclusions about you not helping out
I'll do that next time
Call_me_Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2005, 11:41 PM   #23
smdandb2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 70656
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Trampoline Land
Vehicle:
Old Mazda3 Hatch
Shelby Lancer #623

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyK1371
No ass...he asked about putting a STI cluster in his brand new 9-2x. Get it right before you start running your mouth.
Holy hell. You need to step the eff back and read what he wrote, and what you quoted...

Here, I will help you.


At the top, you can see where he asked "what if I buy a brand NEW cluster?"

You eff'ing quoted him and said NO. Either you don't know what you are talking about, or... reading comprehension > you!

You are supplying this gentleman with incorrectly placed information. You are right, if he bought a used one the mileage would reflect the car it came out of, but that was not his question numbnuts.

<----- Has an STi cluster in the grocery getter.
smdandb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2005, 10:18 AM   #24
Call_me_Tom
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 60972
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smdandb2
Holy hell. You need to step the eff back and read what he wrote, and what you quoted...

Here, I will help you.


At the top, you can see where he asked "what if I buy a brand NEW cluster?"

You eff'ing quoted him and said NO. Either you don't know what you are talking about, or... reading comprehension > you!

You are supplying this gentleman with incorrectly placed information. You are right, if he bought a used one the mileage would reflect the car it came out of, but that was not his question numbnuts.

<----- Has an STi cluster in the grocery getter.
Ha...LOL...Ok ass...you got me I must of glazed over that post only remembering his first post. I got owned on this thread but I'll get you on the next one.

Later
Call_me_Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will an 06 sti gauge cluster fit in a 04 wrx? subiewrx001 Electrical & Lighting 3 11-09-2008 08:03 PM
will an 06 STI gauge cluster fit in a 04 wrx? subiewrx001 Interior & Exterior Modification 1 11-09-2008 03:46 PM
which sti gauge cluster fits in an 05 wrx MIKENICE456 Interior & Exterior Modification 7 01-03-2006 08:45 PM
will 04/05 sti gauge cluster work in 03 wrx soobieajax325 Interior & Exterior Modification 8 10-19-2005 05:50 AM
would an STI guage cluster fit an 02 WRX wagon? 95 avus blue Electrical & Lighting 11 10-04-2005 12:02 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2024 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission
Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.