Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday February 19, 2019
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2018, 09:51 AM   #76
adesso
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59892
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Summerville, SC
Vehicle:
2004 TP Tuned
GT30R .82 JBP STi

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GK1707 View Post
Can anyone confirm for 04 STi that the white wire in the o2 harness is the one to tap also?
Its the same wire as in the original post. I just did this with my 04 STi a couple of weeks ago.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
adesso is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 12-11-2018, 10:21 AM   #77
GK1707
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 373868
Join Date: Nov 2013
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Queens, NY
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adesso View Post
Its the same wire as in the original post. I just did this with my 04 STi a couple of weeks ago.
Thanks man, doing mine soon!
GK1707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 04:10 PM   #78
ericsson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 208672
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, TX
Vehicle:
2013 WRX STI Limited
Obsidian Black

Default

I've had this done to my car and it's very convenient for AP to log from wideband, BUT now this sets my O2 sensor in "not ready" state and makes the emission state inspection fail.. Anyone else run into this?
ericsson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2019, 05:12 PM   #79
TheTooTall
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 496518
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Omaha, NE
Vehicle:
2014 STI Hatch

Default Im late to the party

Quote:
Originally Posted by chchchino View Post
worth it to note this will only work with a protuner. Im pretty sure ATR does not have custom sensor logging enabled.
So I know I'm late to this party but can anyone confirm that you have to have protuner in order to log custom sensors?

Last edited by TheTooTall; 01-15-2019 at 05:18 PM.
TheTooTall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 12:12 AM   #80
slow.wagon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 484841
Join Date: Apr 2018
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Maryland
Vehicle:
2008 WRX STI
Lightning Red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTooTall View Post
So I know I'm late to this party but can anyone confirm that you have to have protuner in order to log custom sensors?
No, you only need the updated version of ATR. I don't remember the exact version, I think it was introduced after they started forcing people to take the class. I don't run the new version of ATR so I just tap into the TGV harness and do the conversion in excel, works perfectly fine and will work with all versions of ATR.
slow.wagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 12:40 PM   #81
JSR84
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 469585
Join Date: Jun 2017
Default

I could be misunderstanding what you're saying so forgive me but... If you want to log/view custom sensor inputs you need to supply ATR with the voltage over data point information for that particular sensor so it can be converted into usable information. For that, you would need access to ATR or a Pro Tuner to do so.
JSR84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 11:14 PM   #82
slow.wagon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 484841
Join Date: Apr 2018
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Maryland
Vehicle:
2008 WRX STI
Lightning Red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSR84 View Post
I could be misunderstanding what you're saying so forgive me but... If you want to log/view custom sensor inputs you need to supply ATR with the voltage over data point information for that particular sensor so it can be converted into usable information. For that, you would need access to ATR or a Pro Tuner to do so.
No need for an apology. I probably didn't read something and responded to hastily. To "log" AFR there are a few options and scenarios.

1. Get the latest version of ATR, wire up the AFR serial output with a DB9 and the appropriate USB converter if you don't have a serial port on your PC. To log with this method, you will both the AccessPort and the UEGO plugged into different USB ports simultaneously. This is the suboptimal option since it requires a lot of clumsy wiring, you will have sync issues with aligning the UEGO output with the AccessPort.


2. Use the latest version of ATR, wire up the AFR output to either the Rear O2 Sensor or TGV. The custom sensor option in ATR allows you to log this data natively and it is automatically converted and displayed in the right units. This is probably the most ideal path but it wont work for folks that run an ATR version that was released before 2016.

3. The last and most universal option (for folks with deleted TGVs). Wire the UEGO into the TGV (its just one wire). Log like usual but include the appropriate TGV voltage (left or right). When you log like this, all you need to do is convert the AEM voltage to AFR using a simple linear equation. I believe it amounts to: 2 x TGV Volts + 10. I arrived at this using AEM's scaling data provided in their documentation. I haven't had a problem with this approach.

Option 3 doesn't require ATR directly. You can do the conversion in excel but if you plan to use the data to change the map, you'll obviously need ATR.

Last edited by slow.wagon; 01-26-2019 at 11:22 PM.
slow.wagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2019, 10:43 PM   #83
Jawhaun
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 497311
Join Date: Feb 2019
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericsson View Post
For anyone thinking about doing this setup.. I did this exact same setup on my '13 STI, and it works great for logging. HOWEVER, I just tried getting a state inspection done this past weekend and my car FAILED because the o2 sensor says is "not ready".

If you live in a state that requires emission testing, this will also happen to you.
Will this also work with the x series gauge?
Jawhaun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 10:32 AM   #84
GK1707
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 373868
Join Date: Nov 2013
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Queens, NY
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jawhaun View Post
Will this also work with the x series gauge?
I haven't done this yet, but wouldn't a tuner be able to block the o2 codes and force readiness?
GK1707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2019 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.