Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday December 8, 2019
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2019, 06:57 PM   #1
chiefhandker
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 462801
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: WI
Default Seicane Android Headunit in 2015 STI with Harmon Kardon

Here are some tips for installing a Seicane Head Unit in a 2015 STI with Harmon Kardon. My headunit was a FV629US. I chose the Seicane unit from this link. https://www.seicane.com/android-2014...-obdii-s169208

Overall not too bad, but after installing I didn't have any audio.

I found that you need to signal the Amp to turn on. To do this you use the blue auto-ant wire from the Seicane harness and tap into the pink wire in the Subaru 10-pin harness.

I also needed to make my own RCA to speaker wire cables to feed a low signal to the speakers.

The RCA side outer wires are the Negative, the inner wire is Positive. Make 100% certain there isnít even a hair of the outside shield that can make contact with the inner wire.

Make sure to solder all connections for reliability.

The kit didnít come with a microphone so I needed to order that separate.

Sound quality is MUCH improved, plus I can now run Waze on the big screen. Iím also hoping the phone call quality will be improved as my stock one was not great.

Pictures here.
https://imgur.com/a/98PfGaK
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
chiefhandker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 01-23-2019, 04:35 PM   #2
llujum
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 496853
Join Date: Jan 2019
Default Some questions

I am sorry to bother, but is there a way you could explain a little more in detail. If you don't mind... I got a few questions too
  1. First, did you use Harness 1 or Harness 2 per Seicane website?
  2. Did you buy a mic from Amazon?
  3. For the way, you explain it seems like you didn't use at all the RCA cable from Seicane. Is the cable not suit to even be modified? I only asked since I also got the Digital TV tuner
  4. Did you use any other forums or how to that helped you with this?
  5. Finally, the pink cable has a tap, where did you buy it?

Thanks!
llujum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2019, 01:41 AM   #3
Revivedsubset35
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 497302
Join Date: Feb 2019
Default Radio ID

So how can you tell if the radio I have is a Harmon Kardon System? I have a 17 WRX but it has no logos saying harmon kardon but it's the large touch screen, is this radio even compatible with mine, or do I still have to tap into everything else?

Last edited by Revivedsubset35; 02-08-2019 at 01:42 AM. Reason: Clairifying
Revivedsubset35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2019, 09:16 AM   #4
SirBrass
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 207263
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Indianapolis area
Vehicle:
2019 WRX Limited
World Rally Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revivedsubset35 View Post
So how can you tell if the radio I have is a Harmon Kardon System? I have a 17 WRX but it has no logos saying harmon kardon but it's the large touch screen, is this radio even compatible with mine, or do I still have to tap into everything else?
Then you don't have the Harmon Kardon system. Trust me, if you have it then you'd know.
SirBrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2019, 10:49 AM   #5
rixcross
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 424260
Join Date: Jun 2015
Default

Large speaker (sub) on rear shelf is easy way to tell, plus Harmon Kardon logo on lower front door speakers.
rixcross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 10:41 PM   #6
Waltm
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 387709
Join Date: Apr 2014
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
WRB

Default

Are you running Waze on the head unit or your phone? If on the HU, how are you getting data? I don't have a hotspot plan and was thinking about an android HU vs a standard HU with android auto.

I like using android auto on my wife's pioneer and my phone and know they have done some work on an android auto client for the android head units over at XDA but don't know how well that is working yet.
Waltm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2019, 04:08 PM   #7
zZHELIXZz
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 330871
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Paso Robles
Vehicle:
2016 Impreza
White

Default

We gotta bring this back! I need this information
zZHELIXZz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 06:46 PM   #8
LSJ
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 51064
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Central Jersey
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chiefhandker View Post
Here are some tips for installing a Seicane Head Unit in a 2015 STI with Harmon Kardon. My headunit was a FV629US. I chose the Seicane unit from this link. https://www.seicane.com/android-2014...-obdii-s169208

Overall not too bad, but after installing I didn't have any audio.

I found that you need to signal the Amp to turn on. To do this you use the blue auto-ant wire from the Seicane harness and tap into the pink wire in the Subaru 10-pin harness.

I also needed to make my own RCA to speaker wire cables to feed a low signal to the speakers.

The RCA side outer wires are the Negative, the inner wire is Positive. Make 100% certain there isnít even a hair of the outside shield that can make contact with the inner wire.

Make sure to solder all connections for reliability.

The kit didnít come with a microphone so I needed to order that separate.

Sound quality is MUCH improved, plus I can now run Waze on the big screen. Iím also hoping the phone call quality will be improved as my stock one was not great.

Pictures here.
https://imgur.com/a/98PfGaK



Thank you for this post. I'm in the market for an Android HU. I have a 2015 WRX limited with the FV629US HU and HK amp in the rear. You've made this install sound really easy; seen way too many youtubes and no one has answered or figured out this puzzle for HK owners. This also includes the thousands of FB pages available, no one seems to know how to do this install.



A few questions for you...


1) How are you liking the HU to this day? Any issues, likes, dislikes?

2) I'm looking at a few different Android HUs. Is it safe to say I can use the same wiring methods you used? They all look the same to me.

a) Seicane.
https://www.seicane.com/2014-2015-20...-tpms-dab-dvr- obdii-s169208
b) Dasaita
https://www.amazon.com/Dasaita-Andro...2s9dHJ1ZQ&th=1
c) Sygav
https://www.sygav.com/products/sygav...21717830041713

3) Do you use Andriod Auto or Apple CarPlay? Sygav has an option to use a "built-in" CarPlay function that supports iOS iPhones; basically wireless Carplay for iphones.

For an android, I would need this wire:
https://www.sygav.com/collections/pe...rts-ios-phones

4) In continuation from question 3, if you are using the dongle, did you have to pay extra to have it connect to the HU, or was the APK install of some software all you needed?



Thanks in advanced. Any information you can provide would be greatly appreciated.
LSJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 03:12 PM   #9
aSquard
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 387864
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: DF-Dub, Texas
Vehicle:
2015 DGM WRX Limited

Default

Following... as I am also looking to replace the HK unit in my 2015 at some point and like LSJ said, none of the YouTube videos seem to specify tips for replacement of the HK system.
aSquard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 03:57 PM   #10
LSJ
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 51064
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Central Jersey
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aSquard View Post
Following... as I am also looking to replace the HK unit in my 2015 at some point and like LSJ said, none of the YouTube videos seem to specify tips for replacement of the HK system.
I just pulled the trigger on Sygav's latest HU for my 2015 WRX with HK system. Sygav support believes it should work after doing tests that they've asked me to do. Their only concern was the backup camera, but since 2015 wrx uses MFD, there should be no issues there. They confirmed the HK amp trigger wire is in the correct spot on their harness to mate with the stock harness. They've included an adapter to retain the USB ports in the arm rest, so I'm happy about that as I'll be using it for Android Auto.

I'm waiting for the HU to come in. I'll do the install and report back the result. Their support team seems willing to help. The only problem I have is their hours are opposite of ours (China <----> USA). Wish me luck!

Lou
LSJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 04:43 AM   #11
nitefall
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 505892
Join Date: Sep 2019
Default

Just curious what anyone is doing for Sirius/xm? I just renewed my subscription for a year. Figure everyone is just using the app.
Wanted to also know if the only wire that had to be spliced in was the amp remote wire or if all the speaker wires had to be spliced in using RCA to speaker wire adapters.
Thanks
nitefall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 10:32 PM   #12
amiexploited
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 251061
Join Date: Jul 2010
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: riverside, CA
Vehicle:
18 Trek 6mt,
garage queen 15 WRX 6mt

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitefall View Post
Just curious what anyone is doing for Sirius/xm? I just renewed my subscription for a year. Figure everyone is just using the app.
Wanted to also know if the only wire that had to be spliced in was the amp remote wire or if all the speaker wires had to be spliced in using RCA to speaker wire adapters.
Thanks
From what I read you can't connect the XM apparatus from the OG radio to a seicene since it's tied to a serial number I believe. You can use a portable XM device tho but idk if your subsription would transfer.

I didn't splice RCA to speaker (line level) the volume was way too low. I don't know what youtube channel said to do that with HK stereos but I just connected the speaker wires directly to the Seicene speaker line out. Works great. I only get low static when the volume is on...
amiexploited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2019, 02:11 AM   #13
CXVninja84
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 438216
Join Date: Jan 2016
Default XM subscription

You can call SiriusXM and change the radio associated with your subscription...It's just like if you got a new car since the serial number is different for the new headunit.
CXVninja84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2019, 09:29 PM   #14
TsaCrazyWRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 507957
Join Date: Nov 2019
Default

Still looking forward to whoever can explain more in detail on how to achieve this step

I would really really appreciate the help

Quote:
Originally Posted by chiefhandker View Post

I also needed to make my own RCA to speaker wire cables to feed a low signal to the speakers.

The RCA side outer wires are the Negative, the inner wire is Positive. Make 100% certain there isnít even a hair of the outside shield that can make contact with the inner wire.

Make sure to solder all connections for reliability.

The kit didnít come with a microphone so I needed to order that separate.

Sound quality is MUCH improved, plus I can now run Waze on the big screen. Iím also hoping the phone call quality will be improved as my stock one was not great.

Pictures here.
https://imgur.com/a/98PfGaK
TsaCrazyWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 12:30 AM   #15
amiexploited
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 251061
Join Date: Jul 2010
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: riverside, CA
Vehicle:
18 Trek 6mt,
garage queen 15 WRX 6mt

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TsaCrazyWRX View Post
Still looking forward to whoever can explain more in detail on how to achieve this step

I would really really appreciate the help
You should try it without converting to RCAs (they sell them on amazon if you really want to) but with my HK stereo my output was really low through the line level output. I ended up splicing to the speaker outputs and it sounded much better.
amiexploited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 09:00 AM   #16
n7slc
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 443545
Join Date: Mar 2016
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: SLC, Utah
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Limited CVT
Lightning Red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amiexploited View Post
You should try it without converting to RCAs (they sell them on amazon if you really want to) but with my HK stereo my output was really low through the line level output. I ended up splicing to the speaker outputs and it sounded much better.


^^^ This. When I was researching HU replacements for my HK system, I found that the HK amp requires high level inputs. That is how Iíve got my Sony XAV-AX100 wired and it sounds amazing. Crystal clear and loud all the way to 11, err, 50
n7slc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2019, 12:26 PM   #17
LSJ
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 51064
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Central Jersey
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
WRB

Default

Just want to update this thread.

Successfully replaced the stock Fujitsu HU w/nav on my 2015 WRX limited with Sygav HU.

https://www.sygav.com/collections/su...trek-2013-2015

Everything works with no issues. Loving this unit. It's probably one of the best mods I've ever done to this car.
LSJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2019, 08:00 PM   #18
TsaCrazyWRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 507957
Join Date: Nov 2019
Default 2015 WRX headunit

Quote:
Originally Posted by amiexploited View Post
You should try it without converting to RCAs (they sell them on amazon if you really want to) but with my HK stereo my output was really low through the line level output. I ended up splicing to the speaker outputs and it sounded much better.
Just wondering if you got the same car model? If yes, what aftermarket headunit did you purchase?
Can you send me the link?

My car : Subaru 2015 WRX - Premium with OEM Harman Kardon stereo and navigation
FV719CS
TsaCrazyWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 02:13 PM   #19
amiexploited
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 251061
Join Date: Jul 2010
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: riverside, CA
Vehicle:
18 Trek 6mt,
garage queen 15 WRX 6mt

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TsaCrazyWRX View Post
Just wondering if you got the same car model? If yes, what aftermarket headunit did you purchase?
Can you send me the link?

My car : Subaru 2015 WRX - Premium with OEM Harman Kardon stereo and navigation
FV719CS
Same 2015 Limited with HK stereo and navi stock. I probably can't get the same link since the model unit I got has been updated, but it was a Seicane.
Here is the updated version, looks like the same harness I got though.

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3290...chweb201603_55
amiexploited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 02:08 PM   #20
TBatall
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 508205
Join Date: Nov 2019
Default 08-14 wrx seicane head unit

I have everything working on my head unit but my steering wheel controls. I was wondering so one has had this same problem before.

Do I I need another harness to make it work?
TBatall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 07:03 PM   #21
KingBugeye
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 325621
Join Date: Jul 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Kentucky
Default

Hello Everyone, I havent posted on this site in some years since I had my last Subaru but now I have a 2015 STI Limited with the Harmon Kardon sounds system and am wanting to upgrade to the best current Android unit that I can make work with the HK.

If some of you could point me in the right direction that would be greatly appreciated.


And just want to make sure that my understanding of what needs to be done to get it working is correct.

Number 9 wire in 10 pin connector gets connected to blue remote signal wire and the speaker outputs from the Androyd unit have to be hard wired into the factory speaker harness?

Thanks again for any help.
KingBugeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2019, 04:32 PM   #22
amiexploited
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 251061
Join Date: Jul 2010
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: riverside, CA
Vehicle:
18 Trek 6mt,
garage queen 15 WRX 6mt

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingBugeye View Post
Hello Everyone, I havent posted on this site in some years since I had my last Subaru but now I have a 2015 STI Limited with the Harmon Kardon sounds system and am wanting to upgrade to the best current Android unit that I can make work with the HK.

If some of you could point me in the right direction that would be greatly appreciated.


And just want to make sure that my understanding of what needs to be done to get it working is correct.

Number 9 wire in 10 pin connector gets connected to blue remote signal wire and the speaker outputs from the Androyd unit have to be hard wired into the factory speaker harness?

Thanks again for any help.
Check out the first post for how to hook up the Amp wire, pictures are there too.

I personally wired the F/R + - speaker wires to the appropriate speaker wire on subaru harness. I had an adapter so I didn't cut anything on the subaru side. That worked for my HK stereo.
amiexploited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2019, 05:02 PM   #23
KingBugeye
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 325621
Join Date: Jul 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Kentucky
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amiexploited View Post
Check out the first post for how to hook up the Amp wire, pictures are there too.

I personally wired the F/R + - speaker wires to the appropriate speaker wire on subaru harness. I had an adapter so I didn't cut anything on the subaru side. That worked for my HK stereo.
Thank you its just hard to find clear information on it, I looked at the pictures and that part seems pretty straightforward.
Does the adapter you have take care of the amp wire and the speaker wires or is it only to adapt the speaker wires without splicing?
KingBugeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 01:43 PM   #24
amiexploited
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 251061
Join Date: Jul 2010
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: riverside, CA
Vehicle:
18 Trek 6mt,
garage queen 15 WRX 6mt

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingBugeye View Post
Thank you its just hard to find clear information on it, I looked at the pictures and that part seems pretty straightforward.
Does the adapter you have take care of the amp wire and the speaker wires or is it only to adapt the speaker wires without splicing?
The adapters I have plug into the car's harness. I originally cut the speaker wires from the adapter and installed the RCA adapter. That didn't work right for me so I soldered them back to the harness/speaker level output. It's been a while since I looked at it but it should be both the 10 pin harness and the 26(?) pin. Once you have it all out it's not too complicated. I want to go back in and wrap all the wires in tesa tape.
amiexploited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 01:29 AM   #25
mpv314
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 431318
Join Date: Oct 2015
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Westchester, NY
Vehicle:
2016 WRX STi Limited
Lapis Pearl Blue

Default

Hi LSJ- Did the United come with everything you need? And did you simply follow this process listed above or were there any other variations?

I have a 2016 STi Limited with HK sound and Iíd like to do the upgrade as well, including keeping as many OEM USB ports and steering wheel controls as possible.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LSJ View Post
Just want to update this thread.

Successfully replaced the stock Fujitsu HU w/nav on my 2015 WRX limited with Sygav HU.

https://www.sygav.com/collections/su...trek-2013-2015

Everything works with no issues. Loving this unit. It's probably one of the best mods I've ever done to this car.
mpv314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2019 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.