Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday August 16, 2018
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2010, 01:00 AM   #1
DoucheBag Doug
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 210987
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UTAH
Vehicle:
02 STi
MBP

Default At 100% throttle DBW instantly disables???

Ok I just finished my 02 STi swap and the car runs great but I have a major problem. When I press the peddle to the floor (100% throttle) my drive by wire instantly disables and freezes at 2000 rpm. I have no throttle response at all. It doesn't do it when the car is in nuetral, only when the car is underload, but it doesn't matter what gear or rpm the car is at, it still disables. The only codes it throws is a TPS high output and TPS low output. To fix it I have to unplug the battery to reset the ecu. I'm at a loss, any info would be appreciated. Thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
DoucheBag Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 03-14-2010, 12:25 AM   #2
bobjr94
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6176
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Roy,WA
Vehicle:
15 WRX, 04 wrb STi
85 wrb BRAT

Default

Its a safety feature (apparently lacking on toyotas) when it sees a problem with both throttle sensors it limits rpms.



bobjr94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 01:13 AM   #3
Karl S.
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 30871
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Default

hold on a sec, you said that you have a 02 STi, 02 did not come with a DBW.. 02 STi is drive by Cable.
i assume that you meant 04+ USDM, correct ?? if that is the case, then you problem is the "Pedal stopper" that is under the pedal on the floor. if it is not there, or is pushed in too much this will cause the problem. Basically what is happening is that the ECU is getting higher than expected "voltage" from the potentiometer on the throttle. (the gas pedal goes further down than it should.
Just put a stopper there, and that should fix it.
Karl S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 03:37 AM   #4
acmw
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 215718
Join Date: Jun 2009
Default

I am having this same issue, did you resolve it yet?
acmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 03:38 AM   #5
acmw
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 215718
Join Date: Jun 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karl S. View Post
hold on a sec, you said that you have a 02 STi, 02 did not come with a DBW.. 02 STi is drive by Cable.
i assume that you meant 04+ USDM, correct ?? if that is the case, then you problem is the "Pedal stopper" that is under the pedal on the floor. if it is not there, or is pushed in too much this will cause the problem. Basically what is happening is that the ECU is getting higher than expected "voltage" from the potentiometer on the throttle. (the gas pedal goes further down than it should.
Just put a stopper there, and that should fix it.
any pic of this pedal stopper ? thanks!
and would this throw on a CEL, because i have a code from the TPS
acmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 10:46 AM   #6
Karl S.
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 30871
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Default

Sorry, not at the moment, but quick google search. (see bellow)
look at that black plastic "thingy" that is besides the gas pedal on the tunnel. It goes all the way down and there is a round stopper in the middle of it behind the pedal. (there is a screw that is attached to the actual firewall beneath the gas pedal that the stopper screws/snaps onto) you can see a bit of it on the bottom picture behind the carpet.
just ask someone who has an USDM STi, you can see it. heck stop at a dealer...

http://fc09.deviantart.com/fs42/i/20...SpeedmanRC.jpg
Karl S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 11:38 AM   #7
acmw
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 215718
Join Date: Jun 2009
Default

Thanks for the help!
let me know if you ever resolve you issue and how you did. i will do the same!
acmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 12:35 PM   #8
03BugEyeRex1121
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 160763
Join Date: Oct 2007
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Fort Walton Beach
Vehicle:
2003 JDM FAIL WRX
Molested By Drunkmann

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karl S. View Post
hold on a sec, you said that you have a 02 STi, 02 did not come with a DBW.. 02 STi is drive by Cable.
i assume that you meant 04+ USDM, correct ??

He just worded it wrong.

He has an 02 WRX, with a complete 04 STI swap
03BugEyeRex1121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 08:59 PM   #9
johnny 05
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 195125
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: long island
Vehicle:
2002 Dirty Outback
black 10.6 @ 133mph

Default

call EAST COAST SWOPPERS they make a speacial plate and stopper....860 758 7644....I know i had the same problem... 02 outback wagon with a full 04 sti swap
johnny 05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 09:06 PM   #10
acmw
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 215718
Join Date: Jun 2009
Default

Thanks for the info guys!
acmw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logger cuts out under 100% Throttle MConte05 Open Source Reflashes 9 08-20-2009 06:15 AM
utec is not leaning out under 100% throttle dukeduster UTEC 10 02-13-2007 11:18 AM
Weirdest AFR problem: Rich at part throttle, lean at WOT. powerlabs Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 14 05-14-2006 09:58 PM
More power at 80% than 100% throttle drfrink24 Engine Management & Tuning 4 01-13-2006 07:22 PM
wrx stalls at full throttle at high rpms bluesubaru Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 16 03-23-2005 05:50 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.