Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday November 16, 2018
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2016, 11:04 PM   #1
SurfGuruJeff
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 148974
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2010 4x4 Silverado
White

Default Logging AFR with AP v3 and AEM UEGO - How to wire it up.

When I asked Phatron if I could log my AFR with my AP v3, he sent me the link to a kit sold by Moore Performance, but it comes with a relay and extra wiring that you don't need and can't justify spending $85 on. Overkill for just trying to log AFR on your Cobb Accessport. All you need to do is tap your AEM UEGO's 5v output into the correct wire that the ECU would normally use to read off of the Rear O2 sensor (or TGV Left/TGV Right) and then configure the Custom Sensor Input in Accesstuner.

I considered going straight to the harness coming out of the ECU, but opted to go with where I had a little more room while the engine was out which was right at the top of the transmission where there is a connection between two plugs. You may find it easier to tap in at a different location, say, further down the line towards the bottom of the car, or the other direction closer to the firewall.



Plug for the Rear O2 sensor on top of transmission (you may also use TGV Left or TGV Right).


We want the wire that communicates voltage changes from the rear O2 sensor to the ECU, which is the solid white wire on the 2008+ STi (check your year)



Reconnect the plug. *kind of important, haha



I fed the wire through boot for the Right Hand engine harness, then silicone'd over the slit I made. The wire will come through behind the glovebox area.


My AEM UEGO gauge's 12v ACC source is tapped into the radio harness and grounded nearby. The 5v output wire for logging (also conveniently a solid white wire) will connect to the yellow wire that we just routed behind the radio.


Make the necessary changes to your map for AEM UEGO scaling before monitoring. (helpful link from Cobb )


Log/monitor the parameter "Sensor Input Monitor Only (Rear O2)" or "Sens Only Rear O2" on your AP v3



*Note - you can also use TGV Left or TGV Right for monitoring and logging. Just depends on what you want to tap into, and what might make for the easiest access.

**Note - Just another note to anyone installing a AEM X-Series Wideband UEGO with the Bosch LSU 4.9 sensor, you also need to ground the BROWN wire for analog sensor ground. Otherwise it wont output 0-5v to the ecu.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by SurfGuruJeff; 10-15-2016 at 03:24 PM.
SurfGuruJeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 09-01-2016, 11:13 PM   #2
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: soon to be somewhere else
Vehicle:
1998 RS

Default

7.35 for a low AFR? holy cow
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 11:17 PM   #3
SurfGuruJeff
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 148974
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2010 4x4 Silverado
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hondaeater69 View Post
7.35 for a low AFR? holy cow
Hahaha. Yeah. Borrowed pic from Moore Performance.
SurfGuruJeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2016, 08:30 AM   #4
chchchino
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 303355
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default

Just did this recently also. Did mine plug and play with a o2 sensor plug like this one:

http://www.bmotorsports.com/shop/pro...oducts_id/3242

and if anyone wants to buy just a pig tail, i believe you can get one pre wired from moto-east. worth it to note this will only work with a protuner. Im pretty sure ATR does not have custom sensor logging enabled.
chchchino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2016, 03:41 PM   #5
joek92
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 353938
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: East TN
Vehicle:
2007 STI WRB
18x8.75 +35 225/40

Default

So connect white aem 0-5v to o2 sensor side of pigtail.
What about the blue serial output aem wire, not needed?

Most importantly, can you hook up egt, oil temp, diff temp, and oil pressure in a similar way?
joek92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2016, 03:45 PM   #6
SurfGuruJeff
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 148974
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2010 4x4 Silverado
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joek92 View Post
So connect white aem 0-5v to o2 sensor side of pigtail.
What about the blue serial output aem wire, not needed?

Most importantly, can you hook up egt, oil temp, diff temp, and oil pressure in a similar way?
Correct, the blue serial wire is not needed.

Yes, you should be able to wire up similar sensors, then configure in AccessTuner
SurfGuruJeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2016, 03:56 PM   #7
point78
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 344329
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Summit County
Vehicle:
2008 Wrx, 6mt

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joek92 View Post

Most importantly, can you hook up egt, oil temp, diff temp, and oil pressure in a similar way?

How about Onboard realtime map switching?


http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=2776027
point78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2016, 05:33 PM   #8
Nurp
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 383782
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Winnipeg
Vehicle:
2014 WRX STi ST
SWP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by point78 View Post
How about Onboard realtime map switching?


http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=2776027
This is what I plan on doing with my WMI. nice.
Nurp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2016, 05:54 PM   #9
point78
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 344329
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Summit County
Vehicle:
2008 Wrx, 6mt

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nurp View Post
This is what I plan on doing with my WMI. nice.
It works fantastic.

I was testing it all out-in boost on the meth maps, trigger the fail safe, it's instant switch over to my pump maps-looking at data logs the boost drops right down from my meth level to pump level & it's really smooth.

No need to let off the throttle, just keep on keeping on.

The thing that has me most excited is now having two timing/boost maps.

This is huge-finally I can run nitrous without a stand alone ecu.

That's what's prevented me on this car. I'm just waiting on a built block to put it all together. Had it all on my last turbo car & I miss it dearly, it's a great void in my life.

Soon, soon...
point78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2016, 08:08 PM   #10
Nurp
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 383782
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Winnipeg
Vehicle:
2014 WRX STi ST
SWP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by point78 View Post
It works fantastic.

I was testing it all out-in boost on the meth maps, trigger the fail safe, it's instant switch over to my pump maps-looking at data logs the boost drops right down from my meth level to pump level & it's really smooth.

No need to let off the throttle, just keep on keeping on.

The thing that has me most excited is now having two timing/boost maps.

This is huge-finally I can run nitrous without a stand alone ecu.

That's what's prevented me on this car. I'm just waiting on a built block to put it all together. Had it all on my last turbo car & I miss it dearly, it's a great void in my life.

Soon, soon...
sick. I guess you just used the same wiring as the flex fuel install but with the meth signals instead?
Nurp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2016, 09:05 PM   #11
point78
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 344329
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Summit County
Vehicle:
2008 Wrx, 6mt

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nurp View Post
sick. I guess you just used the same wiring as the flex fuel install but with the meth signals instead?
Yeah, left or right tgv input, 5v or 0v to switch. I tied in at the ecu wiring harness. It's all in the aquamist thread around page 75 maybe?
point78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2016, 02:25 PM   #12
joek92
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 353938
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: East TN
Vehicle:
2007 STI WRB
18x8.75 +35 225/40

Default

Seems like this could be used for the torque app too unless I'm missing something.
joek92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2016, 12:51 PM   #13
02nismokiller
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 322963
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: upstate NY
Vehicle:
04 wrx
psm

Default

So this only works for 08+? I have an 05 sti
02nismokiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2016, 01:01 PM   #14
KeithS05RS2.5
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 306422
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Syracuse
Vehicle:
2005 Impreza 2.5RS
Dark Blue

Default

^^Curious too 02 WRX
KeithS05RS2.5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2016, 12:44 AM   #15
SurfGuruJeff
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 148974
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2010 4x4 Silverado
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 02nismokiller View Post
So this only works for 08+? I have an 05 sti
Should work for most years, but you'll have to find the correct color wire (it is different) for your '05 to tap into.
SurfGuruJeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2016, 08:11 PM   #16
KeithS05RS2.5
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 306422
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Syracuse
Vehicle:
2005 Impreza 2.5RS
Dark Blue

Default

Looked today. Plug and wires are same for 02 WRX.

Wish these features were available in ATR. But I may hook up a redundant pigtail so I can keep it hooked up to the OEM harness for now and easily switch to the second pigtail with the UEGO input next time I do more with my e-tuner.
KeithS05RS2.5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2016, 08:59 PM   #17
chchchino
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 303355
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default

I believe the new ATR does have custom sensor logging enabled.
chchchino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2016, 11:08 PM   #18
KeithS05RS2.5
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 306422
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Syracuse
Vehicle:
2005 Impreza 2.5RS
Dark Blue

Default

Hmmm, checked my ATR for updates and found none. Is this a new version thats needs a separate download?
KeithS05RS2.5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 12:26 AM   #19
chchchino
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 303355
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default

yes the newest version that requires a class.
chchchino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2016, 09:34 PM   #20
KeithS05RS2.5
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 306422
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Syracuse
Vehicle:
2005 Impreza 2.5RS
Dark Blue

Default

Ah I guess that'd be why. Thanks.
KeithS05RS2.5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2016, 08:56 PM   #21
chchchino
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 303355
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default

Just another note to anyone installing a AEM X-Series Wideband UEGO with the Bosch LSU 4.9 sensor, you also need to ground the BROWN wire for analog sensor ground. Otherwise it wont output 0-5v to the ecu.
chchchino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2016, 03:24 PM   #22
SurfGuruJeff
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 148974
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2010 4x4 Silverado
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chchchino View Post
Just another note to anyone installing a AEM X-Series Wideband UEGO with the Bosch LSU 4.9 sensor, you also need to ground the BROWN wire for analog sensor ground. Otherwise it wont output 0-5v to the ecu.
Thanks for that. I'll update first post.
SurfGuruJeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 04:55 PM   #23
akirk92
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 433060
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Orlando, Fl
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Hatch
Silver

Default

How can I use the custom logging with my car? Anytime I try to connect it says my ecu is invalid
akirk92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2016, 08:51 PM   #24
grafton
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 187936
Join Date: Aug 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Fairmont WV
Vehicle:
07 WRB STi

Default

Just did this in my 07 STi, worked like a charm I don't have the new fancy version of ATR so I just log the AFsensor 3 voltage and convert it in excel.

Was able to start open loop maf scaling today, once that's dialed in I'll pull a little fuel out of the cobb map
grafton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2016, 09:36 PM   #25
my9999
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 319314
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Australia
Vehicle:
2011 WRX
OBP

Default

does this affect to way the rear O2 functions? If hooking up to TGV wire i take it they have to be deleted?
I'm thinking you would be able to log wideband with btSsm.

Last edited by my9999; 11-01-2016 at 02:56 AM.
my9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.