Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday October 14, 2019
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2011, 11:54 AM   #51
the suicidal eggroll
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 51961
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Broomfield, CO
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2012 WRX

Default

try logging MAP instead of MRP and subtracting off absolute pressure after the fact. Some of the MRP parameters have internal limits in the ECU. I know one of them saturates at ~18 psi.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
the suicidal eggroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 06-03-2011, 03:52 PM   #52
medamullet
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 99442
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Man of Mystery
Vehicle:
2006 SGM STI
I'm on CORN YO!

Default

ok that sounds good. I will give it a go after work tonight.
medamullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 02:06 PM   #53
medamullet
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 99442
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Man of Mystery
Vehicle:
2006 SGM STI
I'm on CORN YO!

Default

I logged everything. my AP is 12.48 where I am at. When I do the math and log everyting else it comes out around the same. I am afraid to turn up the boost any more in fear of blowing it up. Both 3rd and 4th gear logs have the exact same peak boost. I know that can't be right. Any help would be great....
medamullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 10:14 PM   #54
Frank A
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 49979
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: MD, US
Vehicle:
11 dgm wrx hatch
08 black TA STI

Default

isn't the pressure output from the stock ECU constrained to ~24 psi, even though the sensor can be changed so it reads higher and the ECU uses the actual higher pressures?
Frank A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 07:58 AM   #55
fastblueufo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 212154
Join Date: May 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: fast performance tuning
Vehicle:
02 billet crank
pauter rods, pt5857, E85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank A View Post
isn't the pressure output from the stock ECU constrained to ~24 psi, even though the sensor can be changed so it reads higher and the ECU uses the actual higher pressures?
If the correct peram is logged then the only constraint is within the sensor itself. If you are logging a 16 bit you should log mrp direct, if you are logging a 32 bit you should log mrp 4 bit. If the correct peram is logged and you still can't log correct boost then
1) the multiplier/offset is incorrect
2) the sensor itself is the limit.

The AEM 3.5 bar has no problems with being logged correctly. I have only tried the omni on a 16 bit, it would not work on the 16 bit for whatever reason. If someone wants to mail me there omni I will mess with it on a 32 bit but, I'm not going to drop my dime on one just for testing. I personally recommend the AEM over the omni from experience.
fastblueufo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 09:35 AM   #56
Frank A
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 49979
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: MD, US
Vehicle:
11 dgm wrx hatch
08 black TA STI

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastblueufo View Post
I personally recommend the AEM over the omni from experience.
I haven't heard of any issues with the Perrin/Omni unit and I was getting ready to buy one because its so easy to install. Can you expand on what you experienced with it?
Frank A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 09:52 AM   #57
fastblueufo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 212154
Join Date: May 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: fast performance tuning
Vehicle:
02 billet crank
pauter rods, pt5857, E85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank A View Post
I haven't heard of any issues with the Perrin/Omni unit and I was getting ready to buy one because its so easy to install. Can you expand on what you experienced with it?
As I stated, my only experience was on a 16 bit ecu. The car had a high idle (1500 rpm). I changed different o-rings and tried a few different multipliers/offsets, nothing would correct the high idle. I'm not sure about a 32 bit ecu if the same problem would persist.
fastblueufo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 10:01 AM   #58
Nuke209
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 108089
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minnesota
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
NF Performance

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastblueufo View Post
As I stated, my only experience was on a 16 bit ecu. The car had a high idle (1500 rpm). I changed different o-rings and tried a few different multipliers/offsets, nothing would correct the high idle. I'm not sure about a 32 bit ecu if the same problem would persist.
32bit are fine.
I've tuned one on the 04sti (4bar one) using Perrin's values. Working fine
Nuke209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 03:39 PM   #59
medamullet
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 99442
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Man of Mystery
Vehicle:
2006 SGM STI
I'm on CORN YO!

Default

It runs just fine. When I log it seems to be peaking around the stock values. I will post up a long on my way home.
medamullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 04:23 PM   #60
wayfastwhitey517
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 242460
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: phoenixville pa
Vehicle:
2007 wrx tr
obp

Default

is there any issues with using the 4 bar on a 07wrx?
wayfastwhitey517 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 05:58 PM   #61
Nuke209
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 108089
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minnesota
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
NF Performance

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wayfastwhitey517 View Post
is there any issues with using the 4 bar on a 07wrx?
should be just fine. it's also 32bit
Nuke209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 07:20 PM   #62
wayfastwhitey517
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 242460
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: phoenixville pa
Vehicle:
2007 wrx tr
obp

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuke209 View Post
should be just fine. it's also 32bit
i have the 4 bar on the wrx and i'm using atr for tuning and i set the offset and multiplier to .506 and 11.98 and while cold the car runs fine but warmed up it idles at 400 and dies. any help would be appreciated.
thanks
joe
wayfastwhitey517 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 07:59 PM   #63
Nuke209
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 108089
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minnesota
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
NF Performance

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wayfastwhitey517 View Post
i have the 4 bar on the wrx and i'm using atr for tuning and i set the offset and multiplier to .506 and 11.98 and while cold the car runs fine but warmed up it idles at 400 and dies. any help would be appreciated.
thanks
joe
sure you don't have a leak?

if you put the stock map sensor and calibrations back, does it happen?
Nuke209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 08:06 PM   #64
wayfastwhitey517
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 242460
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: phoenixville pa
Vehicle:
2007 wrx tr
obp

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuke209 View Post
sure you don't have a leak?

if you put the stock map sensor and calibrations back, does it happen?
it runs almost fine. the stocker was broken so it doesnt go into the tb very much 1/8" but at idle it feels and sounds normal... 4 bar and remapped and it runs like crap. ive been looking for a leak for 3 hours so i dont think there is one ive also returned the sensor for a new one incase the first one was defected
wayfastwhitey517 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 11:55 PM   #65
medamullet
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 99442
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Man of Mystery
Vehicle:
2006 SGM STI
I'm on CORN YO!

Default

ok I looked everything that has to do with air pressure let me know what's going on. my gauge reads 27psi peak. I checked it with my air compressor up to 40psi and the gauge and the compressor reads the same.

Code:
Time	RPM	WOT	MAP (4-byte)* (psi absolute)	MRP (4-byte)* (psi relative)	AP (psi)	MAP (psi)	MRP (psi)	MRP (Corrected) (psi)	MRSLP (4-byte)* (psi relative sea level)	MA (g/s)	MASV (V)
0	2148	8.24	4.67	-7.98	12.62	4.64	-7.98	-7.98	-10.03	12.18	1.56
221	2160	26.27	6.01	-4.91	12.62	7.69	-5.95	-6.67	-8.69	25.53	2.12
445	2192	100	12.87	0.26	12.62	12.91	0.29	0.29	-1.82	41.55	2.38
664	2328	100	13.33	0.74	12.62	13.35	0.73	0.73	-1.37	44.52	2.42
898	2481	100	13.77	1.18	12.62	13.78	1.16	1.16	-0.92	47.82	2.52
1113	2538	100	14.24	1.67	12.62	14.36	1.74	1.6	-0.45	50.68	2.5
1349	2644	100	14.76	2.2	12.62	14.8	2.18	2.18	0.06	55.32	2.66
1575	2776	100	15.37	2.76	12.62	15.38	2.76	2.76	0.67	61.4	2.62
1804	2943	100	16.1	3.56	12.62	16.25	3.48	3.48	1.41	73.1	2.8
2035	3013	100	17.03	4.49	12.62	17.12	4.5	4.5	2.34	80.41	2.92
2259	3184	100	18.15	5.61	12.62	18.28	5.51	5.51	3.46	87.34	3.04
2476	3355	100	19.47	7.03	12.62	19.73	6.96	6.96	4.77	99.79	3.14
2713	3468	100	21.36	8.95	12.62	21.62	8.85	8.85	6.66	113.39	3.32
2943	3714	100	23.85	11.45	12.62	24.38	11.32	11.32	9.15	150.41	3.54
3157	4013	100	27.32	15.1	12.62	27.86	14.95	14.8	12.62	180.68	3.8
3380	4196	100	31.49	19.41	12.62	32.21	18.43	19.15	16.8	233.36	4.06
3616	4501	100	35.21	22.95	12.62	35.69	18.43	22.64	20.51	282.45	4.2
3827	4810	100	36.38	23.94	12.62	36.71	18.43	23.8	21.68	301.82	4.32
4060	5207	100	36.17	23.48	12.62	35.98	18.43	23.51	21.47	304.74	4.36
4303	5471	100	35.46	22.77	12.62	35.4	18.43	22.93	20.77	324.48	4.4
4526	5805	100	35	22.41	12.62	35.11	18.43	22.35	20.31	331.14	4.44
4761	5995	100	34.8	22.14	12.62	34.68	18.43	22.2	20.1	334.9	4.46
4979	6291	100	34.65	22.01	12.62	34.68	18.43	22.05	19.95	336.77	4.46
5214	6574	100	34.71	22.1	12.62	34.68	18.43	22.2	20.01	334.48	4.46
5438	6811	100	34.92	22.09	12.62	34.82	18.43	22.35	20.22	327.01	4.42
5658	6921	100	35.06	22.28	12.62	35.11	18.43	22.35	20.37	341.71	4.52
5894	5944	26.27	27.43	11.4	12.62	22.2	12.33	13.49	12.74	184.91	3.74
6120	5350	10.59	5.82	-7.25	12.62	5.22	-7.11	-6.96	-8.88	9.12	1.4
6344	4851	9.8	3.72	-9.1	12.62	3.48	-9.14	-9	-10.97	19.36	1.74
6569	4474	9.02	3.07	-9.59	12.62	3.05	-9.58	-9.58	-11.62	14.74	1.66
6787	4098	8.24	2.97	-9.63	12.62	2.9	-9.58	-9.58	-11.72	13.73	1.62
7025	3814	9.02	3.15	-9.4	12.62	3.19	-9.43	-9.43	-11.55	13.8	1.62
7255	3436	10.59	4.02	-8.54	12.62	4.06	-8.56	-8.56	-10.68	17.54	1.72
7480	2836	9.8	4.68	-7.97	12.62	4.64	-7.98	-7.98	-10.01	17.34	1.72
medamullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 12:03 AM   #66
medamullet
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 99442
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Man of Mystery
Vehicle:
2006 SGM STI
I'm on CORN YO!

Default

I know it's jacked up, but quote it and paste it into excel. If I change the headings to much you won't be able to tell what you are actually looking at.
regardless what ever value you minus absolute pressure you don't get 27 psi anywhere. WHAT GIVES?

Thanks
medamullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 12:12 AM   #67
dub c
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 145069
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Vehicle:
Keep It Sleazy

Default

Regarding the problems with the MAP sensors in Wrx's...

Does the problem lye with the ECU's being 16 bit's or does it lye with the style of the intake manifold mount itself?

I will be using a JDM V7 Sti ECU (32 bit) with my 02/03 Wrx, so I'm wondering if I will have the same idling problem...
dub c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 10:35 PM   #68
lil'redwagon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10854
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Los Angeles, CA.
Vehicle:
'02 WRX; '08 OBXT;
'08 G37 (S/C'd); '09 XF

Default

jdm v7 ecu's are 16 bit. at least my v8 is. i'm guessing it's not going to work for you.
lil'redwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 06:56 AM   #69
Nisstrust
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 255202
Join Date: Aug 2010
Chapter/Region: International
Default

The Perrin link to their instructions is down, anyone got a copy on their PC? that they can host?
http://www.perrinperformance.com/sha...mapsti4bar.pdf
Nisstrust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 07:12 PM   #70
rasheedn
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 123333
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Jerusalem
Vehicle:
2009 STi
DMG

Default

im confused!

which one should i use with my 08 STi and 4 bar sensor

Last edited by rasheedn; 01-15-2012 at 02:42 PM.
rasheedn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 02:33 PM   #71
jays05
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 78165
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Vehicle:
05 STI 35r + e85

Default

I installed the Omni 4bar map sensor in my 05 STI today. I couldn't find any numbers on here or elsewhere for the TXS UTEC. I ended up with:

Gradient 234
Intercept 140

For the ECU I am using the numbers from Perrin and they seem pretty much dead on.
jays05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 03:52 PM   #72
renosubby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 152576
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Reno, NV
Vehicle:
2009 GTR [email protected] 133
Mayhem Tuning!!!!!

Default

mine: It reads -.029 when the car is in the ACC position.
Offset (psia) 0.5279371056703949
Multiplier (psia/v) 11.63202077500488

Hope this helps everyone.

Cory
renosubby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 03:55 PM   #73
JustD
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 180517
Join Date: May 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Council Bluffs IA
Vehicle:
06 WRX Wagon
White

Default

So what are the proper values for 3 Bar Omni Power MAP using the Cobb AP2 ?

Is this right or was it decided the numbers are off ?

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...46&postcount=7
JustD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 02:34 PM   #74
TyranosaurusWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25731
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Vehicle:
02 wrx(sold)/2005
Sti/ 93 Leg Wag

Default

I'm using the 4bar on my 05 sti. Using the values posted on the first page - my car barely can start and instantly wants to die and I get the p0107. Why would my car work any differently? I made double sure the values were entered correctly. I soon as I go back to stock setup it starts right up and runs like you would expect.


edit.......woops missed this, it actually worked.

Quote:
Originally Posted by adeliciouspizza View Post
I am running a 4 bar Omni. When I first put it on it was throwing codes. Turns out the Omni runs a lower "minimum voltage" than the stock sensor. The stock ecu programming will throw a code below .25 volts or so (check a stock rom to see what I mean). I changed it to .05 volts and re-flashed and I haven't had a single problem with it after that. It reads spot on with my boost gauge using the calibration posted above.

Last edited by TyranosaurusWRX; 10-13-2012 at 03:49 PM.
TyranosaurusWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 04:47 PM   #75
f85stealth
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 133492
Join Date: Nov 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Tampa, FL
Vehicle:
2006 Legacy Spec.B
Silver

Default

I drive a Subaru Legacy that has been fully built for quite sometime now. I recently decided to take it to the next level with a bit larger turbo (20g), injectors, pump, meth, ebcs...... you know the fun stuff.

It has been to two shops so far and no one has seemed to get the car to run right. So it has been inoperable for 8 months.

I recently reached out to Nasioc and I got a wealth of people trying to help and even some local, which I greatly appreciate.

I provided a data log from my Cobb v2 AP to 3 of these new separate "tuners" that i found and they all came back with my tune was way off but this is a comment I have always heard about my car and it ran fine before.

However, one of them mentioned I needed to add this 4bar map sensor. I mean the thing is cheap so I am all for trying it but what exactly does it do and why do I need it? I didn't know many people did this type of an upgrade.

Just trying to grow my knowledge a little bit. Thanks!
f85stealth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Omni Power Stock location Map Sensor 3bar 4bar 7bar TopSpeed Engine Management 79 06-15-2011 05:46 AM
Weird idea--3bar/4bar map sensor on stock ECU? HamFist Engine Management & Tuning 5 12-28-2009 12:46 AM
FS (NY): TurboXS UTEC Delta v03 + TXS 4BAR MAP Sensor + Remote Map Switch bbong Engine/Power/Exhaust 5 04-08-2008 05:46 PM
Omni Power Coilovers? SeattleWRX Brakes, Steering & Suspension 0 06-07-2005 05:48 PM
Any one vouch for Omni Power coilovers? dubba you are ex Brakes, Steering & Suspension 15 03-19-2005 08:54 AM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2019 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.