Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday July 21, 2018
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2009, 07:37 PM   #26
ViperWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 111870
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Crescent City, California
Vehicle:
02' JDM STi Swap
VF37 w/20G (337 awhp)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobystas View Post
DHRDAN,

thanks for the response. most references i've seen with the AVCS say to use shielded wire. I have a diagram of how to wire the ecu, i'm just having trouble with the actual wires. I plan on purchasing a soldering iron and doing this the right way!


image courtesy of jdmspecc(max)

haha I was just looking at this thread and was like HEY I KNOW That Paintshop Diagram! I made that when Andre was explaining the Wiring for AVCS and I wanted to make sure it was correct. haha. Sweet, I had pics and stuff from my wiring swap from the 02 wrx to the ver8 sti avcs but never ended up posting them. The wiring wasnt hard at all and Andre' and Max at JDMSpecC4u are just awesome! Ask a question and they will answer. GL with the Wiring and Setup.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
ViperWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 06-08-2009, 09:53 PM   #27
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

Thanks for helping out the community Viper!

maybe you know this, but i'm having trouble unlocking the center connector on the ecu (B84).

Also, are the actual metal pins different between B84 vs. the light grey connector on the pass side strut tower E1? I ask this because when i go to add the additional four wires, one side of the wire will have to have a metal pin that fits the ecu B84 connector while the other side will have to fit the light grey connector E1.

btw, the metal pins i bought from mouser in the first post do not work with the light grey E1 subaru connector
Havent been able to unlock ecu connector so not sure if it'll work there either.
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 09:41 AM   #28
Zephyr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3362
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Central NJ
Vehicle:
2001 I've wired a
Few cars in my day

Default

Pry the lock up with a small screw driver or pick. Yes, the pins are different at the ECU and on the engine plugs. The pins are also different on E2 and E3.

If you need pins I have them.
Zephyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 09:01 AM   #29
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

is there any way someone can snap some pics of the wires that are in the F61 black connector??

I was interupted in the middle of pulling a wire, i basically had two wires and two slots in the connector and may have put them back in the wrong spot and now i don't even remember which pins they were .

I need a close up of the back of the connector with the different colors so i can match them up to mine and get everything squared away.

I thought i had it all wired, check engine light was off!!! Drove for 10mins and it came back on as P0365 and P01308.
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 03:51 PM   #30
ViperWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 111870
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Crescent City, California
Vehicle:
02' JDM STi Swap
VF37 w/20G (337 awhp)

Default

I cant remember what ones but Andre at JDmSpecC4u had told me that when you swap the ECU for the JDM one on the Ver8 with the Ver8 motor there are 4-6 wires that are not going to be used and you can unhook those wires from the plug and use the metal crimps on the new wires you are adding so that you wont need to go buy any, I never bought any Metal crimp wires for when I did my setup. oh also when I did the wiring I used some normal electrical Wire Clamps and wrapped them in Electrical tape for the added wires to the Engine Bay. I have a few min Ill take some pics and then post them so you guys can see what I meant!
ViperWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 04:42 PM   #31
ViperWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 111870
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Crescent City, California
Vehicle:
02' JDM STi Swap
VF37 w/20G (337 awhp)

Default

ok maybe I cant yet but I will post later. Here is a Site also that has some pictures of wiring.

http://www.importtuner.com/tech/0311.../photo_13.html
ViperWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 04:56 PM   #32
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

viper,

post #15 in this thread is the link for the ds1 avcs write up.

if you follow the link to the importtuner website, they have a pic of the light grey connector. If you face that connector towards and count left to right, pin#5 is the only one that doesn't have a wire.
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 06:57 PM   #33
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zephyr View Post
The shield from the wire must be grounded at the ECU. You'll want to trim back the outter plastic exposing the shielding lead and other wires. Fold the shield wire back, solder a regular bit of wire on and tape to body of wire. Solder ECU Pin to this wire and insert into ECU plug. Look at how other shielded wires are done if you are confused.
you got me, i am confused!! What i did, which i now believe to be incorrect was I inserted a pin into pin#14, I stripped back coating off the wire and wrapped the copper strands around a metal bolt that holds in the ecu.

this could be where my problem lies, the ecu not being grounded. help?
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 07:38 PM   #34
ViperWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 111870
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Crescent City, California
Vehicle:
02' JDM STi Swap
VF37 w/20G (337 awhp)

Default

Ok after actually reading the DS1 PDF I now see what you are saying. I did NOT ground pin #14 I was never told to do that when I was installing the Motor and doing all the wiring. Everything else was all added and properly done, Just that one thing I never did. It Feels as though the AVCS is working properly and everything is working fine.. Now wouldnt there be a Check Engine Light If I had it not grounded properly? hmmm. Ill do some more research and I need to give Andre' a Call but he may not be there till Monday. I will get an answer Monday from him and ill post here what the verdict is.
ViperWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 07:52 PM   #35
ViperWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 111870
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Crescent City, California
Vehicle:
02' JDM STi Swap
VF37 w/20G (337 awhp)

Default

Here is a final Diagram I made after I did the wiring:



This is what Max Sent me in my email a while ago:

Hi Ryan!

Please leave me your phone number and the best time to reach you!

Thanks!

These are from Black Connector near battery to click into the Motor's Harness-->
pin#5 bl-g to pinn#1
pin#6 gy to pin#2
pin#7 bl to pin#3
pin#8 bl-y to pin#4

ECU Side Plug
pin#e4 bl-g to pin#e6
pin#5 y-g to pin#e12
pin#11 bl to pin#e17
pin#10 bl-y to pin# e16

Wires To Add
pin#e2 to pin #10 on grey plug
pin#e3 to pin #9 on grey plug
pin#e9 to pin#8 on grey plug
pin#e15 to pin#5 on grey plug

Maxime
JDMSpecC Team
Les Ateliers SWAP
450.420.0991
1.800.400.3792
ViperWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 09:16 PM   #36
ViperWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 111870
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Crescent City, California
Vehicle:
02' JDM STi Swap
VF37 w/20G (337 awhp)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobystas View Post
viper,

post #15 in this thread is the link for the ds1 avcs write up.

if you follow the link to the importtuner website, they have a pic of the light grey connector. If you face that connector towards and count left to right, pin#5 is the only one that doesn't have a wire.
It is not pin #5 as the pin is actually #7 that is the only one without a wire.

On the E1 plug the wires that are there from the factory Diagram are:

Camshaft Pos. Sensor
Pin #1-B <-- colors- Pin #1 Connects to B10 (all on B135 ECU)
Pin #2-R Connects to B1
on this wire there is a Sensor Ground going to B21

Crankshaft Pos. Sensor
Pin #3-G Connects to B11
Pin #4-W Connects to B2

Knock Sensor
Pin #6-W Connects to B4
on this wire there is also a Sensor Ground going to B22

and #5,8,9,10 are for AVCS

look at this also for the ECU Pinout-
http://www.northursalia.com/modifica...ng/wrxpin.html
ViperWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 12:06 PM   #37
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

That connector diagram doesn't show the E1 light grey connector. Am i reading the connectors wrong??

I'm reading the connector numbers as if they were numbered on the side of the connector with the female input, side without the wires.

Is this correct, or is it numbered from the back of the connector where you actually see the wire entering the connector?
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 08:41 PM   #38
ViperWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 111870
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Crescent City, California
Vehicle:
02' JDM STi Swap
VF37 w/20G (337 awhp)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobystas View Post
That connector diagram doesn't show the E1 light grey connector. Am i reading the connectors wrong??

I'm reading the connector numbers as if they were numbered on the side of the connector with the female input, side without the wires.

Is this correct, or is it numbered from the back of the connector where you actually see the wire entering the connector?
The connector is listed in the Diagram as E1 Light Gray and below is the Plug (Rough Sketch), Also you would be looking at the plug with the Male Pins Poking out counting that way (not counting from the Wires on the Rear). I have here some pictures from when I did it, Hopefully it helps some of you out to get a clearer idea.

EDIT: Also If you are talking about the Female Plug (E1 Female) that the JDM (E1 Male) plug will connect to then You would NOT need to take the wires off, just leave the wires on the Female plug as they connect to nothing anyways and just add the wires separately from the male plug.

Also I talked to Andre' and he said that if you run the 4 wires for AVCS separatly you DO NOT need to make a sensor ground for the wires as the reason Subaru did that was to prevent static interference when all the wires were in the loom together, So if they are not in the wiring loom you dont need to ground any off (Run the wires and your Done).





Here I have put an X where the wires are suppose to be, make sure you are looking at the plug right, as it is reversed in the picture because it is on the wire side, which is not what the Diagram that I have shows. Just count the openings and you'll be set (I have the wires switched over from the left of the plug but I didnt add the 4 wires yet as it shows the X's are in blank spots).




Oh and BTW this is the JDM engine harness plug you are seeing. So if you have the JDm ver7 or 8 motor this is what it would look like, I just tucked the wires back in the clip as shown. Also I re wrapped all the lines in a makeshift harness of just those 4 wires so they wouldnt be bothered by anything else.

Last edited by ViperWRX; 06-15-2009 at 09:02 PM.
ViperWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 03:43 AM   #39
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

went back over my wiring today. found that i had pin's 16 and 17 swapped on ecu connector. Also rewired the E1 connector, looks like i had 8 and 10 misplaced. Gonna fire it up in the A.M. and see what happens. I've got my fingers crossed.
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 03:43 PM   #40
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

no go, check engine light came back on about 10mins into the drive. I know i'm messing up the wires some how, thank god the car still runs and i can get to places.

i've probably disconnected my battery about 10 times now. Can i just move some pins around without diconnecting the battery is that really bad ju ju??
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 09:05 PM   #41
gto7419
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44256
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
05 outback xt
02 wrx wagon - crushed :(

Default

bad idea...
gto7419 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 12:13 AM   #42
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gto7419 View Post
bad idea...
fair enough.
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 10:03 AM   #43
ViperWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 111870
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Crescent City, California
Vehicle:
02' JDM STi Swap
VF37 w/20G (337 awhp)

Default

Did you go through the wiring one wire at a time? Also are you sure that your CEL is because of the AVCS? Was it on before you hooked up your avcs or have you had the CEL code checked?
ViperWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 03:40 PM   #44
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

I pulled codes. One was P0365 (Camshaft Position Sensor B Circuit Malfunction-Bank 1) and the other was a P1308(pd) OCV Solenoid Signal 2 Malfunction.

It seems that some connectors are numbered from the wire side, while others are numbered from the female side. Is this true?

Also, on one of the wires, i mixed the lead shield in with the conductor into one wire, then i soldered it to the pin. Could this be the reason? Does the lead disrupt the signal?

Last edited by scoobystas; 06-22-2009 at 12:59 PM.
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2009, 12:29 AM   #45
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

Viper, you mention something about the male JDM connector that plugs into E1 from post #38

"just add the wires separately from the male plug."

I'm confused by this last part, i'm not actually adding any wiring from the male plug, it just plugs into the female E1 connector, that is the connector that i added wiring too.
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2009, 10:26 AM   #46
ViperWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 111870
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Crescent City, California
Vehicle:
02' JDM STi Swap
VF37 w/20G (337 awhp)

Default

yea, it depends on how you do it If you added the wires into the Female E1 plug you will need to add a Shield wire at the ECU like in the ds1 pdf file. I took the 4 wires from the male plug (last picture on post #38) and wired them 1 at a time to the ECU and wrapped them in the engine bay, they were separate from the other wires in the plug. I went through the AC Drain Hole which is directly behind the Down Pipe to get to the ECU (since the drain hole is thin rubber it just pushed to the side to get in past the firewall). Now I havent noticed that the wires were numbered from both sides. I just followed the Diagram that Andre' and Max sent me and it worked the first time, I took my time in doing one wire at a time and lots of research before I attempted it. I havent had to mess with it since I got it all wired in. Are you running your wires in the wiring loom to the ECU? Im not sure if the Lead Conductor and the Shield would change the siginal much or give it a falty reading. It would be a question for Andre'.
ViperWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2009, 11:08 AM   #47
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

i ran the wires the exact way you did, through the ac drain. I just have to attempt it again, pull all wires and start from scratch.
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2009, 03:57 PM   #48
sith
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 66362
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Nova Scotia
Vehicle:
2001 GM6 V7 STi
Black with rust

Default

Excuse me if this has already been said, I'm at work and just skimmed the thread... but if your harness has wires for TGV's(ie: wrx harness) You can just move a few unused pins to get full avcs working.. JeremyRS helped me figure it out a while back.. if thats useful pm or post and i'll explain.

.sith.
sith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 11:38 AM   #49
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

ok so rewired everything. four wires from light gray connector to the B84 ecu connector. I made sure the pin orientations were correct by looking at the importtuner pics listed in post #31.

once again, i connect battery and no cel, but my logs are still showing that avcs is inactive. About 10mins into a highway drive and the cel comes on. its the p1308 cel (open circuit bank 2).

so i pulled all wires again and followed this diagram (http://www.aeroelectric.com/articles...l/pigtail.html) on how to ground shield wires.

I'm going to connect all the pins again and attach the ground as illustrated in link above to one of the wires. For example on light grey it will go into pin #10. On ecu the main conductor will go into pin#2, and the ground pin thats soldered to the shielding of that wire i will insert into ground pin#14 (per DS1). Once again, fingers are crossed, but i'm not going to hold my breath.

I'm starting to think its something mechanical and not wiring related. I believe i might have to pull the solenoids and look at them and clean screens and spray them with carb cleaner.
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 06:14 PM   #50
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobystas View Post
I'm going to connect all the pins again and attach the ground as illustrated in link above to one of the wires. For example on light grey it will go into pin #10. On ecu the main conductor will go into pin#2, and the ground pin thats soldered to the shielding of that wire i will insert into ground pin#14 (per DS1). Once again, fingers are crossed, but i'm not going to hold my breath.
well i did the above. I used the wire that goes from Pin#9 at E1 to pin#3 at B84 for the shield/ground. No luck, this time the Cel was instant when the car turned on.
Heres a diagram i drew of what i did. Notice the way i counted the pins on E1. That is the back of the female E1 connector with visible wiring.

By hotmetal5 at 2009-07-01

Last edited by scoobystas; 07-01-2009 at 06:45 PM.
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
shielded wire for AVCS WReXd Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 5 10-08-2011 11:31 AM
Need help with clock wires for guages steak Electrical & Lighting 3 10-01-2003 02:59 PM
Help with Amp Wiring HELP FAST Black_Rain Tri-State Area Forum 4 09-28-2003 08:30 PM
Need some help with setting up the AVC-R Hojai Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 16 06-26-2003 11:03 PM
Need help with one wire for turbo timer dman918 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 1 03-22-2002 05:01 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.