Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday August 15, 2022
Home Forums Images WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2006, 08:53 AM   #1
scoobyimprza
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 24956
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Littlestown PA
Vehicle:
1997 Impreza WRX
Steel Blue Mica

Default Ipod, head unit, and AUX IN jacks

I have a 4 year old Sony head unit and I tried plugging my Ipod into the back where the AUX IN jacks. The unit didn't recognize the input. I'm wondering if there is a wire going into the unit from the harness that needs to be used to tell the unit that there is an AUX input coming in. I'm thinking of when a CD changer is used and the input used. If it's not working when I just plug it in, I'm assuming that there's a wire I need to use to tell the unit.

Can anyone chime in? I think this should be easy, as soon as I find out what exactly it is I need to do.

Brent
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
scoobyimprza is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 06-07-2006, 12:49 PM   #2
badahab
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 35317
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Scott AFB, IL
Default

My old sony es unit had an aux in but it was only for sony add on stuff i believe. So say you had a cd changer, it would be controlled by the changer port but the audio would go through the rca's. I never found out how to use it as a normal aux in.
badahab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 12:53 PM   #3
scoobyimprza
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 24956
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Littlestown PA
Vehicle:
1997 Impreza WRX
Steel Blue Mica

Default

I've pretty much figured out that I can't do it with this unit.
scoobyimprza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 01:22 PM   #4
offset
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32636
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Dayton, OH
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza STi
Silver/Silver

Default

I find it hard to believe the aux in can't be made to work. It should be as simple as plugging in the connector and switching the source on the HU to the aux port (but sometimes Sony isn't so easy in the car audio world). If that doesn't work out you can try the adapter linked below.

http://www.davidnavone.com/ipodadapters.htm

offset

BTW For everyone else I spoke with David and currently they DO NOT have an adapter for the Subaru head units; but we might be able to expect some in about six months.
offset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 01:25 PM   #5
scoobyimprza
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 24956
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Littlestown PA
Vehicle:
1997 Impreza WRX
Steel Blue Mica

Default

I was surprised too. I think that with a CD changer, there is a seperate cable that runs into the unit that gets signal and stuff. It's a large plug with 2 or 3 pins, the audio would just run into the RCA plugs. Oh well, I'm gonna get a cheap Pioneer Ipod ready head unit.
scoobyimprza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 01:26 PM   #6
9vapors
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 92582
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: IA
Vehicle:
*

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobyimprza
I've pretty much figured out that I can't do it with this unit.
You can try one of the DIN drawers I have, they are made by Sony! They are within this thread: http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...hlight=9vapors


Let me know if you want one!
9vapors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 11:35 PM   #7
ironfinger
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 64688
Join Date: Jun 2004
Vehicle:
04 Forester
Java Black

Default

did you try running a blank CD?

edit: I meant silent CD. A cd with a song track with no sound. This is the method to get MP3 players to work when using a headunits cd changer input.

Last edited by ironfinger; 06-08-2006 at 04:23 AM.
ironfinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2006, 08:24 AM   #8
scoobyimprza
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 24956
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Littlestown PA
Vehicle:
1997 Impreza WRX
Steel Blue Mica

Default

Hmmm, I'll try that actually. Just a track with no sound?
scoobyimprza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2006, 08:50 AM   #9
scoobyimprza
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 24956
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Littlestown PA
Vehicle:
1997 Impreza WRX
Steel Blue Mica

Default

Silent track CD didn't work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 9vapors
You can try one of the DIN drawers I have, they are made by Sony! They are within this thread: http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...hlight=9vapors


Let me know if you want one!
That's essentially what I already have. Thanks though.
scoobyimprza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2006, 09:38 AM   #10
cMags
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 88668
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lowell, MA
Vehicle:
'05 Outback Sport
5MT - Regal Blue / Grey

Outback Sport

Is there somewhere that you have to enable the aux-in? On my new Pioneer, I had to go into the setup (where I can change the time etc.) and set the aux-in to 'on'. Maybe there's something similar on the Sony. I know my old Sony wasn't the most straight-forwared when it came to setting things up (8 characters to describe some big, complex function makes things even more confusing).

What model HU is it? I believe that if you dig around on the Sony site, they have all the manuals for all their old HU's. Might want to try there.
cMags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2006, 09:45 AM   #11
scoobyimprza
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 24956
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Littlestown PA
Vehicle:
1997 Impreza WRX
Steel Blue Mica

Default

I looked at some manuals and came up empty. There is nothing in my menu settings to enable the AUX IN.
scoobyimprza is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
07 sti head-unit and aux plug in ChronicPoe Interior/Dressup/Audio & Security 3 03-08-2010 10:30 AM
WTT/WTB: 03 oem double head unit for aux-in oem cd player Freakstyle101891 Tri-State Area Private Classifieds 1 12-28-2008 04:15 AM
07 6disk head unit and aux jack Nickr9287 NWIC Private Classifieds 3 10-25-2007 12:19 AM
WTB: 07 stock stereo head unit and aux port pdxscoob NWIC Private Classifieds 1 08-06-2007 02:31 AM
any head Units with Aux in and Mp3? SubaruImpreza_power Car Audio, Video & Security 25 03-11-2006 11:01 AM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2022 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.