Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday August 16, 2018
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2008, 11:25 PM   #1
shadymilkman129
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 53651
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: West Bend, Wisconsin
Vehicle:
Cert Suby tech
specialist for hire!

Exclamation Problem starting after 6 speed swap.... Please help

First off I have a stage 4 car and upgraded to a 6 speed and a 6 speed exedy clutch and flywheel. However i have the stock wrx 5 speed starter in when I tried to start it. IT would not start and gave me the following codes:

P0183 Fuel temperature sensor A circuit high input
P1086 Tumble generator valve #2 (LH) position sensor circuit low input
P0328 Knock sensor circuit high input

I did do the tgv delete suring the swap, however I kept the rods in and the sensors connected. I also noticed that I found a ground with read and green wires (with 2 ground ends) that were not grounded to anything.
I did not change the fuel pump, I know p0183 occastionaly pops up after a walbaro install but mine has been installed for quite some time.
Do I need to change over to the sti starter? Also whats with the fuel sensor and the tgv sensor having low imput? Help would be greatly appreciated, and if anyone could direct my twoards a grounding schemetics sheet for an 02 wrx that would be awsome. Once again your help would be greatly greatly appreciated...
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
shadymilkman129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 07-19-2008, 12:54 AM   #2
williaty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 71092
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Delaware County, Ohio
Vehicle:
2005 2.5RS Wagon
Regal Blue Pearl

Default

I'm pretty sure you posted this in the wrong forum. Do you have a WRX to begin with or is this a WRX swap into a RS?
williaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 01:08 AM   #3
shadymilkman129
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 53651
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: West Bend, Wisconsin
Vehicle:
Cert Suby tech
specialist for hire!

Default

ITs a 6 speed sti tranny swap into an 02 wrx with utec, stage 4. I also decided to put in a 3 inch hard turbo inlet pipe and delete my tgv's as well. I put everything back together and now I get these codes. I just dont understand why. I rest my cars ecy deleted the codes and it happened agian, no start. Int he beginging it was trying to turn over, but buy the end after multiple more tried I ddint even hear the ulternating trying. Furthermore, I remeber when i would turn my key onto the on position i could usualy hear the warlbaro fuel pump, now i dont...

Does anyone know what causes high and low circut inputs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by williaty View Post
I'm pretty sure you posted this in the wrong forum. Do you have a WRX to begin with or is this a WRX swap into a RS?
shadymilkman129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 01:12 AM   #4
williaty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 71092
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Delaware County, Ohio
Vehicle:
2005 2.5RS Wagon
Regal Blue Pearl

Default

OK, see, the problem with that is that you posted in the Normally Aspirated Powertrain forum.

I reported your post to the mods, they should kick it to the correct forum for you.
williaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 01:16 AM   #5
shadymilkman129
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 53651
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: West Bend, Wisconsin
Vehicle:
Cert Suby tech
specialist for hire!

Default

gotchya, sorry about that. Thank you.


Quote:
Originally Posted by williaty View Post
OK, see, the problem with that is that you posted in the Normally Aspirated Powertrain forum.

I reported your post to the mods, they should kick it to the correct forum for you.
shadymilkman129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 10:22 AM   #6
sidewayz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5810
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Easton PA
Vehicle:
2001 S366 2.5RS

Default

where did you find this "ground" ?
sidewayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 01:26 PM   #7
shadymilkman129
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 53651
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: West Bend, Wisconsin
Vehicle:
Cert Suby tech
specialist for hire!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewayz View Post
where did you find this "ground" ?

IT was just loose behind the intercooler near the starter.
shadymilkman129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 02:33 PM   #8
sidewayz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5810
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Easton PA
Vehicle:
2001 S366 2.5RS

Default

there is no ground back there with those colors.
Those color wires are usually a power wire in a Subaru

There is a ground at the starter bk/yl
and a small ground on the pass side of the pitchstop.

http://ken-gilbert.com/wrx/mans/7%20-%20WIRING.PDF
sidewayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 05:59 PM   #9
parkes
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 166898
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Canada
Vehicle:
1994 T leg SS
ABM

Default

Do the little things, put a 6 speed starter there see if it helps, or compare product codes between the 5 speed and the 6 speed starter, chances are if there diffrent the starter is diffrent
parkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 06:22 PM   #10
shadymilkman129
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 53651
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: West Bend, Wisconsin
Vehicle:
Cert Suby tech
specialist for hire!

Default

Checked the denso number and there the exact smae starters, even counted the number of teeth. Im guessing i was missing the ground from my starter. I just need to find if the ground should bolt to the bottom bolt of the starter near the brass twist, or the top bolt which is a direct connection to the poisitive batter lead....

Also where to ground the other end to. I appreciate all the help guys
shadymilkman129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 06:28 PM   #11
parkes
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 166898
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Canada
Vehicle:
1994 T leg SS
ABM

Default

1 ground, starter to battery
parkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 06:38 PM   #12
shadymilkman129
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 53651
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: West Bend, Wisconsin
Vehicle:
Cert Suby tech
specialist for hire!

Default

So nothing gets attached to the lower bolt? just the leas to the battery on the top bolt and the 2 wire white plug>?
shadymilkman129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 06:51 PM   #13
novacivic
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 117980
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Rochester, NH
Vehicle:
2005 sti
wr blue

Default

do not hook the ground to the positive lead the ground goes on the mounting bolt for the starter
novacivic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2008, 10:54 AM   #14
dwx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8343
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Atlanta, GA
Vehicle:
2005 2012 Jeep
2013 DGM BRZ

Default

Bad ground. Like the guy above said, the ground wire actually attaches via one of the transmission bolts that holds the starter in place.
dwx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2008, 01:46 PM   #15
shadymilkman129
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 53651
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: West Bend, Wisconsin
Vehicle:
Cert Suby tech
specialist for hire!

Default

Ok so dont hook a ground up to either of the bolts that are on the starter, hook it up to one of the bolts holding it into the bellhousing? Ill try that and see if the starter works... I have no idea why my fuel pump is not working though. I tried plugging in the two green wires, I could hear the fans kicking in, but no fuel pump action... Is there a fuse for the fuel pump anywhere?


Quote:
Originally Posted by dwx View Post
Bad ground. Like the guy above said, the ground wire actually attaches via one of the transmission bolts that holds the starter in place.
shadymilkman129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2008, 08:29 PM   #16
Draco-REX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 63834
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Columbus, OH
Vehicle:
07 STI
OBP

Default

Your PM box is full so I can't reply. My thread doesn't apply to this, the wires I was talking about were in the steering column. Wish I could help more.
Draco-REX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2008, 09:43 PM   #17
mannac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 161038
Join Date: Oct 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Milwaukee
Vehicle:
2014 FiST

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadymilkman129 View Post
Ok so dont hook a ground up to either of the bolts that are on the starter, hook it up to one of the bolts holding it into the bellhousing? Ill try that and see if the starter works... I have no idea why my fuel pump is not working though. I tried plugging in the two green wires, I could hear the fans kicking in, but no fuel pump action... Is there a fuse for the fuel pump anywhere?
The fuel pump relay should be way on the passenger side to the right of the ecu but up where a bunch of wiring meets. The main relay is there (brown) and the fuel pump relay should be green right next to it.
mannac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 02:03 PM   #18
shadymilkman129
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 53651
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: West Bend, Wisconsin
Vehicle:
Cert Suby tech
specialist for hire!

Default

Should I reset the relay? the other codes are gone now, except for p1086. I found that the plugs under the rear seat were unplugged. I plugged them back in changed the #11 fuse that was blown for the fuel pump, i tried agian the fuel pump kicked on for a second and blew the fuse agian. I put a 20 amp fuse in it pumps fine but just turns over and over. How and I reset the fuel pump relay? Im going to check to see if my spark plugs are still firing but i doubt thats the issue...
shadymilkman129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
weird problems after 6 speed swap. Alaskan EJ20 Alaskan Impreza Club Forum -- AKIC 12 11-06-2008 04:30 PM
weird problems after 6 speed swap. Alaskan EJ20 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 1 08-17-2008 07:23 PM
weird problems after 6 speed swap. Alaskan EJ20 Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 3 08-15-2008 07:20 PM
weird problems after 6 speed swap. Alaskan EJ20 Electrical & Lighting 2 08-15-2008 05:24 PM
Problem with clutch after 6 speed swap scooby2.0t Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 33 03-10-2008 02:47 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.