Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday December 17, 2017
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > FA Series Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2017, 02:42 PM   #1
That_Boosted_Life
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 422693
Join Date: Jun 2015
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Buffalo,NY
Vehicle:
2016 WRX Premium
Lapis Blue Pearl

Default Fuel system readiness after tune

In the process of getting etune currently and having an issue getting this set. I've put over 50 miles on the current revision and it still hasn't set. EGR is ready even though I deleted which I found surprising. I wouldnt mind except my evap system has never been ready even on cobb ots stage 2. I live in NYS which only allows one of the monitors to be not ready which is why I am concerned. Anyone else have issues with this not setting with an etune?

Mods are full bolt on minus intercooler, headers and flex fuel
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
That_Boosted_Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 10-06-2017, 02:55 PM   #2
sth36
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 449914
Join Date: Jun 2016
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Vehicle:
2016 WRX, Stg 2, FF
Ice Silver

Default

We've got pretty much the same setup except I don't have a header. I'm tuned by PhatRon and he said my evap and fuel system will never read as ready as I'm running FTCL. Luckily I have an older tune that is open loop that I can reflash when I need to pass inspection. You may be able to reach out to your tuner for a base open loop map so that your fuel system reads as Ready.
sth36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 02:57 PM   #3
blackote
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 440000
Join Date: Feb 2016
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Vehicle:
2016 WRX / Flex Fuel
CBS

Default

I've noticed that my EVAP system readiness monitor takes awhile to switch to ready. My Commute to work is 60 miles one way mostly freeway. I believe there is a certain drive cycle you need to achieve.
blackote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 03:35 PM   #4
That_Boosted_Life
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 422693
Join Date: Jun 2015
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Buffalo,NY
Vehicle:
2016 WRX Premium
Lapis Blue Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sth36 View Post
We've got pretty much the same setup except I don't have a header. I'm tuned by PhatRon and he said my evap and fuel system will never read as ready as I'm running FTCL. Luckily I have an older tune that is open loop that I can reflash when I need to pass inspection. You may be able to reach out to your tuner for a base open loop map so that your fuel system reads as Ready.
Getting etune by him now currently as well. Haven't asked yet but hopefully he will send me a base map which will allow it to ready and allow me to pass inspection

Is your old tune by him that runs in open loop or did u use a different tuner?
That_Boosted_Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 03:41 PM   #5
alapilusa
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 424692
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
WRB

Default

I've read that there are like 3 or 4 different drive cycle types you need to complete for that to be "ready". something like 15 mph for 2 minutes straight, 30mph for 4 minutes straight, and like 60mph for 5 minutes straight. it goes through some sort of testing stuff at those drive cycles and need that to be "ready" i think.
alapilusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 04:13 PM   #6
sth36
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 449914
Join Date: Jun 2016
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Vehicle:
2016 WRX, Stg 2, FF
Ice Silver

Default

So I'm far from an expert on this but this is my understanding--having a FTCL tune (not sure if that's specific to flex fuel or not) means that the fuel system will never show readiness. I've driven thousands of miles (short trips, long trips, and everything between) without resetting my ECU and it never showed ready. Either has my EVAP system on ANY TUNE I've had on the car. In PA i'm allowed one readiness monitor to not show readiness just like you in NY.

My last tuner (Eric at Torqued Performance) used open loop tuning and I can pass inspection with just my Evap system not being ready. When I have to pass inspection, I reflash the old TP tune, go through the drive cycle, and BOOM-inspection ready. Then I reflash to my [email protected] Phatbotti tune and drive off into the sunset!
sth36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 05:16 PM   #7
That_Boosted_Life
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 422693
Join Date: Jun 2015
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Buffalo,NY
Vehicle:
2016 WRX Premium
Lapis Blue Pearl

Default

I'll have to send ron an email to see if he can send a base map that doesn't run full time closed loop so I can pass inspection. Would hate to have to buy a tune from torqued performance just for a base map to pass emissions.
That_Boosted_Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 05:20 PM   #8
GlarryHoodDIT
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 460907
Join Date: Jan 2017
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado
Vehicle:
2016 WRX
Phatron Tuned

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by That_Boosted_Life View Post
I'll have to send ron an email to see if he can send a base map that doesn't run full time closed loop so I can pass inspection. Would hate to have to buy a tune from torqued performance just for a base map to pass emissions.
Ron should be able to help you. It IS from being full time closed loop.

https://forums.nasioc.com/forums/sho...5&postcount=29
https://forums.nasioc.com/forums/sho...1&postcount=30
GlarryHoodDIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2017, 11:16 AM   #9
ericdet
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 327563
Join Date: Jul 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cincinnati
Vehicle:
2017 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sth36 View Post
We've got pretty much the same setup except I don't have a header. I'm tuned by PhatRon and he said my evap and fuel system will never read as ready as I'm running FTCL. Luckily I have an older tune that is open loop that I can reflash when I need to pass inspection. You may be able to reach out to your tuner for a base open loop map so that your fuel system reads as Ready.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sth36 View Post
So I'm far from an expert on this but this is my understanding--having a FTCL tune (not sure if that's specific to flex fuel or not) means that the fuel system will never show readiness. I've driven thousands of miles (short trips, long trips, and everything between) without resetting my ECU and it never showed ready. Either has my EVAP system on ANY TUNE I've had on the car. In PA i'm allowed one readiness monitor to not show readiness just like you in NY.

My last tuner (Eric at Torqued Performance) used open loop tuning and I can pass inspection with just my Evap system not being ready. When I have to pass inspection, I reflash the old TP tune, go through the drive cycle, and BOOM-inspection ready. Then I reflash to my [email protected] Phatbotti tune and drive off into the sunset!
Quote:
Originally Posted by GlarryHoodDIT View Post
Ron should be able to help you. It IS from being full time closed loop.

https://forums.nasioc.com/forums/sho...5&postcount=29
https://forums.nasioc.com/forums/sho...1&postcount=30
I'm FTCL. All of mine are set.
ericdet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2017, 10:19 PM   #10
sth36
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 449914
Join Date: Jun 2016
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Vehicle:
2016 WRX, Stg 2, FF
Ice Silver

Default

You sir, are one lucky guy. Maybe Botti can chime in and tell us all his secrets 👍
sth36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 01:57 AM   #11
GlarryHoodDIT
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 460907
Join Date: Jan 2017
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado
Vehicle:
2016 WRX
Phatron Tuned

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericdet View Post
I'm FTCL. All of mine are set.
This guy.
GlarryHoodDIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 07:57 AM   #12
arghx7
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 232940
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: cold
Default

this post talks about the drive cycles:

https://forums.nasioc.com/forums/sho...0&postcount=10
arghx7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 09:41 AM   #13
ericdet
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 327563
Join Date: Jul 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cincinnati
Vehicle:
2017 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GlarryHoodDIT View Post
This guy.


Iíll have to run some logs to see if my car clips into open loop somewhere I donít know about.
ericdet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 05:36 PM   #14
That_Boosted_Life
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 422693
Join Date: Jun 2015
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Buffalo,NY
Vehicle:
2016 WRX Premium
Lapis Blue Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericdet View Post
Iíll have to run some logs to see if my car clips into open loop somewhere I donít know about.
I know my closed loop monitor on the ap goes off when I let off throttle while getting off throttle. Not sure if this means I am not full time closed loop or not. If not, then I guess this isn't the issue as to why I'm not getting the fuel system monitor to ready itself
That_Boosted_Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 05:58 PM   #15
GlarryHoodDIT
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 460907
Join Date: Jan 2017
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado
Vehicle:
2016 WRX
Phatron Tuned

Default

It's really easy to tell. Do you see AF Learning and correction active at WOT? Yes then you're in full time closed loop.
GlarryHoodDIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 10:26 AM   #16
sth36
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 449914
Join Date: Jun 2016
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Vehicle:
2016 WRX, Stg 2, FF
Ice Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sth36 View Post
So I'm far from an expert on this but this is my understanding--having a FTCL tune (not sure if that's specific to flex fuel or not) means that the fuel system will never show readiness. I've driven thousands of miles (short trips, long trips, and everything between) without resetting my ECU and it never showed ready. Either has my EVAP system on ANY TUNE I've had on the car. In PA i'm allowed one readiness monitor to not show readiness just like you in NY.

My last tuner (Eric at Torqued Performance) used open loop tuning and I can pass inspection with just my Evap system not being ready. When I have to pass inspection, I reflash the old TP tune, go through the drive cycle, and BOOM-inspection ready. Then I reflash to my [email protected] Phatbotti tune and drive off into the sunset!
So turns out I was wrong--my fuel readiness is showing ready now. I must have drive 4000 MIXED miles without reflashing and it never went ready. About a month ago I changed my intake and got the MAF rescaled and I check this morning and BOOM-Fuel System Ready. Evap is still a no-go but I can pass with one!

Maybe there is something to the drive cycle...
sth36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 12:27 PM   #17
That_Boosted_Life
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 422693
Join Date: Jun 2015
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Buffalo,NY
Vehicle:
2016 WRX Premium
Lapis Blue Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sth36 View Post
So turns out I was wrong--my fuel readiness is showing ready now. I must have drive 4000 MIXED miles without reflashing and it never went ready. About a month ago I changed my intake and got the MAF rescaled and I check this morning and BOOM-Fuel System Ready. Evap is still a no-go but I can pass with one!

Maybe there is something to the drive cycle...
Is that on the ron watson etune?
That_Boosted_Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 01:51 PM   #18
sth36
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 449914
Join Date: Jun 2016
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Vehicle:
2016 WRX, Stg 2, FF
Ice Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by That_Boosted_Life View Post
Is that on the ron watson etune?
Yessir!
sth36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 07:09 PM   #19
ericdet
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 327563
Join Date: Jul 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cincinnati
Vehicle:
2017 WRX
WRB

Default Fuel system readiness after tune

Quote:
Originally Posted by That_Boosted_Life View Post
I know my closed loop monitor on the ap goes off when I let off throttle while getting off throttle. Not sure if this means I am not full time closed loop or not. If not, then I guess this isn't the issue as to why I'm not getting the fuel system monitor to ready itself


Mine does the same thing. Any throttle input takes it back to CL.

Glarrys car does the same thing and Iíd imagine sth36 sees the same thing.
ericdet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 10:47 AM   #20
sth36
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 449914
Join Date: Jun 2016
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Vehicle:
2016 WRX, Stg 2, FF
Ice Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericdet View Post
Mine does the same thing. Any throttle input takes it back to CL.

Glarrys car does the same thing and Iíd imagine sth36 sees the same thing.
Now that I'm looking at my logs, I can see that you're right--98% of the time I'm closed loop but the switch does get flipped based on throttle position.

So "full time closed loop" isn't actually full-time closed loop after all. Interesting.
sth36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 09:50 PM   #21
That_Boosted_Life
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 422693
Join Date: Jun 2015
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Buffalo,NY
Vehicle:
2016 WRX Premium
Lapis Blue Pearl

Default

Just got an email back from my tuner saying I will have to do another tune in open loop. Not sure if I will have to pay for it or not. Don't really feel like spending big money on a tune that I use once a year just to pass inspection
That_Boosted_Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 01:19 AM   #22
Blue Rex 15
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 476303
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Mississippi
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
WR Blue

Default

Are these tunes pretty simple for DIY or would it require taking to a shop?
Blue Rex 15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 02:16 AM   #23
GlarryHoodDIT
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 460907
Join Date: Jan 2017
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado
Vehicle:
2016 WRX
Phatron Tuned

Default

You need to do between 100-1000% more research before considering modding your car with a question like that.
GlarryHoodDIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2017, 09:56 AM   #24
That_Boosted_Life
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 422693
Join Date: Jun 2015
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Buffalo,NY
Vehicle:
2016 WRX Premium
Lapis Blue Pearl

Default

Just got an open loop map yesterday afternoon. Drove roughly 25 miles and so far fuel system isn't set, but all others (excluding evap) have set. Wondering if I need to drive more, or if it has to do with my j pipe. I've read that having the cat after the o2 sensors (GS ctted) could cause the fuel system to not ready itself.

I remember this taking forever to set when I was cobb stage 2 but it did eventually set
That_Boosted_Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2017, 06:25 PM   #25
RussianTiny
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 387467
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Rochester NY
Vehicle:
2018 WRX Limited
WRB Stage 2 FlexFuel

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by That_Boosted_Life View Post
Just got an open loop map yesterday afternoon. Drove roughly 25 miles and so far fuel system isn't set, but all others (excluding evap) have set. Wondering if I need to drive more, or if it has to do with my j pipe. I've read that having the cat after the o2 sensors (GS ctted) could cause the fuel system to not ready itself.

I remember this taking forever to set when I was cobb stage 2 but it did eventually set


IIRC most (if not all) tunes will make your fuel system not ready. That has been my experience in the past but most states will allow you 1 emissions monitor to be not ready. If Iím incorrect about the monitor someone please jump in.
RussianTiny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.