Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday February 18, 2018
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo)

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2004, 12:12 PM   #1
SupraScooby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52123
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Texas
Vehicle:
05 WRB STi
04 AW STi GT30R [RIP]

Default 04/05 STi ecu swap...will it work?

might be getting a reflashed ecutek 05 sti ecu...will it work in my 04? thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
SupraScooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 11-07-2004, 06:24 PM   #2
SupraScooby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52123
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Texas
Vehicle:
05 WRB STi
04 AW STi GT30R [RIP]

Default

bump
SupraScooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 06:31 PM   #3
John Sever
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22866
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NOVA
Vehicle:
2007 Victory
Vegas 8 Ball Black

Default

yeah
John Sever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 06:34 PM   #4
SupraScooby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52123
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Texas
Vehicle:
05 WRB STi
04 AW STi GT30R [RIP]

Default

so the lack of an immobilizer wouldnt have any effect on start up?
SupraScooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 08:25 PM   #5
Physics Junkie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 65609
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: <3s me some SCIC.
Default

I think they changed things with the 05 ecu due to new OBD-II requirements...so I'm not sure how well it would work. Might want to call up Subaru.
Physics Junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 09:55 PM   #6
fastsubie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21999
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Central PA
Vehicle:
2017 Wrx
DGM

Default

no it will not work.. immobilizer in 05 = no worky....

Fess
fastsubie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2004, 11:46 PM   #7
WRX Jim
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22321
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Germantown MD
Default

100% . wont work.

we have tried it.
WRX Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2004, 12:40 AM   #8
Jon [in CT]
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 2992
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut, USA
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sedan
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRX Jim
100% . wont work.

we have tried it.
You've actually tried to use a 2005 ECU that was relashed via EcuTeK in a 2004 STi car? I'm impressed, and surprised.
Jon [in CT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2004, 12:56 AM   #9
WRX Jim
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22321
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Germantown MD
Default

o.. no i have not. i didnt read it very well.

a stock 04 ecu will not work on a 05.

im guessing the main reason is the immoblizer
WRX Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2004, 01:00 AM   #10
SupraScooby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52123
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Texas
Vehicle:
05 WRB STi
04 AW STi GT30R [RIP]

Default

but i mean will the 05ecu work in an 04??? or could any ECUTEK dealers/reflashers get it to work with a reflash?

Last edited by SupraScooby; 11-08-2004 at 02:08 AM.
SupraScooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2004, 01:30 PM   #11
vteckiller01
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 61516
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New York
Vehicle:
2005 sti wrb
t67 and a whole lot more!

Default

this is whats going on. me and suprascooby are are going to swap ecu's. I have an 05 ecutek with same mods as he has an 04 sti with utec. I want the option of map switching and rev launching. he i imagine doesnt need all of that. We are going to overnight ecu's but are hte cars going to start with the new computer's in. The 05 have immobilizer and the 04's dont. will this be a problem???
vteckiller01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
slider and rail for 04 wrx-from these pics, will it work? jaegmeister Interior & Exterior Modification 1 03-11-2010 09:27 PM
2002 WRX to 2000 2.5rs swap, will it work? Cyclops Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 4 02-04-2009 04:19 AM
JDM FXT EJ255 Swap, will it work? 06hwrx Subaru Conversions 2 10-08-2008 10:44 AM
JDM FXT EJ255 Swap, will it work? 06hwrx Built Motor Discussion 0 10-07-2008 12:29 AM
Tranny Swap...Will it work? Boost4U Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 1 07-30-2003 02:41 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.