Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday April 18, 2021
Home Forums Images WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2021, 11:13 PM   #1
spiralsmurf
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16085
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Chatsworth, CA
Vehicle:
2005 STi
Black

Default Ej207 into GD sti

Does it make more sense to buy a v10 ej207 and disable the exhaust avcs or get a v8/9 ej207 and swap the cams/sensors plus convert to DBW. The price of v10 motors is not that much more than v8/9 and with added labor it seems like a wash.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
spiralsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 02-22-2021, 09:59 AM   #2
snow_bound26
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 395793
Join Date: Jul 2014
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: SLC and Lake Placid
Vehicle:
2005 92x Aero
Beige

Default

There are several things that will need to be addressed to make this work in an STi. For instance, cam position sensors and pick up points are different. JDM cams have up to 40* of advance. USDM have 30*.

Converting to DBW is simple since your car already has the wiring and sensors for it. Just swap the corresponding parts/wiring to the new engine. Probably better to do this than delete the ex AVCS. You could always plug the oil feed into the ex cam on the v10 and retain the cam designed to work at high rpm. The v10 does have thicker cyl walls than the other versions. But either way you're still stuck with altering the cam sensors and their location to work with the ECU. It would be easier to get another 2.5 long block or rebuild what you have. There's reasons why people generally don't swap 207s into cars newer than 2004/2005 (depending on which model).
snow_bound26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 10:35 AM   #3
spiralsmurf
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16085
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Chatsworth, CA
Vehicle:
2005 STi
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snow_bound26 View Post
There are several things that will need to be addressed to make this work in an STi. For instance, cam position sensors and pick up points are different. JDM cams have up to 40* of advance. USDM have 30*.

Converting to DBW is simple since your car already has the wiring and sensors for it. Just swap the corresponding parts/wiring to the new engine. Probably better to do this than delete the ex AVCS. You could always plug the oil feed into the ex cam on the v10 and retain the cam designed to work at high rpm. The v10 does have thicker cyl walls than the other versions. But either way you're still stuck with altering the cam sensors and their location to work with the ECU. It would be easier to get another 2.5 long block or rebuild what you have. There's reasons why people generally don't swap 207s into cars newer than 2004/2005 (depending on which model).
Thanks for your response. Isnít the ďv10Ē already DBW and has the correct cam position sensors so all thatís needed is to lock the exhaust avcs and remove the air pump setup?
spiralsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 12:37 PM   #4
motorbykemike
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 273868
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Default

Absolutely v10 for the reasons you stated

I would replace the exhaust cams with non avcs

Pre makes a exhaust avcs solenoid delete kit of just abandon them in place if they donít get fouled on your header

Use your existing engine wiring harness , coils , and intake manifold

Been there , done that
motorbykemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 12:44 PM   #5
spiralsmurf
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16085
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Chatsworth, CA
Vehicle:
2005 STi
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by motorbykemike View Post
Absolutely v10 for the reasons you stated

I would replace the exhaust cams with non avcs

Pre makes a exhaust avcs solenoid delete kit of just abandon them in place if they donít get fouled on your header

Use your existing engine wiring harness , coils , and intake manifold

Been there , done that
Thanks for the confirmation. Did you mean IA performance has the avcs delete?

Iím also considering to run a haltech or aem standalone with harness and just the stock ecu for smog as needed. That way I can run the dual avcs still. Bit more cash and not legal but itís gonna work 100%.
spiralsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 02:15 PM   #6
motorbykemike
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 273868
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Default

Not the ia kit

Thatís totally different

Change the exhaust cams ,gears and cam seals to non avcs

Pavels racing engines , you completely remove the exhaust avcs components from the bottom of the heads and the kit is plates with proper oil passageways and hardware

Still need to swap the cams to keep proper valve timing events

Just blockingís the oil holes to the gears is not the way I do it because avcs and non avcs cams have different timing
motorbykemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 02:23 PM   #7
motorbykemike
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 273868
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Default

If you are worried about Cali smog and need to use the oem tune the v10 , modded like above or not is not the right engine for you as it will run like total ass on the usdm 2.5 tune . It will run , but it will knock and have a funky power delivery , if youíre using and ap you could build a proper tune and go back to stock for smog

Otherwise if you need to use the stock tune just put a new 2.5 in it
motorbykemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 02:26 PM   #8
spiralsmurf
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16085
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Chatsworth, CA
Vehicle:
2005 STi
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by motorbykemike View Post
If you are worried about Cali smog and need to use the oem tune the v10 , modded like above or not is not the right engine for you as it will run like total ass on the usdm 2.5 tune . It will run , but it will knock and have a funky power delivery , if youíre using and ap you could build a proper tune and go back to stock for smog

Otherwise if you need to use the stock tune just put a new 2.5 in it
I will definitely have the stock ECU tunes properly to run the ej207 for smog. Not planning to cut any corners. Iím not worried about the smog
Iíd just rather spend money doing it right and swap ecus than look for hot smogs. Especially since they donít even sniffer.
spiralsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2021, 09:54 AM   #9
subaru_gc8
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29292
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Orange County CA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX wagon
silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiralsmurf View Post
I will definitely have the stock ECU tunes properly to run the ej207 for smog. Not planning to cut any corners. Iím not worried about the smog
Iíd just rather spend money doing it right and swap ecus than look for hot smogs. Especially since they donít even sniffer.
uhh so now it they are looking for differences in the tuning and setting on your ecu for our smog program. Ie loking for tunes and you will need one on your stock udsm ecu if you plan to use it for smog here in california
subaru_gc8 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2021, 08:21 AM   #10
wooshwoosh
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 514853
Join Date: May 2020
Chapter/Region: International
Vehicle:
2005 GDB-E

Default

@spiralsmurf

Does your 05 STi have secondary air injection, and is it DBW?

I have an 05 STi, AUS DM - these came with an EJ207 with single AVCS on the intake cam, no TGV's, no secondary air injection nonsense, a mechanical throttle body and a single scroll IHI VF35 turbine.

For me, swapping to a v10 is not an easy plug in swap due to the dual AVCS and compability issues with the factory v7/8 ECU / aftermarket ECU requirements. If swapping to a JDM v10 ECU, I'd have to swap over all the locks and immobilizer as the ECU, key and immobilizer are all paired together.

Blanking the AVCS oil ports out doesn't seem like a trivial task and the cam sensors are likely to be offset on the ver10 heads. I'm not even sure if my v8 intake manifolds would bolt up to the v10 block.

On a side note, I'm currently dealing with a cracked cylinder head and a knocking motor. Trying find compatible 2L cylinder heads for v8 EJ207 block is a nightmare. Everything 06' and up has secondary air injeclion, or is a 2.5L head with different head volume CC's and head dome profiles (the V-Shaped pentroof design is needed). I know of a guy with another 05' STi who eventually managed to get 2.5L EJ257 heads working on his EJ207 block, but not after messing with cam sensor positioning and went aftermarket with his ECU. I'm not sure if he lost DCCD, or had it impaired due to the aftermarket ECU.

Last edited by wooshwoosh; 03-02-2021 at 08:27 AM.
wooshwoosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2021, 08:58 AM   #11
spiralsmurf
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16085
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Chatsworth, CA
Vehicle:
2005 STi
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by subaru_gc8 View Post
uhh so now it they are looking for differences in the tuning and setting on your ecu for our smog program. Ie loking for tunes and you will need one on your stock udsm ecu if you plan to use it for smog here in california
Iíve not heard of any test stations doing this.
spiralsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2021, 09:02 AM   #12
spiralsmurf
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16085
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Chatsworth, CA
Vehicle:
2005 STi
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wooshwoosh View Post
@spiralsmurf

Does your 05 STi have secondary air injection, and is it DBW?

I have an 05 STi, AUS DM - these came with an EJ207 with single AVCS on the intake cam, no TGV's, no secondary air injection nonsense, a mechanical throttle body and a single scroll IHI VF35 turbine.

For me, swapping to a v10 is not an easy plug in swap due to the dual AVCS and compability issues with the factory v7/8 ECU / aftermarket ECU requirements. If swapping to a JDM v10 ECU, I'd have to swap over all the locks and immobilizer as the ECU, key and immobilizer are all paired together.

Blanking the AVCS oil ports out doesn't seem like a trivial task and the cam sensors are likely to be offset on the ver10 heads. I'm not even sure if my v8 intake manifolds would bolt up to the v10 block.

On a side note, I'm currently dealing with a cracked cylinder head and a knocking motor. Trying find compatible 2L cylinder heads for v8 EJ207 block is a nightmare. Everything 06' and up has secondary air injeclion, or is a 2.5L head with different head volume CC's and head dome profiles (the V-Shaped pentroof design is needed). I know of a guy with another 05' STi who eventually managed to get 2.5L EJ257 heads working on his EJ207 block, but not after messing with cam sensor positioning and went aftermarket with his ECU. I'm not sure if he lost DCCD, or had it impaired due to the aftermarket ECU.
Sounds like you need to import a motor from Japan and sell off the short block. Different story than us in the US. But ya I'm trying to avoid opening the heads and replacing cams on either a v7-9 or v10 motor.

I found a device that converts the signal from a 2 wire cam sensor to 3 wire and I'm thinking I may just do that for emissions testing and run a stand-alone ecu the rest of the time.
spiralsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.