Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday April 11, 2021
Home Forums Images WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo)

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2021, 09:42 AM   #1
je03672
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 522375
Join Date: Feb 2021
Default JDM EJ205 TPS sensor

Hi,
So I ordered a used EJ205 with AVCS from JDMRacingMotors and I also ordered the JDM ECU and engine harness with it. My throttle body would not bolt onto the JDM intake so I swapped the upper intake manifold from my old engine onto this one.

The problem iím having is I do not have any connectors on the JDM engine harness that will match my TPMS, IAC, and the other sensor on the throttle body. Do any of you know the pin out for this 6 wire connector? I assume I should be able to repin it so that it will work. Or do you have any other ideas?
Pictures-
https://postimg.cc/gallery/F9Z9nJV
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by je03672; 02-27-2021 at 09:48 AM.
je03672 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 02-27-2021, 10:29 AM   #2
subaru_gc8
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29292
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Orange County CA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX wagon
silver

Default

subaru_gc8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 10:36 AM   #3
je03672
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 522375
Join Date: Feb 2021
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by subaru_gc8 View Post
Heís closed on weekends. I was hoping to have some help right now.
je03672 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 03:58 PM   #4
snow_bound26
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 395793
Join Date: Jul 2014
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: SLC and Lake Placid
Vehicle:
2005 92x Aero
Beige

Default JDM EJ205 TPS sensor

Why were you swapping throttle bodies in the first place? What car is this going into? This can make a difference. When doing swaps into 02-05 WRXs, I haven't had to change any intake parts just to be able to plug sensors or any electrical in. Makes me think you have an N/A car you're swapping this into.
snow_bound26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 04:02 PM   #5
je03672
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 522375
Join Date: Feb 2021
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snow_bound26 View Post
Why were you swapping throttle bodies? I've done a couple JDM swaps and never had to do this. Everything just plugged right in.
This engine did not come with a throttle body unfortunately. The seller told me I would have to swap my upper manifold and throttle body onto this engine. It was supposed to be plug and play but you know how that goes...

I repinned the wires for the TPS but iím still in the dark on the IAC and pressure sensor. Apparently the forester used a 6 wire plunger style IAC and no pressure sensor so iím trying to figure out if I can make this work or if I need to buy a throttle body for a forester and see if that will work.

Idk iím kinda stuck at the moment.
je03672 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 06:40 PM   #6
D-Rodman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 110078
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Long Island N.Y.
Vehicle:
02 Bugeye JDM STi
OBP BLACK

Default JDM EJ205 TPS sensor

I think you need to keep your intake manifold ant throttle body. You would then need a jdm ej205 throttle by cable engine harness.
I have a complete JDM intake manifold with the correct harness.
It came off the last jdm ej205 motor I purchased last year.
I installed a complete jdm STi intake manifold on my motor for the factory oem TGV delete and because some of the wires on the jdm manifold were in poor condition.
Iíd be willing to sell you the harness, it is in working condition, I used it on my car almost 2 months without any problems. You will definitely want to inspect it and replace a couple of wires, I just wrapped them on electrical tape to drive the car while looking for TGV deletes. A complete manifold came along so I put the ej205 intake manifold on the side as spare.
IA tuning sells the harness new, itís expensive.

https://iatuning.com/products/jdm-su...wiring-harness

You could by my harness for $100 shipped.
Pm me if interested.

Last edited by D-Rodman; 02-27-2021 at 06:45 PM.
D-Rodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 06:45 PM   #7
je03672
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 522375
Join Date: Feb 2021
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Rodman View Post
I think you need to keep your intake manifold ant throttle body. You would then need a jdm ej205 throttle by cable engine harness.
I have a complete JDM intake manifold with the correct harness.
It came off the last jdm ej205 motor I purchased last year.
I installed a complete jdm STi intake manifold on my motor for the factory oem TGV delete and because some of the wires on the jdm manifold were in poor condition.
Iíd be willing to sell you the harness, it is in working condition, I used it on my car almost 2 months without any problems. You will definitely want to inspect it and replace a couple of wires, I just wrapped them on electrical tape to drive the car while looking for TGV deletes. A complete manifold came along so I put the ej205 intake manifold on the side as spare.
IA tuning sells the harness new, itís expensive.

https://iatuning.com/products/jdm-su...wiring-harness
I appreciate the thought but I have the JDM engine harness which is why I have a problem. I swapped my USDM STI manifold and throttle body onto the JDM EJ205. The JDM harness connector for IAC and TPS does not match up to my USDM harness. The pressure sensor also is not included in the JDM harness.
je03672 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 06:47 PM   #8
D-Rodman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 110078
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Long Island N.Y.
Vehicle:
02 Bugeye JDM STi
OBP BLACK

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by je03672 View Post
I appreciate the thought but I have the JDM engine harness also which is why I have a problem. The JDM harness connector for IAC and TPS does not match up to my USDM harness. The pressure sensor also is not included in the JDM harness.


You have a harness for a drive by wire application, you need a throttle by cable harness.
D-Rodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 06:48 PM   #9
je03672
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 522375
Join Date: Feb 2021
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Rodman View Post
You have a harness for a drive by wire application, you need a throttle by cable harness.
Hmm, I thought JDM was throttle by cable? I have that harness installed right now. It has AVCS and TGV delete.
je03672 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 06:50 PM   #10
D-Rodman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 110078
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Long Island N.Y.
Vehicle:
02 Bugeye JDM STi
OBP BLACK

Default JDM EJ205 TPS sensor

You have a jdm ej205 avcs motor off a forester probably, the had a drive by wire throttle body. You need a drive by cable harness.

Throttle by wire


Throttle by cable

D-Rodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 06:51 PM   #11
je03672
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 522375
Join Date: Feb 2021
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Rodman View Post
You have a jdm ej205 avcs motor off a forester probably, the had a drive by wire throttle body. You need a drive by cable harness.
Gotcha ok, yeah pretty sure it came off a forester because they used the 6 wire plunger style IAC...

I was able to repin the TPS but still not sure about the IAC. I think I might just pick up a used forester TB with sensors and swap it out
je03672 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 06:54 PM   #12
D-Rodman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 110078
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Long Island N.Y.
Vehicle:
02 Bugeye JDM STi
OBP BLACK

Default JDM EJ205 TPS sensor

You need to make sure whatever route you choose is compatible with the ecu and wiring.

Google search the ecu part number.

If you plan on using the usdm ecu for some reason you canít run a throttle by wire setup. If you are only going to run on a jdm ecu then you need to find out what your ecu is for. 16 bit throttle by cable or 32 bit throttle by wire.

Your car is wired for 16 bit ecu, implementation of 32 bit is complicated.

You might be able to use the jdm harness if you can repin and get the correct plugs.

Last edited by D-Rodman; 02-27-2021 at 07:06 PM.
D-Rodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.