Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday December 13, 2017
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2005, 02:42 PM   #1
Drifting Away
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 70165
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Köln, Germany
Vehicle:
2006 WRX STi
Teh Wineberry Legend

Default OT How Do i hook my comp up to my TV?

Im buying a Sony 27inch Flat screen for my room today and wondering how do i hook my computer up to my TV.. So basically i wanna use my TV screen as my montior sometimes.

Is there something that connects to the USB port or what?

Help a Newb out...

Heres a banana for the person that helps me out
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Drifting Away is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 12-15-2005, 02:43 PM   #2
NJSwamplands
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 97227
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NJBumplands™
Default

contact the guy that made your engine , i think his name is DOHC
NJSwamplands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 02:43 PM   #3
env
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 96705
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Believe me, growing up in Cali
Vehicle:
Aint Eazy

Default

Tv In Tv Out!
env is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 02:44 PM   #4
styng88
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 55541
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: BFE, Pennsylvania
Vehicle:
05 Saabaru
96 Miata

Default

Search for a scan converter if you don't have VGA on your monitor.
styng88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 02:45 PM   #5
vapore0n
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21356
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Can't catch me!
Vehicle:
2017 Subaru Corolla
STI Limited SE-R Type (R)

Default

vga, component, dvi or dvi->hdmi
svideo works but sucks

check your tv and video card first

I use my 32" LCD TV as monitor, and tv
vapore0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 02:45 PM   #6
Anub1s
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 81106
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: SL,UT
Vehicle:
2014 Baby Mobile
Whitey White

Default

Just because i want the banana:
If you have a video card that has an S-video out you can use that if your TV has an S-Video input. If not, I'm not sure if there are VGA to RCA cables out there, but there might be.
Anub1s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 02:46 PM   #7
Drifting Away
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 70165
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Köln, Germany
Vehicle:
2006 WRX STi
Teh Wineberry Legend

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJSwamplands
contact the guy that made your engine , i think his name is DOHC
Flaming as expected... ive been lurking OT for a while
Drifting Away is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 02:47 PM   #8
styng88
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 55541
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: BFE, Pennsylvania
Vehicle:
05 Saabaru
96 Miata

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anub1s
Just because i want the banana:
I'm not sure if there are VGA to RCA cables out there, but there might be.
Nope, sorry. A scan converter is the only way.
styng88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 02:49 PM   #9
Drifting Away
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 70165
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Köln, Germany
Vehicle:
2006 WRX STi
Teh Wineberry Legend

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by styng88
Nope, sorry. A scan converter is the only way.
Searching now
Drifting Away is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 02:54 PM   #10
vapore0n
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21356
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Can't catch me!
Vehicle:
2017 Subaru Corolla
STI Limited SE-R Type (R)

Default

you havent mentioned what video card you have. If all you have is VGA coming out from your computer and tv doesnt have vga then yes, you need a vga to rgb(component) converter. ATI sells a converter like this for their cards.
vapore0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 11:04 PM   #11
alacrity024
Review Crew
 
Member#: 49476
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Out of the car, long-hair!!
Default

yeah man on my video card i have a regular VGA output AND an S-Video output. someone was over at my house and they had this little pouch of all these converters and one of them was S-Video to RCA video (the "yellow" in the red, white and yellow audio/video cable) so i just bought a single very long RCA cable, tweaked some settings in the video card setup and voiioiola!
alacrity024 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 11:09 PM   #12
Reciprocity
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1165
Join Date: Mar 2000
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Hail Darkness
Vehicle:
2012 dcrawford died
for your sins

Default

I had a crappy, but loved at the time, Nvida MX440 that has a funky green box that connected to the video card. This funky box has S-video and RCA in/out and I could do the whole "TV screen as my monitor" or "play PS2 on my computer monitor" gig.

The quality was less than fantastic, but it worked really well and was easy to use.

Oh yeah, this funky green box had cable in as well and I could watch TV on my comp...which actually was really sweet. It was like TIVO Light.

Personally I'd say All In Wonder FTW...but I'm just a moron...so I could be wrong.
Reciprocity is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A/V People...I want to hook my ipod up to my A/V Receiver...What do I need? Neek Off-Topic 10 02-07-2008 01:08 PM
How do I wire a MattJK screen to my cd player? sc00bywagon Car Audio, Video & Security 2 10-12-2005 10:51 AM
how do you hook an aem wideband to a utec? kharris4 Engine Management & Tuning 0 09-09-2005 05:40 PM
how do I mate the HKS SSQV to my TurboXS FMIC fatray Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 16 02-08-2005 08:03 PM
OT: How do I hook PC to TV to play DVDs? Siper2 New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 20 05-21-2002 06:22 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.