Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday September 29, 2020
Home Forums Images WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Member's Car Gallery

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2019, 09:24 PM   #626
remski
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 151895
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default

And... 9 days later this guy finally arrived.
Extended wait courtesy of the local Subaru dealer.




Installed and looking good. (or is it?)



And here we go again... 10 gallons in !!!
Out it comes again.




It was still binding somewhere but I cant see where...
Started looking at pictures and the siphon tube was bent past the float.
It should have been "below" the float as it is now.




Empty, refil, Danielo son..
Once the passenger fuel bay was empty I bridged the return hose to test the new jet-pump.
Works like a charm sucking fuel into the passenger's bay.
This went on back and forth few times as I couldnt tell if all the fuel was pumped out of driver's bay.




Final re-fuel..

0


5


10


15



So.. now you have your gallons to gauge reference.
You're welcome.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
remski is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 11-22-2019, 11:17 AM   #627
GC8_4_EVER
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 495008
Join Date: Dec 2018
Chapter/Region: International
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza GC8
Blue

Default

Congratulations!!
Would a Radium fuel pump hanger solve the entire issue?

It looks like a nice upgrade and you can choose to utilize the second pump or keep it single:
http://www.radiumauto.com/Fuel-Pump-...-2X-P1194.aspx
GC8_4_EVER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 04:27 PM   #628
remski
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 151895
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default

It would have since everything is pre-routed.
I didnt go with radium since the in tank is only a feeder pump.
It basically idles with almost 0 pressure.

Wish I saw that tank cut-out earlier..
Would have made troubleshooting much easier.


Quote:
Originally Posted by GC8_4_EVER View Post
Congratulations!!
Would a Radium fuel pump hanger solve the entire issue?

It looks like a nice upgrade and you can choose to utilize the second pump or keep it single:
http://www.radiumauto.com/Fuel-Pump-...-2X-P1194.aspx
remski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 12:28 PM   #629
remski
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 151895
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default

It's been a while..

Here is a teaser.


remski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2019, 07:20 PM   #630
remski
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 151895
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default

I am sure all of you are so anxious to find out "whats in the box".


So here it is..
KnockBlock
A little device that lets you hear and record the actual knock sound.

But you have a knock sensor you might say..
Yes.. I do.
Then y the expense you ask?
Well I cant tell if what the knock sensor "sees" is actual knock, thus I need to make sure that knock is knock and based on that tune the stock knock sensor.




The unit comes with 2 additional knock sensors.
And with the stock sensor already mounted there arent many options for mounting.

Meet the M10 bolt.
The small problem is the knock sensor takes M8 bolt.




Now meet my "lathe". Not to be confused with latte.



Aaaand ... Done.



Assembled and ready to be mounted.



But wait.. there is more..
Why stop with one bolt ????




A little "lathe" work and a little tap tap later.



Why the nut you ask ???
Well.. this is the Power steering/alternator bracket.. and the torque for that bolt is around 30ft_lb, plus I dont want any tension on the sensor either.
So the stud with the nut is tightened to 30ft.lb and the knock sensor to 20ft_lb.




And here they are ... mounted. (Left one)



And the right one.
Hopefully the location is not that noisy.

Last edited by remski; 12-15-2019 at 12:58 PM.
remski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2019, 12:43 PM   #631
remski
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 151895
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default

So.. Did my first run with induced knock.
Added about 15deg to timing.



This is apparently what knock looks like.



Frequency range seems to match the calculated frequency.
Since the knock sensor uses 2nd harmonics this is the formual if you ever wanted to double check.
2nd Harmonics Knock (kHz) = 3600 / (3.14 * piston diameter in mm)

Ex: 99.5mm bore.

3600 / (3.14 * 99.5) = 11.5 kHz

Altought I've seen Subaru knock settings at 13 kHz.
Which is weird.



Correlated the audio with my log and looks like my knock sensor settings are working properly. ECU took out 6deg of timing at both occurences.
remski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2019, 03:51 PM   #632
kaos200
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2692
Join Date: Oct 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SoCal & TX
Default

OK that's cool. I've always wondered how dialed in our knock sensors are, especially with built blocks/non-oe specs. Back when I used to run a standalone I put in a A LOT of work trying to make sure the knock sensor was sensing true knock. I wish this solution was around back then!
kaos200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2019, 08:16 PM   #633
remski
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 151895
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default

Dont know what "your time was" but Link released its first knockblock in 2011.
So possible there there were tools at that time..
They might have been less accurate and more expensive ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaos200 View Post
OK that's cool. I've always wondered how dialed in our knock sensors are, especially with built blocks/non-oe specs. Back when I used to run a standalone I put in a A LOT of work trying to make sure the knock sensor was sensing true knock. I wish this solution was around back then!
remski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2019, 09:00 PM   #634
kaos200
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2692
Join Date: Oct 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SoCal & TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by remski View Post
Dont know what "your time was" but Link released its first knockblock in 2011.
So possible there there were tools at that time..
They might have been less accurate and more expensive ...
I was tuning on various standalones (Wolf, Tec, Link) from about ~2001, then just rewired my swap for a factory ecu a few years back. Definitely agreed on the less accurate/more expensive part (certainly relative to my budget )

Last edited by kaos200; 12-18-2019 at 09:05 PM.
kaos200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2019, 06:44 PM   #635
bigBADbenny
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 314324
Join Date: Mar 2012
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Collingwood, Victoria, Aus
Vehicle:
MY07 Lib GTB 6MT Wag
OBP

Default

Absolutely fascinating posts!
Have you worked out how to eg do a fixed install of the KnockBlock, converting the audio output to a 0-5v signal to use as an ecu input?
bigBADbenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2019, 11:50 PM   #636
remski
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 151895
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default

As far as I see it, its not made to be a permanent thing.
You tune it, set up your knock and move on.
Your "stock" knock should do the rest.


Quote:
Originally Posted by bigBADbenny View Post
Absolutely fascinating posts!
Have you worked out how to eg do a fixed install of the KnockBlock, converting the audio output to a 0-5v signal to use as an ecu input?
remski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2019, 12:53 PM   #637
JDMJNKY
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 253498
Join Date: Jul 2010
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: sOuL-CaLiFoRnIa
Vehicle:
02 RSTI
MURK'D

Default

Definitely admire your abilities and your confidence to undertake these tasks. I guess in the end if you do not wish to have someone shortcut you, it's best to learn and do it yourself.
JDMJNKY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2019, 04:13 AM   #638
bigBADbenny
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 314324
Join Date: Mar 2012
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Collingwood, Victoria, Aus
Vehicle:
MY07 Lib GTB 6MT Wag
OBP

Default

Gotcha, my immediate thought was that you might be failsafeing your failsafes :P
bigBADbenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 03:05 PM   #639
remski
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 151895
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default

Looong overdue update.
Where do we start ??


I kept getting ocasional knock out of nowhere with relatively low timing.
Lowering the timing did help but then knock would show up again.. Up to the point where I took out 6 degrees and wasnt making much power.

Decided to remove the plugs to check for knock signs and overall condition.
For whatever reason I started looking into fake NGK plugs.. and guess what ??
My set was a knock off.



Here is a side by side pic. One of the left is the knock off. (notice the square ground strap)




I've been increasing the ignition since the replacement and I am already up 5 degrees and not done yet.
So check your plugs.



Attended my first autocross right before the coronavirus thing poped up.
Was dead last as the cones seemed to be pointing me in the wrong direction.




8 years old tires didnt help as liftoff-oversteer happened on every ocasion.
But lots of fun nonetheless..
Specially on this kind of tarmac.




Loose ends on DCCD were tied as I never added TPS signal.


Finally found the motivation to hookup the meth.



Quick diagram update and off we go.



Decided to mount the solenoid on the firewall.
Not sure if this was a good idea as it vibrates the whole panel.
Might add some rubber to dampen out a bit.




As the meth is hooked up to the ECU I now have a total control without opening up the Meth controller.
This allows me to trigger the system at any time.




Pump connections were rearanged for a cleaner look.



And finally the gauge in its glory.



For those interested..
Here is Link ECU config for the meth. As per manual it starts to kick in at 42% Injector Duty.
I've scaled my table off IDC and the behavior of the meth controller.
Based on this I can start the injection at any point now.

remski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 03:30 PM   #640
remski
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 151895
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default

But wait..
There is more !!!



I've fiddled around with CAN bus and now I can control the boost levels from the Motec Pdm keypad !!!



Here is the Link ECU wastgate and CAN tables.
Its relatively easy concept.
Digital input 10 is Meth signal from Aquamist controller.
If its ON it reads the 1 column.
Say its a last position 0.6 that equates to Boost target of 49.3.
It then goes to WDC table and looks up 49.3.
This drives the boost solenoid from 24.5 up to 26 Duty cycle.

remski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 07:03 PM   #641
JDMJNKY
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 253498
Join Date: Jul 2010
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: sOuL-CaLiFoRnIa
Vehicle:
02 RSTI
MURK'D

Default

My mind doesn't click that way, must be the lack of exposure but the way you break it down is so inclusive. TY for sharing this build and progress.
JDMJNKY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2020, 05:57 AM   #642
GC8_4_EVER
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 495008
Join Date: Dec 2018
Chapter/Region: International
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza GC8
Blue

Default

Loving all thisssssssss
GC8_4_EVER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2020, 11:32 PM   #643
BBY_Hero
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 234236
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Vehicle:
06 STI
AW

Default

Wooo! The prodigal RS returns! Did you have fun at the track? Any photos on track?
BBY_Hero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2020, 11:45 AM   #644
remski
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 151895
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default

It was just an airstrip with cones.
I figured slow speed tests are in order instead of going full blast with everything being so "new".





Quote:
Originally Posted by BBY_Hero View Post
Wooo! The prodigal RS returns! Did you have fun at the track? Any photos on track?
remski is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2020 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.