Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday April 15, 2024
Home Forums Images WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo)

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2007, 09:13 PM   #1
STIvsS2K
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 150758
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Orlando FL
Vehicle:
2006 STI
White

Default How to 300 whp on 06 STI?

Hey guys I am new to the forums, I recently traded my S2000 for a beautiful white 2006 STI and I am in love! But my questions is what are some possible set ups that I can do to reach a reliable 300whp and stay in a budget.

Thanks JP
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
STIvsS2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 06-07-2007, 09:16 PM   #2
lev98
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 140529
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dfw
Vehicle:
01 Ferrari 360 spy

Default

cobb stage 2 and a protune will get you close
lev98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 09:41 PM   #3
k mier
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 98000
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MO
Vehicle:
05 sti e85@420hp

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STIvsS2K View Post
Hey guys I am new to the forums, I recently traded my S2000 for a beautiful white 2006 STI and I am in love! But my questions is what are some possible set ups that I can do to reach a reliable 300whp and stay in a budget.

Thanks JP
Nothing more than turbo back exhaust and a good protune.

k mier
295hp 356ft/lb on 93
320hp 415ft/lb on 110
k mier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 09:52 PM   #4
STIvsS2K
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 150758
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Orlando FL
Vehicle:
2006 STI
White

Default

Sorry might be a stupid question but when you say protune do you mean tuned by a professional. And what did you use to tune yours?

Thanks JP
STIvsS2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 10:12 PM   #5
All4bSpinnin
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 99102
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Jax, FL
Vehicle:
17 BMW M2
Long Beach Blue 6MT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lev98 View Post
cobb stage 2 and a protune will get you close
i pulled 310whp/325tq on a low reading dyno with intake and 3'inch exhaust...
All4bSpinnin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 10:14 PM   #6
RP31
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 123574
Join Date: Aug 2006
Vehicle:
2005 STi
CGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STIvsS2K View Post
Sorry might be a stupid question but when you say protune do you mean tuned by a professional. And what did you use to tune yours?

Thanks JP
The term "Protune" is specific to a professional tune performed using the Cobb AccessPORT, though some will shorten "professional tune" to "protune." That's wrong though, unless they're using the AccessPORT.

So what should have been said is, "A turboback exhaust, engine management, and a tune will get you close." Of course that depends on fuel, the dyno used, the tuner's skill, and various other factors.
RP31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 10:15 PM   #7
WRX Shenanigans
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 101378
Join Date: Nov 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: VA
Vehicle:
2022 Ioniq 5 SEL AWD
Matte Baby

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STIvsS2K View Post
Sorry might be a stupid question but when you say protune do you mean tuned by a professional. And what did you use to tune yours?

Thanks JP
The word "protune" is slightly misleading as that refers to a custom tune using Cobb's Accessport and its software. But yes, they are referring to that as a custom tune, whether street or dyno. You can easily reach 300 with just a turboback exhaust and a good tune.
WRX Shenanigans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 10:32 PM   #8
STIBungy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 51684
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: CO
Default

Upgrade to Stage2 and get your numbers from a Dynojet dyno. LOL.
STIBungy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 11:01 PM   #9
STIvsS2K
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 150758
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Orlando FL
Vehicle:
2006 STI
White

Default

haha dynojet really funny! But thanks guys for all the info!
STIvsS2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 11:37 PM   #10
k mier
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 98000
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MO
Vehicle:
05 sti e85@420hp

Default

...with things like Enginuity does a protune necessarily mean it has to be AccessPort???

...but yes turbo back, engine management, and a professional tune is what I meant.
k mier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 11:41 PM   #11
RP31
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 123574
Join Date: Aug 2006
Vehicle:
2005 STi
CGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k mier View Post
...with things like Enginuity does a protune necessarily mean it has to be AccessPort???
I would say so. ProTUNE is a Cobb-trademarked term... Or at least, they put a "TM" after it on their site.
RP31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 12:33 AM   #12
maramaralula
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 96050
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: International
Location: clouds
Vehicle:
2005 EP Hatch Rrraw!
World Rally Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STIBungy View Post
Upgrade to Stage2 and get your numbers from a Dynojet dyno. LOL.
True...

do it with dynojet

with my 20000+ miles 06' STI i got
300whp/328wtq on 91oct
317whp/360wtq on 95oct
after Protune by Dan @ Harman

here's the dyno plot


my mods
- COBB Catted DP
- Fujitsubo RM-01S
- COBB AP v2.0
- Walbro 255 FP
That's it!

Now i have tomei 4-1 header added but i haven't re-dyno the car.
maramaralula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 04:01 AM   #13
downsti
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 63179
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: THANKs CrucialRacing, EQTuning
Vehicle:
2006 Stock Turbo STi
[email protected] VF39

Default

hmm jus copy my set up
and run 11.7 on stock turbo

277whp on my tuners road dyno got me to mid 12s
315 whp got me to very low 12s
337whp got me running 11.7 and with the best trap of 115.6mph

but then again my car was never been in a real dyno roller

but stock on road dyno software is 215whp

my road dyno is very similar to very low reading mustang dyno

i had a friend with a camaro it dynoed 410whp on dynojet
we put it on a different dyno on the same day it dynoed 315whp on the low reading mustang dyno

so who knows wat i really put down

dyno numbers dont make anyone faster
since dyno is jus a tool to see wat u make b4 and wat you make after you make some changes in the car

jus becuase car #1 makes 400whp on dyno and the car #2 makes 350whp on a differnt dyno doesnt make car #1 faster than car #2 because it has 50whp more than car #2

but good luck and becarefull on ur quest to more powahhh


sorry for the long post
i got carried away

Last edited by downsti; 06-08-2007 at 04:12 AM.
downsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 06:10 AM   #14
k mier
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 98000
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MO
Vehicle:
05 sti e85@420hp

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RP31 View Post
I would say so. ProTUNE is a Cobb-trademarked term... Or at least, they put a "TM" after it on their site.

...hum...thanks, I didn't know that. So to be politically correct I should just say professional tune.
k mier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 06:53 AM   #15
RP31
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 123574
Join Date: Aug 2006
Vehicle:
2005 STi
CGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k mier View Post
...hum...thanks, I didn't know that. So to be politically correct I should just say professional tune.
Yes, please do.

It really grinds my gears when people say "I just got my car protuned, I'm using a UTEC."

RP31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 12:22 PM   #16
AZScoobie
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8785
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Vehicle:
02 c_turner@ix.
netcom.com

Default

Instructions for 300whp:

Drive stock car to Hub dyno.. Dynapack
Spend 1 hour messing with jacks and hooking the machine up
Do a pull.
Print sheet showing 301whp

Drive home!

Clark
AZScoobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 12:57 PM   #17
seattle944t
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 18308
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STi
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RP31 View Post
I would say so. ProTUNE is a Cobb-trademarked term... Or at least, they put a "TM" after it on their site.
http://tess2.uspto.gov/bin/gate.exe?...ate=k7rdb0.3.1

ProTUNER is a (expired) Cobb trade mark for their dealer software product. Protune is not, and is not limited to Cobb. A google search will reveal several other automotive references that are not specific to Cobb, and several other registered trademarks.
seattle944t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 01:02 PM   #18
mrcharIybrown
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 143469
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Philly
Vehicle:
2015 WRX STI
CWP

Default

A 3" turbo-back exhaust and a good protune should get you close to or over 300 WHP.


- 3" TBE + K&N drop-in filter
- 328 WHP and 354 WTQ @ 93 oct tuned by Agile Auto
mrcharIybrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 07:26 PM   #19
k mier
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 98000
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MO
Vehicle:
05 sti e85@420hp

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seattle944t View Post
http://tess2.uspto.gov/bin/gate.exe?...ate=k7rdb0.3.1

ProTUNER is a (expired) Cobb trade mark for their dealer software product. Protune is not, and is not limited to Cobb. A google search will reveal several other automotive references that are not specific to Cobb, and several other registered trademarks.

he...he...I'm politically correct again.

...what really grinds my gears are all the kiddies in stangs and camaros acting stupid wanting to race when my wife and kid are in the car!
k mier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 07:42 PM   #20
bdi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 66033
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Dergo, CA
Vehicle:
05 STi

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RP31 View Post
Yes, please do.

It really grinds my gears when people say "I just got my car protuned, I'm using a UTEC."



I forgot about that episode!
bdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 11:30 AM   #21
vtec2sti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 109973
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Tampa, FL
Vehicle:
06 STi
Blue

Default

Buy a Cobb AP, a good Turbo back exhaust, and get a protune with a good tuner.

mine came out to 313HP and 346TQ to the wheels
vtec2sti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 03:05 PM   #22
jdmeg693
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 149016
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Denver, CO
Vehicle:
'06 STi WRB
Stage "what the" Deuce

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vtec2sti View Post
Buy a Cobb AP, a good Turbo back exhaust, and get a protune with a good tuner.

mine came out to 313HP and 346TQ to the wheels
damn those are some good numbers. looks like i need to get a cobb ap and find someone to protune it lol


edit: i was jsut reading on cobb's site about the stage 2. it says they replace the stock exhaust with that kit. so is this going to be the same as if i were to get the stage 1 kit with the exhaust i already have? thanks guys. i'm kinda new to this. and sorry if i hijacked the thread. thought it was still relevant for this topic.

Last edited by jdmeg693; 06-09-2007 at 03:33 PM.
jdmeg693 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 03:58 PM   #23
RP31
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 123574
Join Date: Aug 2006
Vehicle:
2005 STi
CGM

Default

Before you go and buy an AP, you should know that if you're going to get the car tuned anyway, you might as well see if it's possible to find someone in your area who tunes using a Tactrix cable. If you can, you'll save yourself a nice chunk of money over the AP.
RP31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2007, 04:25 PM   #24
jdmeg693
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 149016
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Denver, CO
Vehicle:
'06 STi WRB
Stage "what the" Deuce

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RP31 View Post
Before you go and buy an AP, you should know that if you're going to get the car tuned anyway, you might as well see if it's possible to find someone in your area who tunes using a Tactrix cable. If you can, you'll save yourself a nice chunk of money over the AP.
saving money is always good.

does this get tuned on a dyno or what?

Last edited by jdmeg693; 06-09-2007 at 07:14 PM.
jdmeg693 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 08:13 AM   #25
kingypoo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 118342
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Massachusetts
Vehicle:
2006 stg2 WRX
OBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdi View Post


I forgot about that episode!
thats not an episode, its in the movie. duh =P
kingypoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to install headers on 06/07 2.5I welli04886 Normally Aspirated Powertrain 22 03-08-2014 01:25 PM
DUMB question: how to remove headlights on 06? Must@ng Electrical & Lighting 2 01-03-2010 11:00 AM
how to remove airbag on 06 sti freshpl Electrical & Lighting 3 12-04-2007 01:11 AM
300 whp on an STi type ra ver 6 confused Newbies & FAQs 8 07-18-2007 10:27 AM
how to remove grill on 06 asherbo Interior & Exterior Modification 3 11-12-2006 03:43 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2024 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission
Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.