Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday August 19, 2017
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2017, 11:25 AM   #776
gsrcrxsi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 236952
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore
Vehicle:
2010 WRX (SSM)
Stg 2+ 310/370, 6sp R180

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by husak View Post
Worked with Emil, can't get it working (tried his new beta version too). Nothing in the logs say it doesn't work so we don't have anything to go on. Im using Malysk (sp) firmware so I'm going to try stock firmware before giving up.

What does everyone else do for internet connection on the headunit? I want something where I can just plug USB and go. Wifi hotspot isn't fast enough to stream music so I end up playing it from my phone on bluetooth.
I have a different unit (Xtrons TB706APL, PX5 unit)

i use my phone's wifi hotspot to run my unit. can stream music and run google maps (not offline), and even stream youtube videos. iphone 6s on T-mobile ONE-plus plan.

who is your cell carrier? do they limit your mobile hotspot speeds? I get full LTE speeds via hotspot for my first 10GB (3G speeds after, unlimited data amount).

I'm not sure any of these units support USB tethering.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
gsrcrxsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 05-18-2017, 11:51 AM   #777
husak
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 443909
Join Date: Apr 2016
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore, MD
Vehicle:
2016 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsrcrxsi View Post
I have a different unit (Xtrons TB706APL, PX5 unit)

i use my phone's wifi hotspot to run my unit. can stream music and run google maps (not offline), and even stream youtube videos. iphone 6s on T-mobile ONE-plus plan.

who is your cell carrier? do they limit your mobile hotspot speeds? I get full LTE speeds via hotspot for my first 10GB (3G speeds after, unlimited data amount).

I'm not sure any of these units support USB tethering.
Yeah the plan supports hotspot tethering (same thing, 'full speed' until 10gb), but it runs like garbage. 5m to DL 3mb. I figure that's probably what I should be troubleshooting now that you mention it.
husak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 12:00 PM   #778
gsrcrxsi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 236952
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore
Vehicle:
2010 WRX (SSM)
Stg 2+ 310/370, 6sp R180

Default Android Headunit 10.2'' Screen

Are you trying to run wifi and BT at the same time? The antennas on these things are pretty bogus. I can't run both at the same time. If I hookup BT while the wifi hotspot is running it really slows down the internet speeds.

Wifi and BT are on the same 2.4GHz frequency and they interfere with each other.
gsrcrxsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 01:13 PM   #779
husak
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 443909
Join Date: Apr 2016
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore, MD
Vehicle:
2016 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsrcrxsi View Post
Are you trying to run wifi and BT at the same time? The antennas on these things are pretty bogus. I can't run both at the same time. If I hookup BT while the wifi hotspot is running it really slows down the internet speeds.

Wifi and BT are on the same 2.4GHz frequency and they interfere with each other.
might be onto something! I do have both running, but don't really need it if wifi works well. I can also set wifi to 5ghz just to see.
husak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 01:31 PM   #780
gsrcrxsi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 236952
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore
Vehicle:
2010 WRX (SSM)
Stg 2+ 310/370, 6sp R180

Default

I doubt the headunit supports 5GHz. Can you actually set that? I don't have any band selections in my settings menu
gsrcrxsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 01:47 PM   #781
husak
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 443909
Join Date: Apr 2016
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore, MD
Vehicle:
2016 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsrcrxsi View Post
I doubt the headunit supports 5GHz. Can you actually set that? I don't have any band selections in my settings menu
oh true. I can set it to 5ghz on the phone (advanced tethering settings) but yeah, probably not supported by the HU.
husak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 03:22 PM   #782
T-WRX_62
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 458326
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
CBS

Default

Has Jack sent anyone with the PX5 unit an MCU Update??? I'm running version KLD_2.35. If any of you guys are willing to check your "about" sections. Just about every other PX5 unit excluding this one is actively getting MCU updates, so for Jack to tell me that there aren't any is a bit concerning...
T-WRX_62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 04:51 PM   #783
husak
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 443909
Join Date: Apr 2016
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore, MD
Vehicle:
2016 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsrcrxsi View Post
Are you trying to run wifi and BT at the same time? The antennas on these things are pretty bogus. I can't run both at the same time. If I hookup BT while the wifi hotspot is running it really slows down the internet speeds.

Wifi and BT are on the same 2.4GHz frequency and they interfere with each other.
This was absolutely the problem, it works great now with bluetooth off!

I did some speedtests, with bluetooth on, i would get about 1-2Mbps download. With bluetooth off, 10-17Mbps!
husak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 11:57 PM   #784
gsrcrxsi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 236952
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore
Vehicle:
2010 WRX (SSM)
Stg 2+ 310/370, 6sp R180

Default

Yeah I thought so. It really sucks because I'd like to be able to have the car using the BT signal for phone calls and whatnot. Maybe I'll test out USBtether but I don't know if the radio can do it.
gsrcrxsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 07:58 AM   #785
husak
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 443909
Join Date: Apr 2016
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore, MD
Vehicle:
2016 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by T-WRX_62 View Post
Has Jack sent anyone with the PX5 unit an MCU Update??? I'm running version KLD_2.35. If any of you guys are willing to check your "about" sections. Just about every other PX5 unit excluding this one is actively getting MCU updates, so for Jack to tell me that there aren't any is a bit concerning...
I just checked mine, KLD V2.41b_1 Mar 22nd 2017 not sure why he'd say there aren't any?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsrcrxsi View Post
Yeah I thought so. It really sucks because I'd like to be able to have the car using the BT signal for phone calls and whatnot. Maybe I'll test out USBtether but I don't know if the radio can do it.
That was one of the things I tried. There's nothing stock on the HU to accept USB as 'internet connection'. We would need some kind of middleman app to take the USB connection and emulate it as ethernet or something
husak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 08:14 AM   #786
gsrcrxsi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 236952
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore
Vehicle:
2010 WRX (SSM)
Stg 2+ 310/370, 6sp R180

Default

My unit can do a 3G/4G dongle via USB, so it should have the network connections there. I just have to try
gsrcrxsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 08:37 AM   #787
husak
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 443909
Join Date: Apr 2016
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore, MD
Vehicle:
2016 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsrcrxsi View Post
My unit can do a 3G/4G dongle via USB, so it should have the network connections there. I just have to try
Ah, I only messed with it once for a couple minutes. Turned on USB tethering and couldn't get internet on the HU. I'd honestly prefer USB tether anyway since I have to USB the phone regardless because of the battery drain of hotspot.
husak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 01:30 PM   #788
Spetnaut
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 464237
Join Date: Mar 2017
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Queens NY
Vehicle:
2017 WRX
WRB

Default

Anyone installed the new Subispeed unit with a factory kicker sub? The subispeed head unit puts out much more wattage then the OEM head unit. Was wondering how the kicker sub is wired, and if I could wire it into the preamp sub out connection instead? I would much rather be able to control the sub independently versus how Subaru has to coming from the rear audio

Last edited by Spetnaut; 05-19-2017 at 01:51 PM.
Spetnaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 02:05 PM   #789
nux4thecup
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 410405
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Vancouver
Vehicle:
2017 STI

Default

Does anyone have any suggestions for an app or setup like this?


How Toyota reads out your text messages
nux4thecup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 06:44 PM   #790
T-WRX_62
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 458326
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
CBS

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by husak View Post
I just checked mine, KLD V2.41b_1 Mar 22nd 2017 not sure why he'd say there aren't any?



That was one of the things I tried. There's nothing stock on the HU to accept USB as 'internet connection'. We would need some kind of middleman app to take the USB connection and emulate it as ethernet or something
Huh, you've got a newer MCU then me. I'm running KLD 2.35_1 March 7th...
T-WRX_62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2017, 03:13 AM   #791
2017wrx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 452036
Join Date: Aug 2016
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Vehicle:
2017 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nux4thecup View Post
Still looking for an answer to this
Did you increase the base clock of the cpu from 1.2 ghz to 1.6ghz and change the governor to performance mode?
2017wrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2017, 08:44 AM   #792
Tegots
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 467688
Join Date: May 2017
Default

have you guys tried to use BT tethering instead of wifi/usb?
Tegots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2017, 12:43 PM   #793
Thatsubaruguy77
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 448049
Join Date: May 2016
Default

Anyone running the Igo Navigation that came with this unit? when ever I change settings in the nav software it doesn't save after the unit powers back on.
Thatsubaruguy77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2017, 12:50 PM   #794
gsrcrxsi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 236952
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore
Vehicle:
2010 WRX (SSM)
Stg 2+ 310/370, 6sp R180

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tegots View Post
have you guys tried to use BT tethering instead of wifi/usb?


Doesn't work. I can pair the unit to my phone via BT with the mobile hotspot activated, but the unit does not pull internet through it. Only normal audio and phone call BT functions. There are no settings on the unit to use BT as an internet device.
gsrcrxsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 01:00 PM   #795
Ultrameca
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 468266
Join Date: May 2017
Default

New to this forum, got my Sti a few months ago and I really like it! Except for the Clarion. That thing is just begging to be ripped out of the car, which is what I did.

So I just got my HU from Jack at Aliexpress and I'm having issues with it. It's the Octo with android 6.0.1 on it.

The main issue is the touch screen is completely unresponsive, as are the SWC controls.

I also have the "Please check audio system" message.

I have a 2015 Sti with base radio, so I connected Ant power wire to pin 9 on the harness and connected SWC (brown wire) to pin 13, as per previous posts.

Got a short beep from the speakers when doing a reset, so there is some life there. Since the unit didn't come with any instructions aside from the usual basic schematic using pictures which has been posted here before, maybe the reset/reboot process is more involved than just pressing the button for a couple seconds, I don't know.

Has anyone had this before, and if so, what was the fix?

I did email Jack, but I'm guessing he's out for the weekend now.

Thanks for your help!
Ultrameca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 01:40 PM   #796
gsrcrxsi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 236952
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore
Vehicle:
2010 WRX (SSM)
Stg 2+ 310/370, 6sp R180

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultrameca View Post
New to this forum, got my Sti a few months ago and I really like it! Except for the Clarion. That thing is just begging to be ripped out of the car, which is what I did.

So I just got my HU from Jack at Aliexpress and I'm having issues with it. It's the Octo with android 6.0.1 on it.

The main issue is the touch screen is completely unresponsive, as are the SWC controls.

I also have the "Please check audio system" message.

I have a 2015 Sti with base radio, so I connected Ant power wire to pin 9 on the harness and connected SWC (brown wire) to pin 13, as per previous posts.

Got a short beep from the speakers when doing a reset, so there is some life there. Since the unit didn't come with any instructions aside from the usual basic schematic using pictures which has been posted here before, maybe the reset/reboot process is more involved than just pressing the button for a couple seconds, I don't know.

Has anyone had this before, and if so, what was the fix?

I did email Jack, but I'm guessing he's out for the weekend now.

Thanks for your help!
I think you may have wired something wrong. Since you didn't say how you wired anything, if you used any harnesses or just spliced into your factory wiring... or anything else. we need more than "i connected some wires and it doesn't work, help!"

If you don't know what you're doing and don't know what the wires actually do outside of what pin numbers to connect, its VERY easy to make a mistake. my best advise would be to remove all wiring, and contact a harness maker to make something for your car so that it is plug and play and removes the possibility of you making a wiring mistake.
gsrcrxsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 09:08 PM   #797
Ultrameca
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 468266
Join Date: May 2017
Default

I'm back at home now.
I took some pictures, but I don’t have enough post history to add attachments directly, so I've uploaded to imgur. I’ll try to link here, hope it works -

The original POS radio:

The hole left after the lobotomy:

The harness that I used:

The one that was left behind (it’s still sobbing in a corner):

The back of the HU:

The top of the HU, showing the schematics:

The plugged-in harness – pretty straightforward (Note Antenna Power wire & SWC wire are not plugged in):

Harness into the HU (bare minimum to get it started):

The HU screen after startup (no amount of soft finger caressing will get it aroused enough to respond in any way):

So that's my first and main problem; the touch screen doesn't respond at all.
Ultrameca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2017, 09:46 PM   #798
Ultrameca
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 468266
Join Date: May 2017
Default

To follow up on my question and for future reference, I solved the problem.

Jack had offered me a replacement screen, so I opened the radio to see how difficult the swap would be. I then noticed that one of the flat wires on a tiny PCboard next to the touch screen was not inserted properly into its socket. Plugged it in and now all is ok. This is really a good thing as I can confirm the screen would very difficult to replace. It's bonded to the bezel and there is no obvious prying location to detach it without breaking either the screen or the bezel.

This radio sounds much better than the OEM one.
Ultrameca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2017, 02:46 AM   #799
nux4thecup
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 410405
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Vancouver
Vehicle:
2017 STI

Default

How do I get the side buttons to light up?
nux4thecup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2017, 03:27 PM   #800
gsrcrxsi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 236952
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore
Vehicle:
2010 WRX (SSM)
Stg 2+ 310/370, 6sp R180

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nux4thecup View Post
How do I get the side buttons to light up?
you have to hook up the illumination wire and turn the headlights on.
gsrcrxsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.