Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday March 7, 2021
Home Forums Images WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo)

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2020, 12:46 PM   #1
Powsurfer96
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 493872
Join Date: Nov 2018
Default Can I run USDM ej205 heads on a Jdm short block?

My 170k engine is getting a little tired, so Iím starting to plan out what direction I want to go with replacing it. I donít really want to deal with all the headaches of settling up or deleting AVCS. So I was wondering about using a jdm shortblock with my USDM heads. Has anyone done this?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Powsurfer96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 12-06-2020, 12:54 PM   #2
Bansheeboy11
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 182415
Join Date: Jun 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: New York
Vehicle:
1999 RS
Aspen White

Default

Yes..
Bansheeboy11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2020, 11:46 PM   #3
Bluestreak03
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 125887
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Southern Oregon
Vehicle:
2001 EJ207 V7 RSTi,
Mica Blue

Default

Can you tell me what all setup headaches you speak of? And you can run your JDM block with your USDM ecu just as easy... Whichever way you choose to go is your choice
Bluestreak03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2020, 12:00 AM   #4
murrdogg24
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 50586
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado Springs
Vehicle:
2020 STI
Crystal White Pearl

Default

setting up AVCS is really not hard and so much worth it...imo I wouldn't ever go back to a non-avcs engine they just are so slow...all you have to do is run 4 extra wires from the engine to ecu...i mean if you can build an engine I'm sure you can get AVCS setup and running...
murrdogg24 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2020, 10:38 AM   #5
D-Rodman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 110078
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Long Island N.Y.
Vehicle:
02 Bugeye JDM STi
OBP BLACK

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by murrdogg24 View Post
setting up AVCS is really not hard and so much worth it...imo I wouldn't ever go back to a non-avcs engine they just are so slow...all you have to do is run 4 extra wires from the engine to ecu...i mean if you can build an engine I'm sure you can get AVCS setup and running...


Itís not hard to wire AVCS but not as easy as you say.
D-Rodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2020, 11:14 AM   #6
Bluestreak03
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 125887
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Southern Oregon
Vehicle:
2001 EJ207 V7 RSTi,
Mica Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Rodman View Post
Itís not hard to wire AVCS but not as easy as you say.
+1 have to have good attention to detail
Bluestreak03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2020, 12:12 PM   #7
snow_bound26
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 395793
Join Date: Jul 2014
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Split time between SLC and Lak
Vehicle:
2005 92x Aero
Beige

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Rodman View Post
Itís not hard to wire AVCS but not as easy as you say.


Thank you. I'm getting tired of correcting this.

To the OP. Yes add 4 wires but also re-pin wires at the ECU and on an engine harness plug by the battery. This is why companies like iA Tuning and iWire make AVCS wiring kits which do make it easier. And as has been mentioned, once you have AVCS, you'll never want an engine without it again.
snow_bound26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2020, 11:15 PM   #8
Powsurfer96
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 493872
Join Date: Nov 2018
Default

Actually I would love to have the AVCS, but I really want to be able to get tuned using an accessport. The JDM ecu is what I meant by headaches
Powsurfer96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2020, 11:29 PM   #9
snow_bound26
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 395793
Join Date: Jul 2014
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Split time between SLC and Lak
Vehicle:
2005 92x Aero
Beige

Default

Get it open source tuned. It's not a headache. It's just a different platform. And it will save you money since you don't have to buy an AP. And if you already have one you can sell it and make some money back. I don't miss having my AP. AVCS is worth more than having the AP
snow_bound26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2020, 01:29 AM   #10
D-Rodman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 110078
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Long Island N.Y.
Vehicle:
02 Bugeye JDM STi
OBP BLACK

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snow_bound26 View Post
Get it open source tuned. It's not a headache. It's just a different platform. And it will save you money since you don't have to buy an AP. And if you already have one you can sell it and make some money back. I don't miss having my AP. AVCS is worth more than having the AP


Agreed.
D-Rodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2020, 03:02 PM   #11
monkeyposeur
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 333468
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: SLC, UT
Vehicle:
93 SS - 06 OB XT
03 WRB GD 205/22T 20G-XT

Default

Don't you need the JDM ecu to run AVCS? If so I would have problems with emissions where I live. I could always swap over the the USDM ecu to pass I guess...
monkeyposeur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2020, 03:33 PM   #12
snow_bound26
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 395793
Join Date: Jul 2014
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Split time between SLC and Lak
Vehicle:
2005 92x Aero
Beige

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeyposeur View Post
Don't you need the JDM ecu to run AVCS? If so I would have problems with emissions where I live. I could always swap over the the USDM ecu to pass I guess...

Not sure what you're really asking here. Yes you need the JDM ECU for AVCS and yes you take 15 min and swap the ECU for emissions.
snow_bound26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2020, 04:41 PM   #13
monkeyposeur
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 333468
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: SLC, UT
Vehicle:
93 SS - 06 OB XT
03 WRB GD 205/22T 20G-XT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snow_bound26 View Post
Get it open source tuned. It's not a headache. It's just a different platform. And it will save you money since you don't have to buy an AP. And if you already have one you can sell it and make some money back. I don't miss having my AP. AVCS is worth more than having the AP
OK, I was confused by you saying it's not a headache and when you mentioned it could be open sourced tuned I was wondering if I missed in my research if using a USDM ecu to run AVCS was a possibility.

Yes, swapping out the ECU isn't that big of a deal. Maybe a little bit of a pain for some, and adding to that pain is the fact that I have to swap out my high flow catted DP every year for the stock DP makes it a little bit more of a pain.
monkeyposeur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 03:55 PM   #14
saaiello21
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 501997
Join Date: May 2019
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Atglen PA
Vehicle:
2011 WRX
gray

Default

You just need to find a shop that will over look the visual inspection. I have been running catless for years and my shop will pass it as long as no engine light on.
saaiello21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2020, 03:01 PM   #15
4eat05
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 378421
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: NC
Vehicle:
2005 Cobb Stg2+ Wrx
Platinum Silver

Default

I too wanted to know about using my usdm ej205 heads, that i have, on a jdm ej20 block that has no heads, and only responses were "thats stupid, do avcs". I wish ppl would just help instead of try to persuade other to do things different...

Im 99% sure you can bolt usdm ej20 heads on a jdm ej20 block, and should be able to run it and tune it with the usdm ecu.
No clue what that will do to compression ratio or piston to valve clearance other than "thats stupid, AVCS ftw!!!!"
4eat05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2020, 03:31 PM   #16
snow_bound26
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 395793
Join Date: Jul 2014
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Split time between SLC and Lak
Vehicle:
2005 92x Aero
Beige

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4eat05 View Post
I too wanted to know about using my usdm ej205 heads, that i have, on a jdm ej20 block that has no heads, and only responses were "thats stupid, do avcs". I wish ppl would just help instead of try to persuade other to do things different...



Im 99% sure you can bolt usdm ej20 heads on a jdm ej20 block, and should be able to run it and tune it with the usdm ecu.

No clue what that will do to compression ratio or piston to valve clearance other than "thats stupid, AVCS ftw!!!!"


It sounds like the OP has a JDM long block. In this case it's easier to install the entire long block regardless of using AVCS. Tearing everything apart would result in taking it to a machine shop and having everything clearanced and tolerances checked before mating it all back together. It's an added expense.

If you have a JDM short block and no JDM heads then that's a different story. There's no reason why you can't use the USDM heads and make it work. Any reputable machine shop can check tolerances, and make sure you're getting proper piston to valve clearance and quench height.

The problem is there's a lot of bad information out there that makes people scared to use the JDM engines and hook up the AVCS when they aren't familiar with the process. So if you have a full JDM long block, why spend the extra time and money to use the USDM heads and not have the extra performance of the JDM heads? It's a step backward. If you don't have the heads then it really doesn't make a difference. Do whatever fits your budget best as no matter what heads you use, they will still need to mated to the SB properly.
snow_bound26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2020, 05:54 PM   #17
4eat05
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 378421
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: NC
Vehicle:
2005 Cobb Stg2+ Wrx
Platinum Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snow_bound26 View Post
It sounds like the OP has a JDM long block. In this case it's easier to install the entire long block regardless of using AVCS. Tearing everything apart would result in taking it to a machine shop and having everything clearanced and tolerances checked before mating it all back together. It's an added expense.

If you have a JDM short block and no JDM heads then that's a different story. There's no reason why you can't use the USDM heads and make it work. Any reputable machine shop can check tolerances, and make sure you're getting proper piston to valve clearance and quench height.

The problem is there's a lot of bad information out there that makes people scared to use the JDM engines and hook up the AVCS when they aren't familiar with the process. So if you have a full JDM long block, why spend the extra time and money to use the USDM heads and not have the extra performance of the JDM heads? It's a step backward. If you don't have the heads then it really doesn't make a difference. Do whatever fits your budget best as no matter what heads you use, they will still need to mated to the SB properly.
For me, its because i have good usdm ej205 heads and couldve grabbed a good ej207 short block for cheap, but never got any advice other than "avcs!" Lol

All im saying is, cant we help him with info about his question, usdm heads on jdm block, instead of telling him to use jdm heads, which doesnt answer his question?

Last edited by 4eat05; 12-14-2020 at 06:28 PM.
4eat05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2020, 08:14 PM   #18
snow_bound26
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 395793
Join Date: Jul 2014
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Split time between SLC and Lak
Vehicle:
2005 92x Aero
Beige

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4eat05 View Post
For me, its because i have good usdm ej205 heads and couldve grabbed a good ej207 short block for cheap, but never got any advice other than "avcs!" Lol



All im saying is, cant we help him with info about his question, usdm heads on jdm block, instead of telling him to use jdm heads, which doesnt answer his question?


Why are you getting on everyone's case? I get that you weren't happy with the responses you had from your questions in a different thread, but in this one, the OP even stated he would like to use AVCS and just thought it was going to be more complicated than he thought. But if he has a JDM engine then why spend the extra money to use inferior heads? If all he has is a short block than he can say so and we can change our responses accordingly.

Without reading your thread I can't say why people weren't giving you info for your specific question. But even so, in this thread people said yes you can and asked what headaches he was referring to. He even stated his only reason for not wanting to use the JDM heads was to retain using his AP. Information was given to show him the pros and cons. Soooooo let's keep this thread on topic rather than getting on everyone's case and if the OP isn't getting the info that helps him he can say so.
snow_bound26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2021, 10:31 AM   #19
Foo_Blyat
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 93750
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Default

I have a jdm ej205 with avcs for sale. Compression video included. Can separate the block from the heads if you choose to go that route. Pm me if interested
Foo_Blyat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.