Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday March 8, 2021
Home Forums Images WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2018, 10:03 AM   #26
phd12v
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 432497
Join Date: Oct 2015
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pitt
Vehicle:
18 Sti
ISM

Default

you have to jump the front speaker wires, they run through the telematics...look above for the IN and OUT
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
phd12v is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 07-30-2018, 10:06 AM   #27
phd12v
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 432497
Join Date: Oct 2015
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pitt
Vehicle:
18 Sti
ISM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smaay View Post
another thing i discovered is the XM antenna has a different connector than the 2015. In my 2015 WRX I just had to remove the connector housing and plug the pin into the XM receiver. Cant do this in the 2018.
toyota adaptor for gps and sat radio : http://maestro.idatalink.com/accesso...490/project/rr


that has the SAT plug that works in it
phd12v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 12:14 PM   #28
vlad11591
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 295970
Join Date: Sep 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Vehicle:
2019 STI
CWP

Default

not sure if right thread,

but with the 2019 having car play, and using the same head-unit as the 18, would someone be able to do like a software/firmware update to the 18, so they could get carplay?

I have seen this done on BMW's where the user "hacks" the head unit, to have their phone act as a chrome/apple TV cast.
vlad11591 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 12:18 PM   #29
Smaay
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 221053
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lancaster CA
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phd12v View Post
toyota adaptor for gps and sat radio : http://maestro.idatalink.com/accesso...490/project/rr


that has the SAT plug that works in it
Thanks for the link. how about making a jumper harness to bypass the Telematics unit to get the front speakers back?
Smaay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 01:17 PM   #30
phd12v
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 432497
Join Date: Oct 2015
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pitt
Vehicle:
18 Sti
ISM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vlad11591 View Post
not sure if right thread,

but with the 2019 having car play, and using the same head-unit as the 18, would someone be able to do like a software/firmware update to the 18, so they could get carplay?

I have seen this done on BMW's where the user "hacks" the head unit, to have their phone act as a chrome/apple TV cast.
different radio all together

phd12v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 01:18 PM   #31
phd12v
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 432497
Join Date: Oct 2015
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pitt
Vehicle:
18 Sti
ISM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smaay View Post
Thanks for the link. how about making a jumper harness to bypass the Telematics unit to get the front speakers back?
if you unplugged it, simply jump them together... i can tell you what goes to what on the back side of the harness if you want
phd12v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2018, 02:13 AM   #32
Jewbaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1994
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: South Somewhere
Vehicle:
2018 STI
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smaay View Post
Ok i figured out the SU-2 harness. we got everything mostly connected with it, however it did not come with a radio antenna adapter. luckily i had one. All the steering wheel controls work.

We had to disconnect and remove the Telematics unit, there is no room to put it back in.

now the issues we have:
No sound coming out of the front speakers. yes we connected all the wires, green, white, purple, and grey.

the gauges dont seem to work, I am plugged into the ODBII port and the gauges screen on the radio says ignition off. The engine is actually running.
It's tight, but the unit fits if you shove it down behind where the HVAC controls are. Not the most elegant thing, but you can't see it when everything is reinstalled.
Jewbaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2018, 09:36 AM   #33
phd12v
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 432497
Join Date: Oct 2015
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pitt
Vehicle:
18 Sti
ISM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jewbaru View Post
It's tight, but the unit fits if you shove it down behind where the HVAC controls are. Not the most elegant thing, but you can't see it when everything is reinstalled.
i did mine vertically, all the way back with connectors facing upwards, i did have to bend the original mounting brackets at bottom outwards to get it to fit
phd12v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2018, 04:24 PM   #34
Jewbaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1994
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: South Somewhere
Vehicle:
2018 STI
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phd12v View Post
i did mine vertically, all the way back with connectors facing upwards, i did have to bend the original mounting brackets at bottom outwards to get it to fit
Hmm... I may give this a shot so I can put the RR in an easier space to reach.

The only weirdness I ran into with my car was having to flip the RCA cables, they might have flipped the soundstage in the '18s for some dumb reason.
Jewbaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2018, 11:53 PM   #35
Smaay
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 221053
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lancaster CA
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
Blue

Default

I jumpered B1 to B2 and still get no sound out of that channel. I tried the others with same results so there must be something else needed
Smaay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 12:00 AM   #36
CXVninja84
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 438216
Join Date: Jan 2016
Default

If you just want to jumper out the telemantics unit, AutoHarnessHouse.com can build you an adapter for that. This install just isn't recommended if you want to have all the functions that the telemantics unit provides.

Sometimes the telemantics unit will start setting error messages when you remove the OEM headunit. (It detects that it's missing and flags it as an error) There's a fix for this too.
CXVninja84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 02:05 AM   #37
Jewbaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1994
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: South Somewhere
Vehicle:
2018 STI
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smaay View Post
I jumpered B1 to B2 and still get no sound out of that channel. I tried the others with same results so there must be something else needed
It's seriously much, much less of a pain in the ass to just finagle the unit and get it to fit deep down in the dash.
Jewbaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 09:40 AM   #38
phd12v
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 432497
Join Date: Oct 2015
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pitt
Vehicle:
18 Sti
ISM

Default

you have to jump all four speaker leads ( each speaker has two) at the same time it is nothing more than an in and an out
phd12v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 12:24 PM   #39
Smaay
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 221053
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lancaster CA
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phd12v View Post
you have to jump all four speaker leads ( each speaker has two) at the same time it is nothing more than an in and an out
right they are an in and out, so i should get sound of the single channel I jumpered. It shouldnt be an all or nothing system.
Smaay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 02:47 PM   #40
phd12v
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 432497
Join Date: Oct 2015
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pitt
Vehicle:
18 Sti
ISM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smaay View Post
right they are an in and out, so i should get sound of the single channel I jumpered. It shouldnt be an all or nothing system.
a speaker needs two wires to work...not just a single jumper.

B1 to B2 and B9 to B10 for the left front speaker to work

B3 to B4 and B11 to B12 for the right front speaker to work

need at least two jumpers there to make one speaker work ...at least

Last edited by phd12v; 08-01-2018 at 02:54 PM.
phd12v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 03:06 PM   #41
Smaay
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 221053
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lancaster CA
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phd12v View Post
a speaker needs two wires to work...not just a single jumper.

B1 to B2 and B9 to B10 for the left front speaker to work

B3 to B4 and B11 to B12 for the right front speaker to work

need at least two jumpers there to make one speaker work ...at least
smacks hand to head, i see it, yes you are right. and im an electrical engineer, i should have caught that.

now how do i get the gauges to work?
Smaay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 04:25 PM   #42
phd12v
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 432497
Join Date: Oct 2015
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pitt
Vehicle:
18 Sti
ISM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smaay View Post
smacks hand to head, i see it, yes you are right. and im an electrical engineer, i should have caught that.

now how do i get the gauges to work?
no problem at all, do you see the wiring that supposed to go to the obd2 plug??? there are two wires in there....brown red to CAN HIGH and brown yellow to CAN LOW go to the telematics can lines... red and blue.. red is high blue is low
https://i.imgur.com/McGFQOz.jpg
phd12v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 05:48 PM   #43
Smaay
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 221053
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lancaster CA
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
Blue

Default

thanks so much partner!!!! Ill give it a try tomorrow and let you know.
Smaay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 05:57 PM   #44
Jewbaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1994
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: South Somewhere
Vehicle:
2018 STI
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phd12v View Post
no problem at all, do you see the wiring that supposed to go to the obd2 plug??? there are two wires in there....brown red to CAN HIGH and brown yellow to CAN LOW go to the telematics can lines... red and blue.. red is high blue is low
https://i.imgur.com/McGFQOz.jpg
Might do this with some extra wire and vampire taps... Not having the gauges isn't a big deal, but it'd be nice.
Jewbaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 09:39 AM   #45
phd12v
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 432497
Join Date: Oct 2015
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pitt
Vehicle:
18 Sti
ISM

Default

please remember guys and gals, the way we are doing this is the way that i got it to work.... if you call my office (Idatalink) and you go on a rant about people on NASIOC are doing it...... well just know i get to hear about it. and not in a good way either..... i post up info to help people get stuff done, and also it helps my team understand the importance of having this firmware available for the public. I try my best to explain things and why they are done certain ways. Just a quick reminder to not yell at people when they say it isnt covered yet. Thanks in advance
phd12v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 10:29 AM   #46
BHOD
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 463264
Join Date: Feb 2017
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Québec
Vehicle:
2018 WRX sport, 6MT
crystal BLACK silica

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phd12v View Post
please remember guys and gals, the way we are doing this is the way that i got it to work.... if you call my office (Idatalink) and you go on a rant about people on NASIOC are doing it...... well just know i get to hear about it. and not in a good way either..... i post up info to help people get stuff done, and also it helps my team understand the importance of having this firmware available for the public. I try my best to explain things and why they are done certain ways. Just a quick reminder to not yell at people when they say it isnt covered yet. Thanks in advance
Maybe you should post it in a more visible space, at least in the first post of this thread (in red color? )
just saying

Thank you very much for your precious help
BHOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 11:05 AM   #47
phd12v
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 432497
Join Date: Oct 2015
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pitt
Vehicle:
18 Sti
ISM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BHOD View Post
Maybe you should post it in a more visible space, at least in the first post of this thread (in red color? )
just saying

Thank you very much for your precious help
i suspect it wouldnt matter if i did that as well..... LOL
phd12v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 11:08 AM   #48
phd12v
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 432497
Join Date: Oct 2015
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pitt
Vehicle:
18 Sti
ISM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BHOD View Post
Maybe you should post it in a more visible space, at least in the first post of this thread (in red color? )
just saying

Thank you very much for your precious help

but i did it anyway, it was a good point
phd12v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 03:05 PM   #49
BHOD
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 463264
Join Date: Feb 2017
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Québec
Vehicle:
2018 WRX sport, 6MT
crystal BLACK silica

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phd12v View Post
but i did it anyway, it was a good point
If it can avoid some problems
BHOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 12:56 AM   #50
Smaay
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 221053
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lancaster CA
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
Blue

Default

Instead of the entire ST02 kit I just got this adapter, it no workey, they dont match up.

https://www.amazon.com/iDatalink-Mae...S1179MNHDWCY91
Smaay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2021 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.