Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday March 25, 2019
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2006, 11:37 PM   #1
Bx_ReX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 86326
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: boogie dwn
Vehicle:
02 wagon
darkness

Default '02 wrx ecu drive an sti long block?

can a reflashed (ECUtek) wrx computer run a usdm sti long block minus the intake manifold, thort. body., and injectors....

i got it to start and idle but she bogs like a muda ******....when driven...i know there has to be some vac leak some where.. but my biggest question is cam she be tuned with out a cam sensor???? and what other things should i be worried about????

codes thrown up are p0340 and p0171.. i think
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Bx_ReX is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 12-27-2006, 12:06 AM   #2
AruisDante
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 122365
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Vehicle:
2015 WRX STI Limited
Ice Silver

Default

well... assuming you've got STI heads, then you're going to loose AVCS, which is going to mess with its driving characteristics big time. Other then that, if it's tuned, ti's going to be able to control everything else.
AruisDante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2006, 11:39 PM   #3
zanderspeed
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 72818
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2002 Bugeye
EJ25 | FPGreen

Default

If the ECU is tuned for the long block it will drive perfectly fine, even without the AVCS functionality.
zanderspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 01:27 AM   #4
Bx_ReX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 86326
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: boogie dwn
Vehicle:
02 wagon
darkness

Default

beautiful..... i really dont mind the avcs anyway....
thanks so much for the info guys......
Bx_ReX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 09:57 PM   #5
wrx_driver_2002
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25952
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Under your hood :-)
Vehicle:
1995 Impreza Coupe
w/ "Extras" :-)

Default

You have to have the cam sensor for the car to run properly. Without the cam sensor the vehicle will go into failsafe mode. Yes, you can add the cam sensor to the STI long block. It just takes a little enginuity
wrx_driver_2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 12:47 PM   #6
zanderspeed
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 72818
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2002 Bugeye
EJ25 | FPGreen

Default

'04 sti longblocks have the cam sensor holder in place - you just need to tap it.

the '05+ longblock require an adapter similar to the one gruppe-s provides
zanderspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 08:00 PM   #7
PerformanceAutoSolutions
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 853
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Deer Park, NY, USA
Vehicle:
2011 STI Sedan
Satin White Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrx_driver_2002 View Post
You have to have the cam sensor for the car to run properly. Without the cam sensor the vehicle will go into failsafe mode. Yes, you can add the cam sensor to the STI long block. It just takes a little enginuity


what needs to be done to get the wrx cam sensor to work with the sti.the sti has 2 cam sensors the wrx has one?
dave
PerformanceAutoSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 09:42 PM   #8
zanderspeed
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 72818
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2002 Bugeye
EJ25 | FPGreen

Default

I don;t think anything can be done about the 2 vs. 3 wire cam position sensor without massive rewiring.

I believe the previous poster was referring to the cam sensor bracket that is missing on the later model EJ25 blocks. An adapter can be purchased from Gruppe-s, but it takes some fabrication to make it work well.
zanderspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS : NY: sti long block 28,xxxx miles AVCS MINT meo Tri-State Area Private Classifieds 9 06-06-2010 07:49 PM
FS : NY: sti long block 28,xxxx miles AVCS MINT meo Engine/Power/Exhaust 8 06-05-2010 03:55 PM
Sti long block with 02 WRX ecu LiquidForce Built Motor Discussion 7 05-20-2006 06:06 PM
WRX Trany on an STI short block monstergremlin16 Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo) 7 02-22-2006 08:59 PM
'03 WRX ECU into an '02? phattyduck Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 10 09-18-2004 05:18 AM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2019 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.