Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday June 25, 2019
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > FA Series Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2014, 10:48 PM   #1
pbawesome
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 393499
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default Oil Pressure/Temp Installation on 2015 WRX

What is a good spot to put in the Innovate MTX-D combination gauge?



http://tunertools.com/innovate!!!-mt...function!.html
http://innovatemotorsports.com/suppo...nual%201.1.pdf

I'm thinking tee into the turbo lines, or get a sandwich plate. Any other good suggestions?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
pbawesome is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 08-28-2014, 04:20 AM   #2
ohm
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 178468
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Somerset, NJ
Vehicle:
2007 UGM STI
IAG Built

Default

Nice gauge, can't go wrong with Innovate. For oil temp, rear galley under the TMIC will give you accurate readings. Though it has been said that in the oil pan is ideal. For oil pressure, front galley under the alternator. Sandwich plates offer ease of installation, but reports of occasional leaking are not uncommon. Personally, I have mine installed in the galley locations mentioned.

Keep in mind that if go with the galley locations, you will need a plug adapter like this (assuming 1/8NPT threads): http://prosportgauges.com/subaru-oil-galley-plug.aspx

Good luck.
ohm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 12:19 AM   #3
pbawesome
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 393499
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ohm View Post
Nice gauge, can't go wrong with Innovate. For oil temp, rear galley under the TMIC will give you accurate readings. Though it has been said that in the oil pan is ideal. For oil pressure, front galley under the alternator. Sandwich plates offer ease of installation, but reports of occasional leaking are not uncommon. Personally, I have mine installed in the galley locations mentioned.

Keep in mind that if go with the galley locations, you will need a plug adapter like this (assuming 1/8NPT threads): http://prosportgauges.com/subaru-oil-galley-plug.aspx

Good luck.
Yeah its a cool gauge, but I'm thinking a needle would be a lot more useful. Do you know of any Oil temp/pressure combination gauges with needles?

I think I know where you're talking about with behind the radiator, I'm going to snap a pic and post tomorrow to see if we're talking about the same thing.

I'm assuming I'll have to take the TMIC off to get the temp sensor installed?

Also, will I throw any codes by taking the stock sensors off?
pbawesome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 06:45 AM   #4
ohm
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 178468
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Somerset, NJ
Vehicle:
2007 UGM STI
IAG Built

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pbawesome View Post
Yeah its a cool gauge, but I'm thinking a needle would be a lot more useful. Do you know of any Oil temp/pressure combination gauges with needles?

I think I know where you're talking about with behind the radiator, I'm going to snap a pic and post tomorrow to see if we're talking about the same thing.

I'm assuming I'll have to take the TMIC off to get the temp sensor installed?

Also, will I throw any codes by taking the stock sensors off?
Unsure about the temp/pressure combo in 1 gauge, but you may want to consider the accuracy of the gauge above all else, which Innovate is known for.

You will not throw any codes removing the stock oil pressure sensor. If you want to retain the function of it, you can always buy and tee and use it along with the aftermarket sensor.

Last edited by ohm; 08-29-2014 at 07:59 AM. Reason: Removed reference pic
ohm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 07:55 AM   #5
KillerBMotorsport
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 198281
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Virginia
Vehicle:
2005 WRX/STi
WRB of course

Default

Guys this is NOT the EJ engine/ECU we're talking about here. None of the above is correct.

Here is a pic of the 2015 WRX OEM oil sensors (temp and pressure).

There are no extra easy to get to extra ports like on the old EJs.

Temp is the upper sensor, pressure the lower sensor.

KillerBMotorsport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 07:58 AM   #6
ohm
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 178468
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Somerset, NJ
Vehicle:
2007 UGM STI
IAG Built

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KillerBMotorsport View Post
Guys this is NOT the EJ engine/ECU we're talking about here. None of the above is correct.

Here is a pic of the 2015 WRX OEM oil sensors (temp and pressure).

There are no extra easy to get to extra ports like on the old EJs.

Temp is the upper sensor, pressure the lower sensor.

Thanks for correcting. Removed the pic in order to not confuse.
ohm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 09:12 AM   #7
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 RAV4 MT
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

Why bother to install an aftermarket oil temp gauge when you already have one from the factory in the '15?
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 10:31 AM   #8
KillerBMotorsport
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 198281
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Virginia
Vehicle:
2005 WRX/STi
WRB of course

Default

^ Good point! I changed our factor display to read boost, oil temp, and mpg
KillerBMotorsport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 01:05 PM   #9
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 RAV4 MT
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

Yep, not everyone realizes it's there since it doesn't show up by default. You actually have to read that book in your glovebox to find out about it.
Now pressure, that's another story. Should just be able to replace the OE pressure switch with a sender for an aftermarket gauge. The only issue would be if the switch is connected to the ECU (I haven't seen the manual yet do I don't know if it is), in that case you might get a code for low oil pressure.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 10:25 PM   #10
2slofouru
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 90539
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Lake Charles
Vehicle:
My BOV goes
COVFEFE!

Default

If the new oil switch works the same as the previous, it will be a one wire that grounds when pressure is low to illuminate the warning bulb. If that is the case, disconnecting it won't do anything but prevent the oem bulb from coming on.

Either way, if you were creative enough you could install a block or T that splits the oil pressure source and connect both factory and aftermarket pressure sensors.
2slofouru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 11:19 AM   #11
pbawesome
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 393499
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default

Great Responses Guys, thanks so much.

I want an oil pressure gauge for ultimate safety. Noticing when things go south through my peripheral vision is of utmost importance. Once my eye is used to where the needle is supposed to sit, I can notice the location out of the corner of my eye.

I'll try disconnecting the sensors to see how the ECU reacts.

Oil temp can be on a digital gauge, I don't mind that.
pbawesome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 06:20 PM   #12
2slofouru
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 90539
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Lake Charles
Vehicle:
My BOV goes
COVFEFE!

Default

I prefer analog needles for pressure as well, mine are both autometer. Electrical analog needle for oil and fuel pressure and mechanical needle for boost. My wideband gauge is digital though.
2slofouru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 07:11 PM   #13
pbawesome
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 393499
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2slofouru View Post
I prefer analog needles for pressure as well, mine are both autometer. Electrical analog needle for oil and fuel pressure and mechanical needle for boost. My wideband gauge is digital though.
Yeah I'm fine with a digital wideband, especially if it has peak memory. Can't really be reading off numbers while on the track/course.

I thought autometer was considered the "****" of gauges nowadays.

Probably just going to continue searching forums/ebay for a DEFI Oil pressure sender/gauge.
pbawesome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2014, 07:58 PM   #14
Gons916
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 393658
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default

Has anyone installed an aftermarket boost gauge yet?
Gons916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 08:39 PM   #15
ChronoX720
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 184105
Join Date: Jul 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Upstate NY
Vehicle:
2015 WRB WRX Limited
Still Unamused

Default

Wouldn't it be nice if Subaru could update the center info screen to show Oil Temp/Oil Pressure/AFR since Boost can already be monitored?


Sent from my iPhone using NASIOC
ChronoX720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 10:03 PM   #16
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 RAV4 MT
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

There is no factory oil pressure sensor to drive a gauge, only the on/off switch for the idiot light.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 03:04 PM   #17
acemastr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 400510
Join Date: Sep 2014
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Tampa, FL
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Limited CVT
World Rally Blue

Default

I use nothing but the oil temp gauge when i want to know if my car is up to temp, pretty good going by Subaru for that one
acemastr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2014, 12:20 AM   #18
pbawesome
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 393499
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by acemastr View Post
I use nothing but the oil temp gauge when i want to know if my car is up to temp, pretty good going by Subaru for that one
Yeah I really enjoy that (not available on STI FYI)

Oil Pressure would be really great for safety sake. I'd like to know I'm going to blow my motor ahead of time. Even if it is a split second before.
pbawesome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2014, 07:10 AM   #19
KillerBMotorsport
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 198281
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Virginia
Vehicle:
2005 WRX/STi
WRB of course

Default

We've got something in the works, but it's still a few months out.
KillerBMotorsport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2014, 01:43 PM   #20
ChronoX720
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 184105
Join Date: Jul 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Upstate NY
Vehicle:
2015 WRB WRX Limited
Still Unamused

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mulder View Post
There is no factory oil pressure sensor to drive a gauge, only the on/off switch for the idiot light.

AFR would still be a possibility, right?

I hope someone develops a matching A-Pillar Pod in the future as well...


Sent from my iPhone using NASIOC
ChronoX720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 07:22 PM   #21
Boggie1688
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165955
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: California
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Base
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KillerBMotorsport View Post
We've got something in the works, but it's still a few months out.
Can you post an update? I'm looking for an oil pressure setup and you've got my interest.
Boggie1688 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 11:00 AM   #22
Gons916
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 393658
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KillerBMotorsport View Post
We've got something in the works, but it's still a few months out.
its been close to a few months! any updates?
Gons916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2015, 10:29 AM   #23
pdotblanchard
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 261617
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default

Any update?

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using NASIOC mobile app
pdotblanchard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 11:40 AM   #24
protivakid
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 265148
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MA
Vehicle:
2001 Legacy
Blue

Default

So there are no extra ports to install an oil pressure sensor gauge on the 2.0 engine?
protivakid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 04:26 PM   #25
KillerBMotorsport
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 198281
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Virginia
Vehicle:
2005 WRX/STi
WRB of course

Default

For a 2015 WRX... We have a solution for that...



KillerBMotorsport is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2019 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.