Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday January 27, 2020
Home Forums Images WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2016, 06:53 PM   #1
ToneWrx02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 239095
Join Date: Feb 2010
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Goteborg, Sweden
Vehicle:
2002 Wrx
Silver

Default ECULAB Tuning Software

I stumbled on ECULABS while searching for alternatives option to tuning gc8 which only had ECUTEK available, but normally just for the license it will cost you USD 600-800, plus dyno time and tuning it gets expensive QUICK here.. think $2000 after all said and done for pretty much a stage two tune.

I have been talking with Emmanuel about his software and decided to test it out. We have purchased two licenses, one for our car and one for Phatron.

Here is some info I have gathered from Emmanuel from ECULABS

I asked if tuner needs to pay for license for him self each time.

Quote:
Tuner only needs one licence to use the software. All other people will need one too.
I asked if I could hardwire AEM AFR to ECU.
Quote:
You'll be able to connect your AFR 0-5v output signal to the ECU for monitoring.
I asked how their flexfuel setup works
Quote:
The FlexFuel corrections are offsets in the current version. It allows to use FlexFuel without Multi-maps.

The interpolation between 2 maps (Muti-maps required) is in development and should be available soon. ECULABS supports direct FlexFuel sensor management. The sensor signal is wired to a digital input on the ECU harness and the ECULABS internal software analyzes it to read ethanol percentage and fuel temperature. You don't need an external electronic board to get a 0-5v signal, so the analog inputs are still free for other uses (and you save some costs). All GM, Continental, Siemens FlexFuel sensor have the same output and are supported. We can supply these sensors with connectors for 90€ + VAT.
Random info

Quote:
Yes, the Eculabs Studio software is needed to edit and flash the data. Everyone who uses the software must buy at least one licence (249€), so if you want a tuner to edit your tune he must buy this licence. However, he don't need to buy the additional options, they're only tied to the ECU.

I AM JUST A CUSTOMER NOT A REPRESENTATIVE OF ECULABS
I just want to document this for other people that are looking for other options.

Google ECULABS for their website to see full listing of whats available and how it works abit.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
ToneWrx02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 03-19-2016, 06:57 PM   #2
ToneWrx02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 239095
Join Date: Feb 2010
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Goteborg, Sweden
Vehicle:
2002 Wrx
Silver

Default

Reserved just incase

Ive been browsing ECULAB Forums and wow the amount of effort put into explanation on how to hardwire extra sensors, and how to add more options to romraider so you can properly datalog GC8 is amazing.
The forum gives alot of details on how to work the flexfuel option, as well on how their other added features.
It appears you can even work with the immobilizer on the ECU.

Last edited by ToneWrx02; 03-19-2016 at 07:09 PM.
ToneWrx02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 03:43 AM   #3
AGILA
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 435236
Join Date: Nov 2015
Default

Just as long as it's not 10k for a pro license from ecutek back in the days. I've never heard of ECULABS but it looks very promising, let us know how it pans out with the software.
AGILA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 04:01 AM   #4
5akeris
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 398518
Join Date: Aug 2014
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Brandon MB
Vehicle:
1999 Forester S/TB
Silver

Default

I'm quite interested to see how you guys do with it. I've gotten my ecu and the software installed on my laptop, but haven't put the ecu in the car and loaded the map yet. Might tackle that tomorrow.
5akeris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 08:22 AM   #5
Bad Noodle
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 174442
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NNJ
Vehicle:
2007 SuperWagon
I don't spell well

Default

So is this like a french AP?
Bad Noodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 09:46 AM   #6
ToneWrx02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 239095
Join Date: Feb 2010
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Goteborg, Sweden
Vehicle:
2002 Wrx
Silver

Default

Pretty much you need something like a Tactrix 2.0 as it has a VPP, older versions would work as well and chinese VAG cables could potentially work as long as you supply the green connector 12v.

You send the ECU to the guy in france and he mails it back to you modified.
He provides the software to edit to ECU file and to write it.

You use romraider to datalog.
ToneWrx02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2016, 09:49 AM   #7
ToneWrx02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 239095
Join Date: Feb 2010
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Goteborg, Sweden
Vehicle:
2002 Wrx
Silver

Default

"The OpenPort is fully supported and its voltage regulator for Vpp too. You won't need to provide power to the green connector.
With the FlexFuel option you'll be able to monitor the ethanol%." - Emmanuel

I asked about the tactrix to assure what I said and i asked how we will get to monitor e85 percentage.
ToneWrx02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 09:51 PM   #8
5akeris
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 398518
Join Date: Aug 2014
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Brandon MB
Vehicle:
1999 Forester S/TB
Silver

Default

I installed mine the other night. Haven't downloaded RomRaider to datalog, but flashing the ecu with the basemap supplied by Emmanuel was quite easy.
5akeris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2016, 09:42 AM   #9
ToneWrx02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 239095
Join Date: Feb 2010
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Goteborg, Sweden
Vehicle:
2002 Wrx
Silver

Default

Nice, make sure to go to the forums and read the threads.

For older models like gc8 we have to edit a file in romraider so we can datalog more options
ToneWrx02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2016, 11:17 AM   #10
AlekseySPB
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 443620
Join Date: Mar 2016
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToneWrx02 View Post
Nice, make sure to go to the forums and read the threads.

For older models like gc8 we have to edit a file in romraider so we can datalog more options
HI.I use a translator .Please help me find is necessary service manual Legacy 2004 JDM EJ204 or full pinout ECU Mitsubishi on Legacy JDM EJ204, 180 HP ECU 22611AK190/AH810/AH811. Thank you
AlekseySPB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 05:47 PM   #11
ToneWrx02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 239095
Join Date: Feb 2010
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Goteborg, Sweden
Vehicle:
2002 Wrx
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlekseySPB View Post
HI.I use a translator .Please help me find is necessary service manual Legacy 2004 JDM EJ204 or full pinout ECU Mitsubishi on Legacy JDM EJ204, 180 HP ECU 22611AK190/AH810/AH811. Thank you
That one is tricky... try uklegacy.com id say thats the best option you have.
ToneWrx02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 08:28 AM   #12
jozef
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 445431
Join Date: Apr 2016
Cool eculabs contacts...

hi.. real cool info on this page, im in kenya and would like contacts to the eculabs people in France, their "contact us" link on their page is not working.
according to the thread you have been in contact with a mr Emanuel. send the email add to (lobstajoe at gmail dot com). thanks
jozef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 03:13 PM   #13
ToneWrx02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 239095
Join Date: Feb 2010
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Goteborg, Sweden
Vehicle:
2002 Wrx
Silver

Default

The contact worked for me

[email protected]

Is the email it gives.
ToneWrx02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2016, 02:18 PM   #14
ToneWrx02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 239095
Join Date: Feb 2010
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Goteborg, Sweden
Vehicle:
2002 Wrx
Silver

Default

So I haved flashed the basemap that Emmanuel provides and right away it ran safe and good!

No knocking, boosted to about 16psi and fuel injectors were at 91% on a vf28. Flat 11 AFR.

Sent the datalog to Phatron and he is working on making the log info work on airboy and other things to make it easier to edit the map.

Will provide updates when car is up finished up on tune!
ToneWrx02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2019, 08:11 PM   #15
rmcg5
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 89829
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: plaistow. nh
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STI
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ToneWrx02 View Post
So I haved flashed the basemap that Emmanuel provides and right away it ran safe and good!

No knocking, boosted to about 16psi and fuel injectors were at 91% on a vf28. Flat 11 AFR.

Sent the datalog to Phatron and he is working on making the log info work on airboy and other things to make it easier to edit the map.

Will provide updates when car is up finished up on tune!
did this ever work out? I am looking for 99 STi Tuning info..
rmcg5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 02:01 PM   #16
K2marer
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 495564
Join Date: Dec 2018
Default

The best strategy to make an okay living as a solo app developer?
What type of app to make, how many, how much to invest in advertising, general tips, and Etc. Or you should join to big companies like a https://mova.io I would like to hear any indie app developer's thoughts.

Last edited by K2marer; 12-16-2019 at 11:09 AM.
K2marer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2020 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.