Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday May 29, 2022
Home Forums Images WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.







* As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. 
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2017, 12:41 PM   #1
cpenner
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 20635
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, BC
Vehicle:
11 STI
Blue

Default Accessport V3 and Air Pump Delete kit - how to silence CEL

**edit the Cobb is a V3 **

Hi,

I have a 2011 STI (Canadian Edition). I've just had my local shop install the LIC Motorsports Air Pump Delete kit due to the usual air pump valve failure. The rest of the car is stock - except for a Cobb Accessport off the shelf "tune" for stage 1 91 octane.

I now have a CEL and am in limp mode.

I have a Cobb Accessport (v2 - I believe) (actually V3) and can reset the codes, but they keep coming back.

Do I need to take the car in to a Cobb tuner to get the codes deleted from my ECU programming, or is this something that can be done via emailing files. I'm not looking for a custom tune at this point - I just want my S# back. If so - who do you recommend?

Thanks in advance.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by cpenner; 05-17-2017 at 01:00 PM. Reason: wrong version of Cobb
cpenner is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 05-17-2017, 12:46 PM   #2
TheOtherAdrianG
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 466686
Join Date: Apr 2017
Default

You can pay a Cobb tuner to disable them for you, or pay the $150USD to get EFI trained so Cobb will provide you with accesstuner race, which you can use to disable the codes yourself. The second option makes more sense in my opinion.
TheOtherAdrianG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017, 12:52 PM   #3
cpenner
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 20635
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, BC
Vehicle:
11 STI
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOtherAdrianG View Post
You can pay a Cobb tuner to disable them for you, or pay the $150USD to get EFI trained so Cobb will provide you with accesstuner race, which you can use to disable the codes yourself. The second option makes more sense in my opinion.
Which course is it? I see the $600USD 2 day course, but no $150. I'd need to see if there are locations near me.

For what it's worth - I'm not a mechanic by any stretch. I'm a software developer. Mind you, ECU is just software...

Thanks for the quick response.
cpenner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017, 12:55 PM   #4
TheOtherAdrianG
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 466686
Join Date: Apr 2017
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpenner View Post
Which course is it? I see the $600USD 2 day course, but no $150. I'd need to see if there are locations near me.

For what it's worth - I'm not a mechanic by any stretch. I'm a software developer. Mind you, ECU is just software...

Thanks for the quick response.
This should explain it:

https://www.cobbtuning.com/products/...-accesstuner/#

The course is pretty basic from what i've heard but will get you access to the software. Disabling CEL's is child's play, but you get access to a lot more this way.
TheOtherAdrianG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2017, 08:56 PM   #5
Wilky867
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 427177
Join Date: Aug 2015
Default

https://www.freektune.com/can do it for you via email. When he did mine he charged something like $50.

https://www.freektune.com/collection...just-lc-or-ffs Looks like it's $20.
Wilky867 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2017, 01:22 AM   #6
cpenner
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 20635
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, BC
Vehicle:
11 STI
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilky867 View Post
https://www.freektune.com/can do it for you via email. When he did mine he charged something like $50.

https://www.freektune.com/collection...just-lc-or-ffs Looks like it's $20.
Thanks. I probably should have posted a follow up. I took the $150 course and got the software from Cobb. Easy to do. The theory of the course was interesting - but really just scratched the surface. What I picked up from it was "lots of cool ways to tune and adjust for things - but you know so little about any of them - keep your hands off"

Good times.
cpenner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2017, 11:14 AM   #7
Wilky867
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 427177
Join Date: Aug 2015
Default

Right on. I ended up doing the same thing. At least I can turn off the monitors when I do a mod that requires a different map now.
Wilky867 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2019, 05:15 PM   #8
lowbee
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 254317
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Vehicle:
2011 STi

Default

So OK I unchecked all the code encapsulated in the red boxes and I am seeing no CELs any more BUT when I use the Cobb AP to scan for code, the code p2443 is still there but no CELs. Is that normal ?
Checking IM readiness on Cobb AP and it says everything is OK, no DTC and all system ready including secondary air pump operation. I am confused




Last edited by lowbee; 02-26-2019 at 08:22 PM.
lowbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2019, 02:44 PM   #9
VaderGT
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 504845
Join Date: Aug 2019
Default

I am also looking to get rid of my cel for my air pump and was wondering if someone could send me the file to download access tuner
VaderGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2019, 04:02 PM   #10
Shake-n-Bake
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 324646
Join Date: Jun 2012
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Lancaster, PA
Vehicle:
2007 WRX Wagon
Silver

Default

Same here. Someone help us please
Shake-n-Bake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2019, 07:59 PM   #11
JSR84
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 469585
Join Date: Jun 2017
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Vehicle:
2009 STi
White

Default

Doesn't work like that. The AccessTuner Race files are locked to the Access Port serial number.
JSR84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 07:46 AM   #12
Shake-n-Bake
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 324646
Join Date: Jun 2012
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Lancaster, PA
Vehicle:
2007 WRX Wagon
Silver

Default

Wondering if anyone offers this e-tune service. The link posted above from freaktune requires that you already have an e-tune from them. No bueno.
Shake-n-Bake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 10:31 AM   #13
JSR84
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 469585
Join Date: Jun 2017
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Vehicle:
2009 STi
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shake-n-Bake View Post
Wondering if anyone offers this e-tune service. The link posted above from freaktune requires that you already have an e-tune from them. No bueno.
Lots of people out there. I dealt with Eric from Torqued Performance back when I outsourced my tuning. Nothing but good things to say about him.
https://torquedperformance.com/
JSR84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 10:51 AM   #14
Shake-n-Bake
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 324646
Join Date: Jun 2012
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Lancaster, PA
Vehicle:
2007 WRX Wagon
Silver

Default

Thank you, will check him out.
Shake-n-Bake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 01:52 PM   #15
snake2332
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 173313
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Missoula, Montana
Default

Can you still delete the codes for secondary air pump even though it's "illegal for road use"? After going through the $149 training, I'm waiting for the email with the link to the software and am having regrets after reading online that you can't delete some of the emissions-related codes now.

So my only option would be to try and recreate the tune in RomRaider, then uninstall the AP and never go back? Really wish they mentioned this before I spent $149 and 5 hours.

Last edited by snake2332; 09-27-2020 at 02:11 PM.
snake2332 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 02:41 PM   #16
snake2332
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 173313
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Missoula, Montana
Default

I see Kyle @ Cobb a year ago saying:

"The codes can be prevented from turning on the CEL but they will still be present with any scan."

But 6 months ago he simply says:

"You are not able to disable codes with the software. The issues may be related to that."
and
"You are not able to disable any codes with Accesstuner. The only way to fix the would be to fix the issues causing them."
snake2332 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2020, 10:07 AM   #17
snake2332
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 173313
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Missoula, Montana
Default

Now that I've got AccessTuner, I can answer my own question: Yes, the advanced parameters are still there and you can "disable" them by unchecking them.

Unfortunately, the map for my car is locked by the tuner and I can't change it, not even the advanced parameters. Super lame but I get it - tuners gotta protect their work. I guess I'll be reading some data from my tune and trying to do my own stage 2+ and see how it runs compared to the pro tune.
snake2332 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2021, 12:26 PM   #18
nissansupragtr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 339738
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New Jersey
Vehicle:
2006 Saab 9-2x Aero
Silver

Default

Is there a way to tell if your tune is locked without downloading the software? Thanks
nissansupragtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2021, 05:10 PM   #19
toonpopo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 527836
Join Date: Dec 2021
Default

I have a 2011 STI that previous owner performed the secondary air pump delete. I have Cobb AccessPort and did the Cobb EFI training, however I still cannot quite figure out how to bypass/override/delete the CEL that comes up every morning permanently through AccessTuner.

I can clear the code from the AccessPort but it shows back up the next morning. Any help/direction? I've looked all through the support/manuals etc to no avail
toonpopo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2021, 05:11 PM   #20
toonpopo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 527836
Join Date: Dec 2021
Default

I have a 2011 STI that previous owner performed the secondary air pump delete. I have Cobb AccessPort and did the Cobb EFI training, however I still cannot quite figure out how to bypass/override/delete the CEL that comes up every morning permanently through AccessTuner.

I can clear the code from the AccessPort but it shows back up the next morning. Any help/direction? I've looked all through the support/manuals etc to no avail
toonpopo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2021, 05:43 PM   #21
snake2332
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 173313
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Missoula, Montana
Default

F11 for Advanced Parameters, then do like this (I think):



EDIT: Oops forgot these ones:

Last edited by snake2332; 12-09-2021 at 06:24 PM.
snake2332 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2021, 06:22 PM   #22
snake2332
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 173313
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Missoula, Montana
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nissansupragtr View Post
Is there a way to tell if your tune is locked without downloading the software? Thanks
If you're using a Cobb AP, it's locked to the tuner's AccessTuner software. Or it was created before Cobb did all of that, but you can't obtain the old software and do anything with it.

You also can't open the locked tune to copy it to a new tune. You have to start from scratch, but you can read real-time parameters and logged data to figure out the MAF scaling and other important settings.
snake2332 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2022, 11:50 AM   #23
jon7009
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 394646
Join Date: Jun 2014
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Oregon
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Flex Fuel
Pv=nRT

Default

removing the air pump from any 2007 and newer vehicle also removes the barometric pressure sensor. you'll need a workaround for that.

some people cut off the top of the air pump and leave it connected to the harness and then stow it away, and others like me, wire in an oem MAP sensor from an older vehicle and then flash the car with updated barometric pressure scalar and offset.
jon7009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2022 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2019, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.