Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday February 23, 2017
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2012, 01:17 PM   #1
Jaredwhamilton
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 195550
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Vehicle:
2017 Subaru WRX STi
Crystal White Pearl

Default Yet Another Comcast Thread

I'm moving into a new apartment, so I thought that I would get some pricing on Comcast. I do not think that Directv or Dish Network are going to be available since a dish would need to be mounted.

For Digital Cable and Internet, they are telling me it is $79.99/mo for 6 months, then the standard price is $116/mo after that. If I want a DVR, it's $16/mo

So, I have a couple of questions..

1. Is this really the best pricing I can get from them? I used to have their service a couple of years ago, and I do not remember it being that high.

2. Is there an aftermarket DVR that can be purchased that works with Comcast's new digital network? I know it's not as easy as it used to be, since they make you use converter boxes on the TVs now, even if they ARE HD.

I know Comcast sucks, but it doesn't look like I have much of a choice..

Any help would be appreciated.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Jaredwhamilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 08-08-2012, 01:18 PM   #2
Cuddles
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 161077
Join Date: Oct 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: wQrYtfq.gif
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaredwhamilton View Post
I'm moving into a new apartment, so I thought that I would get some pricing on Comcast. I do not think that Directv or Dish Network are going to be available since a dish would need to be mounted.

For Digital Cable and Internet, they are telling me it is $79.99/mo for 6 months, then the standard price is $116/mo after that. If I want a DVR, it's $16/mo

So, I have a couple of questions..

1. Is this really the best pricing I can get from them? I used to have their service a couple of years ago, and I do not remember it being that high.

2. Is there an aftermarket DVR that can be purchased that works with Comcast's new digital network? I know it's not as easy as it used to be, since they make you use converter boxes on the TVs now, even if they ARE HD.

I know Comcast sucks, but it doesn't look like I have much of a choice..

Any help would be appreciated.
I would go with the new Ford Feista.

Just my $.02 cents.
Cuddles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:19 PM   #3
CatfaceType-R
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 81102
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Micro aggression turnt
Default

Edited in 2013, whatup bitches?!


Last edited by CatfaceType-R; 06-11-2013 at 12:49 PM.
CatfaceType-R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:19 PM   #4
Strider
Not A Skillet Tech
Moderator
 
Member#: 2197
Join Date: Aug 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: An adventure is just
Vehicle:
an inconvenience,
properly considered.

Default

I bought an HD Tivo and use a dual tuner cablecard from Comcast.
Strider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:21 PM   #5
Integra96
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 64196
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Vehicle:
2010 Family Sedan

Default

What is a Comcast? It's Xfinity! No connection at all. The new name means everything is different.
Integra96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:22 PM   #6
sweed
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 299995
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: NH
Vehicle:
2006 SWEEDSAAB
Silvah

Default

try for 2 year agreement and free hbo etc for 3 months. after a month or 2, act like everything is all screwy and try and get price down or more free channels. I've seen guys get away with a lot when I worked for Verizon for a few months.

edit: btw I am moving to a new apt and getting comcast (I guess they get a dea in the apt complex) we're like brothers or something??
sweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:22 PM   #7
TrickNipple
moon moon
Moderator
 
Member#: 86213
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Wild wild Northwest
Default

I think you can use most dvrs that accept a cable card with comcast. I have no idea how much they charge here, I pay them $20 a month in addition to what my home owners association pays.
TrickNipple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:23 PM   #8
Jaredwhamilton
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 195550
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Vehicle:
2017 Subaru WRX STi
Crystal White Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuddles View Post
I would go with the new Ford Feista.

Just my $.02 cents.
For the price that they are asking for their cable service, I could probably buy the Fiesta instead of cable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Strider View Post
I bought an HD Tivo and use a dual tuner cablecard from Comcast.
I'm not up to date on all of this stuff.. How Exactly does this work? Comcast Supports the cable card?

Oh, and since there was never cable at that address (It was installed for the business on the first floor, for the apartment on the second floor, but nothing for the third floor where my apartment is..), They want to charge me $79.99 to install the service as well.
Jaredwhamilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:24 PM   #9
Jessie James
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2072
Join Date: Aug 2000
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Out of my mind
Default

I also have a Tivo, which is much better than the provided DVR. $14/mo or $300/lifetime, and you own it. Comcast will change you a few dollars to rent a cable card for the Tivo, which you cannot get around.
Jessie James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:24 PM   #10
Brad Pittiful
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34931
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Lets have a war!
Vehicle:
We all could use
the money!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Integra96 View Post
What is a Comcast? It's Xfinity! No connection at all. The new name means everything is different.
yeah who is stupid enough to think that their service is better cause the call themselves xfinity...wtf...dumb ass people
Brad Pittiful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:25 PM   #11
Strider
Not A Skillet Tech
Moderator
 
Member#: 2197
Join Date: Aug 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: An adventure is just
Vehicle:
an inconvenience,
properly considered.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaredwhamilton View Post
For the price that they are asking for their cable service, I could probably buy the Fiesta instead of cable.



I'm not up to date on all of this stuff.. How Exactly does this work? Comcast Supports the cable card?

Oh, and since there was never cable at that address (It was installed for the business on the first floor, for the apartment on the second floor, but nothing for the third floor where my apartment is..), They want to charge me $79.99 to install the service as well.
Yep, Comcast supplies the cablecard, it goes into a slot on the Tivo, and away you go. Only problem with this setup is that you can't use Comcast's On Demand service through the Tivo, but that's what Netflix and Hulu are for.

I went with the Tivo after returning 4 different Comcast DVR boxes. They were the glitchiest pieces of crap ever plugged into a wall.
Strider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:26 PM   #12
Integra96
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 64196
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Vehicle:
2010 Family Sedan

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad Pittiful View Post
yeah who is stupid enough to think that their service is better cause the call themselves xfinity...wtf...dumb ass people
I love this corporate strategy. Qwest did it, too. ****ing scum.
Integra96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:26 PM   #13
Dystinct
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 105759
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: I am OT's complete
Vehicle:
lack of suprise
KatsSubyRocks!

Default

Just get internet from them. Get on Hulu and netflix.

Problem solved.
Dystinct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:26 PM   #14
StiDreams
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26315
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: On the grassy knoll.
Vehicle:
07 Outback
Silver/Silver

Default

I have two TiVo HD boxes that uses Comcast cards. It works OK after swaping out their **** cards five times between the two boxes. It was such a hassel the lady down at the Comcase office gave us $20 off/month for a year and free HBO for three months.
StiDreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:26 PM   #15
TrickNipple
moon moon
Moderator
 
Member#: 86213
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Wild wild Northwest
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jessie James View Post
I also have a Tivo, which is much better than the provided DVR. $14/mo or $300/lifetime, and you own it. Comcast will change you a few dollars to rent a cable card for the Tivo, which you cannot get around.
You sure? They don't charge me for mine, they said the first is free but additional ones would have a rental charge.
TrickNipple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:27 PM   #16
super-ru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 90094
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Vehicle:
2002 Pathfinder
Merlot Perl

Default

I call every 6 months and complain and threaten to jump ship to a dsl connection. I've been paying 49.99/month for the 50 mbs service that's usually 100 a month for years.
super-ru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:35 PM   #17
Jaredwhamilton
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 195550
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Vehicle:
2017 Subaru WRX STi
Crystal White Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Strider View Post
Yep, Comcast supplies the cablecard, it goes into a slot on the Tivo, and away you go. Only problem with this setup is that you can't use Comcast's On Demand service through the Tivo, but that's what Netflix and Hulu are for.

I went with the Tivo after returning 4 different Comcast DVR boxes. They were the glitchiest pieces of crap ever plugged into a wall.
Well this sounds like the right solution to me for the DVR issue.

One more question on that though, I plan to have two televisions in the place.. Is there a way to be able to watch programs from the DVR on each television? Sort of like the way my DirecTv is setup now?

How about the installation fee? Is there a way around that? The guy on the phone was not very helpful. I told him the prices seemed high, and he could not have cared any less.
Jaredwhamilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:37 PM   #18
Strider
Not A Skillet Tech
Moderator
 
Member#: 2197
Join Date: Aug 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: An adventure is just
Vehicle:
an inconvenience,
properly considered.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaredwhamilton View Post
Well this sounds like the right solution to me for the DVR issue.

One more question on that though, I plan to have two televisions in the place.. Is there a way to be able to watch programs from the DVR on each television? Sort of like the way my DirecTv is setup now?

How about the installation fee? Is there a way around that? The guy on the phone was not very helpful. I told him the prices seemed high, and he could not have cared any less.
I believe Tivo supports multiple room viewing, if you have more than one Tivo. As for installation charges, I'm not sure if you have any recourse there, unless the landlord reimburses you since it's actually his apartment.
Strider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:37 PM   #19
cnw
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 98395
Join Date: Oct 2005
Default

If you absolutely must go w/ comcrap, make sure you look into buying your own DVR. The comcast one is buggy, laggy, and has virtually no storage capacity. Plus the rental fee is a complete rip-off.

Oh and if you ever have a service problem, insist on speaking to a Tier 3 (2 maybe?) engineer immediately. Bypass the waterheads.
cnw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:42 PM   #20
TrickNipple
moon moon
Moderator
 
Member#: 86213
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Wild wild Northwest
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Strider View Post
I believe Tivo supports multiple room viewing, if you have more than one Tivo. As for installation charges, I'm not sure if you have any recourse there, unless the landlord reimburses you since it's actually his apartment.
Semi related, go dl the Tivo app for your phone, way easier to add and search than using the remote.
TrickNipple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:47 PM   #21
Jaredwhamilton
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 195550
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Vehicle:
2017 Subaru WRX STi
Crystal White Pearl

Default

I've been out of this for way too long:

I just realized you have to not only buy the Tivo box, but you have to pay $15/mo for their service too.
Jaredwhamilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:52 PM   #22
Strider
Not A Skillet Tech
Moderator
 
Member#: 2197
Join Date: Aug 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: An adventure is just
Vehicle:
an inconvenience,
properly considered.

Default

True. At least with their box, you own it outright.
Strider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:52 PM   #23
Strider
Not A Skillet Tech
Moderator
 
Member#: 2197
Join Date: Aug 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: An adventure is just
Vehicle:
an inconvenience,
properly considered.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrickNipple View Post
Semi related, go dl the Tivo app for your phone, way easier to add and search than using the remote.
Danke!
Strider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:57 PM   #24
Jaredwhamilton
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 195550
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Vehicle:
2017 Subaru WRX STi
Crystal White Pearl

Default

Since it never hurts to ask, the landlord is okay with having a dish mounted on the place. So I may just end up getting Internet through Comcast rather than their TV services as well.

I have a feeling I'm still going to have to pay the $79.99 for installation on the cable internet though..

My only other option for internet around here is Verizon DSL, which from my experience is absolutely terrible.
Jaredwhamilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:59 PM   #25
TrickNipple
moon moon
Moderator
 
Member#: 86213
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Wild wild Northwest
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaredwhamilton View Post
I've been out of this for way too long:

I just realized you have to not only buy the Tivo box, but you have to pay $15/mo for their service too.
See what specials they have. I signed a 2 year contract and they gave me a premiere box for free.
TrickNipple is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.